We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Local Mobile Locksmith

Profile thumb image1
5.0

78 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

With over 30 years of experience, Local Mobile Locksmith in Manchester supplies, fits and repairs all types of window and door lock systems in the North West area.

Our specialist locksmith services:
- uPVC door and window mechanisms
- Mobile key cutting service
- Boarding and burglary repairs
- Access control for digital locks
- Caravan and mobile homes
- Master key systems

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • UPVC lock specialists
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • Access control
  • More Services

    • caravan and mobile home locks
    • key cutting

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
78 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Highly recommended locksmith
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend Phillip. It is refreshing to find someone who is so passionate about their work. He identified the problem with our front door lock, and was able to do the work the next day. He even fitted a temporary lock so that we could use the door more effectively overnight. He works to such a high standard, and the door is now just perfect, he even took the time to straighten and clean the door too! He also found a solution for our awkward bathroom window lock which was broken too. I would recommend Phillip to anyone.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 25/01/2022 , work completed 25/01/2022
Very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, great value and very meticulous in his work. Highly recommened. Phil sourced new handles for od doors and fitted them to a high standard.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 15/11/2021 , work completed 15/11/2021
Local Locksmith Phil Cleaton
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned Phil the Locksmith on his mobile too have our front door locks changed due to my wife's bag being stolen the night before, he sounded busy as he was on another job at the time but said he would call back which he did not too long after. It was a double glazed door and he pointed out that it was not a barrel lock and the job could easily be done. At the time he did not carry that type of lock in his vehicle but he went back to the office and came back and fitted it and adjusted the handle as it had been previously loose. The change took only 20mins as he had rightly estimated, paid the quoted price, excellent service. Phil was very polite, courteous knew his trade and did a great and put me and my wife's mind's at ease as he said this was one of the better door locks. Would definitely recommend.
Owen in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/10/2021 , work completed 04/10/2021
Excellent Job👍🏾
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed someone to have a look at my garage door which wasn't locking and found Phil in my local Alkrington Life magazine. He turned up promptly and sorted it. I was so pleased with job well done so got Phil to come back and change all window locks in my whole house plus changing front door handle and letterbox. Phil ordered the items Needed, came and fixed everything and cleaned up brilliantly after himself. I definitely would use Phil for any job in his jurisdiction in my house from now on. I highly recommend this extremely polite and highly skilled tradesman.
Doreen in Greater Manchester Posted on 22/09/2021 , work completed 22/09/2021
Efficient, effective and good communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I emailed 3 people about fixing the locks on our UPVC porch and back doors. Phillip responded, gave a day, turned up as arranged, fixed both the locks - one straightforward, one required some inventive adjustment - explained what he was doing, so we understood what the problems had been, and both locks have worked perfectly since. The price was reasonable, Phillip's workmanship, attitude and communication were all one could ask for. I would ask him again if we had another lock problem, and would not hesitate to recommend him.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 08/09/2021 , work completed 13/07/2021
Great advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil recently came out to do an emergency door repair (would not lock) he sorted the problem very quickly, he even broke off from another job nearby to help us out. I had to phone Phil again because we had a similar problem with the conservatory door, I am a quite technical myself and Phil talked me through how to adjust the door and get it to lock, he was still willing to call the next day to fix it but with his advice the visit was not needed, I don’t think you will get many tradesmen offering advice to customers. Excellent service would highly recommend.
Dave in Sale Posted on 09/08/2021 , work completed 09/08/2021
Professional job done extremely well
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got in touch with Phil about replacing our Yale lock. At his request, I sent some photographs of the lock. He obtained a replacement, arrived on time and changed the lock quickly and efficiently, taking great care throughout. He was courteous throughout. His quote for the work was very reasonable. I would have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone. I wish all tradesmen were as efficient and reliable.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 17/05/2021 , work completed 07/05/2021
Great work and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phillip carried out a series of changed locks and handles for us and sourced additional new mechanisms where required. All carried out efficiently, diligently and super friendly. Would highly recommend his service for all things locksmith related.
