We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

S C Campbell's Decorating Services

Profile thumb fullsizerender
5.0

115 Reviews

About

I have over 30 years of experience across a wide range of projects. I am based in Loughton, Essex, and much of my work is from regular clients, word of mouth and Which Local recommendations. Over the years, many projects have taken me further afield, including London, Suffolk, and Berkshire.

My key areas of expertise are painting and decorating, including wallpapering.

I enjoy the process of discussing and agreeing the best products and finishes to use, in order to achieve results that my clients will be delighted with.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
115 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
High quality decorator who goes above and beyond
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are really delighted with the work carried out for us by Steve. Steve produced a very competitive quotation for the preparation and decoration of two large bedrooms, the hall, stairs and first floor landing. He was friendly and professional throughout, arriving on time every morning. He gave good advice on colour schemes and how to match materials to get the effect we wanted. All the work areas were effectively protected while the work was carried out. A great deal of care and attention went into preparation of the surfaces, including dealing with water damage and areas of damp. The house was always left clean and tidy with all materials cleared away and stored securely at the end of each day's painting. Steve has been most accommodating, fitting in with our requirements. He was flexible in our last minute requests to make alterations to the planned works and to complete additional work not originally quoted for. Nothing was too much trouble. All of the work was completed on time and to a very high standard. We are delighted with the end result and would happily recommend Steve to our friends and family and will use him again when we require further decoration services.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/11/2021 , work completed 12/11/2021
Good job, good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just wanted the exterior woodwork spruced up on my house. Steve was on time and worked hard. Actually done more than he had quoted for to create a better overall appearance. Rain upset his plans but he returned on the Saturday to finish the job.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/09/2021 , work completed 11/09/2021
My Spareleaze Hill neighbours are very complimentary. Job well done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Engaged Steve to paint the exterior of my house purely based on reviews. Not disappointed. He is a very polite, experienced, reliable and tidy tradesman. Extremely pleased with the quality of his work. Someone who listens to classical music whilst he paints, and drinks peppermint tea, was a pleasant surprise!
Customer in Essex Posted on 09/09/2021 , work completed 30/08/2021
Great job done to the highest standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am thrilled with the work Vick has done painting the exterior of our Victorian house; window casements and sills, rendering, mouldings, front door, architrave and doorstep all done beautifully, following what I think was a very reasonable quote from Steve. The house hadn’t been painted for several years so it was looking very rough. Now it looks fabulous. Steve and Vick are skilled, professional, friendly, interesting and just really pleasant to deal with.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/08/2021 , work completed 28/06/2021
Trusted painter and decorator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a great experience with Steve and his team, he was punctual, accommodating, flexible on a tricky project - gave good tips on paint suppliers. Would have no hesitation recommending him.
Sonya in Essex Posted on 18/08/2021 , work completed 01/06/2021
Friendly professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve painted our upstairs windows, which were previously looking cracked and old. Now, they look as good as new. Steve was friendly and professional throughout and cleared up thoroughly after the job. We also had issues with the weather but Steve was happy to accommodate to make sure the job was done properly.
Poppy in Essex Posted on 05/08/2021 , work completed 28/07/2021
Great work to an excellent standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his colleague Vic did some comprehensive decorating work to the front, back and side elevations of our house. This covered fascia boards and soffits, masonry walls, all woodwork including the garage doors and painting the porch floor. The work was carefully planned and was carried out to an excellent standard and on time. All the work areas were protected and left tidy at the end of the day. Both Steve and Vic were very friendly, helpful and a pleasure to have around. We are very pleased with the outcome and we will be happy to use Steve again whenever the need arises.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/08/2021 , work completed 26/07/2021
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was helpful and friendly and went to a lot of trouble to give me very good advice on the shade of grey to use for the hall, stairs and landing of my Victorian house. He turned up on time and has excellent communication. His work was neat and tidy and he was kind and charming and a pleasure to have around. I am delighted with the finished job which is superb. I really can't recommend him highly enough.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/07/2021 , work completed 13/07/2021
Steve was brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve impressed me from the beginning. Turned up on time and very pleasant to deal with. A reasonable quote plus most importantly he did an amazing job. Very efficient and house looked great afterwards. All in all, very happy and would definitely recommend him.
