We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Hemmings Property Services

Profile thumb image1 copy 2

4.9

47 Reviews

About

Hemmings property services is a small, local building and property maintenance company that is committed to offering a high quality personal and professional service.

We undertake all aspects of building improvements, maintenance and repairs in Surrey and the surrounding areas to both your home and office.

We pride ourselves on going the extra mile to deliver outstanding customer service and aim to exceed our customer’s expectations.

In fact, it is as important to us as to you that the service you receive meets our high standards and as a result we have a significant number of repeat customers.

We are able to take on a whole range of services and no job is too small. We are also now able to offer a small garden maintenance service.

What we do

  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • More Services

    • home maintenance
    • improvements
    • and repairs
    • gardening

Customer reviews

4.9
47 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Reliable and conscientious handyman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a few jobs around the house, some of which were beyond an amateur DIY-er including boxing in some pipes around the new boiler fitted recently and altering a drainpipe to drain directly into a waterbutt. Larry came when he said he would, and worked away steadily at those jobs. He also secured a loose bit of stone worktop, replaced 7 halogen floodlights with LED ones, wired in two new lights in a garage and replaced the silicone sealant on a bath and a shower tray. And he replaced a bit of guttering that was leaking, which wasn't on the original list. And while he had his chop saw assembled, he cut some wood up for me. All without fuss. His van is like an Aladdin's cave.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 02/10/2020 , work completed 01/10/2020
An excellent job again!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the fourth time we have used the services of Larry Hemmings. His customer service and workmanship cannot be faulted. He provided a very acceptable estimate for the work to replace the doors/drawer fronts/decor end panels to freshen up our tired kitchen. As always, Larry did an excellent job (with the help of Chris) and he takes a real pride in his work. He is not content unless everything is just right. The final bonus when using Larry is that he never overcharges the customer. He reduced his invoice compared to the estimate as the work took him less time than he had allowed! How many other traders are willing to do that? Thank you again Larry. We will always turn to you first if we have a job we think you can help with. I have no hesitation in recommending him for any work in your home.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 02/10/2020 , work completed 30/09/2020
Friendly, reliable, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry immediately stood out as someone who was genuinely helpful and gave useful, professional advice about the work we were looking to get done. He helped us prioritise what was most important to do and what could wait. Larry was sensitive and respectful to the client (mum) who lives with dementia and made friends with the dog! Communication has been good and he has been punctual and work done to budget and to a high standard. I trust and would recommend Larry.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/09/2020 , work completed 05/09/2020
Renovation of sitting room + adding a Front door canopy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work. Has renovated my sitting room superbly which included making good old walls and re-plastered the walls superbly. He also carried out other repairs that were needed in the room and painted it. He also installed a canopy over my front door and painted the front door. He sourced all the materials and furnishings for me, and arranged deliveries for when he was around ... this took all the stress of managing all this away from me. He gave me detailed information and advice of all options to enable me to make informed decisions as to how to proceed. Once the plastering and painting was finished, he sorted everything out in the room, including setting up my tv. furniture etc back in the room. He also liaised with me and planned any electrical work that needed doing around my working day to ensure I got no power disruption whilst I was working, and he ensured any very noisy work was not done when I was on conference calls etc. He is very considerate and nothing is ever too much trouble for him. His helpfulness and excellent work is greatly appreciated. The work he has done looks superb.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 07/08/2020 , work completed 31/07/2020
Skill, reliability and a very kind and obliging personality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I first came across Larry Hemmings' name about a year ago in a Which? Trusted Trader Review where he was recommended for work done. During this last year, I have used his services several times for a variety of things both in the home and in the garden and each time I have found his work excellent and reasonably priced. He has just finished replacing an old worktop, sink and taps with a new one. And I have to say that it looks really lovely. He also did some smaller jobs for me which I am very pleased with. I am nearly 82 years old and a widow. And a couple of times while he was working, I needed to go to the shops so he offered me a lift which I thought was really kind.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/02/2020 , work completed 25/02/2020