Customer in Glossop Posted on 09/04/2021 , work completed 09/04/2021
Secured our door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having disturbed thieves during an attempt to force a lock on an exterior door at night, the next morning I contacted Phil , who had done a good job the year before when a lock mechanism failed. He arranged to call within a few hours, after finishing a job he was on. He checked a few facts on the phone, assessed the need for a more secure, anti-snap lock and sourced a security handle to replace the one broken in the attempted theft. He then arrived within a few hours, explained what he was planning to do and completed the job promptly and at reasonable cost. Phil is a pleasure to engage with and I have no hesitation recommending him.
Stephen in Greater Manchester Posted on 29/03/2021 , work completed 29/03/2021
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil did a really great job. A pleasure to deal with, a good communicator. He turned up when he said he would and did a simple repair job, but did it effectively and at a reasonable price. I would recommend
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/02/2021 , work completed 03/02/2021
Excellent speedy service - highly recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been having issues with my UPVC door for a while but I wasn't sure if it was the mechanism or the door or frame that was actually causing the problem. I was wary of getting someone to look at the job because they could push for a more expensive solution than was actually needed. Phil agreed to come and assess the door for free then give me a quote for fixing it before proceeding with any work. He rang me back within an agreed timeframe to confirm my details and arrived on time to assess the job. He gave a detailed explanation of the problem and what he would do to fix it, showing me various parts of the door and mechanism that he would need to work on. He gave me a highly competitive unambiguous quote to complete the job that was inclusive of all charges. Once agreed, he completed the job quickly and professionally and the door has never been in such good shape! He was incredibly polite and helpful, maintained social distancing throughout the job and was mindful of complying with Covid guidelines - he even cleaned the door after he had finished his work! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to others.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 22/10/2020 , work completed 22/10/2020
Excellent, highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil was excellent and very friendly. He came round straight away when we called him and fixed our front door. He really knows what he’s talking about as he immediately knew what the problem was and how to resolve it. He was very friendly and didn’t even flinch when my baby pooed on me when we were talking. Thanks Phil!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 29/09/2020 , work completed 29/09/2020
Great service during difficult time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The handle of two windows in our house came off meaning we couldnt close them securely. As we were researching locksmiths to come and fix it, the recent gales pulled one of the windows open and damaged the hinges on one window meaning our house wasn't secure. Despite the country being on lockdown, Phil came and fixed both windows good as new, and was able to do this whilst observing social distancing measures so we were all safe from Covid-19. Great job, great service. Reasonable cost. Would definitely use again and highly recommend.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/06/2020 , work completed 04/06/2020
5* service - highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil came out to repair UPVC front door lock very fast. Done a brilliant job and a great price. He even aligned the front and porch doors whilst he was here! Would definitely use again and recommend.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/05/2020 , work completed 27/05/2020
Broken upvc door lock fixed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Finding the handle on the upvc back door would not lock I called Phil, who, after a few queries about the problem, indicated he could fix it, had the parts and gave me a price. He was on a job but called as it finished and arrived soon. He identified the problem as a broken gear box, said they usually lasted about 10 years, showed me the broken part and replaced the lock. He also adjusted the door, which was a little out of alignment and, for a small extra charge also realigned the front porch door, which was also jamming, plus he lubricated all parts on both doors. Trusted me to transfer funds to his accounts subsequently. Now very happy with the way both door are operating.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 19/02/2020 , work completed 10/02/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Problem: Difficulty in securing upvc door prior to locking Diagnosis: Worn components in gearbox Solution: Replace gearbox My sister-in-law is wheelchair bound and her carers advised me that the entry door was becoming progressively more difficult to secure (it is used many times a day) and so I contacted Phil after reading the excellent feedback from his previous customers. He responded promptly and was able to resolve the problem much sooner than we had expected. We are absolutely delighted with the service provided by this gentleman from start to finish and wish him all the success that his polite and helpful attitude, knowledge, thoroughness, tidiness and fair pricing deserve.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/02/2020 , work completed 28/01/2020
