We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Garage Door Services Cumbria

Profile thumb gds logo250

5.0

72 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

GDS Cumbria supply and install a wide range of domestic garage doors throughout the North West, North East and Southern Scotland. We understand the value of security and reliability and thus offer only the best quality modern garage doors, automation products and spare parts from leading manufacturers. With expert advice and friendly assistance, we can help you choose the garage door that's right for you

What we do

  • Garage door repairs and installation

  • Doors

  • Garage related services

  • More Services

    • sectional
    • canopy
    • roller
    • insulated roller
    • side hinged

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
72 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
New garage door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service prompt response to my initial enquiry and first class advice regarding best type of door most suitable in my situation, gave firm competitive quote and suitable time for installation and delivered on time. Installation was carried out in a professional manner and site was left clean and tidy. Well done.
Customer in Dumfries and Galloway Posted on 22/04/2021 , work completed 12/04/2021
The trader replied (on 26/04/2021)
Thank you very much for the 5 star review! I hope you enjoy your new Garador sectional door! Gary
Well priced, great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary provided a very competitive quote to change an up and over door into a sectional door. The work itself was carried out to a very high standard and there were no issues having to work around some of the other features in our garage. Highly recommended
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 25/03/2021 , work completed 24/03/2021
Repairs to Up & Over garage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very quick response from Gary in carrying out repairs to our garage. In addition he provided comprehensive quotes and options for a replacement garage door. Impressed with the service and would definitely recommend GDS Cumbria to others.
David in Cumbria Posted on 09/02/2021 , work completed 08/02/2021
Highly recommended reliable responsive engineering Pro
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Astoundingly good reliable service from a true professional: Gary came highly recommended to us by the UK manufacturer of our up n over door, and from the outset did everything he could to resolve the door's sudden operating fault as quickly as possible. Significantly, he also happily shared his knowledge with us (as new customers) about the workings and functionality of the darned door. In this day and age of mediocre service and, very often, indifference and incompetence, Gary's Garage Door Services is a real 'find': supportive, communicative, responsive and scrupulously fair in its pricing. We'd say 100% recommended but that would be an under-valuing: 100,000% is more like it! Thanks, Gary, for your greatly appreciated help!
Howard & Val in Cumbria Posted on 04/02/2021 , work completed 04/02/2021
The trader replied (on 09/02/2021)
Hi Howard & Val. Thank you so much for the 5 star review! It was a pleasure to be of service. If I can be of any further assistance in the future please don't hesitate to give me a call.
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Superb service from start to finish. First Gary advised me of some simple checks that might have solved the problem - hence potentially saving me money. And then when those didn't fix the problem, scheduling a quick appointment. Gary arrived on time, explained the diagnostic process and the resulting diagnosis. Gary then replaced the faulty controller, and explained to me how to use the new controls. He left with my thanks, and I have a nicely working garage door.
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 14/12/2020 , work completed 14/12/2020
Perfection.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our new garage door fitted today by Gary, and what a fantastic job was done. From the first time that Gary came to give us our free quote we knew he was the man for the job, very pleasant, professional and explained everything thoroughly. Everything done to perfection from start to finish. Would definitely recommend.
David & Isabel, Cumbria. Posted on 09/12/2020 , work completed 09/12/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first meeting with GDS through to the installation of our new garage door we could not fault the service. Gary responded promptly to our initial enquiry, arranged a convenient time to visit, answered all our questions with courtesy and professionalism and the installation was carried out within the timeframe given. They made a very tidy job with the fitting and the product quality is first class. We are very pleased and would not hesitate to recommend GDS.
Mandy in Appleby, Cumbria Posted on 04/12/2020 , work completed 01/12/2020
The trader replied (on 09/12/2020)
Thank you for the review Mandy. Glad you like your new garage door!
New Garage Door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary did an excellent job at installing our new garador and all the modern iphone app applications. He was very professional and communicated with us at every step. He was very pleasant and respectful and nothing was too much trouble. An adaptor was not sent by the company which he sourced by next day delivery. We are very Happy with his work and we would recommend him.
Customer in Keswick Posted on 27/10/2020 , work completed 27/10/2020
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot thank the young man enough for his help today. He guided me through the reprogramming of my automatic garage door via mobile, so saving me a lot of money for an on-site visit. This is excellent service especially considering he was in the middle of another job. At least we now know who to phone next time we have a problem. Thank you Garage Door Services Cumbria!
