We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Eco Tiffin Limited

Profile thumb tiffin logo 2019 v03   new

4.8

23 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

Established in 1695, Tiffin today has embraced the demands of its clients, building its reputation on offering its clients a 'one stop shop', assuring them from beginning to end of a professional, efficient service, maintaining the highest levels of workmanship at competitive prices.

Specialising in:

- Building, Refurbishments and Modernisation

- Dampness, Decay, Condensation and Waterproofing

- Energy Saving / Conservation

- Thermal Imaging Surveys and Building Defects Analysis

- Maintenance / Repair.

- Insurance building claims.

Areas of operation.
London- Central, North & West London.
Home Counties: Hertfordshire, Buckinghamshire and Berkshire .

We also provide:
Site appraisals for Planning Consent.
Full Planning applications.
Planning Appeals.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Loft conversions
    • Building services
  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors
    • Exterior decorating
  • More Services

    • thermal imaging
    • energy saving
    • building defects analysis

Customer reviews

4.8
23 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.6
Sort by
Satisfactory result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have known Robert Tiffin for 40 years or so and his company has done a lot of work for me during that time. In 1984 I bought a semi-derelict listed house in Rickmansworth. It needed a complete refurbishment including a large outbreak of dry-rot and various damp and woodworm problems. Tiffins carried out all the specialist work (I did a lot of the standard stuff myself due to limited funds) and this work was carried out well and there has been no recurring problems. It is a very old building and quite delicate and so there have been other problems over the years (particularly with damp issues) and Tiffins has also remedied all these very well. In 2013 Tiffins demolished the garage and built a new, bigger building that complied with Listed issues, Conservation area and so on. The work was high quality. I also own a building in Holland Park and recently there was a very bad outbreak of dry rot. The building is approx 100 years old and the rot was quite bad covering the whole of the front wall. The ground floor is a commercial office with approx 16 people working in it. They had to be happy and I didn't want them to move out while the work was carried out. Tiffins developed a plan that involved a false (external) wall across and inside the front wall which allowed the tenant to carry on working while the work was carried out. After some issues with scheduling the work at short notice the repairs were carried out very well and my tenants didn't complain! Roberts advice on how to present the problem to my insurance company also resulted in a successful insurance claim. Robert and Tiffins people are very good a identifying the problems with buildings (often the problem with this kind of work is working out what the real problem is in the first place) and I have never known him to get it wrong. David Munns OBE
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 31/03/2018 , work completed 31/03/2018
Professional Firm with High Standards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ecotiffin sorted out my damp problem in an outbuilding, insulated and decorated it, turning it into a pleasant and very usable storeroom. Their knowledge and experience inspired confidence, and I felt that I was given honest advice about the most sensible way to pursue this project, without wasting money unnecessarily.
Neena Bush Posted on 21/01/2018 , work completed 21/01/2018
100% perfect job, totally trustworthy and beyond helpful. Will never ask anyone else!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were a pleasure to have in the house. So polite and lovely. Robert was always on the end of the phone and nothing was ever a hassle or a problem. Likewise, his builder- Jerry- was so diligent and lovely to have around. They worked so hard as a team and did not leave our premises until we were 100% happy. We would recommend them without a shadow of a doubt. 100% reliable and trustworthy and a pleasure to work with fantastic results.
cpward999 Posted on 12/05/2017 , work completed 12/05/2017
Wish I'd contacted EcoTiffin sooner
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having moved into a 1940's north facing bungalow a few years back, the front bedrooms located over a cellar were incredibly cold and heating bills high. Previous builders had not improved the situation, so having seen an ad in a local publication in the summer, I finally got around to contacting Robert in December 16. I wish I had done it sooner. His advice was sound and sensible and the price fair. The work carried out in Feb 17. The team he used to re-insulate the awkward shaped loft, introduce proper ventilation at eaves and roof ridge, as well as the team he used to insulate the cellar with sprayed foam, were professional, hardworking and the tidiest I have come across! Robert arranged everything and kept me in the loop throughout. Since the work was completed there has definitely been a marked improvement in temperature. I have no hesitation in recommending EcoTiffin and will definitely use them for any future building project.
Julie millward Posted on 26/04/2017 , work completed 26/04/2017
A knowledgeable and capable builder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tiffin was hired by us because Robert Tiffin was both knowledgeable about the issues we wanted resolved and came up with good ideas to solve them. These issues included rotted timbers, a leaky flat roof, spalled brickwork and inadequate guttering on a 90 year old house. David, the man in charge on site, was excellent both in communicating with us, in the quality of his workmanship and his drive to get the job done properly. We would use them again if needed.
David Andrews Posted on 23/08/2016 , work completed 23/08/2016
Superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely professional and work carried out to the highest of standards. Robert Tiffin is extremely knowledgable and offered me excellent advice. Jerry and his colleagues who carried out the work were very hard-working and courteous. I would recommend them highly and would use them again if required.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/05/2016 , work completed 06/05/2016
Builders you can trust
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Robert and the team took on the final refurbishment of our listed property. They provide a high level of cheerful service and importantly know what they are doing. I would have no hesitation in recommending them to others and indeed have already done so.
Mark Wilson Posted on 02/05/2016 , work completed 02/05/2016
I thought "What fools" - but I was wrong
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I first came across Tiffin's after I had written to about 2 or 3 dozen firms to tender for a building project for my small restaurant. As soon as I looked at their reply I thought to myself "They won't get it, they've put 1695 instead of 1965" I was wrong in so many ways... Tiffin's were successful in winning that contract. Part of the reason for our decision was the courtesy, co-operation, flexibility, cleanliness and tidiness of Tiffin's staff: this meant we could continue serving our customers whilst the building work was progressing But Tiffin's really outstanding qualities did not surface until the project started going wrong. As so often happens with building works to period properties, a problem was uncovered after the work had started. In our case, a severe structural fault was uncovered that required immediate attention Tiffin's did not make a drama out of a crisis. First, they took quick, calm, expert action to make everything safe. Then, with their professionalism and centuries of experience, they had their own indemnity and were able to help us present evidence in such a specialised way that it was easy to receive full funding from our own insurers. The project was therefore completed on time and within the original budget What was even more important for us was the fact that we did not suffer any loss of sales or damage to our reputation: despite the major unplanned structural works, we could continue serving our customers throughout the project
Richard Hills Posted on 27/04/2016 , work completed 27/04/2016
Visit by the Thermographer Robert Tiffin
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The visit from Robert Tiffin took me on a educational journey. Various sources were previously trying to convince me to spend money on other damp related treatments which Robert confirmed was not the problem. His advice was professional, to the point and explained in a way that I could understand what the problem was and why it had been occurring. There was no limit imposed to the amount of questions I put to him and he displayed a depth of knowledge on the subject. All options were covered to ensure that I was happy with his feedback and suggestions and future ongoing support offered in order to support me getting my damp problem resolved. Thanks Jacqueline
Jacqueline Posted on 08/12/2015 , work completed 08/12/2015
2 times happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After seeking Roberts advise first time round on our business address, we didn't hesitate going to him again when we encountered problems at home. We had a severe damp issue which has now been resolved and the ground floor fully refurbished to an excellent standard. Have recommended Robert to a friend and they too have had a great experience also. Highly recommended.
Mrs Ell Posted on 24/11/2015 , work completed 24/11/2015