Professional and considerate.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Hemmings inspires confidence. At each visit he discussed what he hoped to achieve, along with explanations and clarification. Very helpful. He is very prompt, takes care to clean up completely at the end of each visit, and his work is meticulous. Throughout problems arising from a badly damaged window (which he made secure) - days of torrential rain - frost - strong winds - his calm demeanour, advice, and 'staying-in-touch' are much appreciated.
Patricia, Hampshire Posted on 17/09/2019 , work completed 17/09/2019
Outside Painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry painted the front of our house which is partly rendered and also repaired some very badly damaged soffits from a water leak from the roof. He found where the leak was coming in and repaired this. He also repaired a badly damaged side gate. Excellent workmanship, conscientious and great attention to detail. Would thoroughly recommend - good value for money and job completed quickly with minimum of fuss.
Elizabeth, Esher Posted on 03/07/2019 , work completed 29/06/2019
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a small job that needed doing to complete the installation of a cooker that the installers had left unfinished. We called Larry to see if it was a job he was willing to do. He agreed to come the following day to take a look, advising he may not be able to do the work for a couple of weeks. He arrived exactly when he said he would, took one look and immediately saw what the problem was and how it could be fixed. He then carried out the work straightaway, to our delight. He was extremely competent and spent all the time needed to get it exactly right. We couldn’t be more pleased and have no hesitation in recommending Larry.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 25/04/2019
Definitely Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry repaired a garden wall whose piers were no longer providing support to the wooden fence panels on top. We found him to be friendly, conscientious and efficient. He gave us good advice and always seemed to have a solution for every problem that came up. We will definitely call Larry the next time we need any work done around our house.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 17/01/2019
Unfussed quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry has repaired water damage to the house requiring creative solutions and some decorating. His work is of a high quality , he gets on with it without fuss and gives good value for money.
Atkinson Posted on 05/06/2018 , work completed 05/06/2018
Excellent job at a fair price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry did some external work for us, painting the soffits and facias on all side of our house. He also repaired the guttering in a couple of places. Larry was professional and friendly. He did a great job and kept us informed throughout the process from quote to finish. I wouldn't hesitate to use him again.
Mr & Mrs C P Wells Posted on 26/09/2017 , work completed 26/09/2017
Happily recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our house is open plan. We wanted to enclose one area as a room. We needed a short length of wall at one end and a door at the other. As soundproof as possible so that TV sound wouldn't leak out too loudly. Larry gave me a reasonable price, offered practical advice, turned up when he promised, was pleasant, clean working area and he did a good job (and very little sound comes out). We couldn't buy skirting and architrave to match the existing so made some to match. This was an extra but again his price was fair. We were very satisfied and are happy to recommend him.
Perkins Posted on 24/07/2017 , work completed 24/07/2017
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very pleasant chap, the quality of his work is very good indeed.
Alheidis, Surrey Posted on 14/07/2017 , work completed 14/07/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant having him working for us.
Maureen, Surrey Posted on 03/07/2017 , work completed 03/07/2017
Outstanding in every way.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were delighted with the service & work provided by Larry. He completed all the works to a very high standard, including other items at no additional cost. He determined effective solutions to building issues & soured materials of high quality & good value. Communication was excellent and he was very friendly & helpful. Highly recommended.
Ronald, Surrey Posted on 06/03/2017 , work completed 06/03/2017
Amazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry was a pleasure do do business with from start to finish. My son's bedroom has been transformed. The quote was reasonable and exactly what we paid. The work was to an extremely high standard. Larry was happy to make suggestions to solve our decorating problems and make improvements. A clean, tidy, punctual, happy worker. Would strongly recommend and will definitely be using again.