Karen in Greater London Posted on 28/06/2021 , work completed 10/06/2021
Exterior work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had the wooden sash windows at the front and back of the house repaired, where needed, and painted. A couple of the windows were stuck and these were freed and I now have fully functioning windows again. Vic carried out all of the work and every evening the house was left tidy and secure. Both Steve and Vic were friendly, polite and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, as long as it doesn't impact on their availability for my next decorating job! Thank you both for a beautiful job very well done.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/06/2021 , work completed 11/06/2021
A job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Steve on Which? and decided to call him based on the excellent reviews; it was a very good decision. Steve's colleague Vik carried out virtually all of the work. I was really impressed with the care and attention that went into the preparation and I'm delighted with the end result. I will definitely be asking Steve and Vik back to work their magic in the rest of the house.
LJB in Greater London Posted on 07/05/2021 , work completed 01/05/2021
Skilful, experienced painter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arranged with Steve to prepare & paint the exterior timber and rendering of my house. He was very professional, punctual and diligent. His work is top quality. He highlighted and addressed any defects rather than covering them up. He is somebody I would certainly call again for any such work.
Dasos in Greater London Posted on 26/04/2021 , work completed 22/04/2021
Great work, punctual, neat and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was brilliant! He was punctual every morning and worked solidly all day! He painted our kitchen, lounge, hallway, bedroom and bathroom in 4 1/2 days. There were lots of dark colours in the house before, painted woodwork and a black glittery bathroom ceiling which he has painted over. The house looks fresh and so much brighter! He protected all the furniture and flooring and his price was really reasonable! We really recommend Steve!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/04/2021 , work completed 26/03/2021
Highly professional and excellent quality workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work that Steve carried out in our bathroom and bedroom was fantastic. His professional work ethic and friendly demeanour meant it was a pleasure to have him here each day. He was punctual and the work area was always kept clean and tidy. The quality of the work done was excellent and Steve was able to expertly deal with the crumbling plaster on our walls. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending him. Am looking forward to seeing him on the next job!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/02/2021 , work completed 10/02/2021
Excellent professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was my lucky day when I asked Steve for a quote for painting my conservatory and kitchen. He is a really nice person to have around the house, a neat and tidy worker. All areas were covered before commencing work. His attention to detail was amazing. The quality of his work is exceptional. He was always punctual and worked hard. I will not be using any other painter/ decorator while he is available. He has given me a quote for painting my lounge and dining room which he will do early 2021. I would have no hesitation in recommending him and have already advised friends regarding his professionalism.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/12/2020 , work completed 14/12/2020
Excellent Decorators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and Vince carried out painting to external pipe work and window sills. They turned up on time and carried out the work to a high standard and were considerate, polite and hard working completing the work whilst keeping us advised of exactly what they were doing. Steve then returned to carry out painting to woodwork and kitchen walls and ceiling. His preparation and protection of all surfaces was excellent. He carried out the work to an equally high standard over two days. After finishing this work he cleared all items and even cleaned and vacuumed the kitchen floor. We will be calling upon Steve’s services again in future and on the basis of our experience would have no hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/12/2020 , work completed 13/12/2020
Beautiful Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and Vic were great to deal with. The work was carried out to a high standard, on time and on budget. The kitchen / lounge was painted with two colours and Steve made a great suggestion regarding this. Vic’s work was meticulous and areas kept tidy. When one of the colours was not right (my error), the issue was dealt with- with minimum fuss and hassle. I shall be using SC Campbell again and have already recommended them to friends.
