We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Rich Electrical Ltd

Logo on white
Profile thumb logo lo res

5.0

41 Reviews

About

Rich Electrical is a good, honest electrical firm set up by Ed Rich, a born and bred North Londoner who has a genuine passion for electrics. In fact, Ed’s wife, daughter and son frequently get pretty sick of hearing about inductive loads, ohm’s law, conductor surface areas and earth fault loop impedances…

Ed, being the bright spark that he is, retrained in his mid-twenties and, unlike lots of people that call themselves “Electricians”, has done a full-length City and Guilds 2330 level 2 and 3 and 2382 17th Edition course, so is fully qualified and also backed up by the NICEIC’s Part P competent person scheme, a legal requirement for anyone doing any serious install in domestic premises.

Ed will treat you and your house with the utmost respect – the little things like explaining what he is doing and why in a clear way, trying to save you money by finding ways around your electrical problems and cleaning up thoroughly all make for a more pleasant tradesperson experience.

www.richelectrical.co.uk

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services

Customer reviews

Reviews summary

5.0
41 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Electrics for a garage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We hired Ed to complete the electrical work on our garage adding a second electrical unit to give us power sockets and lights. We were very pleased with his work which was tidy and efficient. Ed communicated clearly everything that was required and the work was completed on time. We would be happy to recommend Rich Electrical.
Savvy Shopper Today19/09/2018
Professional, Reliable and Competitively Priced Electrician.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the course of this summer, Ed has carried out the following jobs for us : • Install of new Consumer Unit. • Fitting of 3 PIR Lights. • Tidy up of electrical connections in garage. • Installation of downlights and new pendant light in kitchen. • Installation of new sockets in two bedrooms. • Fitting of 2 new ceiling and 1 wall light. This work was carried out over 3 visits and in parallel with other building works and the fitting if a new burglar alarm. Ed was reliable and professional in his dealings with us and the other contractors involved. He always came at the agreed time and let us know in advance of any other jobs or holidays he had planned. We weren’t the easiest of customers as we changed our minds on a few things after he had started the job. Ed accommodated our requirements where he could, offering alternative solutions when our requests could not be met. Ed’s pricing was competitive and best of all he did not try and upsell the job. We originally asked him to carry out the first two jobs listed above but the list grew once we realised how good he was. Within days of completing the work, we received the certification we required. I would not hesitate to use him again and would recommend him to local friends and family.
Cheryl Cardoso14/09/2018
Fast, efficient and well priced electrical rewire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rich Electrical Ltd was hired to rewire the electrics in my old Victorian house. He was very knowledgeable, provided good advice and was able to complete the job within 2 days (including fitting of a new fuse box). Very friendly, efficient and well priced service and also all work was guaranteed (which is important!). I would have no problems in recommending Rich Electrical Ltd to friends and family.
Dirk Demuth02/09/2018
Ed is very professional & always reassures me whilst carrying out work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed replaced my fuse box, fitted new plug sockets and changed my security lights. The work was always done on the agreed time & budget unless another issue had arisen whilst carrying out the work which he would explain very clearly. The thing that stood out for me was his very friendly mannerisms & the way he would explain what was needed to be done. If a problem arose after the work was carried out he would always try to rectify the issue as soon as possible.
cedricfwo30/08/2018
Good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of a faulty RCD unit. Ed was professional and did the job quickly and was able to diagnose the problem, which turned out to be a faulty RCD. Robert
Robert24/08/2018
Job Well Done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed carried out an installation of a consumer unit . The work was carried out promptly and efficiently. He completed a Certificate of Compliance as required and any queries were answered. Ed works in such a way that you have confidence in him and his work.
Paul Mon22/08/2018
Professional Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed is a very professional electrician. One I would recommend He came round and assessed what needed to be done and gave a clear quotation. He and his team carried out the work to a professional standard. Will have no hesitation in recommending Rich Electrical Ltd.
R De Silva15/08/2018
Highly recommendable!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Outstanding service! Prompt, efficient, courteous, and reliable. My husband, a qualified electrical engineer, now unable to do any work, highly recommends Ed. It is such a relief to me, to know that any electrical work in my home, will be carried out by such a qualified and trustworthy person.
Shirley Welton15/08/2018
Skilful, efficient and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted to update my consumer unit - or "fusebox" or "circuit breaker box" as you might call it. I had several estimates, mainly from Trusted Traders electricians. Several made heavy weather of the job, claiming that I'd have to pay them to test the entire electrical installation first, and then they might decide that the job couldn't be done. Ed Rich was a delight to deal with. He produced a professional estimate very quickly, the price was competitive and there were no hidden extras. On the day of installation he and his colleague were very tidy and considerate, there was no mess and he made sure that when we had to disconnect from the power supply it was at a time which suited us. I really couldn't ask for more, and I'd use Rich Electrical again without hesitation.
Jonathan Grunewald14/08/2018
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can only speak highly of Ed....I wasn’t sure the light/fan could be fixed but after examining the fitting he explained what had to be done and after going to obtain a part in a short time he had it working. Quickly and efficiently. So pleased with his work shall definitely contact him for future electrical issues and have recommended him to friends.
J Smith14/08/2018
Thoroughly reliable professional electrician...
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Ed based on many previous positive reviews, and did not disappoint. What started off as a small job, replacing a hall light and outdoor security light, turned into a more complicated one due to historic rewiring issues. Throughout all Ed was very patient, informed us at all stages of what work needed to be done and completed the task in a very efficient manner, even fixing some floor boards. We are very confident that the work done is of a very high standard and have no reservations in using him again. This was the second time we used him. Highly recommended.
Giovanna Di Toro30/07/2018
Efficient, reliable, tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed has done a number of little things around the house for us, but recently he replaced our out-dated fuse board. The job was done quickly and competently, with no mess and as little disruption as possible. Everything was tested and now we feel secure that our wiring is reliable. Reasonable cost, and I will certainly use him again, for small and large jobs. Highly recommended.
Lesley S23/05/2018
A Competent Professional Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I employed Ed on the excellent recommendations made on Which by previous reviewers and I was not disappointed with my decision. Ed arrived promptly at the appointed date and time and carried out the work of installation of submain for my oven and microwave. He also fitted my new microwave. We were very pleased with his work and his willingness to understand our requirements. He was professional, competent and very friendly. I have no hesitation to recommend ED. Ben (Harrow) 14 December 2017
2010-02-24 15:11:11.68314/12/2017
Ed is a professional and friendly electrician who takes care over detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would highly recommend Ed Rich after the fantastic work he provided for our project. Ed personally oversaw the complete overhaul of the electrical system in our dated 1960’s town-house as part of a complex refurbishment project during 2017 which included ‘gutting’, re-planning and modernisation of the whole interior. Ed coordinated with client, main contractor, other subcontractors and architect in a professional manner. As an architect, I was extremely impressed at Ed’s attention to detail, continuous helpful advice which enabled us to achieve the design we intended despite the many obstacles we faced, and of course Ed’s care in reading through our project drawings. Ed truly had a ‘can-do’ attitude despite the manifold design challenges we had! The work Ed carried out for our project was: >1st fix stage (perseverance), chasing for cabling and back-boxes >New electrical system, distribution board, electrical outlets >New lighting system, some awesome LED strip lights, studio style track-lights (most on dimmers), spotlights >Interlinked wired fire alarms >Wiring and outlets for phone, network, television and cable >Power and fan control wiring for a whole-house mechanical ventilation system >Electrical wiring for kitchen appliances, boiler >Neat & careful workmanship setting out and installation. Outlets, switches & lights were all evenly spaced and orthogonal. Where track lights and LED profiles had to be cut to length on site, this was done with the utmost precision
Poul Anderson14/11/2017
Prompt quotation, very attentive, good quality finish and curteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed was very punctual in coming to assess the work required and providing the quotation. Turned up on the date and time agreed. Speed and Quality of workmanship was very good. Left with all the items replaced to dispose and the kitchen was left in very clean condition. It was replacing a kitchen extractor fan. Can highly recommend him.
Biswas14/10/2017
A very professional trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed has done work for me previously. The current job is relatively small but Ed responded quickly and professionally. I didn't have a solution in mind but he was able to advise on the best (cost effective) solution and to do it quickly. I should definitely recommend him and will use him again as first choice for large and small electrical jobs.
Chris Lomax21/09/2017
Complete rewire of 3 bed semi
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had struggled to find a contractor to undertake this work, and on advice from a friend tried Which? Trusted Traders. I selected Rich Electrical based on the reviews and have not regretted my decision. Ed turned up when he said he would, kept in contact and I am delighted with the job which was done in excellent time and as far as I am concerned was good value for money for the amount of work involved. A job on this scale in what was an occupied property is a daunting prospect, but Ed and his team made it so much easier. Highly recommended.
Patricia19/05/2017
Excellent work, reliable and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was to install some lighting (indoors and out). Ed replied promptly to my initial enquiry, arrived on time and throughout was friendly and polite. Ed always explains what he's doing and why and happily answers any questions. We're really pleased with the work and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ed to others. We will always try and get him in for any future work.