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 28/08/2020 , work completed 28/08/2020
Fabulous work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time and got straight down to work. Old garage door removed with minimum mess and by end of day new electric door completed. I cant rate this company or their work too highly. Quick efficient tidy and professional. I would highly recommend this company. High quality work and high quality product
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 18/08/2020 , work completed 18/08/2020
Garage door motor replaced and doors serviced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, response time superb, well mannered and caring. Considered me first when assessing options available for remedy, truthful and honest regarding repair. First class workmanship.
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 10/02/2020 , work completed 06/02/2020
Garage door motor fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted motor to garage door, very good service, very quick response, worked clean and tidy, very nice chap as well.
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 19/01/2020 , work completed 20/01/2016
Stellar service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole process from initial site visit to completion of work was exemplary. The site was left clean and tidy and the fit and finish is perfect. An unreserved recommendation for a faultless service.
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 23/10/2019 , work completed 23/10/2019
Knowledgeable & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted motors to twin garage doors. Recommended this alternative to having 2 new doors. Cost effective in my situation. Great communication and advice. Very friendly & approachable, yet professional. Highly recommended.
Pamela, Cumbria Posted on 12/08/2019 , work completed 12/08/2019
Good service delivered in a friendly knowledgeable way
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From my first enquiry I received good service. Explained all the options. Punctual from first estimate to day of installation. Site left clean and tidy. A good experience!
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 03/07/2019 , work completed 03/07/2019
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time and worked solidly until it was finished. Because I had been unable to clear around the space completely, they did that and left the garage tidy, before they left Gary showed me how it worked & how to look after the mechanics of the door. Very pleased with the quality of the door and with it's fitting.
Lillian, Cumbria Posted on 02/07/2019 , work completed 02/07/2019
Good professional and timely repair.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose GDSCumbria from reading online reviews. They were not wrong. An initial telephone conversation established the potential problems (and cost). Gary arrived promptly at the agreed time and completed the repairs very efficiently. He also serviced all the moving parts of the garage door as well as some additional minor tidying up at no additional cost. Good job for a reasonable cost. Hopefully, we will not need Gary again for 10 years or so, but would certainly recommend his services.
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 30/05/2019 , work completed 30/05/2019
A good job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick full quotation on preliminary visit. Arrived on time on the day designated for installation. Finished at the predicted time after working hard. The sectional door was expertly fitted and the finishing was of a high standard. All rubbish and debris was clearer up and disposed of as promised. Operation of door was demonstrated and explained fully. An excellent job in every way!
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 22/05/2019 , work completed 22/05/2019
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Garage door fitted. Came on time each time. Advised and fitted quickly. Most helpful and friendly. Would certainly recommend them.
M, Cumbria Posted on 11/04/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
Excellent service and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had electric garage door fitted on 2nd April. Gary is very helpful and considerate to old people. A very professional job on time, clean and left everything spotless. Thank you Gary, I recommend you.
Ann, Cumbria Posted on 02/04/2019 , work completed 02/04/2019
QUALITY WORKMANSHIP - Great Strickland
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two weeks from Gary visiting us and assisting us with the choice of doors to give us maximum opening capacity the doors were fitted, the whole process was done in a professional manner with any small problems being discussed with us. The old doors and wooden frames removed and the garage and driveway swept clean of debris. Excellent - 5 Star workmanship - Highly recommended.
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 08/03/2019
A+ from start to finish.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial phone call this transaction was seamless. The price was very reasonable and excellent quality. Excellent workmanship and everything done exactly when they said it would be done. I can't believe the difference the doors have made to the warmth of the house, and being automated life is so much easier, I should have had these doors fitted years ago. Many thanks to John and his brilliant team.
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 07/03/2019 , work completed 12/02/2019
