We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Foreman Electrical

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours
Profile thumb foreman electrical

4.9

167 Reviews

About

Rewiring
Fault Finding
Electrical testing
Domestic Electrical Installation

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical emergency services
  • Lighting contractors

  • More Services

    • fuse boards
    • lights
    • sockets
    • power
    • testing
    • fault finding

Customer reviews

4.9
167 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Great and reliable electrictian
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recommend Ian very highly. He is excellent at his job. He rewired our house and installed external lights. Prompt, knowledgeable, friendly, polite and helpful. Ian doesn't cut the corners and his work is always compliant with the latest regulations.
Customer in Greater London28/07/2019
Kitchen LED spotlights
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian did a great job in the kitchen replacing 12 older spot lights with LED, plus under cabinet lights. He also replaced a broken dimmer switch. He is friendly, reliable, and very tidy. Highly recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire18/06/2019
Satisfactory installation of fuseboard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian is an electrician that we have used several times to do work in our home. He is always professional and we feel that his work is of a high standard. He replies promptly when contacted and keeps appointments on time. We will continue to use him and would be happy to recommend him to friends A satisfied customer.
Customer in Greater London30/05/2019
Great work and I would highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I hired Ian Foreman to change my fuse board. His quote wasn’t the cheapest but he was the only electrician that listened to my request. He did an excellent job and I highly recommend him. Going forward I will hire him to do all of my electrical work.
Customer in Greater London11/05/2019
Excellent and honest advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a problem with one of our electric appliances and needed some advice on how to progress further. Unfortunately, they were not available to carry out the work themselves in the next few days so we had to call someone else. Nevertheless the advice given over the phone was invaluable and helped us to understand the issue better.
Customer in Greater London16/04/2019
Survey, new fuseboard, three new lights and a extractor fan.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian did work for my parents 20 plus years ago. When it came time to sell the house he had the paperwork stored away. When I wanted to buy a maisonette and the building survey recommended an electrical survey Ian was who I called on. He was very thorough and packed up on things that would not have crossed my mind. He explained everything in simple terms without talking down to me. Ian fitted a new fuseboard with RCBOs and SPD, )after researching new laws to see what was required to be done), three new lights and an extractor fan. Some of the work was bringing up to scratch things the previous electrician had not completed correctly. I found Ian to be prompt, professional, polite and helpful. He may not be the cheapest but he will provide a top service and you won’t have any complaints about him or his work.
Customer in Greater London18/02/2019
Good proffessional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian recently detached my ventilator from the house tripcircuit so that it would continue to work if the general house supply was tripped off. The work was done expertly and with minimal disruption. He did did the job on time and was very professional. I would not hesitate to use him again.
Customer in Greater London11/02/2019
Very knowledgeable and personable.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was asked to fix a lighting problem in our kitchen and to quote for some exterior lighting at the front and rear of the house. His knowledge and explanation of the problem was very clear and a variety of options were spoken about. When we decided what we needed a date and time was arranged and the work was completed that day. It was very reassuring to know that the work was done by someone with such a knowledge of the subject in a very friendly way. I would definitely recommend Foreman Electrical to anyone looking for electrical work to be done.
Customer in Greater London31/01/2019
Friendly, reliable and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian agreed a time to come over and replace a light switch for me. He came at the time we agreed and fixed the problem quickly and efficiently. He also fitted a shade and gave me some helpful and was friendly and courteous. I would certainly use Ian again and recommend him highly to other people.
Customer in Greater London26/01/2019
Honest and reliable - nothing is too much trouble
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Ian after some problems with our electrics were identified by another tradesman working on our property. He gave an honest and thorough assessment of our electrics and guidance on what we needed to do for the property to be safe and compliant. Once employed by us, he worked quickly and carefully, demonstrating respect for both us and our property at all times. I can't recommend Ian highly enough. If you're looking for somebody trustworthy and reliable who is a pleasure to have in your home then look no further - you won't be disappointed.
Customer in Hertfordshire03/12/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian did work on a water heater to ensure it was safe and operational. I spent a week trying to find somebody to do this work and was let down several times. Ian was a delight to deal with from start to finish. He needed to liaise with a plumber to get the job done. Sending my frustration he said he would call the plumber and sort everything out. He was true to his word and on budget. Totally reliable. I wholeheartedly recommend him.
Customer in East Sussex20/11/2018
Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed new phone point. Very efficient.
Barbara, London02/10/2018
Foreman Electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My mother and I have both had work done by Ian of Foreman Electrical and are very happy with his standard of work and the advice he has provided If he finds things he thinks needs fixing he will advise as to what is necessary but not in a pushy or encroaching manner He will take the extra step to ensure that what he does and the advice given is safe competent professional and up to date
Gail Horn, .30/09/2018
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New lighting in bathroom and utility room Work was done efficiently and promptly and I am pleased with the improvement
Dubois, .18/09/2018
Fantastic, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Foreman is utterly professional, knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. He provides a high-quality, dependable service at a reasonable price. Ian gives great advice and doesn't cut corners, so you know you're in good hands. I highly recommend Foreman Electrical.
RJeanF12/09/2018
Professional and Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian moved a couple of electrical points in the house for us. We have recently had a kitchen fitted and he pointed out a number of mistakes made by the electrician which we will be taking up with the fitters. Ian is very knowledgeable, knows his job and is a very pleasant person to do business with.
Trinidad A03/09/2018
Great work! :)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having been let down by my original electrician after the 1st fix on a renovation project, and then after reading Ian's reviews, I decided to give him a call. He looked over the job and was extremely pleasant and not pushy at all, he took time to explain everything and even had a contract with cooling off period after verbal agreement to proceed with works. Due to him not being able to see all the original electrical works or how correctly it had been done, Ian worked on a day rate. As I'd never worked with him before obviously I was initially slightly cautious but this was alleviated the first day he turned up on time and worked extremely hard throughout the day, barely stopping at all for a break. He worked at a very good speed whilst being conscientious and neat. Nothing was too much trouble and he was extremely knowledgeable (even pointing out important things other trades had missed with their work). He turned up when he said he would and did a great job, I'm a perfectionist and he did not disappoint! Not only did he provide certification of the work on the day he completed it, I was even able to pay by card on completion to save going to the bank - another small sign at how professional he is. Ian was left in the property multiple occasions with various expensive tools and was completely trustworthy, and to top it all off he's a good guy to be around and really helped me out of a tight spot. You get what you pay for, if you want a job done right, please give him a try
Amit Verma05/08/2018
Fast and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian tracked down and fixed a problem after power problems at my father's house following a water leak. V reassuring, good advice and quickly resolved, particularly great as my dad is getting on.
