We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

WDL Installation Ltd

Profile thumb capture
4.9

59 Reviews

About

Windows, Doors and Lock Installations – A small company based in Hertfordshire that have been established for over a decade and are locally renowned for offering the highest standard of work at a reasonable price.

Because we’re a small company, our reputation is everything to us, that is why we ensure that every customer is treated as an individual and use only the highest quality products that have been tried and tested. Many of our clients come to us for advice regarding security and installations, and even for small general repairs, from replacing glass units to changing their locks.

We also offer conservatories and garage door installations in Hertfordshire, Essex and North London

What we do

  • Glaziers

    • Double glazing installation
    • Replacement window services and repairs
    • Sash windows
  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
  • Builders

    • Garage conversions
    • Conservatories
  • More Services

    • fiberglass flat roofs
    • fascia soffit
    • guttering

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
59 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Just the best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our front door changed, and French doors fitted in place of a single door in the back. We got quotes from four different companies. WDL came roughly to the same price as the other ones. However they were much more responsive, professional and helpful. They helped us find an affordable builder at the last minute to prepare the wall for the French doors. They did the work two months earlier than the competitors would have. They helped us make a good choice of doors. Then they spent an entire day installing the doors, making sure they were perfectly fitted and looking good. My wife and I were really happy with their work. None of the local competitors came close to their level of professionalism.
Charles in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/01/2022 , work completed 21/12/2021
The trader replied (on 04/01/2022)
Hi Charles, l hope you had a lovely Christmas ? and happy new year to you both. Thank you very much for your review it’s much appreciated. I will pass your praise over to my building team on their brickwork and the lintel they installed. I’m glad your happy with both the composite door and french door we fitted. I know you wanted it all done before Christmas and to be honest it was a push but it all fell in place in the end. I look forward to hearing from you when your ready to have the other windows done that you spoke of. Best wishes. Phil.
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They made it a painless operation, kindness, courtesy and respect and excellent workmanship.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/08/2021 , work completed 06/08/2021
The trader replied (on 13/08/2021)
Thank you for your review. It’s very much appreciated. Also thank you very much for the cakes.
Excellent service and workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Phil to quote for a new front door because he is a Which? Trusted Trader with excellent reviews. He came to see us the next day, he was friendly and used his experience to help us decide on the options for the door – style, glass, locks, colour, etc. We felt confident about using Phil and he gave us a competitive price in a couple of days, so we placed our order. It was refreshing not to endure any of the dubious sales practices, haggling and last-minute ‘discounts’ that larger companies offer in an attempt to rip-off their customers. Phil gave us updates on order progress and installed the front door on the promised date. We are very pleased with the quality and appearance of the door. His standard of workmanship was excellent and we saw that he was taking great care with every aspect of the installation. Everything was left clean and tidy, and the door was installed so well that we had no decorating to do at all. When he finished, he spent a lot of time explaining everything and making sure we were happy. We would definitely use Phil again and have already recommended him to a neighbour who has placed an order with him.
Peter in Hertfordshire Posted on 26/05/2021 , work completed 28/04/2021
The trader replied (on 28/05/2021)
Hi Peter, thank you very much for your lovely review. It’s much appreciated. It’s always difficult to pick a door design as there are so many to choose from. But l think you made a perfect choice for the style of your house. If you need me again for anything else in the future l will be happy to help! Regards, Phil.
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted a new front door and this company was recommended to me by a friend. I contacted them and Phil visited very quickly and gave me a price within a few days. The door was fitted today and I am delighted with the result. The workmanship is second to none. I would thoroughly recommend this company.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 21/01/2021 , work completed 21/01/2021
Faultless
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil and Andy did a stirling job replacing our window and back door. So neat and tidy and quality merchandise manufactured in the UK. We will definitely be using them again
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/10/2020 , work completed 17/10/2020
The trader replied (on 26/10/2020)
Hi guys thank you for the lovely review it’s very much appreciated. If there is anything else I can help you with in the future please let me know.
Very happy with our new front door.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil was excellent from his first visit to give us a quote, right through the order process and on the day of installlation. The door is exactly as promised and the installation and workmanship is top notch. Would not hesitate to recommend! Rob & Judith.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 13/09/2020 , work completed 11/09/2020
Lovely windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil provided great advice on options when considering changing types of windows. Kept us regularly updated with order progress. Arrived on time to do the work, very friendly and approachable, did an excellent job clearing up rooms and area after the work. Very happy with the purchase, the installation and the overall service provided.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 30/08/2020 , work completed 15/08/2020