Delighted.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was not straight forward, as it was part of a larger job. Despite complications, Gary and Noreen did a superb job. From the first estimate to the final demonstration I was impressed with the efficiency, courtesy, and desire to please. Many thanks.
Sheila, Cumbria Posted on 22/01/2019 , work completed 22/01/2019
Tradesmen as they should be.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial quote to the finish of the job, no problems whatsoever. No hard sell, just professional. Fantastic job, highly recommended.
Customer in Dumfries and Galloway Posted on 19/01/2019 , work completed 04/01/2019
Repair garage door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I inadvertantly touched the remote that closes the garage door yesterday (when I had left the car partly in - as I was coming back later to go out again). The door stopped on the car bonnet and broke things in the box with the roller. Gary and his mate came this afternoon and assessed the situation. They managed to repair the brackets by adapting some spares in their van. They were excellent - very helpful indeed. I would recommend them for their ability and professional approach and friendliness.
Customer in Cumbria Posted on 18/12/2018 , work completed 18/12/2018
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Spot on service from start to finish. Very prompt and great team. Very impressed.
Trevor, Cumbria Posted on 11/12/2018 , work completed 11/12/2018
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My existing garage door was motorised by G.D.S Cumbria. The service was excellent. They came at the appointed time and the motor was quickly and efficiently fitted. The controls were fully explained and tested and all waste was cleared and the garage left tidy. I would thoroughly recommend G.D.S.
Donald, Cumbria Posted on 06/12/2018 , work completed 06/12/2018
Excellent service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Garage door services Cumbria Ltd did a great job of supplying and fitting a new garage door. They also serviced our other door free of charge.
Ruth, Cumbria Posted on 15/11/2018 , work completed 15/11/2018
New Garage Door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just had a new garage door fitted, by Gary and his team. Excellent first class service and workmanship. Cannot recommend highly enough. All waste taken away, and my garage area, left clean, and rubbish free. An excellent product as well, all aspects of the door, fully explained after the job was complete. A seamless job, from quotation, to fitting.
Damian Posted on 07/11/2018 , work completed 07/11/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service.
Charles, Cumbria Posted on 06/11/2018 , work completed 06/11/2018
Excellent product and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot praise John and Gary enough, John came round and did not push the sale but gave great advise and looked at ways of keeping the cost down. Gary and his colleague turned up to fit door, left them tea and coffee as I had to go out, they left the garage clean and tidy and the door and electrics were fitted brilliantly and is 100% better than my old door and electrics. fantastic
Graham Lewis Posted on 01/11/2018 , work completed 01/11/2018
Friendly professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted a door to our newly built garage. Prompt and efficient service. Great communication.
Sheila, Cumbria Posted on 26/10/2018 , work completed 26/10/2018
Gary Palmer & Norman (The Legend)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted GDS Cumbria to replace a double garage door, Gary came round to provide information and give a quote the next day. He immediately saved me £390 as he said that the original motor would work with the new door (thank you). Following the order Gary and Norman arrived to fit the door. They worked professionally and were finished, having tidied up, within a few hours. No questions were too hard to answer and they even advised on how to complete the tiled lip of the flooring to stop the car from breaking the edges. I hope my workmanship is as good! Great job and smart door. Kind Regards, Jonathan
Jonathan Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent from start to finish. Came within a few days. Was spot on for time and very helpful and friendly. Great work and would definitely recommend.
sheila mall Posted on 26/09/2018 , work completed 26/09/2018
Five Star Service With Great Product Knowledge
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From our initial telephone enquiry we were given advice about suitable products. We called back once we had researched further as advised and were able to make an informed decision on the right garage door closer for us. A price and time was agreed by John for installation the next day, as a time slot was available in our area. Gary and Norman arrived as expected and were totally professional throughout the visit. The guys were all down to earth and friendly and were able to do the job straight away. There was a challenge to locate the joist in the garage ceiling to fix the guide rail as the garage had very deep insulation. This was unexpected but with perseverance the joist was located and the rail was fixed in place. We are so happy to see that the job has been done properly. We would recommend this company and will be repeat customers should we have the need. Thank you to all at GDS Cumbria.
S MIDDLETON Posted on 22/08/2018 , work completed 22/08/2018
The trader replied (on 11/09/2018)
Thank you very much from all the team at GDS Cumbria for taking the time to leave a review. These honest and informed reviews help other customers make the right decisions when choosing which company to trust.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Delighted to have found such an excellent company and cannot praise them highly enough. From the initial phone call I knew that I could trust John to recommend the best garage door for my situation. Customer care by John and Gary was second to none. I value such care very highly and other firms could learn a lot from the way things are done at GDS. Workmanship by Gary and Norman was outstanding. They worked quickly and were totally professional throughout, with a wonderful sense of humour thrown in. It was a delight to have them doing the work for me. John, Gary and Norman are all brilliant hard working, dedicated people and I would have no hesitation in recommending GDS to anyone.
