We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Bates Plumbers

Profile thumb logo  2
5.0

50 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Here at Bates Plumbers we cover the Yorkshire area from full bathroom installations to bathroom adaptations for the elderly and disabled. We provide a service which is second to none from start to finish. We provide all the trades required to complete your dream bathroom with free quotes and design service available. Creating your dream bathroom should be an exciting time for all the family, which is why we make the process friendly, hassle free and enjoyable as possible. Our expert bathroom installers are multi skilled meaning most the work is carried out by them and not sub-contractors the only sub-contractors we use is a plasterer and electrician and use them all the time which limits the number of people coming in your home causing minimum disruption to your home is are aim leaving no mess behind. We aren't pushy salesmen, instead we offer honest free expert advice. That's why are reviews on which trusted traders / check a trade are consistently rated 8-10 for installations, tidiness and customer service.

What we do

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom refurbishment

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
50 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Fantastic bathroom refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I decided to hire Bates Plumbers after reading other reviews. Richard was really helpful & talked me through everything I’d need. Ryan & James were assigned to the job; they were prompt, very hard working, professional and did an absolutely fantastic, high quality job. I had a complete refit, taking everything right back to brick & starting from scratch, but nothing was too much trouble for them. They are lovely lads & were a pleasure to deal with. Would highly recommend.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 11/11/2021 , work completed 11/11/2021
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bates Plumbers carried out a complete bathroom refurbishment with great skill. Achieved an extremely good result to time. Very pleasant and considerate to have in the house.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 03/11/2021 , work completed 27/10/2021
Bathroom renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work carried out to a high standard. Work men were polite & courteous. Completed within expected timescales and as quoted.
Barry in West Yorkshire Posted on 27/06/2021 , work completed 26/06/2021
Excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard came and gave a price for the bathroom and toilet area to be completely refurbished. Ryan and James arrived on the agreed date and started the refurbishment. They were very professional in everything they did from start to finish always cleaning up at the end of the day and keeping me up to date as to what they had done and what was still to do. They worked from 8:15am to 5pm every day taking one hour for lunch. The work was completed on time. Would recommend Bates Plumbers to anybody with complete confidence.
Moira in West Yorkshire Posted on 26/05/2021 , work completed 25/05/2021
Installing a dishwasher
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Richard (he has done work for me before to a very high standard and great timescales). I had ordered a dishwasher from a national company and paid for installation (they totally messed it up) so I spoke to Richard and he arranged the installation. In future I will contact him for any plumbing work I need. Fantastic.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 23/01/2021 , work completed 19/01/2021
Refurbishing en-suite shower.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An efficient and professional job from start to finish. I was kept appraised of every thing, good or not so good all the way along. The work force were pleasant and reliable, and have produced an excellent shower room. They were extremely tidy, and everything was taken away at the end of the job. Thank you for a lovely shower room.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 19/01/2021 , work completed 18/01/2021
First Class from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Literally over the moon with my new bathroom and can’t stop trotting upstairs to look at it! I’d trawled through lots of reviews for bathroom fitters and so glad I chose Bates. Richard came with Dom to initially size up and quote. They listened to exactly what I wanted and have delivered to an absolute tee. Dom completed the work with the help of Lucas. Their hard work and perfection is very much appreciated. It’s glaringly apparent that they take great care and pride and enjoy the work they do. Such clean workers- everything tidied up and away every day. My bathroom was completed well on time, no hidden costs and to an exceptional standard. I would not hesitate to recommend Bates Plumbers, if you find yourself like I was looking around, save yourself the hassle and just contact these guys- no messing, upfront, straightforward and affordable.
