We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

D J Garage Services Ltd

Profile thumb boys  1

4.9

171 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 07:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 07:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 07:30–17:00
  • Thursday 07:30–17:00
  • Friday 07:30–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

Organisations and Awards

Jul 2020
Jul 2019

About

D J Garage Services (incorporating D J Motoring Centre) is a family run establishment with over 50 years experience in providing servicing, repairs and MOTs for all makes and types of car.

To keep in tune with the modern vehicle we use the very latest diagnostic technology to ensure your vehicle is in the best possible care that D J Garage Services can provide.

Our reputation is based on honesty and dedication to customer satisfaction. We are always pleased to discuss any problems you may have with your vehicle. Our aim is to offer you, the customer, the very best prices in the area.

We are situated in Stanstead Abbotts close to the Railway Station. We can also offer a collection and delivery service at no extra cost, in the local vicinity or collect you and bring you down to the garage.

Should you wish to book your car in with us or just need advice give us a call on 01920 465431. We look forward to hearing from you.

What we do

  • Garage related services

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • MOT testing stations
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • Car air conditioning
    • Car radiator repairs
  • Engine repairs and servicing

    • Car engine tuning and diagnostic services
  • More Services

    • battery replacement
    • car servicing

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
171 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Good service and value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Significant service for my MX-5 at 10 years, plus MOT. Good value, very convenient. Always give useful feedback on what was found, what may need attention at the next service or needs doing sooner. When I think back to how much I used to pay the main dealers for so little, and how little they knew about the cars, I am much happier to trust my car(s) to Chris.
William in Hertfordshire Posted on 12/05/2021 , work completed 12/05/2021
The trader replied (on 14/05/2021)
Good morning Mr Brown and thank you for expressing your thoughts on our garage so positively. Look foward to being of service again in the future. Chris
Again great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having previously used DJ's for all servicing of my vehicle, and always been very satisfied with the outcome, following the purchase of a new vehicle I was suckered into buying a 2-year service plan from the dealer. This experience allowed me to really appreciate what differentiates DJ's in particular from the main dealers. When dealing with the team at DJ's I have repeatedly been impressed by their honest, trustworthy and efficient service that is delivered in a very friendly manner. Following recent damage to my vehicle that required a replacement part, further to an onsite inspection, I was contacted within a short space of time with an estimate that included the industry guidelines in terms of the four man hours required. Having agreed to the work, on collecting the vehicle I was advised that the work had been completed in just 2.5 hours, with the corresponding positive impact on the final invoice. I would recommend DJ's without hesitation to anyone for their vehicle servicing needs.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/05/2021 , work completed 10/05/2021
The trader replied (on 12/05/2021)
Oh my goodness what a brilliant start to the day! So happy we were able to reduce your labour time. Thank you for taking the trouble to write to such a wonderful review. Pippa and Chris
Great service again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Chris and his team over the years and have never had a bad thing to say about their work. So today, I had my car serviced with them, easy to book and done in a timely manner. Reasonable priced and helpful feedback on the car. Always pleasant and polite, Thanks again.
David in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/05/2021 , work completed 10/05/2021
The trader replied (on 11/05/2021)
Thank you for reviewing so quickly! Great to hear you were pleased with the service.
Friendly, efficient and top quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As always D J Garage Services excels in friendliness, helpfulness and just good mechanical servicing of vehicles. I would always recommend this garage and many of our friends now use them. 10/10
Eric in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/05/2021 , work completed 10/05/2021
The trader replied (on 11/05/2021)
So kind of you to feedback so promptly, thank you for your generous words.