Top, speedy & attentive service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our front door lock broke meaning we couldn't remove the key. Phil was called and arrived first thing the following morning. He replaced the lock for us and realigned our door. Decent fella, comes highly recommended.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/11/2019 , work completed 14/11/2019
Very professional, easy communication and helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I sent a request to Phil on WhatsApp, I got a quick and professional reply, explained the exact door handle I was looking for and Phil came back in reasonable time with 2 options, sent me pictures and all details making very easy for me to pick the preferred one. However, Phil went an extra mile and sent me a third option which was exactly the handle I was looking for. He was also flexible to set the time and date that was suitable for me, the budget was agreed beforehand so there were no issues at all. His job was great, did what was required and left no dirt or mess. Also, he was so kind and did a quick fix in another door :) . 100% satisfied and highly recommended.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 12/10/2019 , work completed 12/10/2019
Exemplary in all respects
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quite faultless from start to finish. Phil must be the most amiable and polite tradesman I have come across. Came promptly as promised and completed a tricky job of extracting a key stuck in a filing cabinet lock. After that he set about trying to ensure the lock itself functioned adequately. Although he had come out over the weekend, his charges were very competitive. Has to be most highly recommended.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 11/05/2019 , work completed 11/05/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We suddenly couldn't open our UVPC back door after phoning Phil at around 7.45 am he diagnosed over the phone what the issue was likely to be . Very knowledgeable fixed the door at a reasonable cost works better now than before we had this issue. Would recommend without hesitation.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 26/04/2019
Professional Services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was not present for the completed job. My partner was here and said Phil was very professional and cleaned up after himself. Could not of called a better person to do the work. Arrived on time on both visited and kept me updated. This is what trades people should be like. Thank you for your work and Phil deserves the 5 stars.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 22/03/2019 , work completed 22/03/2019
Excellent and professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil was professional from start to finish yet very approachable. He explained the work that needed doing and completed it to a very high standard. He was polite, friendly and conscientious about what he does. Communication before, during and after job was excellent. He cleaned up after himself leaving the place spotless. I was so lucky to come across Phil and would recommend him to anyone. Thanks again!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/02/2019 , work completed 23/02/2019
Door Lock Not Working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil arrived 10 mins prior to the agreed time which for me is always a good sign. Not met him before but found him to be a very pleasant and friendly man. He soon gained entry and identified the fault that was preventing the key from turning fully in the door lock on the front UPVC door. Not only did he replace the mechanism that had been the problem but found other faults that had been making locking the door difficult. He fully explained the problems, causes and remedies as he went along and carried out a very thorough and professional job at a competitive price. A job well done, thanks Phil.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/11/2018 , work completed 28/11/2018
Excellent, Professional Locksmith & Really Nice Man
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After reading reviews on here, I got Phil to come over and fix my UPVC doors. Both of them were locked fast (locking mechanisms broken) and I was expecting I would need to get new ones, but he got them open and repaired in no time at all. He was punctual, professional, and courteous. Would definitely recommend.
Paul S Posted on 06/09/2018 , work completed 06/09/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Phil to enquire about a faulty lock on our UPVC front door which we were having difficulty opening. Phil arrived within 30 minutes of call as he was working in the area and said he would call and do an initial assessment on his way home and complete the work at a suitably convenient time for us. Phil identified the problem straightaway and set about fixing the lock immediately. What should have been a relatively straightforward change of lock proved to be more challenging due to the way the screws had been put in the door initially. (Laymans terms). Undeterred Phil overcame this problem and a new lock fitted there and then. He also realigned the front door which had been catching on the frame for months. When I mentioned the patio door was also sticking he re aligned this also. All our issues were sorted out within a couple of hours of Phil arriving. Very professional, courteous and personable guy who knows his stuff. Would highly recommend.
Linda B Posted on 29/08/2018 , work completed 29/08/2018
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had an emergency; lock wouldn't close; needed it fixing urgently. Phoned Phil at 8.30pm, he said he'd be there is half an hour which he was. Took him just a couple a minutes to get problem solved, to my delight. Also, he put a lock on one of my internal doors about a year ago, which was perfect and suited my needs to a tee. Phil knows his stuff, is very friendly and polite, If I have any more work that needs doing I will be using him and I would definitely recommend him to others.
