We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Ian Black Domestic Appliances

Profile thumb ian black logo new
4.7

29 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

As a specialist domestic appliance retailer and Miele Premium Partner, Ian Black Domestic Appliances offer one of the largest displays of domestic appliances in the area.

With an extensive range of products displayed to the highest standard, our modern, spacious showroom is the perfect place to discover an extensive range of appliances.

Our experienced staff are trained to offer advice on choosing the right product.

As proud representatives of our company, our sales advisers and service engineers have specialist in-depth product knowledge, meaning that we can provide our customers with a comprehensive pre and post sales service.

In addition to offering a comprehensive range of quality domestic appliances from Germany’s leading manufacturers, we supply genuine spare parts and accessories for almost all manufacturers’ machines.

Our excellent service division carries out repairs to most makes and types of domestic appliances. Just one call is all it takes to arrange for one of our service technici

What we do

  • Appliance repairs and servicing

    • Dishwashers
    • Fridges and freezers
    • Washing machines
    • Ovens
  • Accessories and parts

  • More Services

    • miele
    • siemens
    • bosch
    • neff
    • sebo
    • liebherr

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
29 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.5
Sort by
Reliable and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used this trader over a number of years to carry out repairs and once to supply and fit a new washing machine. I highly recommend them for professional and efficient service.
Maureen in East Riding of Yorkshire Posted on 28/04/2021 , work completed 23/04/2021
Cooker Hood
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Ian Black domestic because I needed a replacement cooker hood. Ian and Allan We’re really helpful during these Covid times! After a series of emails with measurements, photos and my preferences my decision was made and Allan ordered the hood and arranged for the fitting. The fitters James and Rob of New Leaf home improvements came and fitted the hood today. They were very skilled and tidy in their work. The hood looks good and is a replica of the old one so no one would know it was a replacement. Thank you to Ian and Allan and also to James and Rob for all their help.
Nicole in East Riding of Yorkshire Posted on 20/04/2021 , work completed 20/04/2021
Washing Machine Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called Ian Black on Monday morning when the washing machine stopped working. It was fixed and fully working again by the end of the day! The service couldn't have been better, from the way the call was answered initially to the engineer that was at our house. Everything was covid safe and we were really happy with all aspects of the service. I will definitely use Ian Black again, to service or purchase new. Thank you :)
Simon in East Riding of Yorkshire Posted on 23/03/2021 , work completed 22/03/2021
Supportive shopping experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Due to necessity I had to replace my integrated Fridge/Freezer during Covid restrictions. I rang Ian Black Domestic Appliances to discuss the choice available and the process. A diagram was emailed through with clear measurements required which resulted in links to appropriate integrated Fridge/Freezers. I felt reassured by the conversations I had, all my questions were patiently answered. I was made aware of the timeframe for delivery and was informed as soon as the appliance was due to arrive. Great care was taken by the 2 employees who delivered and installed the appliance, both were courteous and respectful. Covid guidance was followed implicitly and the instillation was completed swiftly and efficiently. My old appliance was removed with no mess left for me to deal with. I also appreciated having the appliance prepared for use and guidance to when I could use both parts.
Gill in Kingston upon Hull Posted on 19/03/2021 , work completed 18/03/2021
Smooth Operation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I approached Ian Black Domestic Appliances because they were on the list of Trusted Traders. I knew the washing machine we wanted from the Which? review but wasn't sure about the tumble dryer to go with it. I got very helpful advice from Allan Donoghue both by email and by phone. Following the discussions, I felt happy that the company knew what it was doing and would do a good installation. I was not disappointed. We were buying during one of the Covid 19 lockdown periods so I asked for installation to be delayed for a few weeks. At an appropriate time, we made an appointment for delivery. Everything was done on time and with the minimum of fuss. The engineer and assistant both wore masks and checked the equipment before leaving. We were very satisfied.
Customer in East Riding of Yorkshire Posted on 16/12/2020 , work completed 08/12/2020
Absolutely terrible service. Fobbed off several times and charged more than stated
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely disgusted by this company. I rang them when my dishwasher broke down, to be told it’d be a week before someone could come out & I had to pay £80 over the phone to book it. I went ahead. When the man came he was messing about with it for 30 mins before saying he couldn’t fix it and would ring me later that day with a price for a new pipe. Nobody rang so I rang them, to be told it would be another almost £300 and not for another several weeks as “dishwashers are hard to come by these days”. I then realised a leak was now coming through the bottom of the integrated dishwasher cupboard every time I ran the kitchen tap, rang them for help and they denied all knowledge - “I didn’t go anywhere near your cupboard” Well that’s strange as the dishwasher you had earlier dismantled sits inside said cupboard! I wouldn’t touch this company with a barge pole.
Customer in East Riding of Yorkshire Posted on 15/12/2020 , work completed 14/12/2020
The trader replied (on 15/12/2020)
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate and value all comments from our customers. However, I feel compelled to address the claims you make. When you rang to request a service call, we advised when we would be able to attend and arranged a convenient time to which you agreed. When our engineer did attend, rather than “messing around”, he carefully checked your appliance and advised it required a wash pump, two hoses and door hinge brake ropes – far more than just “a new pipe”. As promised, we would have phoned the same day to advise on the cost of the parts, had you not pre-empted our call by contacting us. We did advise that some parts were out-of-stock, meaning that we had to caution they may take longer than normal to obtain. We are dependent on the manufacturer to supply parts in a timely manner. We did promise to try and obtain the parts quicker from another source. When the conversation turned to supplying a new dishwasher, we advised which models we had in stock for immediate installation. With regard to a leak, our engineer did not have need to touch the plumbing that you claim to be leaking, limiting himself instead to looking at the dishwasher in the adjacent unit. However, having been made aware of a leak by you, we promised to return and investigate without delay. I fail to understand how we have offered anything more. It is a matter of regret that you feel the need to post such a negative review, despite our best endeavours to repair your appliance.
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very thorough & efficient.
Christopher, East Yorkshire Posted on 06/03/2020 , work completed 06/03/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All the staff I dealt with were helpful and professional. I have actually bought two appliances on separate occasions and each time could not fault their efficiency.
Barbara, East Yorkshire Posted on 28/02/2020 , work completed 28/02/2020
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was one of the best shopping exercises - all information checked for me across contents. Wonderfully knowledgeable what they don't know they find out.
Caroline, East Yorkshire Posted on 20/11/2019 , work completed 20/11/2019
Prompt - did very good job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend and will certainly use them again.
David, East Yorkshire Posted on 31/10/2019 , work completed 31/10/2019