Anne, Dumfriesshire Posted on 24/07/2018 , work completed 24/07/2018
The trader replied (on 11/09/2018)
Thank you very much Anne, from all the team at GDS Cumbria, for taking the time to leave this review. Your review really helps people to decide which firm to trust when choosing a garage door.
Totally professional company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was such a pleasure to deal with, such a caring company, having a problem with an existing electric door opener on a very large panel door. I spoke to John at GDS who instantly identified the issue and advised option's available. Garry, Johns son carried out the work to a very high standard. I would recommend GDS highly to anyone.
Tony, Dumfriesshire Posted on 23/07/2018 , work completed 23/07/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
See letter.
Celia, Cumbria Posted on 17/07/2018 , work completed 17/07/2018
highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased to have found such a good company. Was given an accurate quote over the phone by friendly and knowledgeable staff and the mechanism was repaired promptly, and left lubricated and working better than it did before it broke. Wouldn't hesitate to use again, or to recommend to others.
F Jackson Posted on 20/06/2018 , work completed 20/06/2018
Very good Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from quotation to fitting of the door , would recommend . A great Job
Steve G Posted on 07/03/2018 , work completed 07/03/2018
New garage door fitted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from start to finish. Would definitely recommend
Beverley Simpson Posted on 03/11/2017 , work completed 03/11/2017
Efficient, Effective and Professional Work By A Family Concern
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were visited this morning by John, Gary and the legend that is Norman. They worked quietly and efficiently to install our replacement garage doors. They had been chosen after consulting on site with John whose advice and experience appears second to none. They arrived within the time frame agreed and were fitted without fuss or too much mess. They disposed of the old doors, cleaning up after themselves and leaving nothing for us to do at all. The ubiquitous mobile phone was conspicuous by its absence as we have had previous experiences with workers delaying the completion of their chosen task to answer at great length enquiries or more usually private phone calls. Because of this, their visit was very business-like and effectively expedited within a morning. We would have no hesitation in recommending GDS to anyone who, like us, needs new or replacement garage doors. The breadth of the knowledge and experience shows in their resulting work.
Brian Alston Posted on 20/09/2017 , work completed 20/09/2017
Excellent standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Preliminary visit properly arranged. Full informative and helpful, with clear explanations. Work done on time to excellent standard, with full explanations and instruction great attention to detail. Friendly, cheerful, personal service - a pleasure for us. Highly recommended in every way.
Mark, Cumbria Posted on 12/07/2017 , work completed 12/07/2017
High Quality Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial on-line inquiry to completion of the task I was kept fully informed and advised of all options. The installation of the door was carried out in a highly professional and efficient manner and all operations were fully and simply explained.
Alan, Annan Posted on 08/06/2017 , work completed 08/06/2017
New double garage door fitted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found John, the proprietor of GDS to be the most knowledgeable about products when first looking for a large garage door, his honest, straightforward advice over the phone and during the site visit gave us the confidence to place an order. The door was by John and his son and fitted in the timescales agreed and the installation finish and quality was good from start to finish In summary, good value for money and great to deal with a proprietor with the knowledge that only years of installation experience can bring
Timothy Whitley Posted on 07/06/2017 , work completed 07/06/2017
Great Product & Fantastic Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and advice with the type of door and the estimate. The two new doors were fitted by Father & Son team, John & Gary. The installation was quick, efficient and very clean with the old doors and all debris being removed. We are delighted with the quality of the new doors and John & Gary's installation work and are very happy to highly recommend this firm.
David J Trickett Posted on 06/06/2017 , work completed 06/06/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Problems arose, but we've dealt with professionally and with consultation, most polite and courteous.
William, Cumbria Posted on 16/05/2017 , work completed 16/05/2017
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very pleased with both the service and professionalism of GDS (Cumbria). In particular the tradesman's attention to detail and overall finish.
Peter, Cumbria Posted on 08/05/2017 , work completed 08/05/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The motor on one of our garage doors stopped working, so I called GDS, explained the problem and was given a quote over the phone. An appointment was set up and father and son arrived at the designated time. Not only did they install a new motor and service the door, they also serviced the other door so that it would run more smoothly. Excellent service. Highly recommended. Thank you Which? Local and GDS.
