Endorsed by Which?

Alderson Building Company Ltd

5.0

33 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

Alderson Building Company is a Hertfordshire based, domestic building business. Covering all construction projects including house extensions and loft conversions, home refurbishments and landscaping projects.

We are a long established, family run business with an excellent reputation in the industry. We feel very proud of our positive customer reviews and hope you enjoy reading them.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Garage conversions
    • Building services
    • Loft conversions
    • Plastering
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • Fencing

  • Patios and driveways

    • Driveway installation and maintenance
    • Patio installation and maintenance
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
  • More Services

    • refurbishment

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
33 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent builders
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose Alderson Building Company as they are a Which Trusted Trader, and they lived up to expectations. Ray, Roy & Liam plus the rest of the team completed our cloakroom and first floor extension to a high standard and within the original estimate and time-frame. We were kept informed throughout the process; they were always friendly, polite and tidy, and they minimised the disruption which is inevitable for such work. I'm happy to recommend them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 22/11/2023 , work completed 17/11/2023
Removal of internal supporting wall and replacement facias, soffits and guttering.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were pleased to discover Alderson Building Company and found Ray and his team attentive, speedy and efficient, and good value for money. Both jobs were completed without fuss and there was good coordination with all of the sub-contractors managed by Ray.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 08/11/2023 , work completed 23/10/2023
good job.very accommodating
Found Alderson Building on Which? Trusted traders & had good reviews. I wanted a small bespoke job for my elderly mother. Ray & the team were happy to meet on-site & plan the best options for my mum's mobility & working around my ability to be on-site. Works were great and completed swiftly. Would definitely recommend & use again.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 13/08/2023 (Reviewer did not use service)
Porch Extension and Toilet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contracted Ray and his team to build a porch extension with a downstairs toilet. We chose Ray because we thought that communication was great from the start and he listened to what we wanted. The work started on schedule and throughout the build, Ray and his team kept us informed about what was going on and offered helpful advice. They left our property tidy and as clean as practically possible at the end of every day. While he was not the cheapest quote we got we feel that the quality and top notch service made it well worth the money. The work was completed on time and on budget I can't express enough how pleased we are with the end result. We thought Ray and his team were really helpful throughout the whole process and will definitely book them again for future projects.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 02/07/2023 , work completed 25/05/2023
Excellent work done promptly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The wall at the front of my house had partially collapsed. I had not used this company before but Ray responded promptly, came and did an estimate and did the work promptly. They demolished the existing wall and built a new wall and at all times Ray kept me informed on progress. The work was completed in three days and they cleared up and left the site in pristine condition. The bill was the same as the estimate. Overall a very positive experience and I would not hesitate to recommend the firm or to use them again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 12/06/2023 , work completed 08/06/2023
Speedy, knowledgable and great to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed extensive renovation to our new house in St Albans. A completely new kitchen and bathroom, new floors, and a supporting wall knocked through. Alderson Building Company walked us through exactly what we needed to do and who to contact. They're great people to work with and definitely knew what they were talking about. They pretty much sorted everything out for us, from the construction work, to the flooring, plumbing and electrics. They consulted with us throughout the process, with cost and time estimates. When we discovered the under floorboards were warped, they quickly replaced them. The work was completed quicker than planned and to a very high standard and finish. Afterwards, when we had a slight issue with our oven, they came round very quickly to fix it. So we are very pleased with our choice to use Alderson Building Company.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 09/05/2023 , work completed 22/04/2023
Professional Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray and his hardworking team have built us a fabulous rear extension to replace our ageing conservatory. They are a very professional, polite and affable team. They arrived every day on time for a days work. They were meticulous with keeping the site tidy and safe. Communication with Ray and his team was excellent, we were always made aware of the next stage of the build and when to expect other tradesmen ie window/door fitters. We were happy to leave them in our house to get on with the job in hand while we had other places to be. They are very trustworthy and I can’t recommend them highly enough.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/11/2022 , work completed 31/10/2022