Which? consumer Posted on 27/01/2017 , work completed 27/01/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Amazing. Larry has transformed my son's bedroom. It looks great, finished to a high standard. He gave a reasonable estimate which was what was charged. His work was swift and clean. He was a pleasure to do business with. Happy to make suggestions and then carry out the work to solve any problems we had. He made extra visits to collect a door key and fit replacement light bulbs. He has a great sense of humor and 'goes the extra mile' We will definitely be using again.
Vanmen5 Posted on 18/01/2017 , work completed 18/01/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry is amazing. From start to finish he was a pleasure to do business with. He visited our house, assessed the job and swiftly sent a very reasonable estimate. He was happy to collect a key prior to starting work as we could not guarantee being here. My son's bedroom has been transformed. The work has been quickly completed to a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble. Larry made suggestions to deal with the things we wanted sorting out. He is a tidy worker and has a great sense of humor. We will definitely be using him again.
Vanmen5 Posted on 14/01/2017 , work completed 14/01/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Another very good job, neatly and efficiently done. Thank you - I'll be asking for more work soon!
annecstuart Posted on 07/10/2016 , work completed 07/10/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry is a very skillful and meticulous artisan. If you want the best Larry Hemmings is your man.
Alan Bond Posted on 05/10/2016 , work completed 05/10/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work. Very satisfied indeed.
Pat, Surrey Posted on 09/09/2016 , work completed 09/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry seems to be able to turn his hand to most things and works to a high standard. He is completely trustworthy and extremely hardworking. He tackled a list of varied jobs doing a great job. I certainly will be using Larry ongoing, and recommending him to all my friends !
DHOULD Posted on 25/04/2016 , work completed 25/04/2016
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry came round within a few days of being contacted by me and following this provided a very reasonable quote for a varied number of tasks. He is great at coming up with ideas and suggestions and the work done so far has been of a high quality. I have already been recommending him to my friends !
2011-07-14 20:13:43.467 Posted on 25/04/2016 , work completed 25/04/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry was excellant - he gave me good advice on what would be the most effective (and cheapest) thing to do and a competitive quote. He turned up exactly when he said, to do a thorough job. When a light fitting turned out to be broken he even came back on a different day, collected the new fitting and fitted it at no extra cost. I've already asked him to do more work!
annecstuart Posted on 18/03/2016 , work completed 18/03/2016
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did two bathroom installations for us. Gave us loads of helpful advice before we chose the items we needed. Perfectionist in all he does and overcame all problems he came across. I would have no hesitation in recommending him to friends.
Margaret, Surrey Posted on 09/11/2015 , work completed 09/11/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A Professional Tradesman
Brian, Surrey Posted on 03/10/2015 , work completed 03/10/2015
First class work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have known this trader for about three years. He pays total attention to detail and makes sure everything is correct. Very trustworthy person and a first class worker.
Kenneth, Surrey Posted on 03/08/2015 , work completed 03/08/2015
Master bedroom decoration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did a good job, very helpful, will definitely recommend and will use again.
Robert, Surrey Posted on 07/07/2015 , work completed 07/07/2015
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A great handyman that can put his hand to most things.
Lorna, Surrey Posted on 18/06/2015 , work completed 18/06/2015
Professional and great detail.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry is always here when agreed. His work is care, tidy and precise. He doesn't stop until the job is finished. Everything is done with great attention to detail.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/06/2015 , work completed 10/06/2015
Great workmanship!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My sister recommended Which Trusted Traders when I needed various odd jobs and some redecorating done around my home. Larry is one of the best workmen I have found. He is friendly, helpful, reliable, nothing was too much trouble for him and he did a really good job with everything I asked him to do. From picture hanging, decorating, fitting a new kitchen blind etc. I have no problem recommending him and will use this service again when necessary.
Gwenyth, Surrey Posted on 03/06/2015 , work completed 03/06/2015
Charming & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wonderful job - always a pleasure having Larry working for me, as he always goes the extra mile, he is totally trustworthy and extremely good value.
