We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

1st Choice Stairlifts Limited

Profile thumb 1stchoicesl finallogo red
5.0

56 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:00
  • Monday 08:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:00
  • Thursday 08:30–17:00
  • Friday 08:30–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

Jun 2020

About

If it's an experienced, qualified Stairlift company you want then look no further.

1st Choice Stairlifts is an independent family run company providing a wide choice of lifts that fit most stairs and homes.

Our Directors Coral and Colin Major have over 55 years experience in the stairlift industry, working for the manufacturers before setting up 1st Choice Stairlifts in 2004.

We install stairlifts, Homelift Elevators and Wheelchair lifts, plus we service, repair and maintain over 40 makes and models, even if we didn't originally install it.

We install lifts that are New, Reconditioned and Rental for stairs that are Straight, Curved including multiple floors or Narrow.

If you'd like to have a test drive, we also have 3 straight stairlifts, 3 curved stairlifts and a Through the Floor vertical lift in our accessible showroom in Calne, so why not give a lift a try today.

Our office is open Mon-Fri 8.30am - 5pm and our Emergency On Call Service is available 24/7, 365 days a year.

What we do

  • Disability and mobility

  • More Services

    • home lifts
    • wheelchair lifts
    • outdoor wheelchair lifts

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
56 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I’m adding a review on behalf of my elderly housebound mum, who had her stairlift installed today in Gloucestershire. I have had to be directly involved throughout the process at mum’s request. Absolutely faultless sales service first starting just before the March 2020 lockdown, right through to the installation engineer on site today. It’s a fabulous stairlift, everything was explained really well. The engineer was very patient to ensure my mum understood everything. This is going to made en enormous difference to my mum’s safety.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 06/11/2020 , work completed 06/11/2020
The trader replied (on 12/11/2020)
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and 5* rating. We are so pleased to hear that you and your mum are very happy with our service and staff, we will pass on your feedback to the team. Glad to hear your mum is safe on the stairs in her own home again. Thank you, best regards Coral Affleck-Major, Owner & Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Superb Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First Choice provided a superb product tailored to fit our stairs. The company went above and beyond to achieve a fast installation. At all levels the staff were friendly and very professional. The stairlift has changed our lives at a very fair price. Thank you.
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 22/10/2020 , work completed 14/10/2020
The trader replied (on 12/11/2020)
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that having your stairlift fitted has made such a big difference to your lives. Lovely to hear great feedback about our fantastic team too, we will be sure to pass this on. Best regards Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Purchase and fitting of stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Like to use local traders and found that 1st Choice were very helpful and polite with no hard sale. They were very efficient and kept to their schedule for delivery and fitting. The trades people who did the installation were pleasant, clean, tidy and efficient. Very pleased with the end product.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 19/10/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
The trader replied (on 12/11/2020)
Thank you for leaving your wonderful 5* review, we are happy to hear that you were very pleased with our service and engineers who fitted your lift for you. We really appreciate you using a local business rather than a national company for a more personalised service. Best regards Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They provided me with a stairlift, they were so quick and efficient, it's been my saving grace in getting up and downstairs. Completed the work within 3 days of the phonecall, and the stairlifts is excellent.
Warrick, Surrey Posted on 24/09/2020 , work completed 10/09/2020
The trader replied (on 12/11/2020)
Thank you for your review, we are so happy that it has made such a difference to your life and the work was done quickly to your satisfaction. Thanks also for your 5* rating, we really appreciate it. Best regards Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Challenging job, expertly delivered
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1st Choice had one of the most challenging tasks - steep, narrow staircase with overhang, 90 degree turn and more - and delivered a bespoke solution when other suppliers said it could not be done. Thoroughly recommended.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 22/09/2020 , work completed 26/08/2020
The trader replied (on 12/11/2020)
Thank you very much for your feedback. We love complicated stairs particularly when we get a lift in where others say it can't be done. We are so glad you were able to stay in your own home thanks to our ability to deliver a solution for you. Best regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Helpful, punctual service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good choice of stairlifts, new, reconditioned and hire, and able to try out in showroom. Very good phone contact and friendly service. Prompt appointments - stairlift fitted only a few days after the order. A definite 5 star service.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 18/09/2020 , work completed 05/08/2020
The trader replied (on 12/11/2020)
Thank you for your great feedback. We're glad you found our service worthy of a 5* rating and you were impressed with our good choice of models and the ability to come to our showroom. Best regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service from initial contact to installation and commissioning. Would highly recommend as they take the time to understand the customers requirements and clearly explain the options, without any high pressure up-selling!
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 28/08/2020 , work completed 26/08/2020
The trader replied (on 12/11/2020)
Thank you very much for your review. We pride ourselves on no high pressure selling and great customer service so we are delighted to hear that you found our service very professional. We really appreciate your feedback and 5* rating. Best regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class service. Installer was so pleasant and helpful. I would highly recommend. Fast efficient and professional service from start to finish
Customer in Swindon Posted on 23/06/2020 , work completed 02/06/2020
The trader replied (on 12/11/2020)
Thank you very much for your review and 5* ratings. We are really pleased that you were happy with our service and would recommend us. Best regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Owner & Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Excellent and rapid response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My stairlift suddenly became immobile today at 14.30. I rang 1st Choice straightaway, and was told they would do their best to get someone out to me, but that they were very busy. Nevertheless, a technician arrived at 15.15, got stuck in, and was finished by 16.00. First class service delivered rapidly and without fuss. 5 star service!
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 12/06/2020 , work completed 12/06/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
WOW that was fast service on the doorstep within 45 minutes of making a call! We understand the urgency when customers need a repair to their lift and take pride in our quick and friendly service. Thank you so much for your review, we always aim high to make sure we deliver outstanding quality and 5 star service. We will pass your comments onto our office and engineer to let him know how thrilled you were with our service. Thank you once again. Best regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Friendly and very fast service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Like many people I’m sure we suddenly required a stair lift in my mother in laws house following a fall. While she was receiving urgent and thankfully successful care in hospital the family were left with the dilemma of what happens when she comes out. The immediate requirement was for a stair lift and having never dealt with such a situation before we were very green. 1st choice stairlifts came up as local and had good reviews. I contacted them on the Monday, they explained the options, a survey was conducted on the Tuesday and the stair lift installed on Wednesday. Amazing how a real worry was gone in such a short space of time. Very friendly and welcoming approach from the first contact through the whole process. No hesitation in recommending them
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 11/06/2020 , work completed 08/06/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Thank you so much for leaving a review for us, we really appreciate you taking the time to comment on our service. Thank you for choosing us to install your Mother-in-Law's lift, we're glad we could help and were quickly able to relieve the pressure in getting a lift fitted quickly and with ease. We love hearing great stories like this and we love helping to make a difference. Thank you for recommending us to others. Best regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts