We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Scott Findlay Plumbing & Heating Ltd

Profile thumb 4488webb

4.9

82 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Scott Findlay began as a sole trader in 1986 and has built up the business over the past 30 years, now employing 8 full time plumbing and heating engineers in Edinburgh.

We are fully Gas Safe registered, providing all types of heating and plumbing work from full boiler and central heating installations, through to the smallest of repairs.

We are Worcester Bosch Diamond Status installers and Edinburgh's largest independent domestic installer of Worcester boilers.

Our services include:

- Central heating and boiler installation.
- All central heating and boiler repairs and upgrades.
-Smart heating controls.
- Boiler servicing.
- Power flushing & power cleansing.
- Landlord's Gas Safety services.
- Supply and fit of flue inspection hatches.
- Cast iron works.
- All general plumbing.
- Bathroom and kitchen works.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Bathroom fitters

  • More Services

    • gas safety certificates
    • flue inspection hatches

Customer reviews

4.9
82 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Great company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently had a brand new combi boiler and nest fitted by Scott Findlay plumbing and heating engineers Ltd after a family recommendation. From start to finish the service that was provided was 1st class, every individual we encountered was punctual and efficient. Simon who came out to give us a quote was extremely knowledgeable and very thorough and provided us we many different options. The two engineers Kenny and Brian who relocated and installed the boiler and lastly Brian who commissioned and provided the finishing touches were very professional and had a wealth of knowledge that allowed a seamless and pleasant process. With the current COVID 19 pandemic around I was a little nervous but everyone that entered our house were fantastic, they kept their distance, face mask were worn and followed government guidelines on keeping themselves and my family safe. We are extremely satisfied with the service and experience provided and we would not hesitate to recommend and use Scott Findlay plumbing and heating engineers again for future needs.
Customer in Midlothian Posted on 19/10/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
The trader replied (on 21/10/2020)
Thanks so much, we hugely appreciate your kind reviews. We're delighted you've been so pleased with your new boiler and our service. I've passed your thanks on to the team too!
New boiler installed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a new boiler installed recently by Scott and his team. Great communications from the office; excellent, friendly engineers who turned up on time and were very informative. Brilliant service from start to finish - highly recommended.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 15/10/2020 , work completed 24/09/2020
A new gas boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company were so easy to deal with, yet totally professional. In doing a gas inspection of my flat, they had to condemn the boiler. I asked them foe a quote, which I thought was reasonable. Setting up the appointment was quick, and the work was carried out cleanly and professionally. They also found that a new pump was needed, but that's not surpring after 20 years. I'm happy to recommend this company to anyone.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 06/10/2020 , work completed 02/10/2020
A company you can trust
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Scott Findlay have just replaced our 23 year old boiler which they have kept functioning for us over the last 5 years with a modern condensing boiler.This required replacing the incoming gas pipe from the meter in the garden through the depth of the house to the boiler site at the back and we were very apprehensive about the likely disruption. We knew from past experience that they would do a professional job, but this was more complicated and involved several other trades. The main gas engineer, Cameron worked like a Trojan for three days and all the others involved arrived to schedule and each one did a first class job. Our house and garden were fully restored and all rubble and old equipment removed. Just to mention the before and after-we appreciated Scott coming out the week before to go through what we could expect and have always found Claire and the office staff To be both friendly and efficient.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 25/08/2020 , work completed 20/08/2020
The trader replied (on 17/09/2020)
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're really delighted that you found things so much less stressful than you'd thought and that you now have an efficient new boiler!
Replacement Combi Boiler and upgrade of radiators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first visit to the offices of Scott Findlay at Meadowbank to the commissioning of the new boiler, the whole process was carried out in a friendly, courteous & professional manner. All the staff were very helpful and explained fully the requirements for each part of the job. Regular updates were provided, job starting date arranged and text updates of which engineer was coming and when, were a big help. All the friendly engineers respected the requirements of the Covid virus and kept all the work areas clean, tidy and safe. They each provided an excellent standard of work. The new boiler is working perfectly and without hesitation Scott Findlay will be carrying out the annual services and any other additional plumbing & heating work required. Many thanks to all the staff.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 04/07/2020 , work completed 03/07/2020