Sandsj07/07/2018
An excellent reliable professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian is an outstanding electrician and a genuine and honest person. He has integrity and values his customers immensly. Ian had replaced two very old switchboards in my house and I must say his work is to a v high standard. Always on time, always completing a job never an excuse. Just wish all tradesmen were like Ian. Highly recommend this trully exceptional professional.
Alexandra Paschalidi05/07/2018
Reliable And Trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using Ian's services over the last 10+ years and have found him to be very customer focused i.e. he will take the time to discuss what I need and offer various options and ideas that I had not thought of. When we have arranged days he can do the work on he has always turned up and done a good job. If my wife had not been on site I would have felt comfortable enough to simply let him get on with it and to ring me or talk to my wife if he had questions. For the more unusual jobs like doing wet joints etc he will tell me whether he has done them before or not i.e. he will not bluff his way through it. He completely rewired my first home and I have had no problems with the work he did. He has recently brought another property upto the latest spec whilst lasing with the UKPowerNetworks company who were rerouting the main feed and moving the meter. Overall from my experience of him I would say he takes pride in doing a good job and I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Roberts21/06/2018
Bathroom Ceiling Light
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian done a create job installing a replacement bathroom ceiling light, gave advice regarding IP Zones, so I bought the right light for replacement. Will use again.
Praful Patel12/06/2018
Inspires confidence, friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We bought a house that needed a complete renovation. We knew that the electrics were in a mess so we engaged an electrician who only carries out electrical reports to assess the house. He left a long list of required changes and said that the house needed re-wiring and a new fuse box. We asked Ian to give a quote for the re-wire. Ian highlighted the same problems but said that some of the items required by the earlier electrician applied to commercial not domestic properties under current regulations. We thought that seemed encouraging and suggested he had good current knowledge. Ian is also friendly, has a positive attitude, inspires confidence and explains things in an understandable way. He carried out all the work required and according to timetable and was generally helpful and thorough. We discussed where new light fittings, sockets and switches should go and we have found that all his suggestions were good and we now have light switches where they are more useful. Whilst Ian was working on the electrics we also had a plumber who was installing the new bathroom so they had to work together around the electrics. The plumber commented to me (sounding impressed) that ‘Ian does things by the book doesn’t he’. I heard that the plumber later asked Ian to carry out re-wiring at his own house, so I thought that was another vote of confidence. We have since had Ian back for some other electrical work and we will be happy to use him in the future.
Beak1002/02/2018
5 out of 5
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian completely rewired a large house in West Ealing; he worked to a very high standard, was punctual, reliable and the work was reasonably priced. I highly recommend him.
Which? Local Member26/01/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant man, Ian did an excellent job. Would definitely recommend.
Tina, London08/01/2018
Great job & out of hours, no less!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian not only booked me in at short notice, he was also kind enough to give me an out of usual hours appointment due to my work commitments. Courteous, efficient and reasonably priced, he comes highly recommended in my book.
Jooles07/01/2018
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work, very satisfactory.
I, Middlesex15/12/2017
Excellent in every way
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian arrived on time, he is courteous and pleasant to deal with. Nothing is too much trouble. He sorted out a problem that others had failed to diagnose or cure. Very highly recommended.
2011-01-29 18:26:36.5613/12/2017
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian completely rewired my newly purchased flat, fitted LED spotlights in the hall, bathroom and kitchen, fitted smoke and heat alarms, carbon monoxide alarm, bathroom fan, and electrical work in the newly fitted kitchen and worked well with the heating engineer and kitchen fitter. I wholeheartedly recommend him and he's very pleasant to have around.
Kennedy10/11/2017
Exceeded expectations!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Ian to bring my elderly friend's home up to current electrical standards and fit a new socket. Ian was professional, worked non-stop, did it all for what I thought was a very fair price and sent all the necessary paperwork and certifications through really speedily. However I was most impressed by his behaviour towards my friend who has dementia and finds changes in her routine and strangers on the premise, stressful. Ian was endlessly kind and courteous and didn't mind her constant interruptions at all. He explained he had an elderly relative who was confused and was used to doing things for her and experiencing the tensions this sometimes causes. Highly recommended.
Sally, .21/10/2017
4.9? It should be 9.4!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have employed Ian before so, when a smoke alarm problem popped up on Monday afternoon, a quick call to Ian followed by an email with the details sent him dashing into action. Ian viewed the situation, recommended alternatives and, by Wednesday had got all the parts and fixed the problem, all neat and tidy and no mess. He also pointed out some things that were needed to meet current electrical safety regulations and he sorted those as well. Ian explained everything and made sure the equipment instructions were handed over and noted. Fantastic. A top notch trader whom I can heartily recommend every time.
Happy Customer20/07/2017
Fast and no fuss
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian supplied and fitted 3 out of date mains connected smoke alarms for me, fixed 2 outside lights and tidied up my fuse board. He came round when he said he would, went and bought the alarms and came back and finished the job quickly. All without fuss and at a reasonable price. This is the second time I have used Ian and I have confidence in his skill and competence and would not hesitate to use him again and recommend him to others.
Conroy29/06/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed Ian from Foreman Electrical to install 12 new electrical sockets at our property and to test a suspect socket and light in a fitted wardrobe that we were concerned about. The sockets were all fitted neatly and solidly in exactly the positions we wanted and the wardrobe electrics were made safe without any damage to the wardrobe itself. Ian also very helpfully re-sited our unsightly router cable and TV aerial cable under the floorboards while they were up. Ian was careful to check exactly what we wanted before commencing each part of the work and at all times was highly professional and 100% focused on our job. A final electrical test of our system left us happy that our electrics are completely safe. Nothing we asked of Ian was too much trouble and he was always very pleasant to deal with. We have no hesitation in recommending Foreman Electrical based on the quality of Ian's work at our property. We'd be more than happy to employ him again should we need any further electrical work doing.
GOH51!10/05/2017
No hesitation in recommending
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, efficient in dealing with faults in strip lighting and cost was reasonable
sylron3123/01/2017
Great trouble-shooting help
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian helped identify a fault with our electrics that had been caused by some other work that we had carried out by some builders and was causing our system to keep tripping. He was very responsive - came to take a look the same day and then to do the initial trouble-shooting the next day. It took three visits to resolve the issue entirely, but we only managed this thanks to Ian's evident expertise and persistence. He took time to explain what he was doing, which was reassuring and his rates were very reasonable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him.
Jenni A10/12/2016
My review.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian moved a socket for me as new furniture would have covered it. He cleaned up afterwards.
Pat, Middlesex03/12/2016
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New cooker circuit installed - very good job. Well installed and cleared up.
Lynn, Middlesex14/11/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Ian before, so were happy to call on him again for some electrical work. Again, very happy with the result and would use again.
