We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Damp Surveys Ltd

Profile thumb which damp survey
5.0

86 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Time out until October to renovate a property damaged by the previous owner's inappropriate damp proofing treatment.

From October '22 book https://dampsurveys.com/booking-request/
See example report on form. Cost of surveys and report is £400. Phone answered 10AM to 12Midday.

Independent surveyor, RICS qualified Expert Witness and Damp and Timber surveyor through PCA + ISSE and SPAB.....Surveys take about 1 - 1.5hour.

Rising damp guarantee; full service with report and fee repayment if we find rising damp.

Rising damp is from groundwater. Groundwater is pumped out below tube lines - therefore virtually impossible in London.

Rising damp is misdiagnosed as:
1. vested interest from rising damp contractors,
2. it can be hard to identifying the root cause of damp,
3. applying slurry to treat rising damp hides damp for a while. However there is a risk of ROT or MOULD.

See Which report;
https://www.which.co.uk/news/2011/12/damp-proofing-companies-exposed-in-which-investigation-274087

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Woodworm treatment
    • Timber treatment services
    • Injection damp courses
    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
86 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
The best damp survey we have received in our many years buying property
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prior to the work being done, Simon (Hichens) was incredibly helpful, knowledgeable, flexible and accommodating on the work I needed him to do on the flat we are purchasing. He efficiently organised to view the property and identified four areas of damp, two of which he tried (and successfully) solve/d while he was there. The report came through quickly, was well thought out and very detailed. His follow up has been brilliant. He is now doing some work my parents who are having similar problems at their property. I would recommend him to anymore that was experiencing problems with damp.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/07/2019 , work completed 20/06/2019
Damp Survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon was exceptionally knowledgeable and personable. I was able to attend the survey at the end and get examples of where he had identified issues. He also suggested areas where remedial work could be done and then cost. The report was thorough and well put together. Would 100% recommend.
Mia, Greater London Posted on 27/06/2019 , work completed 19/06/2019
Thoroughly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I engaged Simon to do a survey of a newly purchased flat which had some mouldy corners that had been hidden by furniture. Simon was professional, friendly and very knowledgeable. He put my mind at ease by explaining the cause of the mould, and what I can do to mitigate the risk of it recurring. I especially liked that he double checked his hypotheses, and was thoughtful, meticulous and systematic in his approach. He was extremely thorough and the report is detailed and comprehensive. I would not hesitate to recommend Simon - I only wish I had booked him to do a survey before I bought the flat!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/06/2019 , work completed 04/06/2019
Excellent Service and survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Simon following a building survey on a property we are purchasing recommended a damp and timber survey do to high moisture readings and timber staining. We decided to use Simon because he is independent and only does surveys. This gave us confidence that we wouldn't get a recommendation for work that was not required just get a contract. Simon has been extremely helpful, the survey was arranged with the estate agent very swiftly and we got the report back within 4 days (1 working day!). The report is very comprehensive, photo evidence provided of the readings taken and the methodologies are very well explained. Each issue found was well explained along with clear recommendations of how to resolve them, in our case these were relatively simple suggestions concerning ventilation of the property. I wouldn't hesitate to use Simon again if the need ever arose, and I cannot recommend his work highly enough
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/05/2019 , work completed 23/05/2019
Expert, honest, quick
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon is one of the best experts I've ever instructed. Simon combines his expertise with politeness, timeliness and honesty, which is fairly rare today. Following a vague generic buyer's survey, I then instructed Simon as a specialist to investigate some of the issues and/or claims made by the previous surveyor. Simon helped dispel certain myths quickly and provide clarity on the alleged issues, and proposed remedies. As an independent surveyor, Simon had no vested interests - he was focussed on getting to the answer rather than selling. Would recommend all future buyers on using him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/05/2019 , work completed 20/05/2019
Very happy indeed. Great service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great communication - very clear explanation - impeccable timing. I'm very happy and would recommend very happily to others. pricing was clear and I received great advice from Simon.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/05/2019 , work completed 26/04/2019
Excellent damp survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon did a fantastic job - we should have had him visit much sooner. We had a bit of growing damp in the bedroom causing us worry and a few other minor areas of damp around the house. Simon spent over an hour and a half looking around the house, discussing the issues (mostly minor, but it's good to know that - and not what damp contractors had said) and in the most significant case he managed to fix a damp problem and made a few other helpful suggestions. He was very thorough and the report produced made clear the issues we discussed fully in person. He is also a very nice chap and was very good about my toddler being very noisy and demanding throughout the visit!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/04/2019 , work completed 02/04/2019
Extremely helpful, friendly and responsive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently engaged Simon to conduct a damp survey of a property pre-purchase. Simon responded quickly to our request and came at short notice. He prepared an extremely detailed and helpful report which I have read with interest. He was neutral in preparing the report, not looking to generate repairs which he himself would carry out. The report had many helpful photos to verify its analysis and help us understand its contents. It also had multiple tips about how we could reduce damp areas ourselves without additional cost. Simon even helped many weeks after with follow up queries. I would unreservedly recommend him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/04/2019 , work completed 04/03/2019
Exceptionally thorough and very helpful advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We booked Simon to examine a damp patch that had developed in our kitchen, and to look at few other damp and mould issues we had round the house. He arrived on the dot of his appointment time, looked at every issue we raised with him, taking photos, offering advice and suggesting remedial action. He is obviously extremely knowledgeable - a chemist as well as surveyor - and this means he knows what he is talking about, and as an independent specialist the main benefit is he has no axe to grind. He's not selling you treatment or linked to any traders. His report was very thorough and clear and we will be taking steps to follow his advice. For a visit of nearly two hours, and a 15 page report, we paid only £199. We haven't been told to do unnecessary damp course work but instead to take measures to improve ventilation and reduce condensation. So we have probably saved ourselves quite a lot of money. And he's a nice guy too. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/03/2019 , work completed 27/03/2019
Couldn't have asked for better
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon came to do a damp survey at my property. He was brilliant. Thorough, thoughtful and knowledgeable. I feel 100% confident in the report he has completed and would absolutely recommend him to anyone needing to sort out damp problems in their home.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 25/03/2019 , work completed 16/03/2019