Jeffrey B Posted on 02/06/2018 , work completed 02/06/2018
Fast, Great price and very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phillip is extremely prompt, professional and courteous. I would highly recommend Phillip as he is a great tradesman who takes pride in completing each job to the highest standard
Dexter22 Posted on 06/04/2018 , work completed 06/04/2018
Fantastic Locksmith - would highly recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After moving into my new place I wanted to get the locks changed, Phil came out and changed the locks but noticed further things wrong with my door and fixed these there and then. Thanks again.
David Ball Posted on 12/02/2018 , work completed 12/02/2018
Replacement of damaged external door handles.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. Gave a quick quotation (final price came in slightly below!), kept to the appointed time and did the job in a quick and professional and friendly manner. Would definitely use again.
Haigh Posted on 06/02/2018 , work completed 06/02/2018
Excellent, professional and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed to replace a couple of locks and Phil was simply excellent: efficient, informative, professional and friendly - he even cleaned up after his work! After completing the lock changes he was asked to do, he went above and beyond the call of duty by sending a PVC window lock that we needed and explaining precisely how to fit it. That alone saved me hours of work. I would definitely recommend Phil without any reservations. Brilliant.
Audrey Millichamp Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
Lovely Bloke & Job Well Done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I panicked like mad when I was told I needed a locksmith to fix my upvc door. I don't know anyone in the trade and I had to search the internet. I read the reviews on Phil's Which advert and I was really impressed and seemed like a trustworthy bloke and trustworthy he was. He explained everything he was doing and what had gone wrong with the locking system. He put me at ease right away, he is such a nice bloke. The job was done quickly ( the same day I called) and neatly, he even cut me another couple of keys in his van which I had been meaning to do for ages. Phil is very professional and I would highly recommend him, you won't be disappointed!
Rachel Posted on 26/01/2018 , work completed 26/01/2018
Fabulous Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had been having trouble with my back door for months - it would have to be manhandled into the frame to lock it, then I would struggle to get the key out of the lock until last month the handle went along with the lock itself. I found Phillip in my local magazine and what a find he was! Professional, friendly, perfectionist. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He sorted the door out no problem and even called back later to check it was okay and to fix a patio door I was also starting to have trouble with. Very reasonable rates too. Utterly trustworthy and a gentleman. I can’t recommend Phil highly enough.
Andrea L Posted on 25/11/2017 , work completed 25/11/2017
Above and beyond
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Well, after constantly locking myself out of my house I finally got round to getting my crazy front door lock replaced. Fantastic work, new handle matched perfectly. After I saw how good it looked, Phil even changed my letterbox to match my shiny new handle. Excellent work. Prompt appointments and a great guy :-)
bald-geek Posted on 13/10/2017 , work completed 13/10/2017
Would definitely use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phillip quoted for the problem front door lock and arrived as arranged. Completed the work on first visit and I was so impressed by his attitude asked him to repair a long time problem with the back door. A tidy worker with no mess left. What’s not to like ?
Brown Posted on 11/10/2017 , work completed 11/10/2017
Professional and efficient work carried out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Picked Phillip from the reviews he had received from his previous customers. Having carried out work on a front door lock (which needed replacing). I can confirm that his work is excellent, professional and neat. He fully explained the problem and provided a number of options to resolve the issue. He provides great care in ensuring that he does a good job and I would have no hesitation in recommending his services to others. He also noticed an issue with the back door lock which he quickly resolved Mirza 27/09/17
Nabeela Mirza Posted on 27/09/2017 , work completed 27/09/2017
Trustworth, helpful and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After my husband lost his keys Phil came round and changed our locks. He arrived little more than an hour after my telephone call and fitted new locks to the back and front door. My husband and I are visually impaired and Phil made sure that we could tell the difference between the back and front door keys and even fitting them onto a keyring for me as well as ensuring I could operate the locks on both doors. Phil is very professional and helpful, and provided quality work at a good price. I highly recommend him. Marie.