Jane in Walthamstow Posted on 27/10/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
Excellent work - as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are repeat customers of Steve and are always happy to use him and would thoroughly recommend him because he always does an excellent job. In March this year he came again and decorated two of the bedrooms in our house. I didn’t (but should have) left a review at the time, as we were delighted with the very good work he did, which he managed to finish just ahead of lockdown. This week Steve returned to work on the outside of our downstairs bay window, fixing and cementing cracks and painting it, to weatherproof it ahead of winter. As always he did an excellent job to a very high standard. We shall employ him again in the Spring to decorate the rest of the outside of our house.
Helen in Greater London Posted on 20/10/2020 , work completed 19/10/2020
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Steve several times over the last few years. Steve and Vic painted and wall papered our daughters bedroom. Did a great job as usual. Kept to time and budget. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/10/2020 , work completed 09/10/2020
External paintwork
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am really pleased with the work from Steve and Vic, they are most professional with their attention to detail, leaving everywhere clean and tidy before they left each evening. Delightful to have them working at my house. The agreed schedule was on time and Steve's estimate was what I paid. He was helpful at our first meeting, his colleague Vic was very hard working, always on time, no regrets at my choice of painters.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/09/2020 , work completed 18/09/2020
Another great job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Steve's services before, and had no hesitation in asking him to do the painting of the front of my mum's house where a window bay had just been repaired and patched. Steve was excellent in replying to the initial enquiry and keeping me informed about when able to start. On the day he and colleague Vic did another excellent job and made me and mum very happy. Punctual, friendly, great finish and good value. Highly recommended.
Customer in Essex Posted on 21/09/2020 , work completed 19/09/2020
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a great job in getting rid of the old, messy, flaky paint on my balcony wall, patching up the surface and painting. Perfect timekeeping and communications. He squeezed in my job inbetween bigger projects and worked hard to complete the job in super quick time. Top job - thank you!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/06/2020 , work completed 15/06/2020
Great job - will use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve decorated my hall, stairs and landing, and living room. All done to agreed budget with a few minor adjustments made and agreed as the job went along. Steve covered furniture etc, with thought given to the environment - reducing use of plastic sheeting where possible. Before he left I asked him to quote for other areas of the house - including external - which need redecorating. He left, then came back in to clean windows in the front door again, as he wasn't satisfied with it. Have recommended him to a neighbour already!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/02/2020 , work completed 20/02/2020
Great job, thank you!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a reception area and landing painted before Christmas at short notice and Steve managed to fit the work in. I found Steve to be reliable and professional. He showed up on the dates and times agreed. His quote was clear and competitive and the work was completed to a high standard and to the pre-agreed budget. He also managed to complete the work within the allocated days agreed. I found Steve to be courteous and he was a tidy worker, which allowed us to continue our day-to-day lives with minimal impact. I will definitely be using Steve’s services in future and have no issue in recommending his work to others.
Customer in Essex Posted on 17/01/2020 , work completed 19/12/2019
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve decorated two bedrooms and our upstairs passageway. From the outset he listened carefully to our requests and advised us on the best way to achieve what we were after. He also took the time to advise on various types of paint and materials with which to do the job – helping us to reduce costs in the process. Steve works to incredibly high standards and we are delighted with the results. The work was also completed on time and to budget – which was important to us – and we would have no hesitation recommending him.
