We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Academy Remedial Surveyors Limited

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb thumb ar surveyors header

5.0

53 Reviews

About

We are Independent Damp and Timber Surveyors specialising in all matters relating to rising damp. penetrating damp, condensation, woodworm, wet rot, dry rot basement waterproofing and cavity wall tie condition.

We are NOT a franchise, our staff are directly employed, we do NOT use sub-contractors, we do NOT use call centres.

We are NOT contractors who carry out work meaning we have no financial interest in looking for work to meet sales targets.

We DO charge for surveys because that's all we do - Surveying.

Our mission and objective is to inspect, diagnose and provide opinion of problems reported by others or, to inspect for pre-sale purposes to determine if any problems actually exist.
We are employed by both the private and commercial sector however the largest proportion of our work is for Homebuyers after receiving the Homebuyers Building Survey report which normally recommends a damp and timber survey even only as a precaution.

Existing homeowners also find our services invaluable.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Damp proofing surveyors
    • Timber preservation surveyors
    • Water proofing surveyors
  • More Services

    • legal report for landlord and tenant disputes
    • surveys
    • survey

Customer reviews

5.0
53 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Great Job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Academy several years ago and their service then was everything and more than we expected so, being in the process of moving again into an older property we instructed Ray to carry out a pre-purchase damp and timber survey for us on the house we are buying now. Ray inspected the property last week and we received the written report the next working day, the inclusions were clear, definitive and very informative together with reassuring. We didn't instruct a RICS building survey, just a Lenders valuation inspection was carried out, actually we even feel we saved money on this because Rays report referred to the building as a whole, inside and out over and above what we thought a damp and timber survey covered, he identified roofing defects which thanks to him we now know we need to get fixed and enabled us to renegotiate the purchase price. After first ringing them the instruction process was so quick and simple, Jenny sent us an e-mail confirming the cost of the survey and it requested some further information, estate agents details etc for access, once returned they arranged everything, we didn't need to do anything else, they made everything so easy. If anybody needs the services of Academy don't think twice about instructing them, it really is no surprise they have so many 5 star reviews on this site and if you look praise all over the internet as a whole.
L Richardson & H White 26/07/2018
Peace of mind, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray did excellent work for me, he was really efficient and carried out the required survey within 2 days of me contacting him. His report was thorough but easy to digest and understand. The report put my mind at ease regarding a potential damp issue in the flat I'm purchasing and I felt that could trust the recommendations in Ray's report as he was independent. I would highly recommend this company's services.
RAlexandra24/07/2018
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can only echo every other positive review for this company. Fantastic overall service, exceptionally efficient, knowledgeable, professional, courteous and excellent communications. Only company to answer the phone after 5pm on a Friday. Formally instructed Monday. Survey undertaken on Wednesday. Report received on Thursday. I would not hesitate to recommend Academy Remedial Surveyors.
Steve W20/06/2018
Very professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient, knowledgeable, professional, what more could you ask for? Elaine and Jenny were quick to respond to both emails and phone calls. The survey was carried out by Gary, who was knowledgeable and friendly and really seemed to care about my house. His detailed and informative report was received the day after his visit, with clear recommendations of the work needing to be done – and importantly – what didn't need to be done as well. I would not hesitate to recommend Academy Remedial Surveyors for their excellent service.
Karen P12/05/2018
All good!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Academy Remedial Surveyors to be good! It's hard to compare having never had a similar service in the past, but the office communication was clear, efficient and straightforward, the surveyor that visited was prompt, informative and I felt he knew what he was doing. His report was sent over to me on the same day and although I (like many, I'm sure!) dread reading these things, it was detailed yet easy to digest and understand as a layman. I'd definitely pass their contact details to anyone who needed something similar.
Melody Ruiz02/05/2018
Fast, friendly, efficient and very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Academy Remedial Surveyors during the sale of our home, because our buyer's mortgage lender demanded a damp and timber survey to be carried out. Not only did Ray offer to come within 48 hours of my call, but we received his full damp and timber report within 24 hours of his visit. It was this efficiency we needed to take the stress out of our house sale. We were more than happy to pay for his services because we felt confident that Ray was providing professional, independent advice - and unlike some apparently 'free surveys' offered by contractors, he wasn't trying to convince us our home needed a costly damp proofing course. We'd highly recommend Ray Baker and Academy Remedial Surveyors to anyone who wants an honest, unbiased damp and timber report on their home.
OllyJ7825/01/2018
Wholeheartedly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray Baker's survey was a great help to us after the purchase of our property. We were aware there were some damp issues but had received conflicting (and costly!) advice from damp treatment contractors. Ray's independent eye was invaluable to us in accurately identifying what the problems were and how they should best be remedied. Needless to see, these were much cheaper and more practical than the other quotes received. Ray was professional, helpful and friendly. He happily answered all my amateur questions and was more than happy to deal with follow up queries. I would very much recommend his services. Homeowner in Pinner, Middlesex
Homeowner in Pinner21/12/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had surveys undertaken by 2 damp proof companies to try to resolve mould & moisture issues within my tenanted flat. Quotes ranged between £5,000 and £6,500 to put dpc's in several walls. I was suspicious as they had not reached the same conclusions as to which walls needed treating and I wasn't sure where to go from there. Luckily someone recommended Academy to me. Ray Baker undertook a survey and gave a detailed report as to what was causing the problems and what steps to take to resolve them. Ray was more than happy to discuss anything on the phone too. He reached the conclusion that a dpc was not necessary and that the problems were caused by lack of airflow. He recommended a ventilation system and stronger fans in the kitchen and bathroom. A couple of hundred pounds spent on the Academy survey saved me thousands! A really friendly and efficient service too. I highly recommend them and would certainly use them again.
DIYuseless20/11/2017
Efficient, professional and personable - excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent customer service. Highly recommended. Mr Baker was thorough and his report easy to understand. On seeking further information on one aspect he was prepared to go the extra mile for no extra charge. Impressive service. The best value we found after shopping around too. Thanks for your help
Tobysealey 05/10/2017
Fantastic customer service, delivered quickly and with supreme rigor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can highly recommend Academy Remedial surveyors having had a damp and timber survey carried out by them. Academy Remedial and one of their surveyors Ray Baker, could not have been faster or more friendly in arranging and conducting the survey. Testament to their superb customer service and pride in the work they do, Ray kept in touch after the survey to ensure that what he had produced had met the standards expected. What was produced was extremely thorough and went beyond simply what was asked for, providing me with the confidence of his detailed understanding of all things damp and timber, and ultimately in the quality of the work he had done. When we encountered issues with our lenders, Ray and Jenny at Academy Remedial were incredibly supportive and worked hard to ensure we had what we needed inside two days. I will absolutely use Academy Remedial again and would recommend them to anyone else.
David H29/09/2017