We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

J W Scudder Roofing Ltd

Profile thumb roofing2
4.9

172 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–13:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

A Family business that prides itself on high quality workmanship, and a friendly service, which has been Established for 38 years in the Roofing Industry.

We do Construction and Domestic Roofs including Slating, Tiling, Flat Roofs and Pitched Roofs, and offer:
- an Insurance Backed Guarantee
- Liquid System
- Green Roofing Systems
- Repairs
- Lead work
- Chimney Stacks
- Upvc Fascia, Soffits and Guttering
- Roof Lights
- Velux Windows
- EPDM Rubber Roof Covering

All Work is Guaranteed. For a Free Quote, Free Advice and a Competitive Price ring free on 0800 44 88 053.

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Roof and skylights
    • Emergency roofing service
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Flat roofing
    • Rubber roofing (EPDM)
    • Chimneys
    • Cladding
    • Lead work
    • Tiled conservatory roofs
  • More Services

    • velux windows

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
172 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Scudder was very professional. We needed our rear extension re-roofed and he advised there were three options but recommended the cheapest as the most suitable. His team were very efficient and the job was done on time with minimal mess and disruption. The job was done six months ago and there have been no issues. It has been looked at by a master builder, who is doing a different job for us, who commented on the quality of the work.
h-family Posted on 13/10/2012 , work completed 13/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Family company. John's son, together with Reece, proved to be very hard working and completed the overlaying and water proofing of two flat roofs in one day. Found them to be competent, tidy, polite and the company dependable.
Gval Posted on 11/10/2012 , work completed 11/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and his team have just finished work on our roof, loft and guttering. They run a really professional and friendly outfit which i will be using again next year for future work. They work quickly, tidily and efficiently. John also stuck to his original quote even though there was additional work discovered; one of the jobs was to board out the 2nd half of our loft. John originally quoted for continuing the boarding on top of the existing rafters. It wasn't until work started that one of his team realised they would need to raise the height of the rafters so that the boarding would continue at the same height as the existing side. We were consulted as soon as this was discovered but the extra work was carried out at no additional charge because of the minor oversight. As they needed access to the property time constraints were quite difficult on my behalf to find a window of opportunity to be around so they could carry out the work. John was very accommodating and understanding with my situation and we were able to arrange a perfect slot for both of our schedules. We are very pleased with the work carried out and would highly recommend them if ever asked for a recommendation.
gconnoley Posted on 31/08/2012 , work completed 31/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used this compny on two occasions. The first after we had received an expensive quote from another company which proved to be excessive. John Scudder analised precisely what was wrong and two of his men carried out the work within a few days which has proved extremely satisfactory. On the second occasion, a small gutter problem was identified as the cause of damp ingress and minor work was carried out on the spot. It is a family business with smart vans and staff who do not look for work that is not required and just give honest appraisals. They are very professional and a breath of fresh air in an age frequented by many cowboy operators.
dudley77 Posted on 16/08/2012 , work completed 16/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Scudder heads a small family roofing company. When invited to give an estimate for the complete renewal of three sections of tiled roof, he had a close look at the existing structure to ensure there were no underlying problems and gave good practical advice. Having accepted his estimate (the middle of three obtained) and agreed a provisional start date, I was kept fully informed of plans and, despite the wet weather in April, the start was only delayed by a few days. Once the work began, the team arrived promptly each day, worked diligently throughout taking their lunch on site _ and needing only a regular cup of tea to sustain them! The work was carefully planned to ensure that the roof was always watertight when the team were not on site. All the tiling was completed to a very high standard and additional insulation was laid to comply with current Building Regulations. The site was cleaned daily and scaffolding and skip were promptly cleared on the first working day after tiling was completed. Finally, a ten year NFRC guarantee was given and a Building Regulation Compliance Certificate was received. A very professional job completed with the minimum of fuss. Highly recommended.
bob.s Posted on 03/06/2012 , work completed 03/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John ScudderÍs team have done an excellent job of re-roofing our Victorian house. The house has an attic floor with dormer windows and the work included installation of roof insulation. When asked to estimate John was helpful with advice on options, provided costs for alternative, showed us examples of different tiles, indicated the likely timetable and timing, and warned of weather risks. John was quick to inform us when the initially agree start date had to be put back by a week. Once a start was made, the work was completed very efficiently without a break. The small team on site were very friendly, kept us informed of progress each day and worked co-operatively with another contractor who was installing a shower room on the top floor at the same time. The inevitable mess and debris around the outside of the house was regularly tidied. The original estimate was very competitive against other quotations and there was only one very small extra agreed at the beginning when the roof could be examined close up from the scaffolding. We are very pleased with the new roof and the way it was installed and would thoroughly recommend John and his team.
Martin Cox Posted on 15/04/2012 , work completed 15/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Scudder completed a roof overhaul including re-bedding all the ridge tiles. In addition he remove and re tiled a roof. Very good and clean job. Would recommend him to others and would be happy to use again.
D Johnson Posted on 30/12/2011 , work completed 30/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My mum had problems with her roof drain, it was blocked and in heavy rain it over ran to the garage roof and garden. Called JW Scudder they turned up on time sorted out the block drain. Will use them again.
steveaxell Posted on 03/06/2011 , work completed 03/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sudden leak in flat roof. Arrived within Hour. Temporary repair to stop leak. Returned next morning with team and erected scaffold tower. Excellent work', cleared up very well. Would use them again
frankway0 Posted on 23/01/2011 , work completed 23/01/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr. Scudder quoted half the price of other tenders to replace an asbestos garage roof with a boarded & triple sealed waterproof membrain. The work was carried out in one day, in an excellent manor.
Roy Dean Posted on 20/07/2010 , work completed 20/07/2010