p105 Posted on 23/01/2017 , work completed 23/01/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional.
Carole, Cumbria Posted on 20/12/2016 , work completed 20/12/2016
Excellent & friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job very well done, highly recommend, no hesitation in doing so. Very, very helpful, good advice & clean finish. Many thanks.
June, Cumbria Posted on 25/11/2016 , work completed 25/11/2016
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt attention and advice on the most suitable replacement garage door with no hard sell. New door arrived quicker than expected and was fitted by John and Gary within two weeks of our initial contact. The installation was quick, efficient and very clean. We are delighted with the new door and John & Gary's work. We are very happy to recommend this firm.
David, Cumbria Posted on 24/11/2016 , work completed 24/11/2016
Job Well Done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted GDS Cumbria and within a few days John & Gary came round to measure up and provide a quote. Very knowledgable about the product range and provided the information we required to decide the right garage door for us. Left us with a very competitive quote, no hard sell. We called over a week later to place the order but we never felt under any pressure at all. Very happy with the installation, they left the work area clean and tidy with no issues at all. Would definitely recommend them to others thinking of having similar work.
1523045 Posted on 12/06/2016 , work completed 12/06/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and can thoroughly recommend. We wanted our non-standard size manually operated double garage door changing to an electrically operated one. One company came out and never got back to us and another company never turned up for the appointment! So glad I found GDS on Which? Local. Father and son turned up and did a thorough measure and took a lot of time to see if they could fit just the electric motor to our door, or if we needed a complete new door. They were able to just fit the motor, which was obviously a lot cheaper than having a new door. This was a difficult and fiddly job because of the way our garage and door was originally built and they have done a lovely neat job. I can now open and close the door without putting my back out again! Thank you GDS.
Seal Posted on 05/06/2016 , work completed 05/06/2016
Repairing a garage door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first phone call we made for advice to the carrying out of the work, we can thoroughly recommend John for his helpfulness, reliability, punctuality, determination to solve a problem and efficiency. What's more, he and his son Gary were polite and cheerful. Excellent workmanship and value for money.
SANDRA DENWOOD Posted on 01/04/2016 , work completed 01/04/2016
A five star job !
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and Gary fitted our new double sectional door last week. Initially we had been considering a roller door, but John gave us compelling reasons why a sectional door would be preferably for our situation, despite it being a cheaper option and therefore possibly less profitable for him. Even though they had an eighty mile journey, they were punctual to the minute and completed the job in an extremely professional manner. We are delighted with the new door and have no hesitation in recommending GDS Cumbria.
PeterW Posted on 31/03/2016 , work completed 31/03/2016
New garage door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found GDS on the internet and rang John. He came round in a day or two, discussed all the options and gave me a quote. No hard sell - I did not feel pressured. I decided on a new door. Within two weeks John and Gary came and fitted it. They were very friendly and efficient. The new door is excellent and they made a very neat job of it. I would recommend them to anyone.
Royellis Posted on 15/02/2016 , work completed 15/02/2016
Outstanding from start to finish, highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted company after looking on Internet for local company. John arranged to come and see me. Came up with the right product for me and there was no hard sell. Price was very competitive and being a small 2 man team put my mind at rest the job would be done right. From ordering to getting fitted was only 3 weeks. The workmanship was outstanding and I'm really pleased with the end result. Could not recommend enough.
Clare Ross Posted on 30/01/2016 , work completed 30/01/2016
First Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I first asked for advice on a potentially difficult problem and found G D S most helpful. Having made a choice of what seemed the best solution I provided approximate measurements and received a very prompt response for an on site survey. A solution was agreed and an installation in three weeks was offered at an acceptable cost. A later phone call offered installation a week earlier than first agreed, which given weather conditions was immediately accepted. Installation took less than half a day and a very neat job was completed. I found the whole exercise excellent. Other traders could learn a lot about customer relations from this firm.
John K L Posted on 28/01/2016 , work completed 28/01/2016
Garage Door Replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from a very professional Father and Son duo. Clear, precise quotation together with sound advise and recommendations. This was followed up by installation on time, efficiently executed along with good instruction and ongoing care advice. All done with good humour, good crack (that's conversation for those who don't follow the lingo): a quality job!!