Mick and Dawn, Loughton Posted on 16/11/2019 , work completed 08/11/2019
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve painted our front room, dining room, kitchen and hallway with assistance from coworker Vic. They were punctual, professional and very friendly. Steve and Vic transformed walls which had been affected by leaks, as well as re-plastered walls and yellowing woodwork. I am very impressed with the quality of work and would highly recommend!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/10/2019 , work completed 31/10/2019
Good quality work with thorough preparation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and Vic carried out an admirable job decorating the exterior of our house. Our house is a Victorian detached property with wooden sash windows which had not been painted for many years. They did a thorough job preparing old flaking paint and filling rotten woodwork prior to the painting.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/10/2019 , work completed 02/10/2019
Excellent quality of work, professional and great customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the renovation of my wooden porch and front door. Steve and his associate Vic worked very professionally and to a high quality. I am delighted with the work they have done. Many compliments from the neighbours! The communication about the work was excellent . They arrived on time, worked very hard and left everything tidy at the end of each day. I would have no hesitation in recommending Steve to others for any external or internal decorating work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/09/2019 , work completed 11/09/2019
Very thorough work and reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed with the work carried out - it was thorough and quick. It was also reasonably priced. Thanks again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/08/2019 , work completed 28/08/2019
Great work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After visiting, Steve (who appeared knowledgable and well experienced) provided a reasonable estimate. On the agreed date Steve and his co-worker Vic meticulously prepared and repainted the wooden conservatories and its masonry. Throughout they were courteous, friendly, helpful and on time, working through a full day, tidying up after themselves as they went along. The work was completed to time, to a high standard and within the estimate. I am happy to recommend Steve for any decorating work and in fact have asked him to redecorate another area for me in the near future.
Paula Posted on 16/08/2019 , work completed 13/08/2019
Great Job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve had popped round previously and we discussed the job which was to have the outside of the house painted. He explained which materials he would be using and why. On day one and throughout the job Steve arrived promptly at 7.30 every day with his co-worker Vic and they got going immediately! They are very hard (and cheerful) workers and a pleasure to have around, very helpful in explaining different situations and with liaising with my carpenter who needed to replace some fascia boards. They were clean and tidy in their work and in the evening all paint/tools etc were put away neatly. The work was completed a week earlier than scheduled and to budget. I am absolutely delighted with the job and would employ Steve again for any other decorating work I need done in the future.
Jackie Foot Posted on 05/08/2019 , work completed 19/06/2019
A Very Professional Tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did an excellent job decorating the main bedroom, after stripping the walls ,which was quite a job, he lined the walls and painted them plus the woodwork . He worked through on the hottest day of the year which was no mean feat. Steve is very easy to deal with and very helpful and professional and is coming back for further work in the near future. We would recommend Steve without hesitation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/07/2019 , work completed 26/07/2019
quality work, friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve came over with his co-worker to refinish some external wooden window frames and doors. We were very pleased with the work, the wood was stripped back to bare state as agreed (quite a job for one of the doors which had layers of old varnish and wood stain), prepared, and finished with a base wood stain, and two-three layers of durable wood varnish over the next couple of days. The result is a great high quality finish, which reflects the care put into the work. The working area was also tidied each day. Steve and partner were friendly and put my elderly mother at ease as well, which was much appreciated. Definitely recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/07/2019 , work completed 28/06/2019
Strongly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Steve's services several years ago - large exterior wall. Commissioned him this year to paint new long external fencing (back garden); new shed: front fencing (small front garden); front door. Good preparation on one day in the week before meant the work was done efficiently within a week. He was also helpful in giving advice on paints to use. Site was left tidy and clean Was very satisfied and have commissioned him further to undertake the decoration of my study.
Customer in Essex Posted on 11/07/2019 , work completed 24/05/2019
Repainting Kitchen Cabinets
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Steve to repaint our handmade kitchen cabinets. They hadn't been painted for some time as we were worried about the quality of finish that could be achieved by hand. Despite being very busy, Steve managed to quote promptly for the work and we were struck by his knowledge and professional approach. He set a date with us to carry out the work and completed the work on time and on budget. The results are fantastic! He took such care with every detail of the job and the finish is perfect and not a brush mark in site. He was also very tidy and respectful of our home. In addition to his skill as a painter, Steve is a lovely person and we would not hesitate to have him in our home again.