Joanna24/10/2016
V Reliable & friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian fixed my light fittings and changed light switches v efficiently. He was entirely trustworthy and will definitely use again.
DIANNE10/04/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came and fitted a new light in my conservatory & I was very pleased with the job done & the price charged. I have used him before and would not hesitate to recommend him.
cmt2509/04/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has done a number of jobs in my flat from sorting a dodgy rewire job to changing lights. Every time he has been more than helpful, friendly, punctual and trustworthy. I can't recommend him highly enough.
CharisCroft05/04/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came speedily efficiently fixed new fans and also ceiling lights in my bathroom. Very cheerful, polite and helpful.
Ms Hilary Ratnasabapathy06/01/2016
Rewiring of 1929 semi and remedial works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian did a great job at not just rewiring the upstairs of our house but also in testing the recent downstairs "rewiring" done by our previous builder's "electrical" subcontractor. On finding that much of the latter work was unsafe he worked effectively to rectify it, without necessitating major disruption to our new kitchen/dining room and bathroom. We will be using him for future electrical works.
165117820/12/2015
Very good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with work done.
JJ1234JJ09/12/2015
Various jobs done nicely
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian did all my odd jobs vrry nicely : cooker light not working, fitting new outdoor light, installing new doorbell and replacing a pull switch. Would definitely use again
Site User16/11/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent. Arrived on time, collected parts for downlights in bathroom, fitted, without problem. Very clean and tidy. I would recommend Ian to anyone
Joan, Middlesex29/10/2015
Friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Previous electricians were unable to find a faulty socket, Ian managed to find it within 10 minutes. Friendly, fast and efficient service
Lindsay, London27/10/2015
Reliable, efficient, trustworthy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Foreman has worked for me on several occasions. He has been fast, efficient and completed work to a safe and high standard. I have been very happy with his work, and I will certainly call on him in the future. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Caroline Ann, Middlesex19/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful
Melville, Middlesex19/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian did a great job fitting my new oven, I'd definitely use him again and recommend him
Emma, Middlesex17/10/2015
Job well done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, friendly & efficient, job completed quickly with no problems.
Sharon, Middlesex13/10/2015
Brilliant service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came to fix my bathroom light out of hours, excellent service!
Sue, Middlesex13/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Foreman is an excellent electrician. He is very helpful and understanding to the customer's needs. British Gas made 3 visits to my place and were unable to resolve the problem (working within their 40 minutes rule) I was left to sort the problem myself, although I have an insurance policy with British Gas. Ian came and sort the problem out within 2 hours. I can highly recommend Ian
Abdool, Middlesex08/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, job done by Ian, with good advice and very helpful
Sarlaben, Middlesex06/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed to re-wire our house and change the fusebox box. As you can imagine a rewire is a lot of work and something you really want to get right the first time round. Ian did an excellent Job for us for beginning to end. He explained things clearly about the process and gave us time to think about where we wanted the sockets. He did not base things of what would be easiest for him to do, but rather focus on what we wanted, such as the re-wiring to the garage detached from the house. He started the job and continued to put in the full days work until completion. Unlike other traders, he did not run away to start multiple other jobs. I am happy he always ensured that we had some power in part of the house after he finished for the day. Most importantly, the quality of work was high and wiring was neatly done. We have had no issues nearly 4 months in.
littlegorilla22/09/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian carried out an electrical inspection on my property and rectified the faults. The work was carried out to a high standard and Ian promptly attended the same property at a later date when the gas safe engineer damaged an electrical cable. I will not hesitate to call Ian again when I require the services of an electrician.
Harrow HA218/09/2015
Successfully solved problem.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found Foreman Electrical on Which website. I had some smaller jobs that required attention, then found serious fault which two other electricians could not solve. Ian immediately identified problem and sorted it. Replaced fittings very quickly and prevented my worries.
Fran, Hertfordshire15/09/2015
Prompt and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Lewis were unable to connect up my new fridge freezer and dishwasher to the existing spur sockets. Ian came round the same day and connected them up, changing one spur socket to a plug socket. Simple job but done quickly and for a reasonable price.
Chris - North London16/06/2015
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came to test my property for renting to make everything safe.
Pamela, London12/06/2015
Brilliant job (very good)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Change smoke alarms and fan. Very good all round service, will use again.
Kevin, Middlesex10/06/2015
Very helpful and creative
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came to my house to install an electical socket. I had a fitted wardrobe which hid an electical socket. It was very difficult to disconnect the electrical socket without dismantling the entire wardrobe. Ian came up with a very creative solution to fix the problem without taking the wardrobe off the wall. I am very happy with his service and would like to call him for any future work I may have.
B Singh23/05/2015
Prompt, professional, well done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Let down by John Lewis Installing new washing machine. Wired and fitted by Foreman Electrical.
Shirley, Buckinghamshire08/05/2015
Outdoor sockets
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian fitted an outdoor electrical socket for us for use with a Hot-tub. This involved installing an outdoor socket with an RCD and "chasing in" the wiring inside the house so that it was concealed. Ian did a great job and tidied everything up after himself. He responded to my initial email very swiftly and arranged to look at the job the next day. Ian is very polite, knowledgable, and didn't try to sell us any other work. We will definitely use him again!
ProfSJ05/05/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Worked well, tidy, cleared up. Came on time and sent me an estimate in the post. Easy to contact. It is so difficult to find workmen now that everything is on the internet, and elderly women like me are excluded! I was recommended this electrician by a friend.
Elizabeth, London20/04/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Only a small electrical job but Mr Foreman responded quickly and efficiently to do an excellent job. Price reasonable.
Daniel, Middlesex01/04/2015
Very helpful and obliging
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Forman went out of his way to resolve a complicated electrical problem. He had a very pleasant manner and did an excellent job. I would definitely recommend him.
Antonia, Middlesex27/03/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, efficient and pleasant to deal with. Job well done.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer23/03/2015
Foreman Electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Foreman Electrical took our call outside office hours, which put our minds at rest. Ian Foreman was helpful and experienced. He diagnosed the problems quickly and was able to solve them easily. We did not have all the materials necessary for the work to be done and so he did a 'shop' for us. He encouraged us not to make unecessary expenditure. The work took approximatly three hours and together with the materials he purchased the charge was very reasonable. We will be using Foreman Electrical again'
westhendon19/02/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful and capable. Neat and tidy work
David, Middlesex23/01/2015
Great service, very honestly priced.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had a great service from Ian; He was extremely helpful and had plenty of advise. I would definitely call him again if I had another issue and definitely recommend him to friends.
