We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Matthew Barton T/A Mattree Professional Tree Care

Logo on white
Profile thumb mattreejpg

4.9

73 Reviews

About

Are your trees in need of a bit of TLC?

Want a professional Tree Surgeon to take care of them for you?

Call Mattree Professional Tree Care in Banstead today for professional and friendly advice!

If you are tree owner it is sensible to have your trees examined, by a professional tree surgeon, to find out if they are currently in good health. Recognising problems early on and using the proper treatments can deter any forthcoming health issues. By having continuous care you will be safeguarding the health of a tree or hedge and it will continue to look good and free from disease.

If there are mature trees in an area where the public have access, it’s advisable to have the trees checked to safeguard the public while in this vicinity.

Any work undertaken is done so with the upmost care for wildlife and the least possible disturbance to your garden. The area is always left spotless and in a shipshape condition.

What we do

  • Tree surgeons

    • Stump grinding
    • Tree reductions
    • Tree planting
    • Tree removal
    • Tree thinning

Customer reviews

Reviews summary

4.9
73 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
An excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I first enquired about having my Liquid Amber tree pruned, Matt immediately replied and quickly arranged a site visit. The quote came quickly and we agreed a date for the job. I then had to change the date and Matt was very accommodating and flexible. The job was completed last week by his team and they did a great job. As well as tidying up once the job was completed, they moved my bird bath and feeder back that they'd moved to prevent any damage. I can't recommend Matt and his team highly enough, and will be calling on them again next time the tree needs a trim.
Customer in Greater London18/03/2019
A competent and professional job carried out to a very high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt kept in contact with me prior to the work being undertaken. He made helpful suggestions as to how to improve aspects of my overgrown garden, including the difficult removal of tree stump which was right against a boundary wall. On the day, he and his team arrived early. The team worked hard. They were polite, efficient and tidy and showed consideration to our neighbours on both sides. They cut back a number of trees and hedges and removed a dead tree which threatened to fall on our neighbour's garden. They worked swiftly and efficiently and cleared away all the rubbish, including some not generated by them. Matt also arranged to cut back ivy which overhung our neighbour's property, something which was not in his original estimate. I have employed a number if firms to cut back my trees in the past and I can truly say that Matt and his team are the only ones with which I have felt the most comfortable. I would have no hesitation in recommending him and his team.
Customer in Greater London04/03/2019
Pruning Trees and Bushes. Sourced and planted a Portuguese Laurel Tree
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time that we have used the services of Mattree Professional Tree Care and we were very happy with the job that they did the first time. We asked him to recommended a tree for us and to plant it. He took us to a tree nursery and clearly explained how the tree that he was recommending would be suitable for our requirements Matt and 5 colleagues turned up on the day that we agreed and on time. They expertly pruned trees and some shrubs, removing all of the branches and left our garden tidy. He successfully planted a Portuguese Laurel Tree. We would use his services again.
Customer in Greater London01/03/2019
Did all asked
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second time I have used Matt. Always found him competitive, as good as his word. Gave start date and held to it despite heavy workload. Did the job well and cleaned up at the finish. A+.
William, Surrey24/01/2019
Professional, conscientious.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, listened to my requests, work carried out quickly and cleared up every scrap of tree and branch debris, would highly recommend.
Yvonne, Surrey19/01/2019
Even better than I expected.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Matt on several occasions in the past but this was the biggest job I have asked him to do. He and his team reduced the height and width of about 80ft of overgrown hedge, pruned 4 trees, cut down a very mature pine tree that was close to my house and ground out the stump. The team were safe, quick, polite and very efficient, leaving everything more neat and tidy than it was before they started. The work was completed over 3 days though most was done on day 1. I am delighted with the results - and I think the price was very reasonable for the work done.
Customer in Greater London15/01/2019
Professional in every respect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt obtained the requisite consent from the local authority to undertake work on a very large London Plane tree in our garden, which has a TPO on it. He and his team arrived early, were polite, efficient, tidy and considerate to our neighbors. They did an excellent job and the tree looks fantastic. This is the first time I have used him but had seen some of their previous work commissioned by the estate management company which, was also completed to a high standard. I wouldn't hesitate to use his firm again.
Customer in Kent13/12/2018
Good Job at a Reasonable Price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and his team did a very good and thorough job. All details were agreed before the start, the job was carried out quickly and efficiently (by a team of 6) and they finished early. Site was cleared and all rubbish taken away. They did exactly what they said, for the price agreed, very well. Pleased and would be happy to use again in a couple of years when everything has grown back.
Customer in Greater London12/12/2018
As ever, excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All arrangements made with ease. Work carried out to a high standard & great cheerful help.
Kathleen, Surrey30/11/2018
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and his team have done a complete cut back on our garden three times now, and have done a great job every time. Explain and talk through what they're doing, work efficiently, considerate to the neighbours, and tidy up perfectly afterwards. Would happily recommend.
Customer in Surrey21/11/2018
Excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Matt and his team before, cannot fault. Excellent work, tidy, polite team. On time, finished early. Great job on beech trees and sycamore removal. Will use again.
Customer in Surrey20/11/2018
Courteous, efficient, careful and clean- a first class team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and his team completed quite an extensive job for us yesterday in South Croydon. This included thinning high trees overlooking the garden and blocking the satellite dish, reducing a Lawson's cypress, docking a high hazel, carefully pruning an olive and much more. We are very pleased with the work done, I should add that Matt's estimate, which he adhered to exactly was much less than that of another local Which Trusted Trader. Very pleased.
6172jdm16/11/2018
Professional & tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pollarded large oak tree. Removed all debris. The men arrived on time and were very safety conscious of themselves & the public. They were courteous & helpful and cleaned all the mess up. Very professional. Matthew Barton the owner was very helpful, both before & after.
Margaret, Surrey10/10/2018
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mattree arrived on time at 8am today and removed in total, an old oak tree. The whole job was well done at the agreed price. Mattree has been doing work at my property on trees and hedge cutting annually for years. He is reliable, pleasant & I highly recommend him.
Colin, Surrey22/06/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The men arrived on time and did a very professional job. All debris was removed and the surrounding area was swept. This was the first time that I have used Mattree and will definitely use them again.
Lynne, Surrey18/05/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Large tree removed, root grinding, trimmed hedges - excellent, great communication, good price, on time, quick work, lovely tidy up, easy, definitely recommend
Mrs Geraldine Hardwick14/05/2018
Quick, neat and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt Barton and his team took down two trees, removed large branches from other mature trees and pruned several others. They worked remarkably quickly and efficiently and did everything they were asked to do, giving advice where necessary. They were friendly and helpful. They cleared up afterwards so well that the only evidence they had been was the neat garden now full of light. An excellent job and I would recommend their services to anyone.
Pelling06/05/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient, quick workers. Neat job, definitely recommend.
H, Surrey30/04/2018
Job well done - quick and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used many times. Nice helpful people, always do a professional job and clear up efficiently.
Heather, Surrey24/03/2018
Excellent work again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Matt and his team for quite a few years, as per usual they arrived on time, worked hard and tidied up before they left. They always do a good job, very professional and very knowledgeable.
JanetH21/03/2018
Tree work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Mattree before and had no hesitation in asking Matt and the team to prune a beech tree and cherry tree. The work was carried out promptly and efficiently. I'd recommend them.
Robin Milne18/03/2018
Tree work in Strood Green
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and his team were punctual and professional. They did an excellent job removing a tree from a tricky location with minimal damage to surrounding shrubs and flowers. I would happily recommend them.
JuliaH14/03/2018
Thorough and reliable.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Matt for several years now, and will continue to do so. We value his care for our trees.
T W, Surrey15/02/2018
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The boys arrived on time, did a great job, and left the garden clear of hedge cuttings and cleared up. Very impressed.
Jackie, Surrey19/01/2018
Excellent work and reasonably priced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had Mattree on several occasions and have each time been impressed with the professional tree surgery and the care and attention to other plants around the trees and the complete clean up after finishing the job. The price is also very competitive. Highly recommended.
Peter Smith14/01/2018
Tree Felling in Carshalton - Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had two very large cupressas trees in the back garden and called in Mattree. From first to last, I was most impressed by them. Matt Barton is an extremely knowledgeable tree specialist, who combines this with a level of professionalism that would put many a larger company to shame. He arrived promptly to assess the work, provided a number of options to me and confirmed these later in writing by email. Matt has a team of able, committed and enthusiastic professionals working with him, and on the day I was hugely impressed with the speed with which they worked, without compromising safe practice. They ensured that no debris went in my neighbours gardens, working in a systematic way to fell the trees with no risk of damage to either mine or my neighbours properties. All rubbish was tidied and removed and the work was done in a day. It was a superb job, expertly executed. I would strongly recommend Mattree to anyone needing tree care and advice in this area.
Steve, Carshalton08/01/2018
A very good job done as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Before the day Matt came and gave sound advice before offering the quote. On the day itself Matt and the team turned up on time, carried out all the work promptly and left the site in good order. This the third (fourth?) time I've used Mattree and have been delighted each time.
2011-07-20 12:03:10.6605/01/2018
Excellent and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt estimated the job and gave some useful advice which helped us decide on the best way to reduce the tree sizes. On the day he and his team arrived on time, undertook an excellent job, checked the final work with us to ensure we were satisfied. Left the site clean! A job well done and value for money.