Excellent Service Wouldn't Heistate To Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full set of windows and door supplied and fitted by Phil and Andy. The product was of a very high quality and the standard of fitting was second to none. Phils' attention to detail was extremely high from start to finish from his understanding of our requirements, to measuring carefully and double checking which ensured there were no nasty surprises. His quote was very reasonable, his time keeping was very good and the job was carried out and completed to schedule. Most of all the job was done unbelievably without any disturbance to decorating whatsoever not even a tear in the wallpaper in fact apart from the fact that the windows and door are now immaculate you would not have known that they had been changed!! Phil is approachable, friendly, honest and very helpful without being pushy like some other double glazing companies I have used in the past. He is extremely honest so much so we just left him our house keys as we had to go out all day. I would not hesitate to recommend WDL and Phil as I am confident that they will do a tremendous job and believe me I am a person who is very critical of the standard of work carried out on my home.
Keith & Chris Posted on 21/07/2020 , work completed 11/07/2020
The trader replied (on 13/08/2020)
Hi Keith & Chris, thank you very much for your review it’s very much appreciated. Hopefully we will see you soon when you start your porch? Best wishes Phil.
Excellent product and customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil provided excellent customer service from beginning to end. He really cares that his customer is happy. Our front door looks fantastic. Overall extremely pleased with the service that Phil provided
Melissa, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/07/2020 , work completed 26/04/2019
Excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always came at the time agreed. Clean tidy efficient job. Would recommend.
Stella, Hertfordshire Posted on 17/01/2020 , work completed 17/01/2020
Very neat job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good customer service, all work included in the quote. Front door fitted really well.
Anne, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/09/2019 , work completed 27/09/2019
Superb Jon
Customer Service
Quality
Value
WDL installed a new patio door for me, it’s an abnormally small doorway but Phil had great ideas of how to make the best of it. Communication was great, he kept in touch and installation was within the time scale stated. They were very thorough with the installation, cleaned up after themselves, talked me through what they’d done and made sure I was happy. They were very polite and friendly and I had no concerns dealing with them as a woman on my own. It was a stark contrast to a previous experience with another firm. I highly recommend WDL and I’ll use them again soon to do the fascias.
Asta, Hertfordshire Posted on 15/06/2019 , work completed 14/06/2019
Impeccable standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with our 3 new windows and replacement of 2 blown units. A very reasonable quote for the work and no change when the bill arrived. All the work carried out to an impeccable standard and everything left beautifully clean and tidy. I would recommend Phil and his colleague to anyone.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 16/04/2019
Great Work & Service & Advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was recommended to WDL and was very glad I was, excellent service and advice on a new front door, fits very well and the finish around the door is excellent, will definitely be using again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 17/04/2019 , work completed 10/04/2019
Prompt Professional and Efficient Supply and Installation of an A-rated Composite Front Door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Using WDL Installations from first contact to obtain advice and assistance with choosing a new composite front door through to installation, they provided a professional, courteous and very efficient service. At every stage, WDL did what they said they would and the service product quality and price were as initially stated. There were no unpleasant surprises and I am delighted with the firm, their service and their product. I would have no hesitation in using WDL Installations for further work in the future and I can heartily recommend this company to other potential customers.
Customer in Essex Posted on 02/04/2019 , work completed 30/03/2019
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service, came at specified day and time, professional and friendly. Door fitted well and had lots of compliments.
Samantha, Hertfordshire Posted on 19/03/2019 , work completed 19/03/2019
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of 6 large Triple Glazed windows. Phil gave great service from the start with no nonsense competitive quotes, whilst looking at options for the vagaries of the house construction. WDL was able to meet the challenging timescales and the quality of the installation was excellent. I have no qualms in recommending WDL.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/02/2019 , work completed 30/01/2019
Good service, will use again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would certainly recommend WDL. They were very clean workers, efficient and tidy. Left the house very clean. They worked hard all day and I am very satisfied with the finished work.
Iris, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/11/2018 , work completed 27/11/2018
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am extremely pleased with the first class and professional service I received from WDL Installations. Phil and Andy were very tidy and did a brilliant job. I certainly intend to use WDL again for more new windows next year.
Anne, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/09/2018 , work completed 16/09/2018
First class service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just class service - From quote to installation of windows. Phil is friendly and professional and I would highly recommend WDL Installations.
Neil, Hertfordshire Posted on 22/06/2018 , work completed 22/06/2018
The trader replied (on 05/07/2018)
