We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Britelite Windows Ltd

Profile thumb britelite logo

4.7

187 Reviews

About

Britelite Windows is the South East's leading supplier of triple and double glazed windows, doors and conservatories. We put quality and service first and use only the finest materials in all our products. Our windows are safe and secure, keep you toasty in the winter and help reduce your energy bills, while our extensive range of conservatories, from Edwardian, Victorian to sunrooms are the best way of adding extra space to your home.

What we do

  • Glaziers

    • Sash windows
    • Double glazing installation
  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • Conservatories

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
187 reviews
Customer Service
4.7
Quality
4.7
Value
4.6
Sort by
Make up your own mind based on our experience. After 6 months and £3k from survey to final snagging for 4 windows and a door for a porch... I'm done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
27/11 Survey and quote 2/12 Contract Signed – Installation by end of Jan promised 19/1 Informed promised Jan installation date will be missed – 25th Feb is the earliest (£50 deduction off total cost to compensate) 17/2 I call installs office to check install is going ahead – confirmed 24/2 Call Installs office to double-check – confirmed 25/2 - Installer arrives with front door and side panel but no windows. 1 hour later after measuring the parts, the door is 60mm too tall etc – the install is called off. I’m called by the install manager who apologises and says the right parts will be ordered. I ask for compensation and talk about cancelling the entire purchase. He “politely” reminds me the contract can’t be broken and I’ll need to speak to a manager. I'm livid. A GM calls and apologises, he admits they "failed spectacularly" gives a guarantee that the job will be finished within 2 weeks, we negotiate a discount if this isn’t fulfilled, he asks a superior and offers a further £150 deduction if 2 weeks missed. Calmer now. 5/3 Installation is done with 10 snags ranging from wobbly side light fitting to 1 crack, 5 scratches and bits falling off. The fitter drops cigarettes on our property and is unfriendly. Really disappointed. 19/3 Fitter came to fix snags, 2 still remaining and 1 new one created. 13/4 Fitter came to fix snags, wrong letterbox ordered to replace damaged ones. Down to one snag now… 6 months since the job was surveyed and it's nearly over.
Chris in Greater London Posted on 14/04/2021 , work completed 05/03/2021
The trader replied (on 20/04/2021)
Hi Mr Gunther. We are truly sorry that we let you down with the installation of your new porch door and windows. Regrettably we are suffering huge delays from our suppliers, made even worse in the early part of this year during lockdown 3. We do understand that your contract was time sensitive and in retrospect we recognise that we were not in a position to guarantee dates as we did in your case. We understand that the products are now all installed and you have been appropriately compensated for the delay, we apologise again for the inconvenience we caused you and are confident that you will be very happy with your newly installed Britelite products.
Avoid
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Avoid this company. We have had nothing but problems from start to finish. We had Windows installed several years ago. The installation was a nightmare from start to finish broken windows, large holes covered up damage to our property. It continues to be cause problems. The bay has leaked twice. It transpired they had attached a pelmet above the window which was not fit for purpose. On removing they pulled off my render. They put a temporary fix which they filled with cement and all over my window frame. They then sent a plasterer who stated it could not be repaired and it all required removing. This company have refused to carry out the repairs and informed me that I could just paint over it, as it would need painting in a few years anyway!!!! Absolutely, appalled by this response. What about the missing render? What about the uneven finish all over the frame? What about what their contractor informed them? What about the filler all over the render where the pelmet was attached incorrectly? Just to be clear it is not redecoration that is required. I will now need to have another contractor to repair this poor workmanship. I will now need to have my property repainted because they damaged my render and refusing to fix. Buyers your guarantee is worthless. They are misleading in response to my reviews. The window has not been repaired. I did not refuse to allow remedial works to be carried out. They refused to do it!
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 17/03/2021 , work completed 17/03/2021
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 18/03/2021)
Dear Ms Meechan. We do regret that you have experienced a leak issue with your 2014 window installation, we have attended to this under the guarantee and will of course return should any further issue become apparent. We are sorry that we have been unable to reach an agreement with you over the refurbishment of the outside wall above the window.
Avoid at all costs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Britelite to replace our windows and conservatory doors as we found the salesman to be helpful, responsive and not pushy. Unfortunately, the rest of the experience didn’t match up. The fitters did not arrive on the date booked and I had to chase to find out when they would be coming. To name just a few of the issues we had, some of the windows had the wrong colour handles from what we had ordered, one of the bathroom window panes had the wrong pattern, another window pane was too small and 3 of the panes cracked either on arrival or while being fitted. The fitters were in a rush to get the work done and were not very careful resulting in the cracked glass and some other damage to our walls. Their attention to health and safety was appalling, highlighted by the fact they incorrectly propped up our conservatory roof with a support that was too high so they had to use this at an angle which we later found out is very dangerous. When we later complained about this to the Installation Manager, his response was “Well nothing happened”! It took 2 separate follow up visits for Britelite to eventually put the issues right. If you are considering Britelite for any work, I would strongly recommend looking elsewhere!
Customer in Medway Posted on 22/01/2021 , work completed 22/10/2020
The trader replied (on 27/01/2021)
Hi Richard. Thank you for your review. We offer our sincerest apologies for putting you and your family at risk. We take this matter very seriously and indeed we have recently parted company with our fitter as he did not respond to our instructions in Health and Safety matters as we required. We are pleased that we were able to replace the glass and handles for you and regret the inconvenience that we caused to you. Britelite appreciate your consideration and patience, and we were happy to make an amicable settlement with you. We are sure your new Britelite products will serve you well for many years to come.