Donna in West Yorkshire Posted on 12/12/2020 , work completed 15/06/2020
Top Quality in Every Respect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard & team were recommended by our Son following their completion of a new bathroom & en-suite. He is in our experience a rarity amongst skilled tradesmen & contractors, insofar as he says what he will do & when, then does exactly that. Dom did the work for us, fitting the main bathroom & 2 en-suites. Richard was visible throughout the contract. Even though the work went superbly well, this was reassuring. A few months before the work was due to begin Richard gave us a likely start date. Just less than a month before the planned start date, he explained that a current job could run over, so there could be a week’s slippage. He was true to his word. He texted me a few days before starting to confirm the work would begin. He & Dom were most obliging & top communicators. They either asked or told us about any slight variances to the planned work as they occurred. The work was completed to the highest standard over 6 weeks of full days’ work, making no compromises for the significant travel time on each morning & evening. We are delighted with our 2 en-suites and the “pièce de resistance”, our main bathroom. Richard and his employees share the attributes of honesty, integrity, total trustworthiness and person-ability. You may glean from the earlier comments that I am highly impressed with Bates Plumbers. I seldom give 100% ratings, on the principle that there is always some improvement to be made. Unhesitatingly full marks to Bates Plumbers.
Customer in North Yorkshire Posted on 16/11/2020 , work completed 16/11/2020
Fantastic job complete bathroom transformation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our bathroom has been completely transformed into a bright modern bathroom to be proud of. Ryan and Lucas worked very hard and professionally. They were friendly and punctual and cleaned up well every day before going home. Richard came to check progress and was friendly and professional. The work done is spot on and looks great. They did the ceiling, floor, tiling and everything in between. All of the rubbish has been collected and removed as arranged on the last day. Robert who did the electrics was great too. Thank you to you all.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 12/11/2020 , work completed 12/11/2020
Downstairs toilet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was introduced to Richard when he came to fit our B and Q Bathroom in 2015. As he did an excellent job of that it was a no brainer when it came to looking for someone to fit our new downstairs toilet this year. As always, Richard and his team carried out a thoroughly professional job and I would recommend Bates Plumbers to anyone. They turned an old understairs pantry into a luxury downstairs toilet.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 13/10/2020 , work completed 29/06/2020
A1 Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full replacement of bathroom and en-suite. Put full day in every day were here, every day on time, clean, friendly fitters.
Russ, West Yorkshire Posted on 18/02/2020 , work completed 18/02/2020
First class standard.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All work including joinery & electronics was carried out to a first class standard... Fitted complete shower room and fully tiled all walls - new flooring.
Barry, West Yorkshire Posted on 06/01/2020 , work completed 06/01/2020
En suite refurb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second bathroom we have had done by Bates Plumbers. This was just as excellent as the first. Really neat job. Polite and courteous. Highly recommend.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 01/11/2019 , work completed 24/10/2019
Top quality bathroom refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Listened to what we wanted, gave suggestions where needed. Did exactly what we wanted and more. Tidied up every day. Courteous, reliable and trustworthy. Excellent finish.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 06/10/2019 , work completed 03/10/2019
Professional tradesman.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on date and time as scheduled. Work (replacement toilet and wash hand basin, taps and new waste fittings) was carried out to a very high standard and site was left spotless on completion. Highly recommended!
John, East Yorkshire Posted on 28/09/2019 , work completed 28/09/2019
Happy with result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came on day agreed blocked of staircase to basement and fitted toilet with hand basin, put some tiles on new floor, made good everything and cleared up. I will certainly give him any future work as required. Really happy with the result.
Christine, West Yorkshire Posted on 19/08/2019 , work completed 19/08/2019
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New bathroom fitted. All completion times as advised beforehand, and if slight amendments needed, then Richard was prepared to do things properly and not cut corners. Had to also use plasterer and electrician, and these came on time, so logistically this worked out perfectly. First class work from the fitter, Ryan, and very satisfied with both the quality of the work and the price. No hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 29/06/2019 , work completed 28/06/2019
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bathroom refurbishment. Included using plasterer and electrician, and all arrived on time as scheduled, so logistically excellent. Richard made sure job done properly and no corners cut, quality of work from fitter, Ryan, was excellent. Great value overall and no hesitation in recommending.
Hedley, West Yorkshire Posted on 28/06/2019 , work completed 28/06/2019
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard Bates was recommended to fit a new bathroom for us. Really professional and took into account what we wanted and also made suggestions we had not considered. We are very happy with the costs and work undertaken.
Diane, West Yorkshire Posted on 25/06/2019 , work completed 25/06/2019
Courteous & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After date was finally agreed, work was carried out promptly & clearly. One small problem after completion was rectified immediately. Very pleased with our new downstairs loo.