CMR40350096612/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian installed a set of lights in our home office - and we can't praise him highly enough. He is approachable, friendly, professional and clearly an expert in his field, talking us through the various options available to us. Under his guidance we settled on LEDs with a lengthy guarantee and because of his thorough working manner and attention to detail we are confident that they will serve us well for many years to come. Others on this site have mentioned that he is easy to talk to and we wholeheartedly agree. While he is quick to finish the task at hand, he is generous with his time when it comes to providing explanations and advice, even recommending other tradesmen for projects not within his remit as electrician. We have other electrical tasks which we plan to complete this year and will have no hesitation in approaching Foreman Electrical to do them. We discussed them with him and there was no hard-selling or pressure regarding when we wanted work to begin - just solid advice and a cheery "have a think and give me a call when you've decided when you want to go ahead". I can assure my fellow Which? Local members that my review is completely impartial and accurate - we had never met Ian prior to him carrying out work for us. We simply believe that good work, especially when it is above and beyond the call of duty, should be rewarded.
marfotech11/01/2015
Efficient, helpful, knowledgable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fairly simple job, but Ian was prompt, efficient, helpful, knowledgable and did a good job.
2011-08-02 18:57:36.2210/01/2015
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our current builder hired an electrician. A few weeks back our bedroom light switch blew up. The old electrician came along and replaced it for a charge but unbeknownst to us he put a 2nd hand one in again. The Which electrician came in and replaced it correctly and charged very reasonably too.
Sheila, Middlesex01/01/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional
Yvonne, London30/12/2014
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and efficient.
George, Middlesex09/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed new circuits to my requirements and give lots of advice on where to position the sockets and other items. Installed LED lights, advised on the pros and cons of recessed lighting and I chose the LED lights Ian supplied (they come with a manufacturer's 7year guarantee) Ian also installed a new fuseboard and other safety requirements to make my home safe. At the end of the works Ian supplied the appropriate paperwork under the Part P regulations. Ian worked well in-conjunction the other trades on the projects, he's very well mannered and easy to talk to ..... I would not hesitate to recommend Ian to anyone and would happy to use him again.
F.01/12/2014
Kitchen and bathroom works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kitchen and bathroom works Installed new circuits to my requirements and give lots of advice on where to position the sockets and other items. Installed LED lights, advised on the pros and cons of recessed lighting and I chose the LED lights Ian supplied (they come with a manufacturer's 7year guarantee) Ian also installed a new fuseboard and other safety requirements to make my home safe. At the end of the works Ian supplied the appropriate paperwork under the Part P regulations. Ian worked well in-conjunction the other trades on the projects, he's very well mannered and easy to talk to ..... I would not hesitate to recommend Ian to anyone and would happy to use him again.
CMR40341128824/11/2014
Very prompt, efficient and clean
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Small electrical jobs, well executed and reasonable charge.
Kenneth, Middlesex21/11/2014
Polite and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian rescued us when electricity kept fusing. He was totally professional and fast at his job. He was pleasant. I will be getting in touch for future electrical needs.
Mary, Middlesex15/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian is an excellent electrician! Clearly knows his stuff & is very easy to talk to. He did the electrics for my extension as well as installing a new fuse board. Having had experience of a fair few electricians, Ian is by far the best at breaking down what he is doing & why & explaining everything in laymans terms. He also has a lot of very sensible & practical ideas - not just 'great' ideas which also happen to be the easiest / quickest for him! And he is punctual, efficient & tidy on site. Would wholeheartedly recommend
eod12310/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pros: Called Ian first thing as we were worried about damaged external lights with damaged wiring, and he came that afternoon to look at it and make it safe. Cons; We took the opportunity to ask him to quote for other work but felt he was doing too much of a hard sell, so we won't be asking him to come back to do those works
A Turner23/10/2014
Excellent Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Ian after seeing his name in the trusted traders little Red Book. He went out of his way to get me the Halogen bulbs required for my bathroom light, answered all my questions and gave good advice. Most importantly he was available when I needed him. I would definitely recommend him!
chrisgryce12/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following the advice of other users I called Foreman to replace a window fan that had packed up. He came the same day to assess the job, installed a replacement the next. Very friendly, efficient and reasonable charge.
Heinz03/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian responded quickly to my plea for help,when a recently installed RCD kept tripping. Installer no longer answering phone and no longer trading , YeeHaa. Ian resolved the problem quickly and efficiently at a reasonable cost.He suggested that the wiring was a bit of a mess, and it did look horrendous. He suggested that I have it tidied up in future and I will use him to do it. Ian was prompt,pleasant and efficient, I would recommend him happily to anyone.
Pollagl18/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came promptly after I called him and replaced a faulty outdoor security light and installed a new doorbell. He also advised me about energy saving lightbulbs. I found him very pleasant and helpful and would certainly use him again.
cmt2516/05/2014
An excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All Ian's work was carried out to a very high standard. What I particularly appreciated was the interest taken in every aspect of this big refurbishment project and his willingness to assist by making valuable suggestions based on his experience. I am very glad indeed that he carried out the work and would have no hesitation about asking him to help with further work or recommending him widely.
SandraB13/05/2014
Kitchen LED lights and ceiling
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian helped me select the right LED lights for my kitchen, and did a great job with installation and repair work to my ceiling after the holes had to be repositioned for safety reasons. Would highly recommend him and his quality of service. Thanks!
JMkingsbury07/05/2014
Great job, trustworthy trader and I will use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian did several jobs for me to improve the property and address electrical issues identified as part of a survey by another electrician. I found Ian on TrustMark. Ian arrived when he said he would, and did a great job. He is very thorough and diligent in his work. He clearly does not believe in cutting corners, and does everything by the book. Overall I am very pleased with the work performed and would use Ian again in the future. Thanks!
IGilbert29/04/2014
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has done a fantastic job fitting in-cupboard LED lighting for us. He's very considerate in his work, taking time to consider and discuss options (e.g. how lights will be used and the practicality of their positions) and will make sure you're happy with the plans before proceeding. His work is of a very high standard and he's a pleasure to talk to. Very honest and reasonable rates. Can't find fault and would recommend without hesitation! (Can also really recommend the in-cupboard LED lights!)
nikhorne18/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Ian to sort out a problem with my RCD after reading reviews on the Which local site and was not disappointed. He arrived within 1 hour and quickly and professionally found the problem and all for a reasonable cost. Highly recommended.
Leo-Leo06/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian recently came round to fit a new light in the living room which he did very efficiently and at a reasonable price. I also needed 2 double sockets in the kitchen replaced so that they were flush to the wall. This looked a difficult job as they needed to be put where new granite backing had been fitted. Ian wasn't sure whether he would be able to do this without causing any damage but he had a good look and reckoned it was a challenge he could overcome with the minimum of risk. We felt it was worth the risk and understood the possible consequences if it went wrong. I am delighted to say Ian made a great job of it and now these sockets look so much better. A friendly and helpful guy who also gave good advice on one or two other issues in the house, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him and use him again in the future.