Marie Kennedy Posted on 16/08/2017 , work completed 16/08/2017
The trader replied (on 29/08/2017)
Hi Marie, Many thanks for your kind review, I am happy that you are pleased with the work that I carried out and glad that you feel safe knowing your locks are changed.
Helpful, prompt, co-operative and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called to change lock on elderly mother's front door. Gave suggestions as to what would be best for an elderly person and fitted the lock quickly and efficiently and at reasonable cost. Highly recommended!
pleech482 Posted on 23/07/2017 , work completed 23/07/2017
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rang Phil as the lock on our garage door seized and we couldn't get in. I didn't know if this would be a job for a locksmith or a garage door specialist. He offered to call the following day even though it was a Sunday. He arrived as arranged and within minutes sorted the problem. Phil is efficient, helpful and professional and I have no hesitation in recommending him.
O'Dowd Posted on 04/07/2017 , work completed 04/07/2017
The trader replied (on 22/07/2017)
Thank you for your review. Happy to help in gaining entry to your garage and carrying out the repairs required. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further problems
Excellent service and workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rang Phil regarding being unable to lock a door, he asked a few questions and he gave some possible causes and estimated costs. On arrival he was able to quickly identify the cause of the problem and had it rectified within an hour or so. Excellent service and workmanship from a professional and friendly person. I will be recommending him to my friends and family.
Phillips Posted on 29/05/2017 , work completed 29/05/2017
Excellent work and reasonable price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil, is an honest and reliable trader who knows his trade,and a very pleasant personality I highly recommend him.
Terry Posted on 03/04/2017 , work completed 03/04/2017
Excellent and Fast Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rang Phil as i needed some locks changing and new ones fitted and same day he came and checked them out and gave me a quote, his was the cheapest of 3 that had quoted me so i decided to go ahead with his. I have a very busy schedule but Phil was able to work around it and come to fit it at a time convenient for me. His work was perfect, didn't waste time in doing them, and not only was his price cheap but he also threw in a few extras as well. I would highly recommend his services and i am 100% satisfied with the work he has done. Thank you.
Skillz Posted on 30/03/2017 , work completed 30/03/2017
Wonderful service and a friendly, trustworthy gent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a problem with a sticking back door lock and rang Phil on Saturday to ask if he could come and have a look. We weren't desperate, as in locked out but he booked us in for Monday between 11 and 12. He rang when he was half an hour away, as promised, and was on site very promptly at just gone 11. Tried to fix the lock rather than just saying it needed a new one but it was too far gone, so replaced with a good quality new lock. Very friendly throughout, very professional, with a great job done and tidied and cleaned up afterwards. We would definitely use Phil's services again, and will be recommending him to others as a top quality locksmith who does exactly what he says he will do. Well done Phil and keep up the good work!
Mike and Sarah Posted on 27/03/2017 , work completed 27/03/2017
Excellent , highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As a landlord I struggle to find good and reliable craftsmen but Phil is exactly what I hope for. On time, good communications, knowledgeable and has great attention to detail, good prices to boot! I found him here on Which? ,and he first came on a callout of matter of urgency to solve the problem of a key that would not turn and could not be removed in a front door lock. He then proceeded to obtain parts for a relatively old PVC locking system, renovate the mechanism which was both faulty and inappropriate for tenants , which now functions like a dream. Also he realigned the mechanism in the patio door which was not locking without force, and that too is now good. His prices are good, and do not try to exploit the urgency in which his skills are no doubt often required. Will use again, no doubt about it.
mikewarrington Posted on 20/03/2017 , work completed 20/03/2017
Top class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our lock broke all of a sudden and we were unable to close our front door. I found Phil on which and quickly read some reviews and as he was local decided to call him. I was not disappointed, he was here in 10mins and after spending over an hour to fix and secure our door he did a fantastic job. Extremely reasonably priced and nothing was to much trouble. Would definitely recommend him. And just wanted to say thank you Phil and thank you which.
Johnandgem Posted on 23/02/2017 , work completed 23/02/2017
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned this company after my key wouldn't work and kept turning. Explained the type of door, the age and was advised it may still be under warranty and try to contact who I bought the door from since i could still gain entry to the house- they had gone bust. Phil gave me a price, completed the work without any fuss at the time and date he said he would. He replaced the gearbox and even adjusted the door for a very competitive price. Would recommend him again, just like he was recommended to us!