Excellent Service and Fantastic Finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company came in to fit news doors and adjust some other doors within our primary school, they were amazing! They were a great price, friendly people, quick workers, professional and cleared away all there waste. I would 100% recommend this company to anyone. They have excellent communication skills and are always happy to answer any questions you may have. Very happy with the results and the work has been complimented by all. The pride they take in there work is brilliant and it shows. The doors are fab! THANK YOU!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/11/2022 , work completed 28/10/2022
New steps
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I approached Alderson building from the good reviews for building some new steps and was not disappointed. They rebuilt our original steps and organised a fabricator to make and install a steel handrail which has turned out really good. Ray was very professional and helpful all the way through. Ray and his guy were ontime when coming to do the job and they cleaned up well after the works. I had never used them before but certainly would again, I would not hesitate to recommend them to other people. Very pleased.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/07/2022 , work completed 29/06/2022
Building work and Fencing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Saw this company's details on here and we were impressed from the start. There were 4 different jobs on 2 buildings a minor repair on a third and Mr Alderson came out to assess the work required. His quotations were competitive and given promptly; they were able to commence work on a date convenient to them /us; they worked steadily; were punctual; tidy; all debris was removed. Whilst here they were civil, affable and patient. The work was completed on schedule and all results were complete to our satisfaction. Therefore we would not hesitate to use this company again or recommend it to others.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 11/06/2022 , work completed 08/06/2022
Garage conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray and his team installed 2 patios earlier this year. So impressed we asked for a garage conversion , downstairs toilet upgrade and to hang 4 new doors as our next project. All work was of high quality, everything was left tidy each day and they always helped with advice if needed. They are all such a friendly and happy team. As before we will definitely recommend ABC builders.
Dave in Hertfordshire Posted on 29/09/2021 , work completed 07/09/2021
Why Use Anyone Else? Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contact Alderson Builders in January as we wanted a new porch built , we recieved a visit from Ray and a competitive quotation in a matter of days. We gave the Goahead and the Job was completed to an exceptional standard. From seeing the work Ray and the team put in we decided to have a rear extension on our property and we call Ray in straight away who went thorugh everything thoroughly and promptly gave us a quotation and start date. The works have been completed and it was great to have a company in your house who you can trust. We gave them Keys and alarm details to our property without even thinking twice. Anything else that needs doing we will be calling them.
Dale in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/09/2021 , work completed 01/02/2021
Replace Patios
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted ABC Builders to help and advise replacing our 2 patios. With their help on the design and advice which materials to use we now have 2 fantastic patios. They are a very hard working team, on site every day and kept our property nice and tidy. They were very helpful in all respects and we would recommend this company. Thanks ABC Builders.
Dave in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/06/2021 , work completed 29/05/2021
Alderson Building Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alderson Building Company built and extension to our house in Leverstock Green l. The workmanship was excellent, a hard working team, very conscientious, clean and tidy and work was completed on time. I would certainly recommend Alderson Building Company to anybody looking for a good building team.
Patricia in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/06/2021 , work completed 02/04/2021
Excellent builder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray and his employees removed an old covering over our sideway and replaced it with a new clear plastic covering. They also built a new wooden frame to support the double polycarbonate roof and connecting strips. We were very impressed both with their work and pleasant attitude. It took them two days to complete the work, and we hardly noticed they were there. Later Ray came and repaired a brick wall in our front garden replacing a capping stone. A more cheerful and prompt builder could not be asked for and we highly recommend his staff and work.
Nigel in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/05/2021 , work completed 15/03/2021
Excellent job, thank you
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alderson Building Company has recently completed a garage conversion and porch extension on our property. They were incredibly professional, friendly and communicated with us effectively over the course of the project. We are over the moon with how the work has transformed our home. We would recommend them to our friends and family, and to anyone else looking to do similar work.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 21/02/2021 , work completed 20/12/2020
New kitchen and other improvements
