We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

R & S Plumbing & Gas Services Ltd

Logo on white
Profile thumb thingfortim

5.0

57 Reviews

About

Welcome to R&S Plumbing Services

R & S Plumbing & Gas Services is a Cheltenham based plumbing company. We cover all of Gloucestershire and travel further afield when requested. We pride ourselves in offering high quality plumbing, with reliable service at a fair price.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
  • More Services

    • general plumbing and heating
    • no job too small

Customer reviews

5.0
57 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
R & S Saved the Day!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a crisis under the kitchen sink which R & S fixed! Russ came on time and cheerfully tracked the problem down. New parts were required and they swiftly appeared. All in all it was a very satisfactory event: life is now back to normal! I would strongly recommend R & S.
Customer in Gloucestershire08/08/2019
Great work, very thorough, friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the servicing of my boiler. Russell is very friendly and shared a lot of useful information on the boiler and to help with some other work I need to have done. He was a lot more thorough than others I have used in the past and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and to use again.
Robert, Gloucestershire25/06/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Am so happy to have found Russell on “Which Trusted Traders”. He is a true professional, with a quality of work superior to most Cheltenham plumbers I have used over the past 20 years. Will certainly use him again.
Customer in Gloucestershire03/06/2019
Excellent service and fast response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell responded promptly to a leaking toilet emergency, despite having a full workload for the day. He was most professional and went out of his way to be helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and he gave advice to stop a similar problem happening again. Excellent service, very good personal skills. Would recommend without hesitation.
Tamara, Gloucestershire24/04/2019
Having confidence that the work is properly completed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
For the second year I have used this company to service my gas boiler and heating system. The second year because the first year the work was completed in a very professional way and I feel that I can always call should anything go wrong knowing it would be put right. This engineer know his stuff and can put right anything in a heating system to my experience at the right price.
Customer in Gloucestershire30/12/2018
Courteous and Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russ gets my 5* review because, unlike many other plumbers that I have experienced, he returns calls, arrives when promised, is polite, gives an explanation of work needed and always completes jobs to a high standard.
Julian Pass27/11/2017
Speedy and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of induction hob with Gas - Russell was on time, quick to do the job, a pleasure to have in the house and not expensive. He also arranged for a good electrician to call in quickly to complete the job. Trustworthy and professional.
KPG123408/10/2017
Simple job done efficiently
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The kitchen tap had come loose. Russel turned up at the agreed time (to the minute) and fixed it at reasonable cost - and was friendly as well. He even showed me how I can fix it if it happens again.
philip25/07/2017
1st class professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can really only endorse all the reviews already entered. Russell replaced (and relocated) a faulty shower pump that an earlier plumber had incorrectly installed in the loft and on a second job replaced a broken sink tap. Brilliant guy. Friendly, knowledgeable and efficient.
John Rogan10/07/2017
Brilliant company, will use again and recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell was punctual, pleasant, tidy and gave me all the info he was doing at all times. Came to service my boiler and also did my gas safety certificate.
Amie O'Neill05/07/2017
Fantastic Job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used Russell to fix pluming issues. This time Russell fitted new taps, waste and fittings for the downstairs loo. I have to say I'm very hard to please, however Russell managed this with bells on. He arrived early, did a fantastic job, which included making parts for the waste as the original parts were not good enough, and left the house looking shinny (the new taps and waste shinning away) and clean. I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Suzanne11/05/2017
Plumbing sorted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recruited R+S from Trusted Traders and he didn't let me down. Despite a busy schedule he arrived as promised and quickly detected the fault to my heating system. He carried out the repairs efficiently and it was apparent he had many years of experience in the trade. He ensured everything was functional before leaving the property and I would have no hesitation in employing his services again.
V91567907710/05/2017
Reliable and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A reliable, knowledgeable and efficient plumber, who provides a friendly and helpful service at a very reasonable cost. He is very good at fault finding and solving problems. We have used his service for general plumbing jobs on a number of occasions, and have always been pleased with his work.
Ken Deacon24/04/2017
Boiler Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My Vaillant boiler was well overdue for service and I wanted a professional to undertake the job who understood the brand and offered good service. I found this and more in Russell from R & S Plumbing and Gas Services Ltd. He was punctual, extremely thorough, took the time to show me and explain what was involved in the service and was very competitive in his pricing. I have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone looking for a reliable gas engineer to undertake boiler work. I have already booked him to return for further servicing and will use his company again when the service is next due on my boiler. Finding a reliable Gas Safe registered engineer is often difficult but you'll find all these qualities in Russell from R & S.
Andrew N13/04/2017
Would I use again? Yes definitely.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Honest: he explained the job and illustrated a cheap solution to a potential costly problem. Accurate: he accurately assessed the time to be taken and even had shoe covers to avoid making a mess. I found him to be very competitively priced. I would definitely use him again.
Fixedmyboiler26/01/2017
