We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Coles Electrics

Profile thumb resized van photo
5.0

26 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Coles Electrics provides electrical services for domestic properties in South East Wales.

Coles Electrics offer a reliable, competent friendly domestic electrical service and take great pride in all work carried out. Registered and fully insured, you are in safe hands with Coles Electrics for all your domestic electrical needs.

Formed by Matt Coles whom has 22+ years of experience in electrical and mechanical engineering (having worked for both Rolls-Royce and British Gas).

Specialise in Testing, Condition Reports and
Consumer Unit upgrades.

Coles Electrics put the customer at the heart of everything we do and aim to ensure your complete satisfaction.

Some of the services offered:-

Consumer Unit (Fuse board) upgrades
Circuit Rewiring
Additions and Alterations
Repair and Maintenance work
Inspection and Testing (Electrical Condition Reports)
Internal and External Lighting and Sockets
Smart controls e.g. Hive and Nest controls
Free no obligation quote

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical repairs
    • Electrical testing services
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • More Services

    • additions and alterations
    • smart controls

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
26 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Professional and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt at Coles Electrics is a professional, efficient tradesman and and someone you can absolutely trust. I required a complete rewire of my property, which involved over two weeks worth of work. Matt carried out the work to an outstanding standard, communicating with me on a daily basis to inform me of his progress and to ask my opinion on various aspects of the work (such as socket and switch placement). Due to the robustness of the brickwork in the house, the chasing of the wires turned out to be more laborious than expected- however, Matt still carried out the work in the exact amount of days as quoted, and did not increase the cost of the job. Matt discussed my future plans for the property with me, and helped me plan out placement of sockets for future instalments, which I had not previously considered (such as for the relocated boiler, kitchen equipment, etc) . His expertise has therefore saved me time and money down the line, and I can’t thank him enough for his advice and expert skill. Matt kept the property clean and tidy all throughout, and finished plastering to a high standard. After the work was completed, Matt took time to explain the new set up to me and ensured that I understood how to operate everything safely. In short, Matt provided an exemplary service and communicated every step of the way, and I will no doubt be using his services again.
McDonagh in Torfaen Principal Area Posted on 11/06/2021 , work completed 09/06/2021
Highly recommended for your electrical work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt from Coles Electrics replaced our old fuse box with a modern, safer consumer unit. It was a great experience from right from the initial contact through to the quote, booking the job, and the work being carried. It was easy to communicate with Matt throughout, and he explained clearly the options for the new unit so we could make an informed decision. Matt also talked us through the work he'd need to do on the day, including all the safety checks, so we knew what we were actually paying for. The work was all carried out professionally and tidily, with the new earth bonding and meter tails neatly boxed in. A few minor issues such as missing earth wiring on light fittings were sorted with no extra hassle or cost. I received the electrical installation certificate and invoice on the same day as the job, so everything was sorted quickly and efficiently. Very happy with the job, and I would definitely use Coles Electrics again.
Customer in Torfaen Principal Area Posted on 27/05/2021 , work completed 12/03/2021
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been very impressed with the service provided by Matt in every respect. Over the course of two days, Matt completed an electrical safety check on our house, tidied up junction boxes and installed numerous new lights and switches. Several aspects of his work stand out for me. a). Quality of work. He knows his stuff. All work was completed to the highest standards and thoroughly tested before he left. He is a "fixer", competently tackling even the most difficult or fiddly jobs. b). Work ethic. He worked incredibly hard throughout the days with few breaks. He worked efficiently and effectively through a big list of jobs. c). Communications and customer service. His email communication was patient and helpful and he turned up punctually. He went above and beyond, completing a range of jobs that had not been specified. He was extremely considerate, tidying up after himself, working in a Covid secure manner. In summary, Matt is highly professional and I would have no hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Monmouthshire Posted on 08/05/2021 , work completed 07/05/2021
Replace and move lights
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Matt to replace and reposition 3 lights in our flat. He answered all of our questions beforehand and arrived on time. He explained what he was going to do and advised possible issues. Luckily no problems arose and he completed the work efficiently and to a high standard. He was Covid compliant and left the area clean and tidy, making good the ceilings where he had moved the lights. Would have no hesitation in recommending.
Matt in North Somerset Posted on 22/04/2021 , work completed 21/04/2021
Excellent Workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had Matt around to install a new socket in our hallway. Communication throughout has been brilliant. Came round to give us a quote, was quick with response and booking in the works. Matt was efficient and left no mess behind. Would highly recommend and will be using Coles Electrics again for some more work which we would like completed in our home.