Geoff, C.Park18/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A couple of years ago, my flat was burgled and I wanted a security light fitted. I found out about Ian on which local and asked him for a quote. He came to look and said he would do it if I really wanted it, but he advised me against it as he thought it would not offer the reassurance that I thought it would. I was impressed with his honesty and felt his advice was sound. As a result, when my extractor fan stopped working in the bathroom this week, I rang him again. He arrived at the time he said he would and did the work quickly and efficiently. He also extended a light cable in my hall. I found him to be friendly and knowledgeable and I would definitely use him again and recommend him to anyone!
bros122/02/2014
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Electricians or other building contractors who like Ian work professionally in the interest of their client are rare. I had an incident today with my wall sockets; an electrical arcing was happening and I was lucky to be in the room and notice it. I called Ian, having found his number from a directory. He was helpful on the phone, he arrived on time, and completed the job in a short time giving plenty of useful information about the problem and my other questions. I Couldn't recommend him more.
Which5126/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has been able to help me out several times with his skills, knowledge and advice. He most recently repaired an extraction fan in a bathroom that was causing the bathroom to show signs of dampness, he dealt with the matter quickly and helpfully sorted out an unrelated electrical issue at the same time. I would most definitely recommend Ian to anyone that needs a reliable and efficient electrician.
paaras30/10/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian replaced some ancient lights in my dining room. He gave good advice on the type of light fitting to get and very useful detail on the best bulb type to go for in terms of energy efficiency and brightness requirements for the room size. He also advised on the most efficient light bulbs to use in other rooms. We will certainly use him again. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anyone needing an electrician !
curd16/10/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed an electrican to check an intruder light and front door bell that were not working. Unable to identify why both were not working, I decided to install new ones. Ian helped with sourcing for the materials. He installed a new vandal resistant light with detector and a new door bell. He was patient allowing me to choose my preferred chime! He also offerred tips re-intruder light which I found useful. Ian is a lovely guy with warm personality and very professional. I have no hesitation in recommending him and will use him again.
ifeyinwa13/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian provided an excellent & friendly service. He put in a new distribution board and bonded the water and gas supplies to comply with current regulations. He also put a new extractor fan in the bathroom and a fluorescent strip light in the loft. We thought we might need 2 lights in the loft but he advised that one would suffice and saved us unnecessary expense. He worked very efficiently and quickly and he was amenable to answer any questions during the work, showing great patience with us. We would highly recommend him and will use him again.
Wick18/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian undertook the following work for us - installed earthing to gas and water supplies; fitted new fuse box; replaced four wall lights and two centre lights with new fittings; replaced external security light; replaced wiring for porch light and replaced loft light fitting. He was extremely pleasant and friendly and explained what he was doing where necessary. He was open to any questions we put to him and invited us to ring him if we found any problems. He gave us a detailed estimate before we engaged him and the final bill was as estimated. We consided his prices were very reasonable. We were very satisfied with Ian's work and would have no hesitation in recommending him for any electrical work.
frittata07/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've asked Ian to undertake some electrical work a couple of times over the last few months. Ian provided a quality service at a reasonable price. He was efficient, polite and friendly. He also gave some good advice on the rest of our electrics. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Ian.
Madbej05/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called in Ian to carry out an Electrical Condition Report on a flat we let. As a result he installed a 17th Edition Distribution Board and carried out other work to ensure we complied with current regulations. We had a tight schedule and he was able to fit in the work at short notice. He provided us with very helpful explanations and carried out the work neatly, quickly and with minimal disruption. We have no hesitation in recommednding his work and will be using him again in the future.
BrianTJ14/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a rcd circuit breaker continually tripping and called Ian to identify where the fault was. These types of problems can be difficult to resolve. Ian quickly identifed where the fault was and fixed it. I also asked him to change a low voltage transformer in the kitchen and a broken wall socket. All work was done quickly and efficiently at a very reasonable price. I have used Ian in the past and he always does work of a very high standard at a reasonable price. I would have no hesitation in recommending him.
eye_wink12/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called on Ian for a second time, on this occasion to clean and service the extractor fan in my kitchen. He came promptly and did a marvellous job. I could not praise him more highly, taking a great deal of interest in what was a very small job, arrived when he said he would, and was very considerate and friendly.
barbarm27/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt efficient service. Ian installed a new consumer unit for. He also found two earthing faults which he rectified. I would have no hesitation in calling on him again and am pleased to have the opportunity to recommend him. My only reservation about the cost of the service is that I am not able to judge value for money as I have not needed this type of service in the past.
Gamboler25/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has come to our aid a couple of times but I would like to thank him for coming to our rescue on a Sunday that had beautiful sunshine (not a lot of that this summer) because we had lost our power. Not many would put themselves out to work on their day off. He was cheerful and friendly and quickly found the fault and his bill was fair.
Silene29/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In June 2012 Ian installed in our Hatch End property : up-to-date Mains earthing, a new 17th edition split level distribution board and an outside double socket. All this work was done to a high professional standard with minimum disruption, helpful explanations and everything tidied on completion. Very reasonable charges - without hesitation we would recommend Ian for any electrical work.
C.J.F.TOWNSON02/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an 'unknown' electrical problem. Ian was very pleasant and a good listener. He doesn't try and sell you what you do not want. Unfortunately he was not able to locate the fault although he did sort out another defect which we had. He is thorough and we would use him again.
Silstar24/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, polite, knowledgeable and effective service AND good value for money! Everything I hoped for and more. Would definitely call on again and recommend to others.
W? member N64801/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian called to fix blown circuits. I found Ian very friendly and helpful and he gave good advice. Work was satisfactory with good value for money.
NorthHarrowResident25/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rang him concerning our Hall light which keeps blowing (and occasionally triping the circvuit breaker) and that the Breakfast Room light was flickering. His thoughts were that it could be a duff batch of bulbs causing the problem in the Hall though also suggested trying low-energy bulbs. Whilst we were talking about the Breakfast Room I looked at the bulb and itÍs fitting when the bulb fell out ! Anyhow, replaced both bulbs. Ian didn't want any payment for the 15 minutes we spent on the phone - that's service ! IanÍs advice was free and only time will tell if it was good.
Pinner Pensioner18/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend Ian - he spent time listening to what I needed and picked up parts on his way here. He fixed the light switch problem very efficiently and used the remaining time in his hourly charge to patiently install a fiddly light fitting. He is very friendly and knowledgable and will definitely be my first call for any further electrical problems.