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I purchased my first property in 2020 which needed a lot of work to be brought up to date. I had not hired a builder before and was finding it a little difficult. However Ray turned up promptly and advised me on the project, telling me what I needed to consider before an accurate quote could be produced. Based on his feedback I put together a more detailed plan and asked him to come back. He produced a quote which was fair and detailed and committed to getting the work started quickly. A lockdown was announced on the evening the work started which was unfortunate as the old kitchen had been removed that morning! Ray kept the team separated from the rest of the property, organised their own routes in and out and handled all their own refreshments. He also managed the procedures and bubbles for other trades who were needed so everyone felt secure. I was very grateful that this was managed professionally so that work could continue and my family wasn't left without a kitchen for months. I am very happy with the finished work, any extras were discussed and agreed as they arose and so the final bill contained no surprises. I was especially pleased that the work was done so quickly and that Ray project managed everything from unexpected issues with the kitchen supplier, to the additional trades and Covid restriction.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 21/01/2021 , work completed 20/01/2021
We wouldn’t use anyone else!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After doing a great job for us on some small internal alterations a few years ago we asked Ray and his team to complete a big project for us this year. We had our conservatory knocked down and a single-storey extension built in its place, plus a significant number of internal alterations which required numerous steel beams and associated construction. Once again, we are delighted with our finished renovation. Ray and his team worked with us for four months and were extremely thoughtful with regards to our living conditions and of those around us. They left the house spotless every day and our neighbours all commented on how considerate they were on the street throughout. They completed the project within the time scales they’d estimated and even completed a few extra bits that we’d identified along the way. Ray, Roy and Liam are a pleasure to have around the house. They are genuinely nice guys who take real pride in what they do which is demonstrated in the quality of their work. Their pricing is very fair for the quality of work they produce and we wouldn’t hesitate to use them again for any future projects.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 12/12/2020 , work completed 16/11/2020
Rear garden improvements
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed two boundary walls built with bespoke fencing, I had general ideas of what I wanted, but had great advice From Ray, which gave us a Far better result. Being happy with the first project I asked the team to lay a difficult patterned slate patio, again really pleased. They listened to what I said, and gave me what I wanted. Happy to send photos if needed.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 25/07/2020 , work completed 09/07/2020
Another excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following a great job building our extension (reviewed at the beginning of the year), Ray and his team have completed an en-suite shower room for us. The work was once again carried out to a high standard, and we are delighted with the result.
Frederick Posted on 11/07/2020 , work completed 26/06/2020
Too busy to quote for my job.
I contacted Alderson Building Company on the 12th of June 2020 and booked an appointment for the following Monday for a visit. The gentleman turned up and even called before he came out which I appreciated. I spent around 45 minutes discussing my needs and the access issues and measuring up was then done. I was advised it would be around a week for a quote which I was okay with however, after waiting over a week I received a text message advising me that they had had an influx of work and were unable to even provide me with a quote. I deliberately searched for a company through the Which? site and made an effort to look at reviews to get a decent company however I am disappointed and am no further forward than I was 2 weeks ago.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 24/06/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray and his 2 sons, did a fantastic job building our kitchen extension. We are delighted with the quality and standard of their work. They kept to the schedule, and despite some bad weather finished when they said they would. They were also very thoughtful and practical in offering solutions to any problems which arose. Their qualities were also reflected in the trades they used, and their friendliness and ease of approach meant the 3 months of disruption to our kitchen were as pleasant as they could be. We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 25/02/2020 , work completed 10/12/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After using Ray and the team on my extension, I was pleased that they were chosen for our extension at preschool. They built an extension to house toilets, sinks, a cupboard and washing machine. We are so pleased with the outcome. Ray also donated a kids size dumper truck and digger for the children to play with. Thank you.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 09/09/2019 , work completed 27/08/2019
On Time and Good Quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray and his team built our single storey extension which also included a new sideway access and garden boundary upgrade. The work was carried out on time and on budget. The team were on site every day and the quality of work was excellent. We have also used their services for smaller renovations to other parts of our property and their quality of service and workmanship are first-rate.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 14/08/2019 , work completed 29/06/2019