Helene, Surrey Posted on 27/05/2015 , work completed 27/05/2015
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry is just a brilliant tradesman, efficient, professional, skilful, talented, patient, funny, reasonably priced & always does an amazing job. Wouldn't chose anyone else.
Joanne, Surrey Posted on 14/05/2015 , work completed 14/05/2015
An amazing person
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called Larry after having had rats in our loft and we found the entrance they were using. He called in on his way home and filled the hole and repaired the cover. He is really efficient ...quick..and a very happy worker. Nothing was too much trouble for him and we would use him for any future maintenance work. We would highly recommend mend him....a brilliant job and a really nice guy. Thanks
2010-11-04 18:20:20.05 Posted on 25/04/2015 , work completed 25/04/2015
Another excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We always use Larry for all work required to our house. Complete satisfaction with every job done.
Pat, Surrey Posted on 01/04/2015 , work completed 01/04/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I employed Larry to repoint sections of brickwork in a wall of my house that were allowing rainwater to seep in during the winter storms. Larry was very pleasant and straightforward to deal with, he did a good job (there has been no subsequent water ingress) and his rates were reasonable. I shall use Larry again when I need further work done to the house.
jcheston Posted on 29/06/2014 , work completed 29/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry has be wonderful in rescuing both me and my daughter from the storm damage! He battled on fixing fences and a car port panel in the pouring rain! He came as soon as he could and arrived promptly. He also hung a new door and made a brilliant job of it. I would highly recommend Larry for his good service, cheerfulness and reasonable fees.
Jenijill Posted on 10/02/2014 , work completed 10/02/2014
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always delighted by him. Whats really good about him is that he always tidies after himself and will always go the extra mile. Id give him 100/100! Specifically I've used him for all my fascias and guttering and also a kitchen re-fit. He has even fixed issues caused by previous builders!
Pat, Guildford Posted on 01/08/2013 , work completed 01/08/2013
Absolutely recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our gutters sorted due to bad weather. Also a leak and blockage sorted. Also a lot of post build snagging sorted. I've used him quite a few times as hes really good. Also my friend used him recently and she was also very pleased.
Ali, Surrey Posted on 01/08/2013 , work completed 01/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry helped out with a couple of tricky maintenance tasks that I did not want to tackle myself. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He bought some special glue for one of the tasks, for example. His bill was very reasonable and he is extremely friendly.
PeterJGWilliams Posted on 13/04/2013 , work completed 13/04/2013
Very Happy!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been using him for 15 years + ongoing. He installed the units for the utility room. Larry is very reliable and his work is very good.
Natasha, Midhurst Posted on 10/03/2013 , work completed 10/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry is very busy, so I did have to wait some months for him to come, but nevertheless he has done a number of jobs for me. He is prompt and courteous and the work is done to a high standard. What is more he clears away all the old material afterwards.
deepdiscount Posted on 23/12/2012 , work completed 23/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On the strength of several positive reviews I asked Larry Hemmings to replace some old, brittle downpipes which had fractured and collapsed. Larry visited promptly and within 24 hours had sourced pipes to match the grey guttering and installed them to a better standard than the original ones. The price was fair for the scale of the task. I will use his services again when needed.
Neil D, Surrey Posted on 20/11/2012 , work completed 20/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry assembled a large number of pieces of furniture for me. He was timely and efficient.
cmangla Posted on 25/09/2012 , work completed 25/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry provides an excellent service, he turns up when he says he will and does an excellent job. We will be using him again very soon and will be happy to recommend him.
jgadsby Posted on 14/08/2012 , work completed 14/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry arrived promptly and was quite prepared to undertake other tasks than the one he was intially asked to perform. I found him helpful and efficient in the work he undertook and have no hesitation in recommending him.
Peter Kearsey Posted on 06/08/2011 , work completed 06/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Larry has done several jobs for us in the last few years he always does an excellent job, he has lots of good ideas but always discusses it before going ahead.
mawhood Posted on 18/05/2010 , work completed 18/05/2010