We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

JPM Independent Surveyors

Profile thumb jpm
4.9

55 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–18:00
  • Sunday 08:00–18:00

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Islington Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Islington Trading Standards to create an Islington Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check.

About

INDEPENDENT DAMP AND TIMBER SURVEYOR.
I provide specialist damp investigation and timber reports with solutions to fix the problems.

Dampness is often misdiagnosed by contractors.
Quite often the correct solution is simple and inexpensive.

I AIM TO RESPOND TO EMAILS WITHIN A FEW HOURS -

I am not a contractor, I am a surveyor. I do not carry out remedial damp proofing or building works so you can rest assured that my reports are competently impartial.

Experienced qualified independent damp and timber surveyor.
: Dampness
: Condensation
: Mould
: Timber decay
: Woodworm
: Ventilation

I am CSRT qualified and member of;
: Property Care Association (PCA)
: Expert Witness Institute

20+ years experience and fully insured, I provide for home owners, tenants, estate agents, landlords, architects and property pre-purchase.

Covering areas of North London, East London and West Essex.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
    • Timber treatment services
    • Woodworm treatment
    • Injection damp courses
  • Mould

    • Mould investigation
    • Mould survey
  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors
    • Damp proofing surveyors
  • Builders

  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • More Services

    • independent
    • timber
    • rot
    • water damage

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
55 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Damp Report Pre purchase
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason gave a highly detailed and informative report. The report was detailed with photographs showing areas of concern, remedial action recommended and overall opinion on condition of property. Extra information was also attached to the report with some product recommendations and advice as to why damp occurs and how to manage if not eradicate it.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/05/2021 , work completed 31/05/2021
Clear and Informative Surveyor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We hired Jason to do an independent damp report for our basement flat. After having a few "free" surveys with the big damp companies in the past we were left confused about what was the cause and fix of the problem. Jason suggested modern solutions for damp proofing that are were not suggested to us by the previous companies. He provided a detailed report with suggestions for materials which has enabled us to quickly get quotes from lots of different companies. Overall he has saved us lots of time and money!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/05/2021 , work completed 04/05/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived exactly on time, clearly explained issues he identified, written report very thorough and couldn't have been clearer.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/05/2021 , work completed 07/05/2021
Professional and detailed recommendations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted a second opinion after a free damp survey suggested rising damp of my exterior walls. Jason was able to pinpoint the issues in my apartment and identified key remediation areas that fit the evidence. I would recommend his services for an impartial report of your damp issues.
Henry in Greater London Posted on 08/05/2021 , work completed 06/05/2021
Thorough survey and report, very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My flat has some significant damp issues which has led to deteriorating plasterwork in 2 areas and I arranged for Jason Mahoney to conduct a damp survey on 29 April. Jason arrived on time and carried out a very thorough survey through the whole flat and the exterior. He was very knowledgeable and professional, asking me questions and explaining what he was finding as he went along. He then sent me a very detailed report the following day on his findings and some really helpful suggestions for repair of external walls, alternatives for damp proofing the badly affected interior walls and mitigation of water vapour and condensation. This has been a very valuable experience and I would happily recommend Jason to anyone who needs a damp survey carried out. Jason's work has potentially saved me many hundreds of pounds of unnecessary damp proofing work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/05/2021 , work completed 30/04/2021
Professional, detailed and clear damp report
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Jason based on the reviews on Which Trusted Trader as well as the credentials listed on his website (PCA member, CSRT Qualified, Approved by Islington Trading Standards). We had previously been disappointed by a local "damp proof specialist", who's report involved looking around only part of the property for 10 minutes. Jason not only carried out a detailed investigation, including taking moisture readings and testing extractor fan flow rates, but also compiled a thorough yet easy to understand report with clear recommendations. Very impressed.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/04/2021 , work completed 09/03/2021
One of best decisions we made
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just moved into our new house. Our homebuyer's survey had brought up a few damp spots to be further investigated, but nothing major. So I called a few people to take a look. I got the usual quickfire diagnoses that all the issues were caused by rising damp which would naturally mean boring holes all the way around the entire house to inject damp proof courses for hefty fees. I felt I wasn't well-informed enough to make the decision on what to do. It wasn't the costs as much, more I wanted to be confident that I was making the right decision. After looking into things properly I felt the only way to go was an independent survey by an expert. I came across Jason and JPM. From the first email communication, Jason was friendly, courteous and super-efficient. When he arrived, he conducted his survey and we spoke afterwards. His expert knowledge really was a joy to receive because he explains things so clearly. His report too is clear and concise and informs you of what needs doing and also gives a nod to what else would be prudent to do. My advice is to book Jason so that you are armed with all the information you need to conduct any work that actually needs doing. Having Jason's report gives you the power back. At my house, Jason found a localised penetrating damp spot which I could just fix myself at a very low cost. After analysing samples from my walls for ground salts, there wasn't even any rising damp. Must admit I'm rather proud of myself for making such a wise decision!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/03/2021 , work completed 25/03/2021
Extremely good report and quick!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason provided a thorough, clear report which explained all of the problems in layman's terms. It was thorough, easy to read and with images throughout. It has everything I need to instruct a builder to take out the works. The report was provided within hours of the survey taking place, he was easy to communicate with and good value for money. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/02/2021 , work completed 22/02/2021
Top class damp surveyor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was able to rearrange on short notice due to a mess up from my estate agent. He was extremely knowledgable and thorough in his search and provided clear communication around the damp causes and solutions to fix these. I would 100% recommend getting an independent damp survey from Jason if you have been told you have damp. I was quoted five times the amount I should be spending on damp treatment by cowboy "damp specialists" offering a free survey. Definitely use a surveyor that is not connected to any contractors, saves money and time in the long run.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/12/2020 , work completed 16/12/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from Jason/JPM Independent Surveyors. Having had 3 different contractors look at my property and each come up with a different schedule of works and varying costs, I contacted JPM online to arrange an independent survey (I wish I had done this to begin with). Jason responded to my initial enquiry very quickly with plenty of information about JPM and the service offered. Jason arrived promptly for our survey appointment (with facemask, shoe coverings, gloves) was professional, courteous and helpful during the survey. We received the survey report promptly after the visit, it was thorough included photographs, yet is straightforward and easy to understand. Highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/12/2020 , work completed 07/12/2020