Endorsed by Which?

J W Scudder Roofing Ltd

5.0

194 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

A Family business that prides itself on high quality workmanship, and a friendly service, which has been Established for 38 years in the Roofing Industry.

We do Construction and Domestic Roofs including Slating, Tiling, Flat Roofs and Pitched Roofs, and offer:
- an Insurance Backed Guarantee
- Liquid System
- Green Roofing Systems
- Repairs
- Lead work
- Chimney Stacks
- Upvc Fascia, Soffits and Guttering
- Roof Lights
- Velux Windows
- EPDM Rubber Roof Covering

All Work is Guaranteed. For a Free Quote, Free Advice and a Competitive Price ring free on 0800 44 88 053.

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Roof and skylights
    • Emergency roofing service
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Flat roofing
    • Rubber roofing (EPDM)
    • Chimneys
    • Cladding
    • Lead work
    • Tiled conservatory roofs
  • More Services

    • velux windows

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
194 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My house is nearly 100 years old and the roof was in very poor condition. In Nov 22, I had a very bad leak. John did an inspection of the roof and also offered some very good advice. Some remedial work was done initially to prevent any further damage until a new roof could be fitted. The work was done to a very high standard and in a short period of time. They went out of their way to ensure that everything was done well. All the team were very polite and always tidied up after a day's work. They have excellent credentials, and all work is guaranteed. I would highly recommend them.
Verna in Greater London Posted on 24/04/2023 , work completed 20/04/2023
Excellent work with care and consideration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John, his son and two employees replaced our roof tiles and carried out some structural alterations in our attic. Shortages in the supply of tiles delayed the work, but the price was held to the original quote and estimate. The team was discreet and a pleasure to have around. The work was thorough and professional, carried out quickly and with a degree of care that even prompted praise from the structural engineer. We would recommend them (and have recommended them) without hesitation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/04/2023 , work completed 21/04/2023
New roof, great contractor!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial point of contact through to completion John and his team have been superb. They installed a new roof, soffit, fascia, gutters, downpipes, loft insulation and boarding for us. They also came out and did some temporary repairs for my peace of mind whilst I was waiting for the full installation to take place. The guys worked in challenging weather conditions and kept me informed the whole way through. They were reliable and extremely hard working. They came in on time and on budget - they notified me of some additional work required to the chimney which wouldn’t have been visible until they were up there and provided costs prior to carrying out the work. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/03/2023 , work completed 10/03/2023
New tiled roof and flat roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked JW Scudder roofing for a quote for a new tile roof and flat roof for our house. John visited and explained everything to us and seemed very professional and had a lot of experience. He was able to answer our questions giving good detail. We accepted the quote which seemed very reasonable. John explained when the materials, scaffolding and skip would arrive. John Junior and Jay arrived promptly on the agreed date. The two of them were extremely hard-working, in all sorts of weather. They were very polite, friendly and professional. We would fully recommend them. We were very happy with the job.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/01/2023 , work completed 21/01/2023
Friendly, Efficient, Honest and Value for Money
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were dreading having the roof replaced it had spray foam insulation but some tiles got damaged and were letting water in so needed replacing. In May I contacted 10 companies with NFRC competent persons accreditation and 5 quoted not only was John the most competitive but his terms were better too. John took great care and lots of time on his first visit to talk me through the process and the pros/cons of types of tiles and roofing methods, showed me accreditations and portfolio of work some of the grand houses and roofs they have worked on where beautiful – they are more than tradesmen they are craftsmen. John’s communication was excellent contacted us in Oct and popped over again to double check details of the job i.e. best tile colour to match in with our neighbours etc. He kept us informed re scaffolders skip etc. The work itself carried out by John Jnr and Jay was superb, it is only a small terrace house but I am under no illusion as to what a herculean task it was to rip out all that dreaded spray foam. They cracked on without a fuss, so polite, communicated everything that they were doing I was gob smacked that it only took them two days to get rid of it all/make watertight and little over a day to get all the tiles on. Scudders were aware we had a contingent budget in case of rotten wood, but we were not charged a penny over the quote, they were one hundred percent honest and straight. All paperwork promptly provided. Thanks so very much guys. Superstar roofers!
Ruth in Greater London Posted on 25/11/2022 , work completed 24/11/2022
New main roof and flat roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have recently had our main roof and flat roof replaced by J.W. Scudder roofing. From start to finish the project was dealt with professionally. The guys were here for six days and worked exceptionally hard. The standard of work is very high, and both my wife and I were pleased with the finished job. The price was very competitive , and we were kept up to date with when the work would take place. We would recommend John Scudder and his son John to anyone who would like to have roofing work done. Tim Munday
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/11/2022 , work completed 17/10/2022
Fabulous work and a good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just to let you know J W Scudder - a roofing company did some work for me on my roof and it was a fantastic job and the chaps so lovely and polite and a great price. I could not see on your website to send this review so please I would be so grateful if you could do so. With kind regards Hilary
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/10/2022 , work completed 28/10/2022
High standard of work, friendly guys
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My experience of John and his son is entirely positive. They provided a reasonable quote to have my roof replaced, came and replaced it with no fuss and it looks to have been completed to a high standard. There were additional issues with the roof (it was an old roof) that John identified and they remedied without a huge increase to the cost. I would highly recommend these guys.
Luke in Greater London Posted on 05/09/2022 , work completed 03/08/2022
Could Not Be Happier!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was responsive, kept us updated and did everything he could to work around us. The team worked at a quick pace, the work was professional and the finish was at a high standard. We could not be happier with the overall experience. We would highly recommend John and the team to anyone and without hesitation, use them again if we had to choose.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/08/2022 , work completed 22/08/2022
Quick, efficient, professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with our new roof. Very professional job, tidied up after themselves and always kept us in the loop about what was happening on which day. They even worked when it was 38 degrees! Thanks John and team - would 100% recommend
James in Greater London Posted on 29/07/2022 , work completed 22/07/2022