The trader replied (on 15/07/2020)
Thank so much for taking time to leave a review. We're delighted you've been so happy with your installation and all our engineers and really glad that you chose to use a local business too, particularly in these difficult times!
Replacement boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Scott Findlay replaced the existing boiler and water heating system with a new combiner's boiler. Their work was efficiently carried out with little disruption and no mess, leaving the property as though it had not been touched during a major re-plumbing job. Their engineers were courteous and worked well with the social distancing rules in place in the day, wiping down surface touched with disinfectant wipes at the end of each day. On completion of the job the operating instructions for the newly installed system with efficiently and concisely explained. I thoroughly recommend Scott Findlay's services.
Customer in Aberdeenshire Posted on 24/06/2020 , work completed 23/06/2020
The trader replied (on 15/07/2020)
Thanks so much for the kind feedback John, very much appreciated! I'm really glad you felt safe during this difficult time.
Shower leak and dripping taps
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When water appeared leaking from the ceiling in my downstairs bathroom my heart sank. The suspect was my upstairs shower which had been the culprit 3 years before. It had taken months to trace the problem (leaking pipe at the back of the shower) and had cost a lot of money to fix. Here we were in lockdown. I checked sites such as this and picked Scott Findlay. They were operating during the crisis and had excellent reviews. Clare could not have been more helpful in organising a prompt visit. Kevin came and within minutes had diagnosed the problem, a sealant leak which could be easily (and cheaply) sorted. He fixed the leaking tap in the downstairs bathroom so that I could use that until he returned to fix the shower. Kevin came in with PPE on including mask, gloved and foot coverings, all the right things to wear (I should know, I work in public health). I cannot recommend them highly enough, friendly, efficient and great value. I won't need to look for a plumber again, I know who to go to.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 14/05/2020 , work completed 14/05/2020
The trader replied (on 19/05/2020)
Hi Lesley, thanks so much for the really lovely review, it's been a pleasure working for and happy to help in the future (although fingers crossed you'll not need us any time soon!)
Replacement boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When my elderly mothers boiler broke down on the 24th April I wasn’t sure how easy it would be to get it fixed during the Covid 19 lockdown. I called Scott Findlay as I had used them myself when I had a problem with my boiler. Thankfully they sent an engineer round within a couple of hours of my call and established that a new boiler was required. Amazingly they were able to source a boiler and managed to install it the same day (all while taking the necessary Covid 19 precautions). They advised me that they would have to come back a few days later to finish some pipe work which they did on the following Thursday. Everyone we dealt with at Scott Findlay couldn’t have been nicer. Thank you for the great service and I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 08/05/2020 , work completed 30/04/2020
The trader replied (on 12/05/2020)
Thank so much for the really lovely review, we're delighted we could sort everything out so quickly!
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The great reviews here prompted me to contact Scott Findlay to ask about replacing a cracked external waste pipe (3rd floor flat) and I'm pleased to say the reviews didn't let me down! Such a great company to deal with - can't express that enough - professional, honest and great customer service. From the initial contact/discussions, through to works completion, the service and communication with everyone involved with was excellent. Highly recommend!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 07/05/2020 , work completed 05/05/2020
The trader replied (on 12/05/2020)
We're so grateful for the fantastic review and really pleased you were delighted with everything. Thanks again!
Outstanding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had to call Scott Findlay to fix a heating and plumbing issue I had never heard of them before but I'm glad I found them, outstanding customer service and workmanship everything explained so you know what you are paying for. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for, the Best. Would highly recommended this friendly outstanding company
Customer in Midlothian Posted on 14/04/2020 , work completed 04/04/2020
The trader replied (on 17/04/2020)
Thanks so much for the really amazing review, hugely appreciated!