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell fitted a new boiler for us. He was very thorough, punctual & tidy. We would certainly use him again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to others.
L Tolliday27/11/2016
Professional & thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell carried out a very thorough and professional service of our boiler. He did a methodical job and identified a few issues concerning previous work. He was able to find a spare part and fitted it as part of the service. Reasonable cost. I would certainly recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer26/11/2016
Very good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell fitted new bath mixer taps in my very compact bathroom with very little room to work but did a good job and left it clean and tidy. Very pleased.
Cherry, Gloucestershire18/10/2016
Replacing radiators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Russell several times to service our boiler and gas fire. This week he installed four radiators. We have always found him punctual, polite, helpful, most experienced, capable and tidy. We do not hesitate to commend him with the highest possible rating, for his work and personal qualities.
John, Gloucestershire17/10/2016
Would definitely use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell has done a nice professional job of installing downstairs toilet. Clean and tidy worker and cheerful disposition . I thought he was reasonably priced and he kept me informed of additional parts that required purchasing, also did not charge for time spent acquiring said parts. Very pleased with the work Lin Gardner
Linda01/09/2016
Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell was very thorough and ensured that everything was working properly before he left the property. Excellent job!
Nicky, Worcestershire25/08/2016
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell fitted us a near stopcock under the sink in a very efficient and professional way. On finishing the job, he left everything very clean and tidy. We would call him again if we needed a plumber.
Freda, Gloucestershire24/08/2016
Fast dripping tap and Valiant boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell arrived on time and got straight to work removing the very stubborn tap to replace the 1/4 turn cartridge - he did both taps. There was no damage to the finish despite needing to exert a lot of energy. I was very impressed by the thoroughness of the service my boiler got. I can recommend Russell to anyone. In fact I already have.
Susan, Gloucestershire19/08/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
R & S installed a complete central heating system & hot water supply. The work was carried out in a very professional manner with as little disruption as possible. Everything was left neat and tidy at the end of each day. I was given clear instructions for using the system & I am delighted with everything. Excellent work. Recommended highly.
Peter, Gloucestershire14/06/2016
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell was fantastic, to the point and real value. The best plumber i have come across. I will be only using him from now on - Chris
Chris120/05/2016
Above & beyond service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell was brilliant-helpful, professional & friendly. He went above & beyond to fix our problem. We would definitely recommend him & would use him again without hesitation. We were so pleased with the service we received-he's a real find & does a fantastic job. An absolute star!
Rachel Connor11/04/2016
The Very Best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had accumulated 6 jobs, two of which were unusual and required ingenuity to fix. A third was the annual servicing of the central heating system. Mr Hicks arrived on time, assessed the work required in a methodical and professional way and proceeded without fuss to complete the tasks as scheduled. His charges were most reasonable. I rate MR Hicks as 5 Star in all categories and strongly recommend his to anyone wanting a professional to do their work.
John H, Cheltenham11/04/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell turned up on time, attended to problems quickly and professionally and only charged what was necessary. He put carpet protectors on his shoes, made no mess and was friendly and knowledgeable. My dripping shower head should have been a quick job but for various reasons it took longer than originally thought. Russell was determined to fix it and didn't charge for the extra time it took him to sort it out. Was very impressed and will use him again.
richard.124204/04/2016
Goes the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found Russell on Which Local and was impressed with the reviews so decided to give him a try. He turned up on time, attended to problems quickly and professionally and only charged what was necessary. He put carpet protectors on his shoes, made no mess and was friendly and knowledgeable. My dripping shower head should have been a quick job but for various reasons it took longer than originally thought. Russell was determined to fix it and didn't charge for the extra time it took him to sort it out. Was very impressed and will use him again.
2011-08-01 20:58:29.62704/04/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell provided an excellent service and was very friendly and professional. He's clearly extremely knowledgeable about gas and was happy to answer any questions. I would certainly recommend him and will make use of his expertise if required in the future.
Mr JDSchofield03/03/2016
Boiler repair and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant person and gave me lots of info regarding my boiler. Very professional and tidy worker would definitely recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer17/02/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell provided an excellent service and was very friendly and professional. He's clearly extremely knowledgeable about gas and was happy to answer any questions. I would certainly recommend him and will make use of his expertise if required in the future.
Mr JDSchofield11/02/2016
Thorough, competent and friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Text me to tell me he was going to be a few minutes late. He was literally only 5 minutes late. A very professional start. Was clean & tidy all day looking after my carpets when going upstairs. Job took 9 hours (complete radiator change). He was happy the entire time. Excellent job. Very happy.
Kim, Gloucestershire09/02/2016
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell was punctual, courteous and provided an excellent boiler service. I would highly recommend him to others as he takes great care and pride in the service provided.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/02/2016
