Endorsed by Which?

J.C Friend & Sons Glazing Ltd

5.0

34 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

J.C.Friend & Sons is a reputable double glazing company, predominantly working in south east Hertfordshire. Areas include Rickmansworth, Croxley Green, Chorleywood and Watford. With over thirty years experience in the industry, J.C. Friend & Sons has proven to be a reliable, trustworthy and caring company.

We are a small family run company that has relied purely through word of mouth for many years. This is an achievement few companies can match and demonstrates the pride we take in customer satisfaction. We strive to work around your commitments, to enable minimum disruption.

John Friend, the founder of the company, started working in the window industry over thirty years ago. He now uses his extensive experience in the industry to provide 100% customer satisfaction.Working alongside John, are his three sons Tom, Jon and Joe.

J.C.Friend & Sons is a CERTASS qualified company and BFRC registered retailer of energy efficient windows.
We are also members of the TrustMark Tradesmen.

What we do

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • Doors

    • Patio doors
    • Bi-fold doors
    • Composite doors
    • French doors
    • Orangeries
    • Front door
  • Glaziers

    • Double glazing installation
    • Sash windows
    • Aluminium Windows
    • Double glazed units
    • Replacement window services and repairs
  • More Services

    • conservatories
    • orangeries
    • tilt and turn windows
    • maintenance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
34 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Highly Recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
J.C. Friend & Sons recently replaced a 12ft panel of patio windows with double sliding doors for us. The quality of the product, the value for money, as well as the faultless installation, were enough to warrant a 5-star review, but the real joy of the installation was the Friend family themselves. Not only were they super friendly and polite, but Jon Snr was here for a time on the first day and he noticed that my front door wasn't closing properly, so he just fixed it and then told me about it afterwards! He was also kind enough to recommend a local tradesman to do my floors for me. Exceptional family business who take great pride in their work and who truly live up to - and in my experience, exceed - their excellent reputation.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 11/03/2024 , work completed 01/03/2024
1st Class Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The installation was carried out on the agreed date and time. From the time of receiving my quote until the work was completed I was kept informed. Jon and his brother Joe are very personable and take great care, they oblivious take pride in their workmanship. I cannot fault their work in any way. As an added bonus their bill was cheaper than a quote I had from another Trusted Trader. No hesitation with recommending this company it was a pleasure to deal with this business.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/07/2023 , work completed 28/06/2023
Superb customer experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called John to help out my 87 yr old mum with a really complicated job. He attended site quickly, surveyed and provided a quotation. There were some changes, he re-attended site and re-measured. Nothing was too much trouble. He kept me informed at all times, kept to his quote and kept me updated on the lead in times etc. They kept to the dates, attended site on the day and at the time they said they would. They took out the old shattered windows and installed the new ones, a perfect fit efficiently, cleanly and diligently, with a keen eye on cleanliness. His two operatives were very, very personable and clearly very good at their job. Apparently it was the expertise of their trainer. Would not hesitate to use them again and recommend to others.
Customer in North Somerset Posted on 03/07/2023 , work completed 05/12/2022
Double glazing replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
JC Friend and Sons replaced 8 windows this week at our house. They are a highly professional company, do what they say they are going to do and when they agreed to do it. Most significantly, the whole team were delightful, friendly, polite and very very tidy. They were completely respectful of our home and protected everything from any damage. Their workmanship was perfect and they left the job in better shape than they found it, going out their way to even do a few extra jobs beyond the scope that they identified, such as removing some conduit whilst the scaffold was assembled, filling in a few draughty holes that they spotted in the on other window frames that were out of their scope and tidying up some pointing of the brickwork that was not in the scope. I would highly recommend this company. the friendliest and tidiest contractors we have ever had.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 14/04/2023 , work completed 14/04/2023
More than just new windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
JC Friend and Sons fitted new windows and patio in our home. Jon Snr gave us a very fair quote and was very thorough in the process helping to explain all the different options available unlike others who came to quote. Whole job was completed within a week - could not believe the speed and quality of work. The whole team were polite, friendly, tidy and skilled. A true family business who value their customers and each other. The team have continued to be helpful and sincere since finishing the job, sorting out Certass certification and recommending other tradesmen to us. Cannot recommend Jon and his team enough!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/04/2023 , work completed 30/08/2022
Double glazing windows instalation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I now have used this company on three separate occasions for the instalation of double glazed windows over a period of 3 years. On each occasion estimations were carried on time as agreed. The work done was of a first class standard in both materials used and fitting of the windows.Preparation was most professional and all debris both inside and outside cleared away and the site left clean and tidy. The amount of redecoration we had to do afterwards was minimal. I have absolutely no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this company for this work. They were courteous and helpful ( my wife and I are in our eighties) and a pleasure to have had them around the house, doing this work.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 30/03/2023 , work completed 04/08/2022
Great Team and great guys
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used John Friend Windows to replace all my Double glazing, he on initial visit was very helpful and took me through the process, his estimate was on par with others, but he had that certain professionalism about him. When I agreed to use his company, he returned to measure accurately, as his initial quote did not go into removing render to accurately measure, also I had changed my mind to the style of some of the windows. John kept in contact with me advising of progress of order and approx installation date. On the first day of installation his sons (Jon and Joe) and a lovely character Mike arrived at 8am, and began to cover my carpets etc, advising me of where they were starting and it would be cold and it was, but hey what else can you do in winter with windows removed. 4 days of work and every day they cleaned up and tidied, great workmanship throughout and my house feels warmer now. In my opinion, you cannot get a more trustful and professional team, it was a real pleasure to see them work, they were so friendly and attentive all throughout the job. In my eyes money well spent and a credit to him, Mike and sons. Thank you
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/03/2023 , work completed 09/03/2023
Professional as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a new front door and side panel fitted February 2023. Jon and Joe arrived when they said they would, were polite, courteous and friendly. We have used the company several times and always find their work to be of the highest standard.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/03/2023 , work completed 09/02/2023
Careful work, friendly, cheerful and expert
Customer Service
Quality
Value
JC Friend have replaced three blown double glazing panes for us in the last few months. We chose them first because they're local. We've used them since because they're good.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/03/2023 , work completed 03/03/2023
Great service from this company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had 2 big windows fitted. The team are fantastic, super competent and a really nice local, family business so they feel genuinely invested in giving you good service, keeping you in the loop from quote to completion, finishing the job to a high standard and reasonably priced too. I would unquestionably use them again and recommend them. Windows are a big investment, so you need to be confident with the ethos of the company you choose.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/01/2023 , work completed 21/01/2023