Julia, Hertfordshire Posted on 03/07/2019 , work completed 03/07/2019
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve re-painted the walls and woodwork in my loft room. This work was completed within agreed timescales and at the price quoted in the estimate. I was impressed by the high standard of Steve's work and his attention to detail. His preparation was thorough and the work was undertaken with care and in a very logical order, leading to a great finish. Steve applied a number of coats to all surfaces, in some cases doing more than had been agreed to get the right result; he also took a pragmatic approach to help resolve an unforeseen issue with a leaking window frame. Steve is clearly someone you can trust to be in your home and I had no hesitation in leaving him to get on with this job at times when I was out. Steve probably isn't the cheapest decorator you will find, but if you are looking for someone who you can completely trust to do a very professional job and, overall, who offers good value, you have no need to look any further.
Customer in Essex Posted on 14/06/2019 , work completed 13/06/2019
Miracle Worker!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a wonderful job in rescuing my bathroom from an attack of black mould and brightening up my dismal peeling kitchen! He treated and painted both rooms beautifully and has really made both bathroom and kitchen look bright and inviting. The transformation is a miracle! Delighted with the results.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/06/2019 , work completed 09/06/2019
Strongly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our bedroom was a real challenge for decorating. Not only wonky walls, as is typical in many Victorian houses, but with a repaired damp patch under a window and around the chimney, and a burn from a fire in the roof! Steve was quick and efficient at waving his magic paintbrush, and the room looks lovely. We enjoyed his company while he was here. We will be using his services again and we do recommend him.
Customer in Essex Posted on 15/05/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
Highly recommended. Great work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Steve and Vic in our home for around 2 weeks and what a wonderful job they did, I had my hallway, 2 landings, dinning room and lounge painted and all my old woodwork including all skirting boards and 2 sets of french doors also 2 staircases transformed from oak to lovely white gloss. They work tirelessly and are extremely friendly and having them in our home for 2 weeks was fine you hardly notice they are there and clean up well after working also making sure all my furniture was covered well to protect it. I was more than happy with the cost as well considering the amount of work I had done so on this note I would recommend them to anyone I know and shall be calling them again when I next need any work to be carried out.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/05/2019 , work completed 22/03/2019
Fantastic job, very nice guys
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would highly recommend Steve & Vic. Great work, very tidy and personable.
Jo, Essex Posted on 16/04/2019 , work completed 16/04/2019
Could not recommend him more highly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Steve on Trusted Traders and he has just finished carrying out considerable redecoration both inside and outside our house, and we would not consider anyone else if we needed similar work carried out in the future. We found both Steve and his assistant, Vic, utterly reliable, professional and trustworthy. They did a really superb job, making sure the painting was completed to a very high standard, while causing hardly any disruption. They kept the areas they were working in incredibly neat and tidy. Both of them are also thoroughly pleasant and friendly people, and we enjoyed their company while they were completing the job.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/04/2019 , work completed 15/04/2019
Very satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Steve on Which Trusted Trader. In March 2019 he painted the hall, stairs, landing area and downstairs cloakroom. We are very pleased with the results and these areas of the house have been transformed. We would definitely use Steve again for any future decorating jobs. He is very reasonably priced, did a professional job and was clean and tidy. He was also very easy to have around the house for almost a week.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/03/2019 , work completed 19/03/2019
Excellent work redecorating our living room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and Vic did an excellent job of decorating the hallway and stairs in November 2018 (review already left for that) so we asked Steve to come back and redecorate our living room. This was a much smaller job so he only needed to come and do the work by himself. He did a fantastic job again and we are delighted with the papering and painting work he did. We would thoroughly recommend Steve for all decorating and painting jobs and hope to employ him again in future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/03/2019 , work completed 06/03/2019
Very professional, friendly & helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve redecorated the hall and landing of our Edwardian house. The quality of his work is excellent and the project was completed on time and in accordance with the estimate provided.
Customer in Essex Posted on 26/02/2019 , work completed 15/02/2019
Terrific job on spare room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve decorated our spare room, and we’re really pleased with the result; it has exceeded our expectations. I got Steve’s details off Which Trusted Traders back in January 2017, and he came out to quote at the time. I was finally ready to start work 2 years later, and got back in touch. Steve happily honoured the quote, and started within a couple of weeks. He’s been punctual, jovial, and delivered a finish that we’re really pleased with. He’s now given me the incentive to get on with finishing the rest of our home. Very much recommended.