Customer in Newport Posted on 20/04/2021 , work completed 20/04/2021
Excellent Job. Would Highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used Coles electrics. The first was to fit some extra sockets in a utility room and fix a TV flat to a wall without cables showing. The second, fitting an outside socket. Both jobs were completed to a high standard, certified and look great. Safety is always paramount in Matt's work and he clearly explains the job in question. Furthermore, he is a great problem solver. What has seemed very straight forward jobs have presented challenges that in no time at all he has solved.
Customer in Newport Posted on 08/04/2021 , work completed 08/04/2021
Fantastic company Coles Electrics
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would like to recommend Coals Electrics They have done a wonderful job on our old miner's cottage we had a full house rewire and each day they cleaned up after their selves every evening before they left. They went above and beyond our expectations. We would recommend this company to everyone they finished on time and was spot on budget even with the wife's can we change this can we change that they were so obliging and polite when they left on last day there was no trace of them being here. Big shout out thanks Matthew & Mike
Customer in Caerphilly County Borough Posted on 01/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
Excellent Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt rewired my shower and replaced my fuse box. He did a fantastic job with everything very neat and tidy taking great care not to damage any decorating. He was very polite and friendly, kept me informed of what was going on, gave me choices when we discussed the work required, arrived on time and completed the work for the estimate. Before he arrived he sent confirmation emails and indicated what time he would arrive. A very professional service I would strongly recommend Matt for any electrical work.
Customer in Torfaen Principal Area Posted on 18/03/2021 , work completed 17/03/2021
Two new light fittings
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Matt to replace two bar spotlights with two new light fittings in my kitchen. Matt was excellent in his communication, prior to visiting to quote for the work, and subsequently leading up to the time and date arranged for the work to be carried out. I cannot rate Matt's communication and courtesy more highly. Matt carried out the work as discussed, within the timeframe and at the price Matt had quoted. In addition to the work Matt carried out, he kindly fixed two sockets which I had been unable to fix securely to the wall. He provided honest and helpful advice about adding an extra light fitting to the kitchen area. I will be returning to Matt for any future work I need to be carried out. He is helpful, honest, communicative and professional. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Matt; I only wish I knew more tradesmen as trustworthy and reliable.
Amy in Cardiff Posted on 15/03/2021 , work completed 08/03/2021
New Consumer Unit and Rewired Front Light
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt supplied and installed a new consumer unit to replace an old fuse box and he also rewired an existing external light, including fitting a new conduit for the wiring. He undertook a full electrical inspection prior to starting the work and provided me with a clear explanation of his findings. Matt turned up when he said he would, he was courteous, conscientious and I am very satisfied with the work that he has undertaken. I wouldn't have any hesitation in using Matt again for any further electrical work that needed doing.
Customer in Newport Posted on 23/02/2021 , work completed 22/02/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt extended the existing ring main circuit in order to install 4 additional sockets, supplied and fitted 2 led under cupboard lights, and upgraded the main earthing. In the initial safety check he encountered a possible problem. He clearly explained the reason why he needed to locate the root of this and checked every socket in the house. He is very pleasant, efficient and organised. I have already recommended his work.
Customer in Newport Posted on 06/02/2021 , work completed 05/02/2021
Installation for Wall-Hung TV
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt was recommended by a friend and we couldn’t be more pleased. From his initial visit (providing a quick and very clear estimate) to setting a date and completing the work, he was pleasant & professional and his experience shone through. We discussed all aspects of the job and he was open to our input whilst always mindful of the regulations. His initial survey of our entire system was first class and allowed him to find a solution to a potential difficulty. He discussed the job at every step and we learned a lot. We’d have no hesitation in recommending him. Thank you Matt!
Customer in Newport Posted on 25/09/2020 , work completed 24/09/2020
Additional sockets and fuse box check
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt came out yesterday to check my fuse box as I wanted it updated. He confirmed that it needed an isolation switch fitted before this work could be progressed and how to contact my provider. He also fitted additional sockets for me and fitted a new light. I was very impressed with his professionalism, tidiness and punctuality. I will be using Matt again.
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 02/09/2020 , work completed 01/09/2020
Professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt installed a new rewire of my garage electrics to include new plug sockets, LED lighting, and outside lighting. He did a great job, very pleased with the work - always on time and very helpful in describing the work needed. Would highly recommend!
Customer in Rhondda Cynon Taf Posted on 10/03/2020 , work completed 25/02/2020