robert048 Posted on 08/12/2015 , work completed 08/12/2015
Delighted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A really first class job from John and Gary. They were hard working, knowledgeable and gave expert advice that was in the customers best interests. I would recommend them to anyone and have already passed their name on. They are not afraid to take on a challenge. Thanks a million for all your help! They are also neat and tidy workers!!
shelagh Posted on 13/08/2015 , work completed 13/08/2015
Garage Door malfunction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My very large and heavy electrically operated garage roller door had been malfunctioning for some time. The local company completely failed to fix it quoting firstly a completly new door being required. On a follow up visit they said it was unfixable due to replacement motors no longer being available. Receiving a firm offer on the sale of the house and due to family major illness keeping me 250 miles away, I found GDS under "Trusted Traders". I really did have to totally trust them. They responded promptly and courteously to my call. Sending them directions and a key to the garage demanded absolutely total trust in a total stranger. That trust was completely justified: Despite being located 50+ miles from the job, GDS attended when they were next in the area, phoned me when on the scene to clarify a couple of points and fixed the door, reporting back to me that evening. I have been charged £60. I cannot give anything less than than 5 stars to all aspects of my dealings with John Palmer of GDS. I have absolutely no connections with him or the company other than as detailed above. JTP
Underwood Posted on 09/07/2015 , work completed 09/07/2015
VERY PLEASED!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial phone call I knew I would be happy with John. I thought I needed a new garage door but John said not. I sent a few images by email and John was confident he could fix my door at a fraction of the cost. He came, on time and got to work straight away and was finished in 45 minutes. My door works better than it did before it broke. I couldn't be more pleased.
andrewj Posted on 16/06/2015 , work completed 16/06/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Worked hard, good professional job, worked well. Door looks good. Took all rubbish away including old door, explained how it all works. Recommend 100%
Geoff, Cumbria Posted on 15/05/2015 , work completed 15/05/2015
Gold standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Philip & James gave me an online quote for a new powered garage door. Followed by a site visit. The cost remained the same as the quote despite structural problems. They arrived on time, courteous & professional at all times. A great job done at a good price. Excellent.
Stephen, Cumbria Posted on 19/03/2015 , work completed 19/03/2015
Garage door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our garage door fitted by gds cumbria.Their service was outstanding and they worked very professionally,garage door was fitted very quickly but to a very high standard.I would recommend this company to anyone who needs a new door or any repairs .
Telboy Posted on 28/02/2015 , work completed 28/02/2015
Garage door replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took two weeks from measuring up to have new door fitted. Fast, efficient and professional service. Would happily recommend if you're needing a garage door repaired or replaced.
FrankLeemydeah Posted on 12/02/2015 , work completed 12/02/2015
Spot on job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of garage door. Professional, informative yet friendly service. Arrived at arranged time and worked until the job was done. Extremely tidy and positive approach. Fitting of the door has reduced the operation noise, draughts, and has increased the brightness of garage interior. Value for money for quality product and service. Highly recommended.
John, Cumbria Posted on 22/01/2015 , work completed 22/01/2015
Highly Recommnded
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent Service. Very helpful. I contacted them by phone, described the problem, emailed them a photo of the broken part (door arm). They ordered a new part & fitted it within a couple of days. They arrived when they said they would, and repaired my garage door for a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.
2011-08-01 12:05:40.493 Posted on 18/12/2014 , work completed 18/12/2014
Excellent Service, Value for money
Customer Service
Quality
Value
GDS replaced my old garage door and from start to finish they were totally professional, friendly, informative and tidy. The result has given the garage a clean and tidy finish, at the same time has dramatically reduced noise and draft from the previous door. I would happily recommend them to anyone looking for a new garage door, the price was excellent and great value for what I consider to be a high quality door. Extremely happy customer.
Mal J, Newcastle on Tyne Posted on 17/12/2014 , work completed 17/12/2014
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We thought we knew exactly which style of electric garage door we wanted but, on listening to John, he advised us on a better style door, more fit for purpose. We are delighted with the result. John was very professional throughout, punctual and proficient and the end result saved us
Pam, Dumfriesshire Posted on 12/12/2014 , work completed 12/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent Service. Very helpful. I contacted them by phone, described the problem, emailed them a photo of the broken part (door arm). They ordered a new part & fitted it within a couple of days. They arrived when they said they would, and repaired my garage door for a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.
JohnyG Posted on 28/11/2014 , work completed 28/11/2014