We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Classic Construction Limited T/A BAR Preservation

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–16:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb logo

4.8

24 Reviews

About

BAR Preservation is a structural repair and preservation specialist offering to undertake bespoke repairs and installations in all types of construction.

We offer effective and economical structural repairs to existing buildings, remedial damp proofing, basement waterproofing and timber preservation services. We regularly work on buildings ranging from domestic houses to listed buildings and commercial premises.

Directors and employees of Bar Preservation have been offering their expertise in damp proofing, timber preservation and structural repairs since 1989.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
    • Timber treatment services
  • More Services

    • structural repairs
    • cavity wall ties
    • dry rot treatment

Customer reviews

4.8
24 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.6
Sort by
Renewed floor joists
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Bar Preservation several times. This job involved renewing rotten floor joists and treating the total area. From the initial examination and quote to the completion of the job, they explained what the problem was, the extent, the work required and kept me informed throughout. The work was done to schedule and all was made neat and tidy. The floor is now solid and I can move on with other repairs.
Customer in Greater Manchester27/09/2019
Thorough, efficient and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I choose this company on the basis of reading previous reviews and the range of specialist work they carry out. So thought I would leave a review of my own experience. Everyone I came into contact with was a credit to the company, from John the surveyor who explained everything and promptly answered follow up emails to May and Reece who were the lead contractors on site for a week's work replacing floor joists and timbers following wet rot, injection of dpc and replastering. Nothing phased them. They were pleasant, thorough, efficient and cleaned up each day. From our point of view things went as smoothly as possible considering the scale of the work. I would highly recommend this company.
Customer in Greater Manchester07/03/2019
Efficient and considerate.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bar Preservation were professional and efficient in their damp proofing work. The job was excellent and the workers were also considerate of the neighbours. Would recommend.
Roma Victoria, Lancashire29/10/2018
Thorough and good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful and clear communication. I understood why we got work done and they explained survey results.
E, Lancashire09/10/2018
Neat work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hacked off plaster, injected with damp-proof material & re-plastered affected areas. Did more areas than originally agreed on. Cleared away all rubble & tidied up to high level expectation. Very neat plastering work. Would definitely recommend Paul & Kevin as a team.
Hannah, Cheshire14/09/2018
They were great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They explained everything through & sent info on how to proceed. Polite & helpful.
Wendy, Cheshire16/07/2018
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although this work wasn't by choice (DPC and wall ties after a survey), I couldn't fault their work. They did a brilliant job, tidied up after themselves and even helped to put up my son's light. Their plastering skills were excellent and I will definitely use them again.
Christine, Lancashire11/06/2018
Excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional and courteous team. Work completed efficiently and house left tidy.
Nazrul, Lancashire31/05/2018
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is a great company to deal with. John who did the initial survey was both very helpful and thorough. The lads all did a professional and very tidy job. I definitely recommend and will use again. Reliable and trustworthy.
Angela, Lancashire23/04/2018
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Workmen very helpful. Work carried out quickly, no mess. Would recommend.
Pauline, Lancashire08/01/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really helpful from start to finish, recommend without hesitation.
Nicola, Lancashire18/12/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Apart from wet plaster on the wall I would never have known that work had been carried out. Thank you.
Frances, Lancashire30/11/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly and good job
Kathy, Cheshire19/10/2017
Professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional damp proof service carried out efficiently. Would recommend.
Carol, Lancashire11/10/2017
Honest, Helpful, Professional (Good Old Fashioned Values)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I really can't praise this company highly enough. In a time when the world seems to be falling apart and you can't find a company you can "Trust" along comes John! Assesses the damp problem in my son's house and tell us how to put it right. No pressure, no tactics, no blagging. Totally honest and open. He takes time to explain what is causing the problem and how to remedy it. He was so good I wish it had been more serious so I could give him and his company the job. Honestly, it's very rare to meet someone who can be so Professional, Helpful and Honest. I couldn't recommend these people more highly. Hugely impressed!
Nolan30/08/2017
Professional company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We use Classic Construction (BAR Presentation) on a regular basis across our property portfolio, they are a tried and tested company. Highly recommended!
Lyn, Lancashire11/05/2017
A job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The works were carried out quickly and to programme.
Ian, Lancashire31/03/2017
Good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, efficient, work completed on time. Tidied up after.
Lindsay, Cheshire30/03/2017
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just want to take a moment to say how great this company is. They dealt with my Enquiry very promptly & also promised what they said. I needed the wall ties work completing & bar preservation came out for the inspection when promised & work was carried out to an excellent standard. Nothing was too much hard work. If you need a great company to do some work on your house, don't hesitate to call bar preservation. Will be using you again for future but to let purchases also.
Dalbir21/04/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Bar Preservation recently (June 2014) due to a issue with damp, The Surveyor came out and was very professional and gave me very good advice and went through the process of rectifying the issue, he gave me 2 quotes one for the main issue and some additional work that I pointed out to him. The workmen came out on time and did an excellent job, they were professional and went though what they had done. They were friendly and cleaned up. I would have no hesitation on recommending them
Dips7220/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Whilst storing some items in the loft I noticed some white powdery deposits on some of my roof timbers, fearing the worst I contacted BAR Preservation and asked them to carry out an inspection. The surveyor arrived on time and carried out a thorough inspection. There was a charge for this but at no time was I put under any pressure to have any work done, he just advised as to what would be appropriate. He also went on to recommend that some extra ventilation would help the problem from re-occuring. he also pointed out that one of the roof joists had slipped and could do with reattaching. He then sent me a full report in the post along with quotations for carrying out the works which I accepted. The work carried out (again arriving exactly as arranged). It's so refreshing to find a firm that does what they say they will and turns up on time.
MixendenGeoff14/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally impressed! The surveyor was very professional and "HONEST". He explained that I didn't need a new damp course, the path at the side of the house was too high and suggested a simple remedy. I was totally impressed and would definitley use them in the future if needed and based on my experience would recommend them without hesitation. No call out fee either. Wow!!!!!
nolan00111/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this firm and found them to be professional, helpful and (so far as I as a lay person can tell) competent. The surveyor was clear and convincing in describing what needed to be done. There was no hint of sales pressure. The man who came to do the work was tidy, courteous and unfussy - the sort of person you would be happy to have in your house.
glyn roberts19/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Damp appeared in a ground floor bay. I asked BAR to perform an inspection and provide a quotation. There is a charge of £35+VAT, which is deducted from the cost of any work done. I had made several calls to other traders and realised that the charge is normal practice, though it does vary. The inspector was knowledgeable. friendly and willing to listen to my thoughts on the problem and solution. A written report arrived with a few days together with quotes for each part of the job. I decided to do the external work myself and asked BAR to attend to the internal work, costing £525+VAT. This was performed over two 0.5 days to allow the base plaster coat to dry. Joist timbers and floorboards were replaced (entirely even though only a couple of timbers appeared rotten at first) with treated wood and capped at the external wall entry. Wall injected with DPC and final coat of plaster applied. Left site clean and tidy. 20 year guaranteee.
tgswilson23/12/2010