Hi Neil, Thank you for you review it’s very much appreciated. The windows and doors looked great but l think your decision to have the fibre glass roof with the roof lantern in it definitely finished the job off and obviously gave so much more light into the room too. Your Fensa certificate etc will be with you very soon. Best wishes , Phil, WDL Installations.
Top notch!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with our replacement conservatory installation. Phil & the team have done a quality job, with attention to detail. I would not hesitate in recommending them.
Steve, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/04/2018 , work completed 10/04/2018
Fantastic door & installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic top of the range front door supplied and expertly fitted, would use WDL again.
Aidan, Hertfordshire Posted on 28/02/2018 , work completed 28/02/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
WDL representative provided helpful advice on door style, colour, glass and locks. Fitting was timely and professional, having just redecorated I was pleased to see the quality of the installation of the side panels. Great job!
Paul, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/10/2017 , work completed 18/10/2017
The trader replied (on 24/11/2017)
Hi Paul, thank you for your review. It was good to see you again and we are happy that your pleased with everything we've done. We are now going to install all of the windows and doors in your neighbours house across the road in January. Have a great Christmas and a happy new year. Phil, WDL Installations.
Well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly and efficient service good job, well done.
Janice, Hertfordshire Posted on 17/10/2017 , work completed 17/10/2017
Top quality job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil came round at a time to suit us to measure up and advise us on a new front door and bedroom window panel. As soon the parts came in, Phil contacted us and arranged another convenient time to come and fit them, the next day! The quality of his work was brilliant and our new front door looks amazing. I would definitely use them again and have already recommended them to other people.
Sara, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/10/2017 , work completed 10/10/2017
The trader replied (on 24/11/2017)
Hi Sara, Thank you for your review its very much appreciated. If there is anything else we can do for you please let me know? Best wishes, Phil, WDL Installations.
Great service, great job, very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
WDL were very professional in all aspects of the work. They came and quoted immediately, they fully explained all the options and they agreed to my required timescale. Excellent people, excellent work and excellent service. I couldn't fault them and would highly recommend them to others.
Andrew, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/09/2017 , work completed 01/09/2017
The trader replied (on 24/11/2017)
Hi Andrew, Thank you very much for your review it was a pleasure working for you. If you need us again we will be glad to help, Best wishes, Phil, WDL Installations. P.s. The new kitchen looks great.
Prompt and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work. Very tidy and cleaned up after completion.
Christina, Hertfordshire Posted on 22/08/2017 , work completed 22/08/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thorough professional. Very good and highly recommended. I have no hesitation in recommending this tradesman to others.
Carl, Hertfordshire Posted on 25/07/2017 , work completed 25/07/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 6 new windows installed plus new guttering. Both jobs were very professionally carried out and Phil was always friendly, making sure we were happy and satisfied with the work.
Colin, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/03/2017 , work completed 10/03/2017
The trader replied (on 13/04/2017)
Hi Colin, Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was nice to meet you both and if there is anything l can help you with in the future please let me know? Best wishes, Phil, WDL Installations.
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient and professional. Reliable and friendly. The company was recommended to us by family who were also pleased with their work.
Tasha, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/12/2016 , work completed 10/12/2016
The trader replied (on 26/01/2017)
Hi Tasha, thank you very much for your review and if l can be of any service in the future please let me know, best wishes, Phil, WDL Installations
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job
Maureen, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/12/2016 , work completed 10/12/2016
Excellent quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used WDL Installations on several occasions and find the quality of their work 1st Class.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/11/2016 , work completed 29/11/2016
Fantastic job - would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys were absolutely fantastic. Ran on time & kept us updated with everything. 5* service & very friendly.
Rossanna, Hertfordshire Posted on 24/11/2016 , work completed 24/11/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most impressed with efficient service. I would definitely use him again.
Sandra, Essex Posted on 27/09/2016 , work completed 27/09/2016
Amazing service for installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil is both personal and professional and cares about the product and service he delivers. From choosing what would suit our property and giving advice through to when it came to installing. Great job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 16/09/2016 , work completed 16/09/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was completed to the highest standard and I would have no hesitation in recommending this firm.
John, Essex Posted on 30/07/2016 , work completed 30/07/2016
Went the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The quote from WDL was competitive and the advice given about the style of windows and design excellent. Everything happened quite quickly and WDL operatives were open about the whole process. A substantial number of windows were installed and extra works were done to improve quality of outcome at no extra cost.
Andrew, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/07/2016 , work completed 16/07/2016
Very good & nice to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job and a pleasure.