Customer in Essex Posted on 16/02/2019 , work completed 16/02/2019
Really professional decorator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really impressed I found S C Campbell on Which Trusted Traders. He was really professional and even corrected work I had done by another decorator he was friendly and polite and very easy to get on with. I would recommend him for decorating work needing to be done.
Kathy, Essex Posted on 29/01/2019 , work completed 29/01/2019
Great standard of work and very friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a great job on transforming out Kitchen, Bathroom and Bedroom. Each room was not straightforward with peeling/ chipped paint and uneven walls but he has made them look fresh and so much brighter. We could never have achieved this finish ourselves. Steve is friendly and reliable with the job taking the exact time advised. He even filled in an area left behind by other workmen we had in to fit our bathroom. I would highly recommend Steve to complete any decorating project and I am sure we will be calling him again in the future.
Customer in Essex Posted on 23/01/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Bright new look
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve repainted my rather gloomy North facing kitchen just before the Christmas holiday 2018. I am very pleased with the bright new look – considering his brief was to paint the existing rather patchy walls and woodwork, I think he has transformed the kitchen into a bright space; he also went the extra mile by filling in flaking areas around the ceiling and coving, and the gap between work top area against the wall. Also the kitchen window's old woodwork has come up like new. Steve did a great job and I would be happy to use him again, he is reasonably priced and a clean and tidy workman.
Customer in Essex Posted on 13/01/2019 , work completed 14/12/2018
Fantastic job of decoration work of large hallway and stairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a fantastic job of decoration the hallway and stairs of our 3 storey Victorian house, including stripping the (many layers of) old wallpaper, plastering and filling cracks, re-lining the walls and then painting them. He also painting all the woodwork, including all the many spindles of the bannisters and all the doors. He and his helpmate Vic always arrived early every morning and worked steadily throughout the day. They hoovered and tidied up daily any mess that had been made. Steve’s quote was very reasonable and he was knowledgeable and helpful when advice was needed. Both Steve and Vic were very friendly and pleasant people and easy to get on with. They did such a great job that we have engaged them to come back and decorate our living room in the Spring and we would thoroughly recommend Steve for all decorating jobs.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/12/2018 , work completed 12/12/2018
Reliable, friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a great job on some interior painting work. He was recommended to us through my sister and did not disappoint - he is very professional, polite and accommodating, fitting us in before Christmas with a room we needed done urgently. His work was good quality and good value. We look forward to working with him again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/11/2018 , work completed 18/11/2018
Highly professional, knowledgeable, skilled and a true gentleman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I work as an interior colour consultant and met Steve for the first time after reading his reviews on this site and putting him in touch with my client. He quoted promptly and clearly for the project, which included preparing and painting a hallway, a staircase, plus wallpapering and painting a bedroom. We were immediately struck by his knowledge, attention to detail and his honesty. His quote was very reasonable, despite there being a large amount of preparation required. The work was completed on schedule, on budget and the results are amazing. Steve has been a pleasure to work with. He gets on with the job without fuss, gives great advice, is wonderfully tidy and a skilled decorator. I would not hesitate to recommend him for any project.
Stone Posted on 28/10/2018 , work completed 28/10/2018
Great job done promptly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish a great experience. On site visit by Steve and Vic to assess the job required, and then the quotation provided the same evening. It was great to have our exterior painting job (front house wall, storm porch and garage surround) carried out in what remains of the good weather. The wall also had its cracks repaired and filled, and the woodwork sanded down so that it all resulted in a great finish. Professional, prompt and tidy - nice people to do business with and would recommend without hesitation.