Jess & Alex10/04/2017
Outstanding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was to run power down to our new shed/office plus other electrical work around the house. Ed was superb in all respects; reliable, tidy, professional, fairly priced and on top of that, a really friendly guy. Would not hesitate to use him again. Definitely a trusted trader.
2011-08-13 11:11:01.0116/11/2016
Tidy, efficient, prompt, high quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was encouraged by other people's reviews here on Which? Trusted Traders and emailed Ed Rich about installing sockets in a new garden building. He made a detailed site visit, listened to our ideas and needs and quickly sent in an email quotation. The resulting work was completed on time and finished to a very high standard. Ed is a personable and clearly a knowledgeable contractor.
MaggieT12/11/2016
Safety checks & house rewire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed is the kind of tradesperson you always hope to find: knowledgeable, thorough, accommodating, neat, timely, straightforward, friendly. I would definitely engage him again, and can thoroughly recommend him to others.
2011-03-13 23:12:38.41709/11/2016
Brilliant professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, friendly, competent, quick and tidy also reasonable If we need anymore work doing in the future, which we most probably will do, we will not hesitate to ask Rich Electrical Ltd. Highly recommend.
Elizabeth Derbyshire13/08/2016
Quick friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very satisfied, friendly service, quick and efficient worker, very helpful and reasonable charge.
Harding1518/07/2016
Rich Electrical highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed Rich has done a lot of work for us since our move to this house in 2013, including extending power and light to a new garden room, installing wall lights, illuminated mirrors and other light fittings, and wiring up and installing lights and power points in our new library and utility room. He is completely reliable, honest and his charges are very reasonable. He gives good advice and is always pleasant and good humoured even under pressure, and worked well with our builder's other tradesmen. We would highly recommend him.
Jill MG16/03/2016
Decent Human and Trustworthy Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed Rich has done several jobs for me to date so I know him to be a good/proven electrician who can be trusted to do a professional, honest and thorough job every time. So Ed is a rare breed and a far cry from the more common and far too often encountered cowboy traders of today who lie to you upfront about their competence and then end up doing shoddy/dangerous works that rip you off and cause you grief and hassle to rectify. Over and above that, Ed is someone who is decent, helpful and pleasant to deal and do business with. He is also respectful of your time, money and property and so is reliably punctual and fair on his pricing, gives good advice on electrical matters and also cleans up any mess created. Ed is the best electrician I have worked with to date and I have no reservation in recommending him here.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer10/03/2016
Always professional & friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've had Ed from Rich Electrical do several jobs from simple switch fittings to a huge rewire of our downstairs. He's always prompt, friendly and does an excellent job, I can't recommend him highly enough.
Oscar, London04/03/2016
Very reliable electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed was on time, personable, tidy and successfully sorted out various annoying small electrical jobs for us. I heartily recommend him.
DanWard03/03/2016
survey of existing house electrical systems
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This contractor turned up right on time, did a thorough job, kept me informed throughout and his work which he did in an organised, clean and tidy manner. I hope he wins the tender to do the work as he seems to know how to manage jobs which are within his capacity to execute.
jimthebeggs03/03/2016
Installation of new consumer unit.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed installed a new consumer unit and electric shower. I found him very honest and straightforward. Gave good advice and job was done to a high standard. Would recommend.
lesogorman02/03/2016
Full rewire, great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed did a full rewire of our two bedroom flat. He came highly recommended, and he lived up to the praise. He is really thorough and generally a lovely bloke. The rewire was done brilliantly and we're very happy with the work.
kamiwalbourne01/03/2016
Extremely Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed an electrician quickly to help my mother-in-law in difficult circumstances. I contacted Ed by email on a Sunday and was pleased to get a reply the same day. Ed's first reply was to ascertain that I did not needlessly call out an electrician and incur charges. Having ascertained that a site visit was in order, Ed came out in the evening and explained options to me and carried out the work there and then at a very reasonable cost. My mother-in-law was very pleased and asked me immediately to keep Ed's number for any future electrical work she needs.
Paul18/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I decided to update the fuse board on my let property now rather than later and called on Ed again. I had already used his services in Oct. My tenant said that 'Ed was really good and cleaned up well after his day'. He is a reliable time-keeper and notified me and my tenant of any changes. I have no hesitation in recommending Ed for electrical work.