YodaYoda27/12/2017
Excellent Work; Highly Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this firm many times. They really are quite outstandingly good in every respect. They work hard and swiftly and clear up the site and general area so that it is not apparent that they have disturbed it. They were highly recommended to me and I will most certainly highly recommend them to others.
Jennie, Surrey05/12/2017
Professional and punctual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gave us a good price for the jobs required invoice separate for each job in case we only wanted one done. Any text messages answered punctually and we were informed by phone first and then by post.
Kathleen, Surrey29/11/2017
Good Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt Barton and his team arrived promptly and worked really hard. The final result was excellent. We are delighted with their effort. The price was fair and the area cleaned afterwards, excellent job!
Jocelyn, Surrey21/11/2017
Efficient and Tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable, efficient and tidy.
Deirdre, Surrey13/11/2017
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A person who delivers when he says and how he does it. Very reliable.
Marjorie, Surrey03/11/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kept me informed of time of arrival. efficiently did the job, cleared up, leaving no mess. All workmen very polite and pleasant.
Susannah, Surrey15/07/2017
Simple & no stress
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt was reliable on point and easy to deal with - his team undertook the job while I was over seas and the property was left clean and in good shape. I had several other quotes his was the most reasonable and he even through in an extra tree at no cost! No hesitation in recommending him
JBGEEJAM09/04/2017
Ash Tree reduction by Matt Tree
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would use Mattree every time. He and his team are skilled, reliable, tidy and above all, friendly. They shaped my my tree beautifully, chopped up all the wood and left the garden as they found it .
cloconstantine31/03/2017
A great 'no fuss' job done.....
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job involved the removal of 5 deep rooted shrubs, 2 small trees and 1 large tree from our front and rear gardens. Matt carried out the initial inspection and explained clearly what and how he would complete the job. He was extremely polite and pleasant throughout, which counts for a lot! The work was executed professionally, without fuss and the site was left tidy. We are really pleased with the work completed and would certainly use Mattree Professional Tree Care again. Thank you to Matt and we wish you continued success with your business.
Ian Donovan14/03/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used matt tree for the last 8 or 9 years to pollard the lime trees in our avenue and to trim a large beach tree as a consequence have built up a good relationship with Matt, it's Proprietor. His prices are keen and service is prompt. His team does an excellent job. Will continue to use in the future.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer28/02/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up on time to remove our fallen elder tree. Worked hard and had the job done in an hour including tidying up. Left everything very tidy and clean. Good price too. Highly recommended.
P Lemans06/02/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Mattree for the last 8 or 9 years to pollard the lime trees in our avenue and to trim a large beach tree as a consequence have built up a good relationship with Matt, it's Proprietor. His prices are keen and service is prompt. His team does an excellent job. Will continue to use in the future.
LHawker24/01/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mattree shaped my garden trees beautifully. The proportions are now very pleasing to the eye and the trees look healthy. The work was carried out as per the quotation and the team left the garden neat and tidy, disposing of all of the debris. The team were very polite and friendly and turned up punctually.
Mattree20/01/2017
Prompt, tidy and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service - the lads turned up when expected, worked really hard and tidied up afterwards - and a good price too for the work done. Thank you!
Happy Customer14/01/2017
Fantastic and Speedy Tree Works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mattree PTC provided an excellent range of tree works, including felling awkward trees that had phone lines within the branches and cutting back huge fir trees. The guys who did the work arrived promptly, got on with the work without any fuss and cleared up after themselves. They worked very quickly and were finished mid-afternoon with little disruption to us or our neighbours. I would thoroughly recommend Mattree if you need any tree works carried out. It is excellent value for money and they are all very knowledgeable. Thanks to Matt and his crew on an excellent job done.
Andy J24/12/2016
Professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Mattree several times now. They are professional, friendly and fairly priced. A great team who always turn up on time and tidy everything up at the end.
Audrey Knapp10/12/2016
Professionals at Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Mattree a couple of times now. Very pleased with their Punctuality; and Work Ethics. Work with a smile on their face. Extremely happy with the work; High Value for Money; would recommend to all.
Abhasin09/06/2016
Great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Third time we have used them. Mattree did a very good job. They were on time and did a fantastic job. They were very tidy and I was very impressed with how well they cleaned up. It had been a messy job.
Emma, Surrey30/07/2015
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Timely, very efficient, friendly and competent work. Clean up exemplary operation.
V R, Surrey13/07/2015
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, would really recommend, a wonderful team.
Valerie, Surrey07/07/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mattree did a small job removing one conifer and clearing a larger area (already felled) of remaining stumps and roots. A few of these were missed & they readily agreed to come back - and came today (31st July) to finish them all. A polite & helpful team. Will happily use them again.