Dean Marsden Posted on 26/01/2017 , work completed 26/01/2017
Efficient and Proficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil fitted a lock to a wrought iron gate 16 months ago after the original lock got damaged. He both sourced and fitted a much better lock at a very reasonable price. I noticed that the lock mounting needed tightening and rang him for advice. He came round the next day and, in awful weather, tightened it up. No fuss, no bother, no charge! Great service from a local trader. Thanks Phil.
Ron S Posted on 12/01/2017 , work completed 12/01/2017
Very satisfied excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Am happy to recommend this very pleasant man, Nothing was too much trouble for Phil when I had a broken lock, he came quickly, his work was very tidy and he went the extra mile by helping with security issues and checking other locks all in with the same price he quoted which was very reasonable. He will also cut extra keys at the same time .I would not hesitate to call on him again.
Hidacat78 Posted on 04/01/2017 , work completed 04/01/2017
Superb service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed my front door lock changed quickly after my son lost his house keys. I contacted Phil after having read all the reviews and he did live up to all of them. He gave me a reasonable quote and he carried out the job to a high standard. A locksmith you can totally trust. Would certainly use him again.
simone Posted on 15/12/2016 , work completed 15/12/2016
Great value, honest, reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My lock was broken on the front UPVC door. I couldnt get my key out of the door if it locked and sometimes couldnt lock it. I phoned him on a Sunday of all days, he was very imformative and knowledgeable. I explained I was worried because i was on my own with my children but i was also worried about price. He came on time, he was very polite, explained everything to me and put me at ease straight away, he also gave me advice on emergency exits and spare keys(which are cheaper than going elsewhere (alot cheaper), he explained why the problem had occured and was extremely precise with his work. I would definatly recceommend him to EVERYONE, i will, with no doubt keep his number and use again if and when neccessary and will promote his service by word of mouth. Very very good value for money, an EXCELLENT service
chazyjack Posted on 06/11/2016 , work completed 06/11/2016
Efficient, friendly service. Would use again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed someone urgently to repair UPVC porch doors for my elderly mother in law. I got Phil’s details initially from a recommend on Steetlife.com. He came when he said he would, repaired the locking mechanisms, sorted out the door hinges as they had dropped and gave me some security advice/options. He did a fantastic job and cleaned round the door area afterwards. What a nice bloke. I would definitely use him again.
PJZab5 Posted on 02/11/2016 , work completed 02/11/2016
Excellent and realistically priced service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lost my front door key, and thought that someone might be able to identify my address. So, change the lock! Phil Cleaton answered his phone promptly, arrived when promised, explained our options and fitted a new lock with three keys for a reasonable price. He's been in the business for a good few years and is a pleasant person to deal with. What more can we hope for?
Tony Posted on 27/10/2016 , work completed 27/10/2016
Top class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish the service that I received from Phil was top class. I needed replacement locks for our new house. Phil turned up quickly and promptly to assess the job. He understood my requirements, offered good advice and explained my options clearly. He provided a quotation the following day which represented good value and the job was scheduled in. Phil turned up on time and worked quickly, systematically and tidily. The quality of the work and the new locks was excellent. The job was completed as specified, on time and on budget. Phil is clearly a skilled professional and the fact that he is a friendly chap is a welcome bonus! He helpfully gave me a contact for a roofing job that I needed doing. I have no hesitation in recommending Phil if you need a locksmith.
Gordon Posted on 19/10/2016 , work completed 19/10/2016
High quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the work Phil completed; it's to a high standard and quality. Phil managed to fix a faulty door rather than replace a mechanism that I thought was causing the problem, saving me money in the process. Thanks, would definitely recommend and would use again.