Awkward corner conservatory replacement onto existing unequal length dwarf walls was not a happy experience.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The surveyor turned out to be incompetent as during installation we discovered that what he had designed was too small and also exactly symmetrical as this, he later insisted, was the rule. So the fit was awful and looked unsafe where the roof attached to the walls. With work stopped our rising stress levels were not helped by the lack of communication from Britelite. The statement on their web site about a senior manager visiting within 48 hrs if you are unhappy with the installation is pure fiction. On persevering I got hold of the operations director who agreed to send down his chief surveyor. This surveyor agreed it had been designed wrongly and confirmed there were no rules about symmetry. So on his recommendation Britelite did agree to start all over again. This of course meant a significant delay so the whole project took almost 12 months from contract to completion (compounded by Covid restrictions). There were other hiccups along the way. Worst was the roof glass which on both occasions was cut wrongly which resulted in us being left for long periods with a roof that wasn’t watertight. No room here for additional comments but I would just criticise Britelite for implying that the interest free finance scheme gives you a hold on them if you are not happy. This is false as it is the bank that you are in debt to, not Britelite. This job will have cost Britelite dearly so I hope they have learned from the experience and retrained or replaced the incompetent surveyor.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 11/12/2020 , work completed 02/12/2020
The trader replied (on 15/12/2020)
Hi Mr Loveless. We certainly did have our fair share of problems with your build and can only apologise for the inconvenience we caused. Our surveyor did make a serious error in assuming your property was square and we agreed to remake the roof once our senior surveyor confirmed the fault. The first surveyor is qualified and vastly experienced and has now undergone retraining particularly in respect of problematic shaped conservatories such as you required. We are pleased that the build did get completed properly for you, although there were many delays, largely due to the error you mention and covid19 restrictions which obviously affected our ability to send a senior manager to visit you in the Summer. We always abide by our contract agreements and our staff should not encourage customers to withhold finance payments should a problem arise. We apologise again for the stress we caused during this difficult year but are confident that your conservatory will serve you well for the foreseeable future. Kindest Regards
Think Carefully before using this company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Unreliable think carefully before using this company we certainly won't be again! First order we placed with them was for French patio doors to go in place of window. Waited a long time after placing order and then came the day of installation. Great we though until a phone call at 0845 to tell us they could not do our work today due to a previous job overrunning. We were provided a second date a few weeks later and again looked forward to the installation date only to receive a call again on the morning to say one of the fitters was now sick so would not be installed that day! Spoke with the sales person who advised he had never heard of 2 cancellations in the last 3 years he has worked for the company very rare to get 1 cancellation and never heard of 2. Finally on the 3rd booked visit again a few weeks later the job was complete by 2 very polite fitters who worked well although the plastering skills to make good were less than a DIYer could achieve in most cases. They actually plastered over the wall paper adjacent easy fix for me so sorted myself. 2nd order again we were provided a install date. Again we have waited in taking another day off work and yes you guessed it again we get a call to cancel shortly after 8am on the day this time because their manufactures had not delivered a part they thought they had? We were told by the salesman they manufacture all there own products?? Very poor and unreliable certainly don't plan to be using again for the remaining windows
Customer in Kent Posted on 16/10/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 21/10/2020)
Hi, We are sorry that our current supply problems have impacted on your installation dates and for the inconvenience this has caused you. Your earlier contract coincided with the worst of the summer coronavirus restrictions, but now our factories are experiencing shortages due to staff absences and localised lockdowns which we admit are affecting our ability to honour our installation dates on occasions. We are currently ascertaining when your product will be received from our factory and will rebook a convenient date with you just as soon as we possibly can. Please be assured that we are doing all we can to complete you contract at the earliest opportunity while minimising further inconvenience to you.
Punctual, Quality and Value for money
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with the whole service from start to finish. We would like to say a very big thank you to Chris and Scott for an excellent installation - very clean, polite and professional. I have already recommended Britelite to family and friends. We love our new windows and front door.
Customer in Kent Posted on 20/01/2020 , work completed 27/11/2019
No hard sell, clear communication, great windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having dealt with a number of window companies, from start to finish, Britelite has been by far the most professional. No hard sell, competitive pricing, clear communication, friendly and polite staff. The installation was efficient and tidy. A sight issue with one of our sandblasted panes of glass was sorted out quickly and a replacement part ordered and fitted as soon as it was available. Britelite offer interest free financing, making the windows more affordable. We have been complimented a number of times, by neighbours and passers-by, on our smart sash windows.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/01/2020 , work completed 04/12/2019
Britelight took on a difficult job and did well.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Britelite took on the job of replacing windows in an old conservatory. The whole team were great, but we were most pleased with the fitters who coped with the slight settling of the old and made it look good as new. Thank you
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/08/2019 , work completed 30/07/2019
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sam and Jake were early on the day of installation of my flat roof. They were polite and explained what they were doing, also highlighted that cladding was not in great shape. They left site clean and tidy. Other staff also efficient and friendly.
Customer in Kent Posted on 31/07/2019 , work completed 22/07/2019
Excellent Company, Highly Recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are really pleased with our installation comprised of 11 Windows & 3 Doors. They were well made, well fitted, no mess. We had a great installation team on site and would definitely recommend Britelite to friends and family. Thank you.
Customer in Essex Posted on 17/07/2019 , work completed 08/07/2019