Professional, efficient, fair price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt was recommended by a friend and I have been very happy with the work he has done for me. He is through and is happy to explain everything patiently and clearly. Matt has now down several jobs for me, from replacing a shower switch to a full electrical inspection. I have asked him to also install an outside socket and exterior lighting next month. Matt's professionalism and friendliness stood out to me, and I am very happy to recommend him for all your electrical work. He is thorough and knowledgeable, and willing to go the extra mile. I trust Matt completely and feel relieved that I have found an electrician who turns up when they say they will, and charges you exactly what he quotes.
Customer in Newport Posted on 24/02/2020 , work completed 20/02/2020
Top job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Matthew a few days ago in regards to swapping over a faceplate for a single socket. Matthew was extremely helpful, quick to rearrange an appointment when I wasn't able to make the first one and arrived on time on the scheduled day. The job was done quickly and professionally, with Matthew going the extra mile to explain certain things and he even tightened a loose connection in the consumer unit which was found by chance when talking me through the mains electric supply. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Torfaen Principal Area Posted on 06/02/2020 , work completed 03/02/2020
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt has done numerous work in my house. He is reliable friendly and professional. Very happy and I would definitely use him again and recommend Matt.
Consumer Posted on 15/01/2020 , work completed 15/01/2020
Quick response - quick Service - good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The electrics in my garage had tripped out and kept doing it. Causing a freezer full of food to be destroyed and security lights failing. Mr Coles came promptly at the time agreed. He tested al parts of the circuitry in the garage and tracked it down to water in the security light. He replaced the lighting unit and also replaced the cabling to it which previously had been done with internal cable. He then installed an isolation switch which meant we will be able to isolate the outside light if it causes another problem but still be able to operate garage door, freezer etc. All of this was only done when he had consulted with me. I was very pleased with the work.
Rosap Posted on 13/01/2020 , work completed 13/01/2020
The trader replied (on 31/01/2020)
Thank you for your review Rosa, glad I could be of help to resolve this problem for you. Matt.
Excellent job done by highly skilled electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He rewired my lighting and some sockets.
Marsi Posted on 11/01/2020 , work completed 11/01/2020
The trader replied (on 31/01/2020)
Thank you for this review Marsi, appreciate it :)
Hive installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Coles Electrics installed a Hive heating control. A very professional job was completed to our satisfaction. A tidy worker who did not waste time. We would certainly use their services again.
John R Posted on 10/01/2020 , work completed 10/01/2020
The trader replied (on 31/01/2020)
Thank you for your review, glad I could be of help. Matt.
Excellent, tidy worker, very personable!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The electrician took down a fixed light in living room and put it in bedroom, removing a different fixed light that was there. He put up a new pendant and shade in living room.
Nick Posted on 09/01/2020 , work completed 09/01/2020
The trader replied (on 31/01/2020)
Thank you for your review Nicola, glad I could help you with this job, Matt.
Excellent electrician - reliable, good price and quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had new electrical sockets put in, proximity lighting in back garden and new light fitted in stables.
Claireybeau Posted on 08/01/2020 , work completed 08/01/2020
The trader replied (on 31/01/2020)
Thank you for your review Claire, glad I could help you with this job. Matt.
Great workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
3 TVs wall mounted & new sockets fitted & moved
Jan Preece Posted on 03/01/2020 , work completed 03/01/2020
The trader replied (on 31/01/2020)
Thanks for the review Jan, glad you are pleased with this job, Matt.
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
House rewire, including installation of new distribution board, and new supply fitted to garage. Really happy with the standard of work completed and Matt explained exactly what he was doing at each stage and was happy to take on board any suggestions.
Alun Cwmbran Posted on 19/12/2019 , work completed 19/12/2019
The trader replied (on 31/01/2020)
Thank you for your review Alun, really glad you are pleased with this job. Matt.
New electric shower
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New electric shower fitted. Matt is true professional. Inspected what needs to be done. Given the quote and explained what he is going to do. Finished the job on time. Issues certificate on the same day. Very impressed with his work and working style.
Raj Posted on 04/12/2019 , work completed 04/12/2019
The trader replied (on 31/01/2020)
Thanks for the review Raj. Really happy that you are pleased with my work. Matt.
Highly recommended quality electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New cooker circuit installed, and power run to kitchen via convoluted internal access route. New sockets fitted and oven/hob installed. Went the extra mile to anticipate and solve additional/potential issues. This trustworthy trader offered superb level of service and advice, went out of his way to find solution to a difficult job other traders backed out of. Matt was friendly, promptly, reliable, thorough, patient and knowledgeable. Absolutely superb professional.
Jon Paul Posted on 04/10/2019 , work completed 04/10/2019
The trader replied (on 31/01/2020)
Thanks for the review Jon, great to hear that you are happy with my work. Matt.