Steph5834 Posted on 06/10/2016 , work completed 06/10/2016
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had Phillip change some locks and handles for me and was very happy with the work done. He's a really good guy.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/08/2016 , work completed 05/08/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil has replaced locks on our windows and has replaced front door lock recently and he was excellent in the service he provides. Nothing is too much trouble and he gives advice and options.The front door lock was a big job but Phil sourced similar locks over a couple of days and worked very hard to get the replacement lock to be a neat fit.
C, Middleton Posted on 02/08/2016 , work completed 02/08/2016
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phillip changed a lock for me on my double glazing door and I thought the work was very efficient and done well.
Anon, Lancashire Posted on 15/05/2016 , work completed 15/05/2016
Really great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Local Mobile Locksmith a few months ago and found that they did a really good job with everything. I was happy with everything that was done and would definitely recommend them to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/05/2016 , work completed 10/05/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend this locksmith wholeheartedly. Why? Firstly, a very nice chap and friendly. Secondly, a skilled locksmith, honest and value for money. Thirdly, explained all what he was doing whilst stripping the complex locking mechanism and what can go wrong with them. Finally, I thought we might need the whole mechanism but no, Phil had brought two parts with him that he suspected we might need, he fitted the cheapest of the two and said that we did not need the main gearbox mechanism which was now running smoothly and he was happy with its operation. Finally, he adjusted the door vertically and horizontally to alleviate what had caused the lock to jam and fail, going the extra mile. It is no wonder why he has over 20 positive reviews here. The job we needed fixing was a conservatory door that was open but part of the lock had jammed resulting in being unable to close or lock the door. All fixed on the same day and now the door works like a Rolls Royce door and lock. Superb tradesman!
Tony, Chadderton Oldham Posted on 08/05/2016 , work completed 08/05/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yet again excellent sevice from Phil. He comes when he says, sorts the problem, doesn't give up and his charges are reasonable.
LUNN Posted on 06/12/2015 , work completed 06/12/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Phil's services as a Locksmith twice before and had no hesitation in asking him again this time. A first class tradesman and a first class human being! If you don't believe me, read the other reviews.
Stuart Chait 53 Cav M7 Posted on 20/11/2015 , work completed 20/11/2015
Only locksmith I deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Phil for many jobs when needing locks changed and am always happy with the work. I keep his number in my phone and he is the only locksmith I would deal with. Willing to come out when you need him and the work is always great. Have already recommended him to others.
Alexis and Mike, Greater Manchester Posted on 15/09/2015 , work completed 15/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rang Phil because my French door lock had jammed. He arrived next day absolutely on time, and sorted the problem out within the hour. Brilliant service and top class work. Will definitely be using him again. Can't speak highly enough of his service.
wardley girl Posted on 26/08/2015 , work completed 26/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My patio door lock stopped working and the locksmith I had used previously was unobtainable. I found Phil here and after reading the reviews I rang him. He was very helpful over the phone and arrived at the arranged time the next day. He quickly sorted the problem and was very professional, and I felt completely at ease having him in my house. I will use him again and certainly recommend him to others.
katbir Posted on 15/07/2014 , work completed 15/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found Phil's details here. Called him and job was sorted within hours. He charged half the price I expected, explained the problem clearly and supplied new part there and then. I'd definitely use him again.
Andyman Posted on 28/06/2014 , work completed 28/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Phil as a result of comments made here. I cannot recommend him highly enough. Excellent service. On the phone he identified two possible causes of the problem I had. One solution would have been quite expensive. He came around that evening even though the problem was not urgent. Identified the problem as requiring the less expensive solution, fixed it and cut the extra keys we needed then and there. Explained everything as he went along. Very courteous and professional service.
g.ary Posted on 09/04/2014 , work completed 09/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service yet again. When the spring broke on my lock, Phil came the same afternoon, remembered that he'd fitted and diagnosed the problem. He hunted round several suppliers til he eventually found the right replacement and then fiitted it. Gave me advice on how to prevent the problem re-occurring. A perfectionist who does not give up until the job is completed to his satisfaction.