MrsMum21/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Ian during the day to look at a problem I had with a shower pump (I was told by the manufacturer that it required an electrician to change a circuit board). He came round in the evening and resolved the problem without the need to change anything. I also asked him to look at 2 other things, one he fixed and the other he gave me advice. I was very pleased that he came round the same evening. He left me with a very good impression and I will definitely use him again for any electrical work. I recommend him.
LouisP10/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I thought I had sent a recommendation previously but for some reason it didn't get posted. In August 2011 Ian did comprehensive safety checks on my hot water/ heating system and in the whole flat in preparation for letting the flat out. Not sure I can add to numerous other extremely positive reviews. Suffice to say that I will be asking him to deal with any future problems in my property and think his quality of work and approach is fantastic. And thank you Which Local as I would not have known about him otherwise.
carol thomas1106/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Three days before we were due to travel abroad and the day before we were having friends to stay overnight, a row of the ceiling lights in our kitchen fused. I contacted Foreman Electrical, through Which?Local, and Ian said he would call round after he had finished work that evening. Just before he arrived the electric supply for the whole of our street was cut off due to British Gas, who were replacing the gas mains in the road outside, cutting through the main electrical supply cable! In spite off this Ian soon diagnosed that one of three switches in the wall socket had fused. He promised to obtain a replacement switch as soon as the shops opened next day. He arrived at 8.45 am and replaced the faulty switch, as well as checking and reconnecting some of the wiring on the rest of the ring main which had been poorly connected. He also spent some time advising us on how to be more economic in our use of electricity. He is unquestionably the best electrician we have come across, with excellent inter-personal skills and the patience to spend time in explaining everything he was doing. Above all, he went the extra mile in sorting out our problems when we urgently needed help. We have no hesitation in highly recommending Ian for his professional skills and delightful manner!
RP329/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was quick to respond & prompt to carry out the recommended work of fitting 2 outside RCD sockets. He carried out the work in a professional manner, left the work area in a clean & tidy state & was accurate in his estimate & charges. I wouldn't hesitate in using him again.
david w elliott19/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian (Foreman Electrical) was selected from Which Local website to install a new distribution board. He arrived promptly, gave me a reasonable quote and the work was done very efficiently. Ian advised me to have the whole bungalow rewired, which I knew needed to be done, and he did this and replaced all light switches and sockets and made some good suggestions. Ian's work was completed to a very high standard and he is a most pleasant, helpful and reliable person and above all he is very knowledgeable. Everything has been working perfectly ever since. I recommend him very highly and when I need an electrician, I wouldn't dream of phoning anybody else.
Hillhouse09/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian comes highly recommended not just by his customers but by other tradesman. His work speaks volumes. Ian came to resolve an electrical fault in our kitchen in July 2011. He isolated the fault and made it safe for us to use the kitchen appliances. He also resolved a light problem I had in the bathroom. I was so impressed with his prompt action and advice that I called him for more work to be carried out in the bathroom on 24/8/2011. He replaced a rather noisy extractor fan from the bathroom. The fan purrs quietly and also does what it needs to do extract the steam from the bathroom. His work is very good and would recommend him to family and friends.
pureandholistic27/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian (Foreman Electricals) contacted us promptly, gave us an reasonable estimate for the work along with advice regarding the job on the date & time agreed. He arrived to start the job as agreed, there were unforeseen technical issues which he resolved : returning as agreed to replace a faulty part in the new fitting. The job was successfully completed in a prompt and professional manner and Ian provided advice as needed. We now have a Q lovely modern ceiling light with dimmer switch. We would highly recommend Ian and will be contacting him in the near future for other electrical work in the house. Thank you Which Local this was the first time we had used this service and we will be using it again. Ian's previous reviews were accurate, he proved to be dependable when he returned with the needed parts to complete the job and would not accept any payment until the job was complete.
Cathy Q19/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian (Foreman Electrical) was selected from the Which Local website to fully rewire, install and modernize all the electrical wiring and fittings to our home. This task covered many areas of electrical work; rewiring all rooms, replacement of existing light switches and sockets to meet modern day requirements, as well as the installation of a outside sensor security light, smoke alarms, loft light, a new distribution board and an internal sensor for the hallway recessed lights. Additionally, electrical tasks for the bathroom included the installation of fire rated recessed lights, a mirror light and an extractor fan, which was mounted in the loft, thus reducing the noise. For the kitchen, the tasks included, the installation of a number of fire rated recessed lights, and all electrical appliances were installed through fused spurs. In all aspects of his work, it is clear that Ian has a vast experience of electrical knowledge and his work was completed to a very high standard. In addition, we are confident that Ian keeps abreast of the latest Electrical Safety Regulations and we were reassured that his work complied with all safety aspects, as this was one of our key criteria, as well being N.I.C.E.I.C registered. Ian supported this requirement by providing test certificates to ourselves and informed the local council on completion of the job. It was clear that Ian is able to combine his strong technical knowledge with his design knowledge and this was evident when he provided suggestions for the bathroom and kitchen that were consistent with our expectations and aesthetically pleasing. We were particularly impressed with Ian's efficient method of working and as a result there was no snagging list. His excellent interpersonal skills means that he is approachable; this was especially helpful in the situations where he was required to provide clear explanations in easy to understand language. We were also very pleased with IanÍs professional approach, being polite, tidy and courteous at all times. It is clear that Ian takes pride in his work, along with his exceptional after care skills; this leads us to highly recommend Ian for anyone intending to undertake any electrical work. Ian also recommended a bathroom and kitchen fitter whom produced particularly pleasing results.
mkp013814/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found contact details and helpful reviews on Which Local. I can only add to all the other positive reviews: having called on a Friday afternoon, Ian attended on Saturday morning and gave very helpful, honest advice. Excellent service and I have no hesitation in recommending him to others.
alancolq11/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found Ian through Which? Local. Came promply and with necessary spare parts to fix broken shower switch. Great service.
Joanna04/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had couple of issues with my RCD and wiring (tripping). I found Ian through Which? Local. He was prompt. He explained the problem and fixed them quickly. Highly recommended.
vikasdabral26/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came to fix the "tripping" that kept on occuring in my house; he found the problem soon as he was also aware of the recall on the fuse that was faulty. His attitude and mannerism was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and even checked my electrical certificate
MansurD17/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came round promptly to assess my requirements. He was very pleasant and friendly. I had trouble with recessed shower-room and kitchen lights. He located a major fault in the installation. He collaborated with my handyman and rectified the fault. He returned when something was not quite right. His charge was within a reasonable amount. I will certainly use him again for further electrical problems. I can definitely recommend him. Irene Lawford
Irene Lawford20/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was very professional and efficient. He came to change our bathroom fan, very quick and without any delays or unnecessary time wasting. He was pleasant and explained everything very well. Highly recommended.
king116/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted this trader because of reviews on Which? Local. He did some rewiring work, and put in a new fuse board. He was pleasant and efficient, arrived when he said he would, and seemed to be good at his job. He cleared up well behind him. We would recommend him to other people.
edgwarelibrary13/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Foreman Electrical via Which? Local. Ian is very professional, knowledgeble, reliable , trustworthy and turned up on time and finished within timescale. Ian installed a new RCD as well as a new storage heater; and issued me the certificate on the same day too! I can only reiterate what others have said. Highly recommend Ian's works. I have already recommended him to my relatives and neighbours!
