Endorsed by Which?

Hadley & Ottaway Limited

4.9

328 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

Member of the British Association of Removers

https://www.bar.co.uk

About

Since 1928 Hadley & Ottaway has been a household name for removals, and in particular removals in Norwich. With 90 years experience, carrying out careful shipping, removals and storage services for some of the most discerning clients. No job is too big or too small for our team of expert removals staff.

At Hadley & Ottaway, everyone cares about your move. Many of the removals and office staff have been with the company for years and really understand just how important it is for removal companies to make sure that everything goes smoothly with your relocation. Our experience means that we can make moving home or office as seamless as possible, relieving you of any stress or worry during the moving period.

Our head office is based in the East Anglia region - this is the centre of operations as there is a dedicated training room, where new recruits and 'old hands' learn to pack delicate porcelain, barometers, grandfather clocks and pianos.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
    • International removals
  • More Services

    • office relocations
    • piano specialist
    • cambridge removals

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
328 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Picked up the furniture on the Friday and delivered on the Monday afternoon. Very professional and courteous. Covered the floors with mats especially in our new place with cream carpets. Every time I emailed the office to keep them updated re exchange dates, they always replied quickly. We could not fit a large removal van on the road we were moving out of so they used a smaller van to transport our goods. Excellent service and a very competitive quote. Would recommend.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 05/04/2023 , work completed 20/03/2023
The trader replied (on 06/04/2023)
Thank you for your review and recommendation.
The weakest link
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A business is only as good as its weakest team of operatives . On our removal day we experienced the most appalling service from this company. Moving home is regarded as one of life's most stressful events and the low standard of service we experienced from this companies operatives just had to be seen to be believed. We are well past the date of the actual removal but some of the consequences will remain with us long term and the management team showed little concern at all. We complained to WHICH and they sent us a form relating to a construction project! That says a lot about them too.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 08/03/2023 , work completed 16/01/2023
Brilliant Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had lived in the same house for 46 years, so moving was emotionally and physically quite a big deal for us. Our son had worked for Hadley and Ottaway when he was a student, so we knew the company proved good staff training and maintained high standards. I can honestly say that the team surpassed our expectations. They were very efficient, helpful, flexible and had a good sense of humour which made the whole thing far less stressful than we had anticipated. Highly recommended!
Customer in Nottinghamshire Posted on 22/02/2023 , work completed 06/02/2023
The trader replied (on 24/02/2023)
Thank you for your review and recommendation.
Went the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't recommend this removals company highly enough, from start to finish the service they provided was absolutely exceptional. Thanks to Chris you were so friendly and helpful when you visited to provide the quote, I can't praise you highly enough same goes to Kerrie, Darren and all the team. Thanks also to the team on move day you were absolute professionals nothing was too much, you helped reduce stress and couldn't have been more helpful. Bunce, Shaun and Mark you all amazed us I again can't praise you all highly enough, I know we wouldn't have managed without you and I highly recommend to all.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 27/01/2023 , work completed 16/01/2023
The trader replied (on 06/02/2023)
Thank you for taking the time to write and post such a lovely review.
Great People. Excellent Job. Highly Recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot praise this company and its staff too highly. Ours was a substantial move (approx 200 boxes) and H&O handled it well; on schedule and without hassle. They are professional, methodical, careful and cheerful. Moving is stressful, but H&O's people reduced the pressure! The men who carried out the move were a joy to work with; thorough, considerate and good-humoured. They did a great job for us, and we would certainly use H&O again.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 08/01/2023 , work completed 14/12/2022
The trader replied (on 11/01/2023)
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our service and we wish you all the best in your new home.
Excellent removal service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole process of moving with H&O was very professional and efficient. I would use them again and/or recommend to others.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 26/12/2022 , work completed 09/12/2022
The trader replied (on 11/01/2023)
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you would recommend us.
Second Norfolk Move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We first used Hadley and Ottoway in May 2017, when they moved us from Downham Market to Watton. This time we moved from Watton to Little Fransham, so went straight to Hadley and Ottoway as they had provided an excellent service previously. They emptied out our old house very quickly, and then there was a wait until the keys were available in the new house. They waited without complaint, and finished the job off very quickly once we could get into the house. I would recommend them, and would use them again should the occasion arise.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 14/12/2022 , work completed 14/11/2022
The trader replied (on 11/01/2023)
Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review this is greatly appreciated.
Amazing Team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would highly recommend Hadley & Ottaway. From start to finish they were nothing but professional and their team of lads on the day of the move were just fabulous and put us at ease and actually made the move a really enjoyable experience. Having moved ourselves 4 times in the previous 2 years we know what hard, back braking work it is, so we were very happy for someone else to do it this time and so appreciative of them. Nothing was too much trouble and they took great care of our possessions and before they left even asked if we wanted anything moving from any of the rooms to somewhere else. Just brilliant, wish we had used them the previous 4 times! Amazing Team - Thank you.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 11/11/2022 , work completed 28/10/2022
The trader replied (on 12/12/2022)
I am so pleased you were happy with our service and thank you for taking the time to post this review.
Excellent service at a competitive price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used 3 other Norfolk based removals firms in recent years with a poor experience each time. When the first representative of Hadley & Ottaway came to quote for the work we both felt confident they would do a good job without any damage etc. So when the quote came in at significantly less than some of the others we jumped at the chance to give them a try. They provided loads of boxes and packing for free, the team who helped us move were very polite, friendly and helpful and it all went like clockwork. After we had finished unpacking they even came and collected all the boxes and packing from us as well. We will definetely be using H&O next time we move
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 27/10/2022 , work completed 07/10/2022
The trader replied (on 12/12/2022)
Thank you for sharing your review, as a business this is always appreciated.
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Hadley and Ottoway 22 years ago when we moved into our bungalow and wanted to use them again for this move. They did an excellent job, have no complaints. The whole thing was well organised and after we moved they came and took the boxes away. Really pleased with them and would recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/10/2022 , work completed 05/09/2022
The trader replied (on 12/12/2022)
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you would recommend us, this is great encouragement for our staff who always strive to give their best everyday.