LUNN Posted on 05/04/2014 , work completed 05/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were unable to lock our uPVC front door as the lock barrel would not turn. I called Phil after checking "Which Local" for Locksmiths. He arrived the same morning and explained that due to the age of the door the complete mechanism would need to be replaced. Phil managted to obtain a replacement mechanism the next day (despite the door being about 25 years old, but in good condition) and arranged to visit us the next day at 9 am (there was no urgency as the door is in a lockable porch). He advised us to keep the original door handles as they were solid brass and would clean up like new. Phil arrived early and proceeded to fit the new lock. He also adjusted the porch door, at no extra cost, which was difficult to lock due to it being misaligned. He asked if I had any Duraglit or Brasso, which I had, and insisted on cleaning up both the handles till they gleamed and looked like new. We are very pleased with Phil's work and would definately recommend him for his pleasant nature and willingness to do a good job for his customers.
moorside Posted on 07/02/2014 , work completed 07/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Phil on the basis of previous reviews and was very impressed by his work and to see how reliable he was. I called him back again the following week to change another lock which needed sorting. He always did a thorough job and his prices are very reasonable. Highly recommended.
Hema Posted on 17/08/2012 , work completed 17/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Phil to change front door lock on apartment and sort out lost mailbox key. Phil replaced both locks with better quality locks and gave lots of good advice. Charged what he quoted over the phone even though he had to make two visits. Highly recommended.
Stagman 73 Posted on 08/12/2011 , work completed 08/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil dealt with my problem within 2 hours.professional,reasonably priced and an honest individual...would definitely recommend.
cjmak Posted on 25/10/2011 , work completed 25/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil and a colleague carried out a repair on a UPVC door.What should have been a reasonably straight forward task became a nightmare.It required all their considerable expertise and patience to complete the work. Should the need arise, I would have no hesitation in asking them again, and would certainly recommend their services.
mindean Posted on 09/09/2011 , work completed 09/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Last week my upvc window lock failed so looked here for a locksmith. After reading so many recommendations I decided to try Phil Cleaton. He came promtly and was courteous and friendly. He soon identified the problem and ordered a new part. I then asked him to look at two other long standing problems with bathroom and garage door locks which were also sorted. He even managed to identify a recurring problem with one hinge on my upvc front door and quickly rectified that where others had previously failed! Explained everything he did as he went along and gave advice re lubrication etc. A true professional.
Barjo Posted on 19/08/2011 , work completed 19/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil was very efficient and came out on a Sunday evening within the hour. I have a stable door and the top was not closing. To add to this the whole door was sticking and was difficult to close. Phil rectified all the problems and did a very thorough job. He also advised me of the potential charges before he came out, though avoided charging any additional costs due to no extra parts being required.
ann and dave Posted on 04/07/2011 , work completed 04/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It is a while since I needed a locksmith - 18 months perhaps. The patio door would not lock; Phil came same day and sorted it. Previously he had changed the locks on the front (hardwood) door, and had given excellent advice on what we should have. For the keys he brings the van round (with the key cutter) and makes sure the keys work. He is a perfectionist.
voroneus Posted on 17/09/2010 , work completed 17/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I could easily have been convinced by someone the job was bigger than it was but Phil explained clearly what the problem was and was able to fix it cheaper than I first thought. Reliable and efficient. Also gave good advice on other key matters.
enrico99 Posted on 19/07/2010 , work completed 19/07/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our uPVC back door would not open. Phil came promptly to inspect and advised what was needed to repair it. Phil went the extra mile (literally!) to save us money, by obtaining spare parts for our lock, which is now obsolete, rather than us having to replace the whole mechanism. Highly recommended.
Lenw Posted on 09/07/2010 , work completed 09/07/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our flat door lock was faulty, so it wasn't a very urgent job but Phil came same day anyway. He replaced the lock barrell and, after I had settled up with him, he also fixed a problem with the door handle and very kindly lubricated the front door to the flats which we had suspected was faulty but wasn't. He's very polite and helpful. We will definitely use him again in future.
DidsburyBWFC Posted on 22/09/2009 , work completed 22/09/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phil is prompt, reliable, discreet & reassuring. He came very quickly in response to my call after my wife's handbag was stolen containing house keys & fitted new locks.
Rod Maddock Posted on 16/06/2009 , work completed 16/06/2009