We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Academy Remedial Surveyors Limited

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb thumb ar surveyors header

5.0

40 Reviews

About

We are Independent Damp and Timber Surveyors specialising in all matters relating to rising damp. penetrating damp, condensation, woodworm, wet rot, dry rot basement waterproofing and cavity wall tie condition.

We are NOT a franchise, our staff are directly employed, we do NOT use sub-contractors, we do NOT use call centres.

We are NOT contractors who carry out work meaning we have no financial interest in looking for work to meet sales targets.

We DO charge for surveys because that's all we do - Surveying.

Our mission and objective is to inspect, diagnose and provide opinion of problems reported by others or, to inspect for pre-sale purposes to determine if any problems actually exist.
We are employed by both the private and commercial sector however the largest proportion of our work is for Homebuyers after receiving the Homebuyers Building Survey report which normally recommends a damp and timber survey even only as a precaution.

Existing homeowners also find our services invaluable.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

  • Building construction contractors

  • Builders

  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • More Services

    • legal reports for landlord and tenant disputes surveyors

Customer reviews

Reviews summary

5.0
40 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Academy Award!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray Baker of Academy Remedial Surveyors Ltd did a survey in a complicated case where he offered highly experienced and sympathetic advice and helped us achieve a really helpful outcome - to our great relief. I cannot say how much I was surprised by, and very much appreciated, his willingness to really go above and beyond what might normally have been expected - extending to being available for comment on a Sunday... Dealings with the office were also extremely pleasant and helpful. Highly recommended.
Anne Marriott13/06/2017
Extremely helpful and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray did my damp and timber survey required by my mortgage company, so a quick turnaround was needed. I got verbal feedback from Ray the day after the survey was done and the report was provided a couple of days later. Ray was extremely helpful, so I would highly recommend this Company.
Collette05/06/2017
Really helpful and informative
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Before using Ray I hired another damp specialist. This company seemed more interested in offering me the most expensive solution than actually helping me. They quoted over 5k! So I did a bit of research and discovered it is quite common for a lot of companies in this industry to immediately diagnose rising damp and flog the most expensive product they can. So I was lucky to find Ray. Speaking to me on the phone he came across as totally different. He explained how he worked and how he fought against the 'sharks'. So I got him in. Ray's solution? Over 3k LESS than the other company. On top of that he was quick with help and answering queries. I highly recommend.
Jamie, Kent23/05/2017
Money Well Spent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary was fantastic .I was overwhelmed by the amount of defects he noticed and he answered all of my queries on the day and said email or phone him if i had any further questions or concerns. Well I had a long list of questions but the next day the comprehensive report arrived and it answered all of my concerns with a full explanation and remedy so clear that i didn't have to ring him. Thanks ever so much for the excellent service and excellent report it proved so beneficial i will recommend you to everyone
Simon Troke21/04/2017
Last minute survey needed by mortgage company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray arrived punctually and proceeded to carry out the work in a thorough and calm manner. The report was needed in an unreasonably short time . This was done . I will be seeking their help and advice again
Bill Drummond11/04/2017
5* independent survey - highly professional, prompt and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When our lender requested a damp and timber survey prior to releasing our mortgage offer, I looked into several independent surveyors and on the basis of their superb reviews to date, chose Academy Remedial. They were fantastic from beginning to end. Jenny Baker's prompt and courteous communications resulted in arranging the survey for 48 hours after the original instruction was made. Ray Baker, who completed the survey, went above and beyond in fast-tracking the report to accommodate my commitments. I received it on the same day as the survey was completed. The report itself was comprehensive, thorough and very clear. Ray was extremely helpful in answering additional questions over the phone on the same day, and provided excellent advice. I would have no hesitation in using Academy Remedial again, and in recommending them to anyone who requires a prompt, honest and knowledgeable service - a truly rare find in this field.
Helen P, Oxford 07/04/2017
Excellent service - professional and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a damp patch in the corner of out kitchen and I am so glad we approached Academy Remedial Surveyors. Ray was brilliant from start to finish. Not only did he survey the property but he was also instrumental in identifying the true cause, a leaking pipe, despite two specialist leak detection companies being unable to identify the problem. Ray did not only produce the report but was also available on the phone to discuss issues or make suggestions, always with the aim of minimising the cost for ourselves. I cannot praise Ray highly enough and highly recommend Academy Remedial Surveyors.
Arthur26/03/2017
Professional, friendly & very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company emails we received were timely and informative. The individual, Gary, who ran the survey gave a full verbal debrief and very detailed written report including useful information for non-urgent changes we're likely to make to the property in years to come. I also spoke to him a week later to confirm a few more details and get his advice when re-negotiating terms of a new property, again very helpful and friendly. I felt comfortable to ask as much as I needed. Would recommend using this company.
Isabella V14/03/2017
Need a damp and timber survey done? Look no further!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Remortgage lender required a damp and timber survey on my HMO property. After researching many surveyors and/ or contractors, I became very weary of bogus rogue traders as I stumbled across a legit looking website to find out that they were exposed on Watchdog (please do your research)! I had a peace of mind when I came across Academy Remedial Surveyors' website to find that they are independent surveyors (not contractors) and registered with Property Care Association. I was able to get the survey done with Gary 2 days after contacting ARS. He then emailed me the comprehensive report the next day. The whole process was fuss free. Very pleased and happy. Seriously, look no further.
Landlady Nat02/03/2017
Excellent service - knowledgeable and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary was on time, extremely knowledgeable and spent time helping me understand some of the issues I had concerns about in the house we recently purchased. He was open and friendly and helped entertain my 18 month old son around whilst he was conducting the survey. I felt very confident in his experience and reassured that I was getting the best impartial information. The follow up survey was received in less than 24 hours and was clear, concise and will be useful in helping us manage some of the condensation issues we have been having. Thank you!
A Mcloughlin18/01/2017