Frost Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
Excellent, professional Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and Victor decorated the interior of my flat. I had made several alterations to my flat. They rose to the challenge and made good all the bits of replaced plaster board and holes left by other trades. The finish was flawless no sign of the work carried out by the other trades. I found them to be professional and trustworthy. Ann
Ann Chorley Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
professional,courteous,highly reccomended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve is highly professional and very reliable. Me and my wife are very happy with the work he has just done for us. We will be getting Steve to do further work in our house, as were so happy with his work. Very highly recomended.Steve is also very friendly and trustworthy.
danny LC Posted on 17/10/2018 , work completed 17/10/2018
Professional, Reliable, Punctual and Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, Reliable, Punctual and Friendly I asked Steve for a quote to repaint my bedroom and bathroom ceiling because my previous decorator could not complete the work due to ill health. He replied promptly with a reasonable quote for the work compared to other decorators. Steve was very accommodating and empathetic regarding my situation- nothing was too much trouble. Great job. Highly recommended.
Sheena Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did my outside decoration and did a superb job. Very professional, excellent communication and advice. Highly recommended.
Howland Posted on 07/08/2018 , work completed 07/08/2018
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and Vic did a great job on painting the exterior doors, windows and masonry on our three storey house. Some of the woodwork around the windows and French doors was rotten and this was replaced / repaired. Steve kept us informed of progress and both he and Vic were professional and courteous. Job finished timely and all debris cleared. We've used Steve in the past for interior decorating but this is the first external job. Will definitely use him again.
David Lorraine Posted on 16/07/2018 , work completed 16/07/2018
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has just finished repainting the front of our terraced property, (masonry and gloss) having done the same work about 10 years ago to the same excellent standard. He and Vic have repaired chipped windowsills, prepared the surfaces thoroughly and completed the painting with no mess or fuss and with the minimum of upheaval. They work tidily, professionally and cleanly, and are unfailingly polite and friendly.
thermojem16 Posted on 15/06/2018 , work completed 15/06/2018
Professional and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
S C Campbell's Decorating Services repainted all our exterior. The work was carried out with great care and attention to detail. At times it was more restoration than repainting. We were particularly impressed with the preparation and the finish. They were very courteous and efficient at all times. We would not hesitate to use them again and to recommend them.
Elisa Brady Posted on 29/05/2018 , work completed 29/05/2018
Would not hesitate in recommending
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Typically for me left it too late in 2017 to get the exterior of my house painted having 'run out' of summer. Steve still came in late 2017 gave an estimate and told me that I would be one of his first customers for external work in 2018 should I still wish to proceed. True to his word Steve contacted me in April and began work on 8th May. Steve and his team are reliable, efficient, friendly and professional. They had a bit of a challenge as in places there was more masonry than paint on show. Their work is to a very high standard and they have made an amazing job of rejeuvanting the outside of the house. Steve made sure that he kept me up to date with progress throughout and actually finished a little ahead of schedule. Would definitely use again. Steve likes dogs too which is just a bonus!
Anita W Posted on 17/05/2018 , work completed 17/05/2018
Reliable and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Campbell has undertaken two decorating jobs for me. He does very good work of high standard. He was recommended to me and I have recommend him to friends.
Josephine, London Posted on 10/03/2018 , work completed 10/03/2018
Would recommend in an instant!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved into our first home just before Christmas and wanted to decorate 2 reception rooms as well as fitted bookcases/ wardrobes. From our first meet it was clear Steve was experienced and trustworthy, he gave us a competitive quote and a clear start date. Steve and Vic completed the job in 5 days - they were a pleasure to have in our home and highly professional throughout. We are delighted with the end result and will definitely be in touch should we need more work done.
Katie&Rhys Posted on 04/03/2018 , work completed 04/03/2018
A brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having been let down in the past by a number of tradespeople, Steve has been such a breath of fresh air. He was quick to give a quote - which was thorough, well considered and realistic. He also gave a clear indication of when he could start and stuck to it - so we could plan accordingly. Both Steve and Vic are professional, a pleasure to have around and real perfectionists. They have done a wonderful job redecorating our entire house and both my husband and I are delighted with the results. Have now asked Steve to come back and paint the outside! Thoroughly recommended.
shellymm1 Posted on 19/02/2018 , work completed 19/02/2018
The Mince Pie Job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a wonderful job decorating our hall and lounge. Over a period of nearly 3 weeks, 20 years of neglected paintwork was transformed with care and attention to detail. It was a pleasure to have Steve and Vic in our home - by the end it was like having family around. Looking forward to having them back in Spring to do the outside work.
