We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

D J Garage Services Ltd

Profile thumb boys  1

4.9

146 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:30–17:00
  • Monday 07:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 07:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 07:30–17:00
  • Thursday 07:30–17:00
  • Friday 07:30–17:00
  • Saturday 07:30–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

Organisations and Awards

Jul 2020
Jul 2019

About

D J Garage Services (incorporating D J Motoring Centre) is a family run establishment with over 50 years experience in providing servicing, repairs and MOTs for all makes and types of car.

To keep in tune with the modern vehicle we use the very latest diagnostic technology to ensure your vehicle is in the best possible care that D J Garage Services can provide.

Our reputation is based on honesty and dedication to customer satisfaction. We are always pleased to discuss any problems you may have with your vehicle. Our aim is to offer you, the customer, the very best prices in the area.

We are situated in Stanstead Abbotts close to the Railway Station. We can also offer a collection and delivery service at no extra cost, in the local vicinity or collect you and bring you down to the garage.

Should you wish to book your car in with us or just need advice give us a call on 01920 465431. We look forward to hearing from you.

What we do

  • Garage related services

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • MOT testing stations
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • Car air conditioning
    • Car radiator repairs
  • Engine repairs and servicing

    • Car engine tuning and diagnostic services
  • More Services

    • battery replacement
    • car servicing

Customer reviews

4.9
146 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Cannot recommend highly enough!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Courteous, always keep you in the loop, clear explanations and choices, value for money, absolutely wonderful and first class service. This time it was a breakdown and I gave the garage zero notice, my car was recovered to them at 4pm, and they still managed to get everything fixed (plus the annual MOT and service completed!) by the end of the following day.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 16/01/2020 , work completed 09/01/2020
The trader replied (on 20/01/2020)
What an amazing recommendation! Thank you so very much, it means such a lot to us. Best regards Chris and Team.
Another very competent and professional repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked the day before: rear nearside door handle had been wrenched off plus an intermittent fault with a reversing light. Both items were effectively and satisfactorily put right. I always find DJ highly trustworthy, knowledgeable and accessible. I'm always confident in recommending DJ to friends and acquaintances.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/12/2019 , work completed 17/12/2019
The trader replied (on 03/01/2020)
Happy New Year! Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Always gratifying when we know a new customer has been recommended personally.
Always friendly, always reliable and always reasonably priced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I forget how long we've been using DJ Garages but it must be around 20 years or something. They are the only garage we consider when we have to have our cars MOT'd, serviced or repaired and that's despite moving out of the local area over 7 years ago! Why? They've never let us down, always provide great comms, do a great job and the prices are very reasonable. Underneath it all, Chris and Vince are just really nice guys and it shows in their business - I'd definitely recommend this garage to anyone.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/12/2019 , work completed 03/12/2019
The trader replied (on 09/12/2019)
Good afternoon and thank you for your wonderful review. It makes it all seem worthwhile when were hear words like that. Best wishes for the festive season, Chris and Team
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Service is usually got at this garage, brilliant service, very corteous.
Anne, Hertfordshire Posted on 26/11/2019 , work completed 26/11/2019
The trader replied (on 17/12/2019)
Thank you Anne, best wishes for a very good Christmas. Chris and Pippa
Honesty, integrity and efficiency.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using this garage for a while and so grateful I came across it. They always give 100% putting their customers first. On this particular job, my beloved camper van engine cam shaft ceased shredding the cambelt on route to the New Forest. Got towed to the garage. Upon diagnosis and being consoled by their lovely dog, my campervan needed a new engine. After a long search finding a engine for an old camper we found one. Throughout the whole process the garage kept me up to date with the progress. They informed me the donor engine I had purchased in good faith had a few issues but they advised and we all agreed to take a slightly different approach, using parts of the donor engine to the original one. Luckily the bottom part of the engine had survived so we used the top part of the donor engine and all works well. My beloved campervan is back on the road all great. The garage are very reasonable and trustworthy and always gives possible realistic outcomes. It’s the best garage and the best dog I have ever known. The dog has 100% in customer services.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/11/2019 , work completed 18/11/2019
The trader replied (on 28/11/2019)
Good Morning Campers! Thank you for your kind words, it was a mission but one definitely that put a smile back on your faces. Darcey certainly enjoyed the frequent visits! Take care, Pippa :)
Good value fix to an old car
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our Nissan Micra - 2002 vintage developed a problem with the gear lever not returning to the neutral position. Apparently a spring on the end of the lever had broken. Rather than installing the expensive Nissan replacement DJ re-formed the existing spring and fashioned a bracket to make a repair. All done for £45.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/11/2019 , work completed 06/07/2019
The trader replied (on 06/11/2019)
This is where having an mechanical engineer on board is a bonus! Thank you for your very kind comments. Chris
Careful diagnosis and efficient repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our Citroen Berlingo had an intermittent warning light appearing. D J spent some time testing things but could find no problem. They did not charge for their time. Some time later the light was on permanently and they diagnosed a faulty Exhaust Gas Recycling valve. This they replaced as a very reasonable cost. A week later the warning light appeared again. The new EGR valve was faulty and they replaced this immediately with no further charge.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/11/2019 , work completed 08/08/2019
The trader replied (on 06/11/2019)
That was a process wasn't it! Always good when we get there in the end and best of all that you were satisfied with out attempts. Thank you for your review. Chris and Team
Excellent service as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MOT and service completed on a Nissan Micra (2002). All done to time and at a very reasonable price.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/11/2019 , work completed 31/10/2019
The trader replied (on 06/11/2019)
It is so good to hear we completed the service on schedule and you are pleased. Thank you
Friendly and efficient....as always!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and the team never fail to deliver careful service economically, and advice for free! Recommended without hesitation.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 22/10/2019 , work completed 18/10/2019
The trader replied (on 28/10/2019)
We do try our very best, thank you!
Wonderful service
I popped into DJs as I had noticed my bumper was falling off. I expected them to tell me that it will need to be booked in etc but to my surprise, I was made a cup of tea while they looked at it. After 20 mins Chris said it was done - and it really was! I asked how much but they wouldn't take a penny (not even for the oil they topped up). It is very rare to find decent people nowadays but I will genuinely be bringing all my custom to them from now on. Thanks Chris, thanks Paul.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/10/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 15/10/2019)
So glad to be of assistance the other Friday when you needed some help. We do always do our utmost to get people back on the road as quickly as possible. Glad you enjoyed Chris's tea! Regards Pippa