Paul, Hertfordshire Posted on 28/06/2016 , work completed 28/06/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No complaints.
Judith, Hertfordshire Posted on 28/04/2016 , work completed 28/04/2016
Very professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
WDL (Phil) was the only window fitter (out of 3) who properly measured up the job. Good customer contact from initial consultation to work being carried out. End result is a superb, professional job.
John, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/11/2015 , work completed 16/11/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The quotation for our replacement windows was very competitive. The style of window recommended was totally appropriate for our older property. The work was carried out very professionally and in the order best suited to us. The house was clean up at the end of each day & left clean & tidy.
Graham, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/09/2015 , work completed 14/09/2015
Excellent job very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Top quality windows and doors as promised. Very trustworthy company as installed while we were away on holiday. Came back to fabulous windows and no mess.
Katie, Hertfordshire Posted on 08/08/2015 , work completed 08/08/2015
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, very professional. Excellent results despite a number of unforeseen difficulties.
Roy, London Posted on 14/07/2015 , work completed 14/07/2015
Will recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with new windows. Trader and team very prompt. Kept me well informed. Left sit in clean state.
Karen, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/06/2015 , work completed 27/06/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with the clean and tidy way the work was carried out. Phil was very communicative & attentive - superb job.
Michael John, Hertfordshire Posted on 13/06/2015 , work completed 13/06/2015
Brilliant job - thrilled!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work. Arrived on time, worked efficiently to an extremely high standard. Very pleased with results. Would definitely recommend and use again.
Philippa, Hertfordshire Posted on 02/05/2015 , work completed 02/05/2015
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our experience with Phil from WDL Installations was painless right from the start. Good price and fantastic windows and doors. Quality workmanship and all round decent/honest bloke. Would recommend to anyone.
Stephen, Essex Posted on 25/04/2015 , work completed 25/04/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A positive experience - prompt, professional, cleaned up after themselves during and at the finish. Couldn't find any fault with workmanship and the windows look fantastic. I would readily recommend them.
Susan, London Posted on 15/04/2015 , work completed 15/04/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil provided a fantastic service, prompt response to enquiring & really helpful & knowledgeable. He was honest & didn't try to 'up-sell' - just gave his nearest opinion. The installation is very neat & professional & minimal mess & great product.
Claire, Hertfordshire Posted on 09/04/2015 , work completed 09/04/2015
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil was prompt & friendly & professional. The service he provided from the initial visit was brilliant. I have no hestitations in recomending him to all my friends & family. The door is perfect we are very pleased.
Jenna, Hertfordshire Posted on 26/03/2015 , work completed 26/03/2015
Fabulous windows!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil was very professional and did a fantastic job installing my new windows. He made sure I was happy with the style and quality; he was thorough and efficient and paid attention to detail. They look fabulous! Thanks!
Deirdre, Hertfordshire Posted on 21/03/2015 , work completed 21/03/2015
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work carried out was to replace double glazing windows. The work was carried out quick with extreme efficiency. When the work was finished, due to their tidiness you would not know work had been carried out. Pricing was very reasonable.
Sean, Hertfordshire Posted on 07/02/2015 , work completed 07/02/2015
Fantastic service, superb craftsmanship.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found WDL was a local tradesman. Did my own research with other local customers. Phil was very prompt, professional and didn't try to sell me stuff I didn't need. Him & his mate worked some long hours and in some awful weather. Our home is now warmer, quieter and hopefully more secure. I will certainly recommend him & the products he uses to friends, neighbours & family.
Jon, Hertfordshire Posted on 08/01/2015 , work completed 08/01/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job
Gerard, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/11/2014 , work completed 01/11/2014
Excellent workmanship & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt, kept us informed at every stage of construction. Excellent, professional work carried out, would recommend to others. Value for money.
Ronald, Hertfordshire Posted on 13/10/2014 , work completed 13/10/2014
Excellent in every detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Right from first contact all appointments were kept, work & finish were excellent, approach to us as customers was polite & informative would recommend highly & would use again.
Gordon, Essex Posted on 09/10/2014 , work completed 09/10/2014
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely happy with prompt service, quote and fitting of front door. Looks amazing! Very friendly, reliable & hovered up afterwards. Highly recommended
Katharine, Hertfordshire Posted on 30/09/2014 , work completed 30/09/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service provided quoted simply, with no over selling & beat all other quotes, but more importantly quality of windows & fittings were excellent. Would highly recommend.
Helen, Hertfordshire Posted on 02/09/2014 , work completed 02/09/2014
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Wdl installations to be one of the most professional traders I have ever used. They were punctual, tidy & worked 12 hours to get the job done. I would have them back to do any future work.
Dinah, Hertfordshire Posted on 09/08/2014 , work completed 09/08/2014