Accurate honest trustworthy and on-time.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was recommended to Chris and his team by a long term customer who has dealt with the team for many years. As I am out of the local area it was really important that I felt I could trust them. They gave me advice over the phone and suggested various courses of action that did not make them any money. I had a deadline for my cars work to be done and decided to take it to them. Just 24 hours after leaving the car with them they had been able to sort out the issue and at a lower cost than anticipated. I asked them to do some servicing work and they were able to keep the car a few more days to do this. When I came to pickup my A8 I was very surprised at how great and honest my final bill was. Other garages in the past have managed to inflate the bill or add extra work without consulting me. Chris was always there to take my call, answer my questions and finally give me a bill which was 100% sensible. I have now left my wife's car with them and am sure I will receive the same kind and thoughtful service and sensible bill again when the work is done. I cannot recommend highly enough this garage, if you can get to them you will not regret it. After all of the poor experiences I have had in the last 30+ years of motoring D J Garage is a wonderful breath of fresh air which I wish all car owners could have.
Richard in Essex Posted on 19/03/2021 , work completed 19/03/2021
The trader replied (on 30/03/2021)
Good morning Richard, hope you are well. Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of DJ's. It is reassuring to know that we are attaining our goal of providing honest advise and good quality service. With very best wishes Chris and Pippa77777777777777
A Trustworthy garage proved over many years and makes of car
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In the last 50 years, I have used many garages but this one is up with the best. Doesn't matter which make of car, new or old they have always given me good service. Over the last 20years just once was there a small problem. One phone call and without hesitation they came and collected the car and returned it to the door all sorted. It's a family run business rather than one of these big shiny outfits that I often found would squeeze whatever money they could from you via those little extras. The big outfits send you a video of the underside of the car after every MOT which really does nothing at all for the customer as they try to look flashy. So forgo the video and expect a job well done at a fair price
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 09/03/2021 , work completed 09/03/2021
The trader replied (on 10/03/2021)
Good afternoon and thank you for your interesting feedback. We are sorry to hear you had an issue with our service at some stage and pleased to hear that we rectified the situation successfully and that we have retained your custom - customers are our business and we make providing good customer service a priority. Take care and hope to see you soon. Ray and Chris
Investigate a software problem post-Citroen brake software safety recall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The nearest Citroen garage carried out a brake system software update on our DS3 in response to a safety recall. The car developed an engine problem causing it to judder and loose power. Called into our local D J Garage to see if they could help. They were friendly and helpful as always and tried hard to identify the problem. However, the software in the car had been corrupted and D J Garage were unable to access the system to resolve the problem but were able to advise us on how to deal with it. D J Garage declined to charge us for their work. Following D J Garage's advice, we were able to get the car back to the Citroen garage where they managed to establish via remote access by the Citroen technical people that the update had corrupted the fuel management software and then to remotely to replace the software. We thoroughly recommend D J Garage for the knowledge, quality of work, and helpfulness. Were are lucky to have such an outfit in our locality.
Laurie in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/03/2021 , work completed 03/03/2021
The trader replied (on 09/03/2021)
Hi Laurie and thank you for taking the trouble to write feedback on your recent visit to DJ's. We are always pleased to hear our advice is appreciated. Best regards DJ's
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using DJ Garage Services for over 15 years and would not consider taking my car anywhere else, even though I have moved out of the immediate area. This friendly family Company cannot be faulted when it comes to professionalism, knowledgeability, reliability and cost. I have recommended others and all have come away with the same impression. Service cannot be faulted in any way
Shelagh in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/03/2021 , work completed 05/03/2021
The trader replied (on 09/03/2021)
Good morning Shelagh, what a wonderful review thank you so very much. Really good to see you again. Best wishes Pippa and Chris
Work carried out in one visit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used DJs on several occasions, but this is the first time with this car. The work was carried out on the day it was booked, with no problems that I am aware of. I'm no mechanic, DJs are my chosen experts and they've never let me down!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 26/02/2021 , work completed 23/02/2021
The trader replied (on 01/03/2021)
Good morning and thank you for your great review.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used DJ several times before, the most recent being for a service and MOT on our car. Chris is knowledgeable, always helpful and his team do a good job. They advise when additional work is required or advisable in the future and don't push you to get it done immediately. Charges are reasonable. Very pleased to recommend and will certainly continue to use them when needed.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 17/02/2021 , work completed 10/02/2021
The trader replied (on 22/02/2021)
Thank you for you kind review, so gratifying to hear and great that you will be coming back to us in the future! Cheers Chris