PatriciaTeahan20/12/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Ed Rich through Which? Local. I needed an electrician to do an electric check on a let property. He came and did the job without any hassle. I would definitely call on him again if I needed any work done. Thanks Ed.
PatriciaTeahan20/12/2015
Excellent Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend Ed from Rich Electrical. I called him late on Fri evening and he listened to my description of the caused fault by another engineer. He offered me to call him back in the morning if I could not find another electrician to do the job. After unsuccessful attempt to find another electrician in short notice I called Ed on Sat morning again and he kindly fitted my work in his busy morning schedule within less than 2 hours. He arrived promptly and without exaggeration he identified the fault within minutes of inspection. He managed to fix it within half an hour. Ed fixed the light switch problem very efficiently and at reasonable price. He is very friendly and knowledgable and he will definitely be my first call for any further electrical work. The other electrician who messed me up for over 3-4 weeks and not even fully fix the fault I will not use no longer.
Blen1224/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a new security light. When I telephoned Ed he was in the middle of another job but said he would try and come later at 4.15pm. He arrived on time and despite the failing light and bad weather conditions replaced the light very quickly. I would certainly re-use again in the future
Jade05/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Ed to install two new plug sockets and to run a phone socket into a room. Another electrician had quoted and said I needed to replace my board, however Ed suggested an alternative solution which was a lot cheaper and compliant with current regulation. Turned out the phone socket I thought we had to extend from was not active - so he went out his way to find a way round it. Cleaned up well after himself and was good on price. Also quick to respond and pop back over on his day off to look at a problem I thought I had with one of the plugs - turned out to be nothing and Ed confirmed the type of sockets he installed with a trip, sometime heat up. Would recommend him.
Chigs04/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted a small job done, and Ed made no difficulty about that (unlike some tradesmen). He arrived promptly, and worked efficiently, making no mess. He also gave me good advice over the phone when a fuse went in the kitchen, talking me through the process of finding where the problem lay; it was the toaster. This meant that we did not need a call out, and we were not incommoded for more than a few minutes. His charges are reasonable, and I have no hesitation in recommending him.
lesleypsmith30/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed arrived promptly and on time. Quickly identified the problem on the wiring.Using a part from his van, was able to rectify and all for a reasonable price.Excellent service.Would have no hesitation in recommending him.
gerry629/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed was extremely helpful and efficient and just got on with the job without complaint, sometimes under trying circumstances. We had a lot of electrical work done including a full rewire, the addition of various internal and external lights, sensors, CAT5 and AV services, low voltage lighting, extractor fans etc. Always pleasant and helpful and most importantly communicative. Every step of the way Ed talked to us about the work, how we wanted things setup and so on, arranged times and dates to suit everyone involved and did a splendid job. I was particularly taken with the amount of thought that went into everything he did, I am sure other electricians wouldn't have paid so much attention to our needs and installed everything for OUR benefit and not just for the ease of installation.
vince.picton22/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ed, is starting his own business and making a good name for himself by being extremely professional, hard working and proactive. He never focuses on finding problems or shifting blame to other tradesmen, instead he finds solutions at whatever you throw at him. He was amazing. We hired him to earth a few sockets he ended up doing the rewiring of our semi-detached house, change all lighting, LED spot lights, power sockets and light swtiches, having to lift floor boards and trace wiring to the walls under the plaster. Not to mention that half way through his job we had a problem with a builder and the project was on hold for 3 weeks. Despite this stand-still completely caused by another tradesman, he never complaint, instead he got straight into the job as soon as it was back up and running, hecomplete the work with no hiccups! Ed will have a brilliant future in his profession. Very reasonably priced, he never increased his core rate. In more than one occasion I have had to insist for him to charge for additional visits and despite this he has never done so. We are happy to recommend him to anyone (small or big jobs) and will be advising him to give us as reference for future costumers.
agraves01/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Young man starting his own electrical business having learnt his trade working for firms in the industry and recommended to us by friends. Really personable, friendly and helpful (our problem was a bathroom light not working and it turned out to be an issue with the fitting - Ed went off to a local building merchants to find another for us so he could replace it there and then). Apparently he does the full range of electrics from a complete re-wire to sorting out individual problems (as in our case). Despite only being in business on his own for a few months his order book is very healthy and I can see why - we shall certainly be recommending him to other friends. His charges were very reasonable as well!
David Airey08/02/2014