Lester, Surrey03/07/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and professional.
Debbie, Surrey22/06/2015
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hard working team who arrived on time, worked solidly and who left the garden neat and tidy. I have used them several times now and am always satisfied.
S, Surrey03/06/2015
Mattree: Outstanding service and work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt Barton has been to our property in Horley 3 times over a period of 3 years. On each occasion he comes when he says he will, carries out the work as requested following consultation and clears up as if he had not been here. Pruning is carried out in a sympathetic way leaving a very satisfactory result. He and his team are efficient and courteous and we have no hesitation in wholeheartedly recommending their services.
Speedbirdian01/06/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class job. Carried out Quickly and efficiently. Recommend them.
Michael, Surrey01/06/2015
Fantastic tree surgery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job at a good price. Communication, timekeeping and tidiness all as good as you could hope for. Will definitely use Mattree again.
James, Surrey08/05/2015
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good and tidy job cutting trees, stump grinding (three) and trimming leylandii. Carefully tidied up after. Would recommend Mattree.
Peter, Surrey28/04/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been using Mattree for years. Always a first class job.
David, Surrey22/04/2015
Prompt - professional - as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Mattree on several occasions and he is unfailingly polite, professional and knowledgeable. His team are pleasant and hardworking.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/04/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending Mattree Professional Treecare.
Roy, Surrey20/04/2015
Highly recommended - speedy & helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He came here with his team and did was needing to be done speedily and efficiently, removing all debris. I cannot fault his work and will certainly use him again.
Christine, Surrey17/03/2015
Friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The arrived promptly as arranged. The job was carried out professionally and with care. Adhering to my wishes. The site was cleared afterwards and the team were very friendly.
Caroline, London27/02/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, reasonable price for a difficult job, very well done.
Catherine, Surrey27/02/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, friendly, great job.
John, Surrey25/02/2015
Excellent professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Mattree PTC on several occasions and have always found them to do an excellent job of tree care and leave the site in a tidy manner.
Brian, West Sussex04/12/2014
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt, excellent work and tidy. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer03/12/2014
Excellent Store
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Courteous, tidy and efficient - all very good.
Geoffrey, Surrey29/11/2014
Professional and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt has always given very good advice on what tree work needs to be done, manages the (***) re approved for work, and completes a great job.
Simon, Surrey28/11/2014
Smashing job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All the young men worked really hard & were a pleasure to have around. They did a first class job quickly & efficiently. They left the site neat & tidy. Matt is a very likeable man, to whom I wish every success.
Gwen, Surrey08/11/2014
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt's 3 man team arrived promptly in pouring rain and just got on with the job, leaving one 80 year old lady very happy with a professional job & brilliant cleaning up.
Shirley, Surrey03/11/2014
Excellent all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from start to finish. Prompt and reasonable estimate emailed same day. Arrived on time. Carried out tasks efficiently and courteously. The huge privet hedge at the back of my garden has never looked so good! Tidied up completely.
34782502/08/2014
Great tree surgeons
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a huge eucalyptus to cut down and two other trees to cut back. Two friendly polite young guys turned up and had the job done within a couple of hours. Then another guy joined them and they cleared up. Honestly, you would never know they'd been. It was like magic the tree had gone, the others chopped back and the garden was left immaculate! I would absolutely recommend these guys 100%
Puppymum07/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Mattree to cut back several Thuja trees overhanging our garden, plus a large Yew tree. They were all cut back really well and they removed the tree waste leaving the area tidy. I will use them again and would recommend them.
Lydia T01/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Team of three men arived promptly and proceeded to considerably reduce crowns of two large trees (willow & maple) fell small douglas fir, and prune holly tree from bottom of garden (with limited access). Steve, Duncan, and Andy carried out work cheerfully, professionally, and efficiently, and were most pleasant and helpful, removing all cut debris and leaving garden tidy on completion. I would highly recommend this company again, as I was extremely satisfied with all work carried out, and would not hesitate in contacting Mattree again in the future. Good value.
Rosemary Arnott24/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
For two days, I had a team of three men pruning my 30ft tall laurel so it will flourish as hedges in future. This was no easy job and they tackled it with gusto, clearing up well as they went; nothing was too much trouble. All cut materials were removed from site to be used commercially for fuel. The work was professionally done at an excellent price. Matthew Barton and his team were prompt, polite (actually charming), quiet, very hard-working and no trouble at all. I have no hesitation in recommending this company and will be using it for all my tree pruning and hedge cutting.
Rosie Jordan27/03/2011