J, West Yorkshire Posted on 06/03/2019 , work completed 06/03/2019
Reliable and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was impressed by the efficiency shown by the workers who were extremely pleasant and reliable. I am delighted to have found such an excellent firm.
Wendy, West Yorkshire Posted on 19/01/2019 , work completed 19/01/2019
Professional and reliable.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good quality work, neat, tidy and polite. Provided a great service. Very good tiling and provided good ideas to help make things look better Quoted price did change. Good time keeping.
Adam, West Yorkshire Posted on 07/12/2018 , work completed 07/12/2018
Bathroom refurbishment.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would highly recommend Richard Bates plumbers and his team of lads. Our bathroom was completely refurbished to a high standard. Advice given and any problems that occurred solved with no pressure before and after the job completed. Well done to Ryan and Fuzz , grand lads.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 05/12/2018 , work completed 23/11/2018
Bathroom Renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Completely renovated bathroom, Richard and Dom were great. Completed work to a high standard and ensured they left the place clean and tidy each day. Communicated well. Would definately recommend.
Customer in West Yorkshire Posted on 18/11/2018 , work completed 02/11/2018
Polite, informative and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard and Dom were very professional. They kept us informed through and the completed bathroom is to a high standard. Very good value.
Eric, West Yorkshire Posted on 12/11/2018 , work completed 12/11/2018
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They completely stripped out the old bathroom, plastered the walls. Installed new shower, basin and toilet. Tiled walls and laid new floor. The work was completed on time and to our complete satisfaction. Mr Bates was very helpful with his advice and tips. There were 2 small faults that were fixed very quickly.
Peter, West Yorkshire Posted on 29/10/2018 , work completed 29/10/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard and team installed a new bathroom suite from a new ceiling to a new floor, the work was completed to a very high standard and the team maintained a tidy work place at the end of each day. The lads who completed the job were courteous and happy to chat through there progress and what they had panned for each day. The new bathroom is a complete transformation and I cannot find fault in any of the work they completed. I would not hesitate to recommend Richard and his team.
Andy Ratcliffe Posted on 02/10/2018 , work completed 02/10/2018
Good job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Completely renovated bathroom. Now have lovely shower and new flooring and tiles - good job!
Patricia, West Yorkshire Posted on 28/09/2018 , work completed 28/09/2018
Did everything we asked. Could not be happier.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced floor as we requested. Complete new bathroom suite, new shower unit with a fixed shower head and a hand-held shower. All done very neatly. Every night before they left they cleared up. Very pleased with everything they did.
Mavis, West Yorkshire Posted on 12/09/2018 , work completed 12/09/2018
Brilliant job, hard workers.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job. Prompt and professional, can't fault them. The lads are hard workers and pleasant. A credit to the company.
Michelle, West Yorkshire Posted on 10/09/2018 , work completed 10/09/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard came to replace a broken electric shower with one that I had already purchased, however, I had got the wrong shower. It would use more electricity than the wiring could take. Richard disconnected to old shower while I got a new replacement. I though that this was great service as I thought he might have had to come back another day and I needed this replacement done today. Will definitely go to Richard for any future plumbing work.
Trevor, West Yorkshire Posted on 23/08/2018 , work completed 23/08/2018
Professional service & excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Worked in 30 degree heat tirelessly ripping out my bathroom, they worked in a tidy fashion with little disruption to the rest of my home. They were reliable & courteous. My finished bathroom is everything I dreamed of, the workmanship is faultless. Would highly recommend Bate Plumbers.
Amanda, North Yorkshire Posted on 15/07/2018 , work completed 15/07/2018
A job well done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First-class job done. Cost as per estimate. Very satisfied.
Brian, West Yorkshire Posted on 09/07/2018 , work completed 09/07/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & professional.
Dilipkumar, West Yorkshire Posted on 25/06/2018 , work completed 25/06/2018
Done a great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, clean, tidy & reliable and on time. Would definitely recommend.