Prompt, professional, brilliant - good to know
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having tried our usual plumber et al and all were too busy or did not reply, I then used my Which? membership to seek a reliable plumber for my central heating boiler. I received prompt response, and appointment 2 hours later. I was absent during the visit but my wife was treated politely. Thought was put into the problem - repair made - perfect. This man will now replace my usual tradesman.
John H, Gloucestershire22/01/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Mr Russell Hickson more than one occasion and found him to be most obliging, efficient and an extremely clean worker. We have been extremely pleased with all aspects of work He has undertaken. To be highly recommended.
Richard, Gloucestershire18/01/2016
Entirely lived up to 5 star rating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very quickly identified the cause of the problems and provided simple solutions at a very reasonable cost.
Terry, Gloucestershire08/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up exactly on time, friendly and very efficient. Russ serviced the gas boiler in the tricky loft space, replaced a seal, cleaned & checked the magnaclean and re-filled the system with inhibitor & leakseal. All for the agreed price. Well recommended.
CanonG2fan04/12/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up exactly on time, friendly and very efficient. Russ serviced the gas boiler in the tricky loft space, replaced a seal, cleaned & checked the magnaclean and re-filled the system with inhibitor & leakseal. All for the agreed price. Well recommended.
CanonG2fan 04/12/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell helped to repair some leaking toilet cisterns. He dealt with the job promptly and professionally with minimum disruption to the rooms involved. I consider his service to be good value and I would certainly use him again.
BazM30/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell helped to repair some leaking toilet cisterns. He dealt with the job promptly and professionally with minimum disruption to the rooms involved. I consider his service to be good value and I would certainly use him again.
BazM28/09/2015
Great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell is prompt, friendly, knowledgeable and also good work. He gives regular follow up and really great customer care.
David, Gloucestershire20/09/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came on agreed date did the job, were polite and spent time running through controls etc. Highly recommended.
Marty, Gloucestershire09/06/2015
Fantastic, reliable, honest & friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russel was recommended to me via a colleague. He was able to come quickly and was able to sort the problem straight away. Another issue occurred while he was here and he happily stayed until it was fixed. Couldn't recommend highly enough. Great value too!
Kathryn, Gloucestershire08/06/2015
Friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell provided an excellent service and was very friendly and professional. He's clearly extremely knowledgeable about gas and was happy to answer my questions and explain things. Would certainly recommend.
Benjamin, Gloucestershire05/06/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
very honest and reliable service. Would recommend this company without hesitation.
Keith, Gloucestershire20/05/2015
Great work and a really nice chap
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell has been our plumber for about 10 years and during this time has done lots of jobs for us including two big projects (bathroom and cloakroom). His work has been consistently excellent. We would never even think of going to anybody else!!
Philip, Gloucestershire08/05/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell replaced/moved four radiators, replaced a kitchen sink and tap, replaced bath taps, checked over my central heating system and serviced the boiler. I cannot recommend him highly enough - knowledgeable and skilled, the quality of his workmanship is first class. Add to this very reasonable charges, a friendly,honest and helpful manner and you have the complete professional.
irm31/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended!! He came on the same day and spent over two hours trying to fix my boiler (old model) but he couldn't even asking some friends. He did not charge me a penny, he was honest and fair Definitely i will call him again
luiscastromil24/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rang Russell in the morning and he got back to me later that day to arrange a visit the next day. He kept us informed of when he would be around on the day of the arranged visit and quickly effected repairs to a faulty bathroom flush box. A good service all round. Russell was smart in appearance and wore shoe protection in the house throughout.
dickyt22/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell rang first to confirm attendance. His work was of a very high standard with attention to detail. This included a fault with the toilet, fitting a new mixer tap in bath and giving the boiler a thorough service. He is a solid technical plumber whom I will use again. Good value for money.
dart3415/05/2014
Really friendly chap
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Drained all our system as part of on-going maintenance really friendly chap , he was recommended to us and he came straight away in a really cold winter, always punctual and keeps you informed
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Russell did some pipework in my kitchen. A great job and came back promptly to fix a niggle. Friendly, reliable and good value. Will use again.
linzetravis18/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned up with emergency. Boiler not producing hot water and visitorsAlthough busy all day he squeezed me in at the end of the day and sorted me out double quick. Someone else had suggested it needed a much bigger intervention but this plumber checked the system and advised me to monitor the system following his actions to see whether that solved the problem. Honest, knowledgable, polite, tidy. Will use again.
Nonio16/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Very reliable and extremely helpful. A pleasure to do business with.
abeck03/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good response, quick, punctual, competitive pricing and fitted my new central heating system quickly and was able to do extra jobs for little increase in price
drderbyshire01/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have all used their services with excellent results; punctual, reliable & pleasant.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer15/07/2009