P.Tan Harrow04/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My kitchen lights were complicated - dimmers with 2 way switching, combined with low voltage halogen downlighters for worktops. The dimmers and their switches broke, and I could not understand the forrest of wires in the control box Ian sorted the circuits out and installed new dimmers that I had bought but could not understand. A very quick job.
scrippo18/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having found Ian on Which? Local, I can only reiterate what others have said. I have found him to be very professional - competently talking through options and their pros and cons. He is always happy to explain the ïtechnical bitsÍ (and then re-explain, for those of us that have no electrical knowledge!). He has done several jobs for me, including: diagnosing a fault with and replacing a bathroom light fitting, tidying up/replacing unsafe electrics in the garden and fitting a recessed porch light and sensor. He has always been polite, reliable and tidy in his work and endeavours to book in and carry out work with minimal delay. I would certainly use him again.
JeTow11/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came quickly in response to my phone call. He repaired a faulty ceiling light, replaced a non-functioning switch in my kitchen, and re-connected two obsolete power points which had been disconnected during previous re-wiring of my house. He tidied up and left everything shipshape before leaving. The only break he took was a short spell for lunch. An extremely pleasant and helpful professional.
woppit25/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hall light not working and Electrician, recommended by friend, visited, mystified as to fault, and failed to return. Contacted Ian Foreman who immediately traced fault to junction box and returned the following day to fix it. Reasonable cost, pleasant, arrived on time phoning a few minutes beforehand and very professional.
bysouth05/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found Ian from Which Local and was very impressed by his honesty, quality work at a very reasonable price. Helped replace all light fittings and clean up some wires - was very efficient and would highly recommend.
millie811/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Foreman installed a new Consumer Unit and earthed the gas supply. Additionally, he rectified a small number of historical wiring issues. Proficient, professional and courteous.
MIKEOG26/08/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came round promptly to fit a new light fitting and also solved another lighting problem by tracing its connections. He worked efficiently and cleaned up afterwards. I would definitely use him again.
mbl29/07/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would thoroughly recommend Ian. Chose him based upon Which Local comments. Ian identified that we were missing earthing to the main fuse board and that the fuse board had no RCD switches. He replaced the fuse board and also lifted floor boards to conceal additional wiring. Having identified some other issues in the house concerning earthing he then got replacement fittings in a style we would have chosen ourselves. He is very knowledgeable, professional, clean and tidy. The price was reasonable considering the amount of work and time involved. He explains what he has done and why he has done it so that you can be reassured that the job has been well done. Ian also followed up later with an email to ensure things were still ok. Would have no hesitation using him again.
eye_wink24/07/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was desperately looking for a qualified electrician who could do bonding of gas and electricity. Two electricians who were supposed to be registered Gas Safe were not able to understand what the Gas Supplier meant by "Bonding of Gas & Electricity. I chose Ian Foreman from Which Local. When Ian came and I gave him the Gas Supplier's paper he understood instantly and even explained to me in layman language what it meant. After inspecting the work to be done, Ian set a date. He arrive on time and carried out the work professionally and on completing the work, he left the place clean and tidy. Ian also went out of his way to find me an Electrical supplier for my built in oven and extractor fan. Ian is efficient, friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend him to my friends. Ian is also a good time keeper (always on time. Excellent young man.
JANE WAWERU20/07/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was very busy when I contacted him through Which? Local but he went out of his way to fit us in before our major bathroom refurbishment, to intall a split-load distribution board. Also installed a light fitting and more sockets in our garage plus outside socket. A thorough professional, very helpful, explained everything. Highly recommended.
pollen11/06/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian checked a faulty telephone box and extension for me and also fitted new under-cupboard kitchen lights. He did both jobs very well, very efficiently, and was friendly and reasonable in price.
David Pat19/03/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has restored my faith in electricians! My power has been tripping out over the past two years on and off and after 3 electricians were unable to diagnose the fault I had given up hope. Ian was able to come out to me on a Sunday (which saved my sanity as power was tripping out every 40 minutes on the saturday!) and was here for less than an hour. He found the fault, it seemed too easy so he checked to make sure it wasn't anything else. He only charged me a very modest amount and even text me the next day and a week later just to check it was all ok. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending him (and he doesn't drink tea ;-) )
handbagqueen07/03/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been desperately looking for an electrician and after having been let down time and again, I choose Ian from Which Local. He came to inspect the work to be done, set a date and time and duly arrived as promised. He completed the works I had asked for and also gave a report of other work necessary. I would definately use him again.
DColeman03/03/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good attitude, attended on time, value for money. Would happily call again.
MAK21/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service .Exceptionally well priced and highly competent.We would not hesitate to use him again
DABesser20/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt reply to enquiry, very pleasant manner, gave helpful advice on how to get best out of electricty suppliers [ie totally disinteresed], cleared up at end of job
faces18/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My 89 year old neighbour asked me for advice, after discovering the on/off switch to her immersion heater had stuck in the on position, and the switch box had felt warm. After a brief look myself, it was clear that professional attention was needed. Since neither of us had used an electrician for many years, I offered to find a local contractor, recommended on Which?Local. I spoke to Mr Foreman on my neighbour's behalf, explaining the problem and that she would like to upgrade to a timer switch. This was at about 4.00 p.m. in the afternoon. Mr Foreman said he would come round the following morning between 8.30 and 9.00 a.m. When I called on my neighbour at about 11.00 the next morning, the job had been done, very much to her satisfaction in both efficiency and cost. Mr Foreman subsequently took the trouble to call me back to confirm he had completed the job and had assured my neighbour that if she encountered any problems. e.g. with altering the settings of the time switch, she could contact him and he would call again. Altogether, excellent service.
GLBH08/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came round at short notice to replace a kitchen light fitting. He is clearly competant and knowledgeable, and a very pleasant man. I thoroughly recommend him.
jackdour31/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My builder brought Ian Foreman in to rewire our original house and new extension. One of the things that stood out about Ian was that he would take the time to discuss all the different options available making sensible suggestions where appropriate and explaining why. His quality of work was very professional and done in a timely manner. I would not hesitate to recommend Ian.