Patricia, West Yorkshire Posted on 14/06/2018 , work completed 14/06/2018
Brilliant bathroom refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard quoted quickly & honestly. Dom & the team were tidy, helpful & polite. They all supported with which products would be best & answered any questions throughout the process. Skilled & excellent tradesmen.
Eve, West Yorkshire Posted on 13/06/2018 , work completed 13/06/2018
Exceeded my expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job carried out was a complete refit of my bathroom - removing the bath and replacing with a shower cubicle, plus walls and floor fully tiled. From the initial visit, Richard was very professional offering advice and suggestions, the work was carried out to a very high standard and the area was left tidy at the end of the day. I can recommend Richard and his team 100%.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 08/06/2018 , work completed 08/06/2018
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with finished job, and with the care and politeness of the guys who worked on it.
Stewart, West Yorkshire Posted on 31/05/2018 , work completed 31/05/2018
Great bathroom fit, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard advised us about what we could do and how the bathroom would look. When there was some additional work and cost he kept us informed and gave regular progress updates. The finished bathroom looks great. A very professional service.
Rick, West Yorkshire Posted on 24/05/2018 , work completed 24/05/2018
Worked to a very high standard.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was happy to give advice and suggestions to help with design etc before work commenced. Worked to a very high standard. Friendly and efficient team. Will recommend.
Elaine, West Yorkshire Posted on 15/05/2018 , work completed 15/05/2018
Very Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was not a straight forward plumbing job. Our bathroom needed redesigning and Bates were very creative and reassuring from the start. The actual fit was prompt and very professional.
Caroline, West Yorkshire Posted on 21/04/2018 , work completed 21/04/2018
Quality Reliable Plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had a couple of jobs done by Bates Plumbers recently. They have fixed my toilet and also dealt with a leak in my kitchen. On both occasions they have done a great job at a good price. They are very reliable and I would highly recommend.
Vikkie Posted on 08/03/2018 , work completed 08/03/2018
Great people, great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard and Dom were both very helpful & honest. The job was completed within the timescale quoted, and started a couple of weeks earlier, which was very pleasing for me, and very happy with the result. A new refurbed shower room, fully tiled (walls and floor), relocation of shower & basin and radiator. Kept informed at all times, reassured if I was unsure of anything. I would recommend Richard and his teams without hesitation.
Wendy, West Yorkshire Posted on 27/02/2018 , work completed 27/02/2018
Complete refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent professional service, friendly reliable with attention to detail. Complete strip out of old bathroom. New shower cubicle instead of old bath, full tiling, new ceiling, floor, outside soil pipes. Only slowed down by the adverse weather.
Peter, West Yorkshire Posted on 19/02/2018 , work completed 19/02/2018
Highly recommended tradesmen with attention to detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great team of people who from the start gave me a lot of confidence to do the job. There was a lot of care and attention throughout the whole process. They took their time to make sure that everything was perfect instead of doing it quick and not good. Would definitely recommended
Very Happy customer, West Yorkshire Posted on 16/02/2018 , work completed 16/02/2018
Brilliance from Bates
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had the old bathroom suite taken out New ceiling with down lighting installed New large shower unit installed,new hidden pedestal and WC installed with new cupboards New heated towel rail installed New floor and wall tiles fitted throughout Richard and his team were extremely professional throughout and kept us updated every day their workmanship was excellent and have produced a new stunning bathroom for us
James and Karen from Calverley, LS28 Posted on 15/02/2018 , work completed 15/02/2018
Happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard installed a new toilet for me. Very happy with the work, cleans up everything and makes sure that everything is finished of nicely.
MRS W., West Yorkshire Posted on 09/02/2018 , work completed 09/02/2018
Reliable quality plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard has installed a new bathroom, en-suite bathroom and replaced a number of radiators
Chadders, LS20 Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely professional and superb craftsmen. They turned up on time, extremely clean and tidy, in fact everywhere they made a mess it was cleaned up immediately.
Sarita, West Yorkshire Posted on 12/03/2017 , work completed 12/03/2017
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely professional and superb craftsmen. They turned up on time, extremely clean and tidy, in fact everywhere they made a mess it was cleaned up immediately.
Sarita, West Yorkshire Posted on 12/03/2017 , work completed 12/03/2017