We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Academy Remedial Surveyors Limited

Profile thumb thumb ar surveyors header

5.0

66 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are Independent Damp and Timber Surveyors specialising in all matters relating to rising damp. penetrating damp, condensation, woodworm, wet rot, dry rot basement waterproofing and cavity wall tie condition.

We are NOT a franchise, our staff are directly employed, we do NOT use sub-contractors, we do NOT use call centres.

We are NOT contractors who carry out work meaning we have no financial interest in looking for work to meet sales targets.

We DO charge for surveys because that's all we do - Surveying.

Our mission and objective is to inspect, diagnose and provide opinion of problems reported by others or, to inspect for pre-sale purposes to determine if any problems actually exist.
We are employed by both the private and commercial sector however the largest proportion of our work is for Homebuyers after receiving the Homebuyers Building Survey report which normally recommends a damp and timber survey even only as a precaution.

Existing homeowners also find our services invaluable.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Damp proofing surveyors
    • Timber preservation surveyors
    • Water proofing surveyors
  • More Services

    • legal report for landlord and tenant disputes
    • surveys
    • survey

Customer reviews

5.0
66 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
So lucky to have found this company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were instructed to arrange a damp and timber report on a property we were purchasing involving Equity Release. Finding a company was really easy, finding one which belonged to the PCA proved to be more difficult. The remaining companies offered a free survey! The house was built in 1938 so there was a good chance it had a lot of problems, but how would we know, who could we trust? Eventually we decided to pay for the survey and we are delighted we did. We rang this company on the Monday, Ray arrived to do the survey on the Wednesday morning and emailed his report to us that evening. The report was very informative and written in layman’s terms. It told us there was nothing needed doing at present (apart from one small inexpensive task) but also told us what to be aware of in the future and what and what not to do to keep it in good condition, all in all a very informative report. I would recommend anyone to have an independent survey done, it was worth every penny and the service from all involved was exemplary. I couldn’t recommend this company more highly and consider we were very lucky in our choice.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 29/07/2019 , work completed 03/07/2019
Damp and timber report in record time!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having a very old house, we were asked to provide a report on the potential for damp and any timber issues by our re-mortgage provider. I spoke with the Academy surveyor on Wednesday afternoon stressing that it was urgent to get this completed asap, as it was the only thing holding up the offer. The trader agreed to fast-track the survey and arrived as agreed on the Friday, 2 days later. Having done the survey, he wrote the report over the weekend and emailed it to me on Sunday. We went from initial phone call to the report in my hand in 4 days - couldn't ask for more than that! Excellent friendly, efficient, rapid and professional service!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 22/07/2019 , work completed 19/07/2019
Peace of mind
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our buyer had a valuation survey which threw up some damp queries and sent round a “damp proofing expert” who provided an extortionate quote. I contacted Ray, who was fantastic and conducted a thorough independent survey, providing estimated costs of work to be completed as and when our buyer felt necessary with their choice of workmen,at less than a third of said “experts” quote. I can’t ever thank Ray for giving me complete peace of mind and preventing our sale from falling through. Would thoroughly recommend his services to anyone wanting a professional and independent survey.
J Williams Posted on 04/07/2019 , work completed 27/03/2019
Fantastic service and peace of mind!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I - like many other people - commissioned a Building Survey on a property I am buying, which highlighted that I may have damp and timber infestation. I contacted AR Surveyors for an independent report and I'm delighted that I did. Not only were they able to fit in the survey at the only time the vendors were available, but they completely allayed my fears and saved unnecessary expense. Ray was extremely professional and the report was comprehensive and covered far more than I had requested. It also contained technical information on damp and condensation and how to avoid it in properties of this age. I would not hesitate in recommending AR Surveyors, and - the next time I buy a house - I will be contacting Ray instead of commissioning a costly survey that required follow-up and additional expense. Had I contacted AR Surveyors in the first place, I would have saved several hundred pounds. It just remains to say: thank you so much!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 20/05/2019 , work completed 14/05/2019
Excellent and Efficient Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We engaged Ray to undertake a damp assessment report on a property we were purchasing. Ray attended quickly and performed a thorough review, providing us with a very detailed written report. He highlighted the key issues that needed addressing and provided guideline estimates for remediation. In addition, he also provided advice on other areas we should consider / investigate. Ray was very responsive in dealing with the follow up questions and we have been very happy with his service. We would have no hesitation in recommending Ray and Academy Remedial Surveyors.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/05/2019 , work completed 29/04/2019
Comprehensive, thorough and fast!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray Baker's survey report is thorough and very clear with a good amount of general information helping us to better understand the technical aspects of the building. The whole process from initial enquiry to receipt of the report was amazingly efficient. Well worth an independent review of the property. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/03/2019 , work completed 21/03/2019
Damp surveyor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had Ray Baker visit my property on 2 occasions and he has been very helpful. Hi advice and service was very reassuring. I have no issue with recommend him and his services.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 26/02/2019 , work completed 26/02/2019
Survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent communication during booking, helpful and accommodating with regard to finding a suitable time. Arrived on time and emailed prior to arrival. Clear concise conversation throughout the survey, professional and knowledgeable. Would not hesitate to recommend and/or use again.
Customer in Kent Posted on 02/01/2019 , work completed 02/01/2019
Third Report
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We just received our third report from Ray. As private landlords we know that Ray will give us the correct diagnosis & required action. As usual the inspection was booked quickly, Ray arrived when he said he would, and the report was with us within 48 hours. Great service, great value. If damp is suspected, we won't do anything until we have a report from Ray.
Kevin Cobb Posted on 23/10/2018 , work completed 23/10/2018
Good job identifying cause of damp to bay window
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a couple of years of failed attempts to resolve a damp problem with our bay window, Ray carried out a thorough inspection of the window in questions and make a series of recommendations. Having implemented the recommendations of the report the problem appears now to be resolved. We are grateful to Ray for his professional work - well worth the fee we paid.
John Stevens Posted on 23/10/2018 , work completed 23/10/2018