StefyC31/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following a house rewire in 2005 there has been a recurring problem with the halogen lighting in the kitchen ceiling. The electrician who did the original work could not find the fault. I finally contacted Ian Foreman and we discussed possible causes and he made a number of useful suggestions. He came round and quickly diagnosed the problem - a loose connection in a junction box tucked away above the false ceiling. He fixed that, and reported on a couple of extra items he found there which related to electrical safety standards, and while he was there he also repaired another intermittent problem in the bathroom lighting. His invoice was very reasonable for the amount of time he spent finding and fixing the problems and the advice he gave. His manner was polite and friendly, and he appeared to be very knowledgeable. I would not hesitate to use Ian again and I can recommend him without reservation.
Happy Customer26/11/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Ian through this site, he has fitted new light fittings, replaced an outside light, etc we would highly recommed him as he is very thorough, always pleasant & arrived when he said he would. To feel comfortable enough with a tradesman to leave them with access to your home is a sign of the type of person Ian is, plus you never know he has been other than your problem has been resolved.
Chelsee31/10/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good honest advice. Installed two rcd switches efficiently and professionally. Highly recommended and will use again.
GK12323/10/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I concur with recommendations from other Which members that Ian Foreman was efficient in his work of tracing and disconnecting a wire from an old garage that had been taken down. He is a cheerful pleasant worker.
Silene23/10/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to change the downlights in my dining room. Ian researched the market and found lights which would fit the existing recesses thus avoiding expensive altrations to the ceiling. He obtained the lights on approval to ensure that they would fit and would be suitable. He also separately returned and fitted covers for the lights which originally had been considered unsuitable because of the low height of the ceiling. I found him to be a most pleasant man to deal with and felt that nothing would be too much trouble for him to satisfy his customer.
bjmac01/10/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Foreman was asked to change the light fittings on 3 lights in my home. He was also asked to check out the failure of lights on a stand. He did the 3 light fittings with care and explained what he had done together with information of how to maintain the lights etc. He also looked at the lights on the stand, discovered the fuses had blown and rectified the matter without being asked. All the work was carried out in a professional manner and I consider the amount charged to be more than fair. Excellent!
lizziecello21/09/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Ian on this web site. I needed a new distribution board and the house tested, to make sure it was up to date and safe to rent out. Ian replaced the box and gave me straight forward advice on what needed upgrading. He completed the work quickly and efficiently. Afterwards he explained and showed me all his work, I was very satisfied with him.
dctuk1811/09/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Ian in 2007 and again in the last month. Both were small jobs - I am a woman on my own and I couldn't do the jobs myself. Ian was prepared to do both jobs for me without a problem. On both ocassions Ian came round on the same day I contacted him. He is very helpful and polite and I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Debbie - Harrow31/08/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian fitted a new fusebox, bonded , carried out checks and provided us with both necessary paperwork and recommendations for further safety work. He is an excellent electrician and we highly recommend him.
hisnibsuk31/08/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have found Ian via Which Local after previous electrician never managed to finish his job. After major house redecorations we had a very long list for him: earthing new gas boiler (major), replacing fuse control box, and rewiring loft (including bathroom extractor) - to name the biggest. We have been very impressed with his attention to detail along with his recommendations and ability to find solutions where needed. What is more important, before starting jobs Ian explained rules and regulations. He also brought updated paper copies to show he was not just talking rubbish like many others did. Very friendly, professional, tidy, punctual and reliable. We found his advice very valuable and impartial. Highly recommended.
Radek Palinowski14/06/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Ian having read the recommendations on Which Local. He refitted a lighting arrangement in my kitchen ceiling plus a new power socket in a bedroom. I found him knowledgable, co-operative, and keen to be of service. I am very pleased with the results. He was also a very tidy worker.
barbarm26/04/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
One of my wall lights didn't work.He cured the problem in very few minutes.He had diagnosed the problem at once. There was also a problem with lead from the aerial to my TV. Also dealt with very quickly. Pleasant workman,efficient and reasonablke price.
BLANK21/03/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian wasvery friendly and offered good advice when I first rang him. He arrived when he said he would and because of the length of time he was with me I felt he was great value for money.
Scatty11/03/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am a retired Electrician,Found Foreman very helpfull Knowledgeable,quick clean and good value ,friendly person
chadam03/03/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Electrical installation to new garage. Chose Ian from Which on the basis of previous recommendations and was not disappointed. Efficient, friendly, properly qualified and really knows his stuff. Did a spendid job and provided official NIC EIC certification on completion. Very highly recommended.
Mike san29/01/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Mr Ian foreman 1st in June 2008 and again in Jan 2009. Both times he has been punctual, gave a reasonable quote, fast efficient work, cleans up, gives full info on the work being done without any irritation and most important he is very polite in manner.
kirti526/01/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Ian after seeing reviews on this site and we were very pleased with his work. He advised and installed low energy recessed light fittings in our kitchen; connected our new cooker and suggested changing the bulky control switch to one flush with the wall; installed a power supply to our new extractor fan, solving an error by kitchen fitters by hiding wiring in a cupboard; disconnected an out-of-use electrical distribution board; explained and did necessary safety tests in relation to water and gas supplies; and provided installation certificates and info re the lighting. Ian was friendly, reliable and offered sound advice. He even recommended and contacted a plasterer when we ran into problems preparing the kitchen ceiling. He also reduced our final bill after connecting the cooker proved more straight forward than anticipated. If only everyone was as reliable and pleasant to deal with.
nick4514/11/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very quickly diagnosed that a non-working immersion heater's problem was that the wiring at the wall switch was wrong i.e. brown & black wires needed to be swapped around. Did it quickly, pointed out a couple of other issues which should be fixed in future & left. Good manner, clearly knows what he's talking about. Very satisfied.
Richardp06/10/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A failure of the fitting for a fluorescent light was diagnosed on the telephone and Ian arrived next day with the necessary replacement parts and did the repair in a friendly and efficient manner.
MaryAlan05/09/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose Ian as a result of my search on Which Local for an electrician. He installed 3 new ring main circuits into my Garage for a special project. His work was timely, efficient, friendly and exceeded my expectations. Highly recommended.
rabaks20/08/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I selected Ian from the Which Local to update the electrics in my flat. Ian was very friendly, helpful and honest and gave me some very useful advice. He saved me a lot of money because the electrics did not require as much renewing as I had thought. I would definitely recommend him.
elise12/08/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian rewired my kitchen as part of a complete refit. His explanations of the work to be done were clear and concise and the work was carried out to a high standard. He worked well with my kichen fitter and was available to come over at short notice if required. He kept to his cost estimate and I would not hesitate to reccomend him to anyone else.
Tony D Cross18/11/2007
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a rewire of our kitchen in autumn 2006 and the firm was recomended by the person fitting the kitchen. It was a very professional, efficient and friendly service and I would not hesitate to use them again.
Ian Harvey29/05/2007