Another great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray and the boys were excellent, tidy, polite and great job.
Matt, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/06/2019 , work completed 14/06/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray and his team built an extension and fitted my kitchen. They were reliable and worked efficiently. They always tidied up after themselves and I was able to trust them to do the job as expected. Ray communicated well and talked to me about decisions that needed to be made. There were no hidden costs. I would recommend him and his team.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/03/2019 , work completed 05/03/2019
Great job! Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray and his team are hardworking and don't stop until the job is done. They built our driveway to schedule and on budget. I was given guidance on material choices and options. They are so tidy! Cleaning the road after every day's work to ensure the neighbours were kept happy! Would always use these guys and recommend to everyone I know.
Ellie, Hertfordshire Posted on 25/02/2019 , work completed 25/02/2019
Excellent standard of workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray Aloderson converted a large bedroom into a smaller bedroom & office. He gave excellent advice regarding design and lighting and the work was completed to a very high standard. I am delighted with the results. Also they were clean, courteous & hardworking. Pleasant to be around & prompt. No qualms about leaving them in your house while you are at work. I will definitely be using them again. Can't recommend them highly enough.
Deborah, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/01/2019 , work completed 29/01/2019
Trusted builders who do a quality job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the last 5 years Ray, his two sons, and the handful of trusted partners they work with for specialist jobs, have completed a full renovation of our house- extension, demolition, kitchen, bathrooms, plastering, tiling, electrics, joinery...there isn’t much they done! Completely trustworthy, they get the job done consulting you every step of the way. The quality of their work is second to none and they work in an efficient and considerate way- making living through the work as comfortable as possible. I wouldn’t use anyone else, and as result of the work on our house I know they have had enquiries from several neighbours
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 21/11/2018 , work completed 01/04/2018
Kitchen extension and garage conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From receiving the initial competitive quote to the competition of the work, Ray, Roy and Liam have been polite and professional. Throughout the job, they arrived on time and managed the other trades well, ensuring that the work progressed as planned. When unexpected jobs cropped up, Ray discussed the necessary work and agreed a price before proceeding, written quotes were always provided for my records. They kept the area as tidy and ensured not to inconvenience us. The work was completed to a high standard. My neighbours have been pleased with their approach, with one contacting them to quote for work. I would not hesitate to use ABC again for any future work and recommend them wholeheartedly.
Gareth Posted on 16/09/2018 , work completed 16/09/2018
Extension to St Barnabas Church Hemel Hempstead
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contracted Alderson Building Company for an extension to our church, I would highly recommend them anyone. They are a credit to the industry, they finished ahead of schedule and to an extremely high standard. When submitting their quote they did'nt hide any costs. Even when we did have additional costs they worked with us to get the best possible result. Helpful, polite, clean and tidy and a joy to have on the premises. The other tradesmen they brought to sight were top class.
Robw48 Posted on 04/05/2018 , work completed 04/05/2018
Lovely job lads
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray and the lads started promptly on the arranged day and from day 1 things started happening. Very organised and methodical. Lovely job, finished on time. They did extra work which wasn't on the plans with no problem. Thanks to Ray, Roy, Liam and their trusted tradesman.
Neil, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/10/2017 , work completed 01/10/2017
A building company you can TRUST to come and carry out a Kitchen & Toilet Refurbishment and finish the job as requested and on time.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great team – would definitely consider ABC for other projects. I found Ray and his boys very professional, arriving on time every day and providing a high standard of work. The whole job was very well organised with skip in situ from day one and the work area kept clean and tidy throughout the entire job. Very happy with the end result and would highly recommend. Noel Nugent 1/6/2017
Noel Nugent Posted on 07/06/2017 , work completed 07/06/2017
Very reliable, helpful and above all good quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used ABC builders for several building jobs, including a rear extension, new guttering and a garden wall. Most recently they have re-pointed our chimney. They always arrive on time, are friendly, but not demanding and use good quality products. They clear up every day without fail. We would certainly recommend them to anyone.
Hilary P Posted on 22/09/2016 , work completed 22/09/2016
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Ray to be very considerate, friendly neat and tidy. He worked on my patio and velux roof windows.
Christina, St Albans Posted on 01/04/2015 , work completed 01/04/2015