Endorsed by Which?

J W Scudder Roofing Ltd

5.0

192 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

A Family business that prides itself on high quality workmanship, and a friendly service, which has been Established for 38 years in the Roofing Industry.

We do Construction and Domestic Roofs including Slating, Tiling, Flat Roofs and Pitched Roofs, and offer:
- an Insurance Backed Guarantee
- Liquid System
- Green Roofing Systems
- Repairs
- Lead work
- Chimney Stacks
- Upvc Fascia, Soffits and Guttering
- Roof Lights
- Velux Windows
- EPDM Rubber Roof Covering

All Work is Guaranteed. For a Free Quote, Free Advice and a Competitive Price ring free on 0800 44 88 053.

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Roof and skylights
    • Emergency roofing service
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Flat roofing
    • Rubber roofing (EPDM)
    • Chimneys
    • Cladding
    • Lead work
    • Tiled conservatory roofs
  • More Services

    • velux windows

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
192 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
New flat roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would definitely recommend J W Scudder to any customers. They did a flat roof for me, the quote was very reasonable compared to other companies, they did an excellent job , were very clean an tidy, and John explained what he was doing and the products he was using and I was very happy with the final result. If you getting a roof done use J W Scudder.
andymc Posted on 04/04/2014 , work completed 04/04/2014
The company that goes the extra mile.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After employing Johns company for a complete roof and facia renewal , and the EPDM flat roofing system for the garage roof, I can honestly say that his company are the best team of workman that in 33 years of having building works done you could possibly employ. With john jnr overseeing the works everything was completed in super quick time , to an exceptional standard,and to the original estimate,I would not hesitate to recommend this company for any roofing needs,
Peter56 Posted on 28/03/2014 , work completed 28/03/2014
New flat roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed from inspection of the problem to completion of the new flat roof. The two workmen arrived promptly, begun work to prepare the roof, replaced the roof, and left my property clean and tidy. They worked hard and were friendly and well mannered. On completion they invited me to inspect the roof, and I was delighted with their workmanship and the quality of the roof. I felt the price was very competitive and I would have no problem in recommending this professional company.
stephen Posted on 24/03/2014 , work completed 24/03/2014
GREAT SERVICE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MR SCUDDER AND HIS SON WERE EXECELLANT. THERE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS GREAT. FELT LIKE I WAS THEIR ONLY CUSTOMER. THEY WERE VERY GOOD WITH ADVICE AND I HAVE ALREADY GIVEN THEIR NUMBER TO FRIENDS. I HAVE NEVER TRUSTED BUILDERS AND WAS NERVOUS AS I COULD NOT SEE MY ROOF , BUT MR SCUDDER EXPLAINED EVERYTHING IN A WAY THAT I UNDERSTOOD. THEY ALSO CLEARED UP REALLY WELL. VERY IMPRESSED... THEY ARE A TRADITIONAL COMPANY WHICH IS NICE THESE DAYS...
sallyh Posted on 18/03/2014 , work completed 18/03/2014
JW Scudder Roofing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After experiencing very poor service from other roofers, we found John Scudder on the Which? Trusted Trader site. The company has done several jobs for us which have been of the very highest standard and they do not recommend work that is not really necessary. They are not the cheapest but you get what you pay for, top standard work, turning up on time and very polite and efficient workmen. We would not use anyone else now.
dudley77 Posted on 24/12/2013 , work completed 24/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used J W Scudder Roofing to replace the roof of our semi-detached house and my adjoining neighbour had his roof replaced at the same time by them. I cannot recommend John Scudder and his team highly enough - of all the trademen I have used they must be amongst the very best. I was kept informed every step of the way and they always turned up on time every day. John (Senior) obviously realises the importance of providing a professional job and a high quality customer service and the team that did the job consisting of John (Junior), Dominic and Reece fully lived up to those high standards. Quite a number of our neighbours have commented on what a lovely bunch of lads they were and what an excellent job they have done. Also the scaffolding and skip were taken away as soon as the job was completed and the insurance policy backing up John Scudder's 10 year guarantee arrived very soon afterwards. What an absolute pleasure it was dealing with J W Scudder Roofing.
JohnKH Posted on 19/08/2013 , work completed 19/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After getting some quotes on the replacement of a garage roof for myself and my neighbour, I employed John and his team, based on both his understanding of what we needed and his extremely competitive quote. The work required removal of old asbestos roofing for both garages, and replacing it with more modern materials. He was able to get on to the job very quickly after the quote was agreed, and completed the job in only 2 days and with the minimum of fuss and disruption. John was professional throughout the whole process, explained what was going on in laymans terms, stuck to the price that was agreed (in addition to repairing a fault with my neighbours guttering free of charge) and provided a full 10 year guarantee. Given my previous experience with roofers recently, I would strongly recommend and endorse this company for any roofing work you might need, and would have no issue with using them again. This is a professional run business of the highest order.
RWC1960 Posted on 06/08/2013 , work completed 06/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to replace the whole of the roof on my detached house so I used Which Local to select some likely candidates for quotes. I chose JW Scudder along with a number of other roofers based on their customer reviews. JohnÍs quote was competitive and when I met him I found him to be very personable and I liked that fact his was a family firm of which he was obviously very proud. His credentials by way of NFRC and TrustMark registration which offers insurance backed guarantees and his work for English Heritage was reassuring. I also liked the fact that he was a ïCompetantRooferÍ which means that he can self-certify his work and the Local Authority Building Control did not have to be involved. The job is now complete and I am very happy with the outcome. All of the team were very polite and considerate and I was kept informed throughout about progress and likely delays caused by adverse weather. They obviously care about the quality of their work. The site was left very clean and I have had comments about how good the roof looks. I would certainly use them again.
Grangrand Posted on 17/06/2013 , work completed 17/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found John Scudder and his team of John (Junior) and Reece to be reliable, accommodating, competitively priced, polite and trustworthy. The service they provided was first class. The finished roof has been admired by neighbours and passers-by and we have had many positive comments about it. They took great care to complete a turret in the original style - photo attached. We're very happy to recommend this company.
Steve Mann Posted on 16/03/2013 , work completed 16/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dreams can come true: I am very nervous when I require a tradesman as you never really know what you are going to get.I needed the flat roof to my extension renewed. I had two or three quotes with some limited by there experience ( not leaving me with any choices). John on the other hand recommended a system that I had heard of before which did not require ripping the whole roof of and starting again. A tradesman who wanted to save me money a rare breed indeed (I know that what was recommended for me will not be suitable in all cases but the method saved me around £1500 which would have been the cost of ripping the whole roof out). His son ( qualified at college) and workmate were on time, worked from the start until they finished were polite and I know took a pride in their work. In addition I have never been offered a ten year labour guarantee before which in this case is backed up by the National Federation of roofing contractors. I would recommend this company
chuffa Posted on 31/10/2012 , work completed 31/10/2012