Brasnett Posted on 04/02/2018 , work completed 04/02/2018
great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his team did a great job decorating our hall stairs and landing, which is a big job as we live in a townhouse. It was completed to a high standard, on time and was reasonably priced. We found him on this site and all our communications with him were professional and friendly. We felt comfortable to ask him to do the work whilst we were on holiday, so we trusted him with our home and our cat ! Because of this we wouldn't hesitate to ask him back again or recommend him to our friends.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/01/2018 , work completed 27/01/2018
Satisfied Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has just finished redecorating my lounge,dining room, hall, landing and stairs. I am delighted with the results, Steve and Vic are both polite and courteous around the house. They are willing to give help and advice when asked. They are extremely reliable and I would not hesitate to recommend them. I have in fact been using Steve to decorate my house for the last 20 years.
Louise, North London Posted on 02/11/2017 , work completed 02/11/2017
Excellent work and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Steve after seeing the reviews here, he came out to see me within a few days to do a quote and I received it quickly. Steve told me from the beginning that he was fully booked and it would be a few months before he could start, for me that was fine and I was happy for him to fit me in as and when he could do a room. He came to do my bedroom, which required some papering, coving, picture rail and decorating. To say I'm delighted with the result is an understatement, the whole thing was completed in 2.5 days and looks beautiful, definitely worth the wait. The gloss work is so smooth and the paintwork exceptional and Steve made sure everything was done to your satisfaction. I would definitely recommend Steve, you will get a job well done! I can't wait until he does the other rooms.
Saffib Posted on 29/10/2017 , work completed 29/10/2017
Satisfied Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Campbell did a very satisfactory job redecorating a kitchen. His work was thorough and came in a little below estimate. He was easy to talk to about minor problems where they occurred (as they usually do) and fully cooperative. He was pleasant and worked continuously. He helped me in a minor job which was not included in the quotation. I would certainly ask him to come again when the need arises a 5 star rating is well deserved.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/10/2017 , work completed 29/10/2017
A satisfied customer.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Steve to paint the exterior of my house. He was was always professional and courteous throughout our contact and did a great job. I would definitely use him again which for me, is the best recommendation for any trades person.
Derek H Posted on 17/10/2017 , work completed 17/10/2017
A Name To Remember
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Its always difficult to find a tradesman to do a particular job for you if you don't have a recommendation to fall back on. I needed somebody to do the woodwork and the paintwork on the outside of the house before the winter weather really set in. In the past I have tried using the trust a trader site and been let down by people either not turning up or turning up and then not following up their visit by sending me the quotation for the work discussed. Then I tried Which? Trusted Trader site for the first time leaving a message for Steve to call me back which he did very quickly and then followed up fast by a visit to my home. Right from our initial meeting I could tell that Steve was a very honest genuine person and very easy to talk to. He sent me a quotation as promised which I accepted and he started the work on schedule as promised and even managed to finish the job earlier than expected as the weather kindly co-operated and he had one of his colleagues with him for the final couple of days. A very professional job which I am really very happy with. Steve proved me right on my first impressions. He is genuine, honest and trustworthy and very reliable turning up when he says he will. He and his team work really hard and to a very high professional standard. It was a pleasure to deal with Steve and I would have no hesitation in using him again or recommending him to anyone! Thanks Steve, A good job well done!
Mike Jones Posted on 15/09/2017 , work completed 15/09/2017
A wonderful job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has just painted the exterior of my house. He was recommended by family and neighbours, so I was already confident that the job would be excellent. From the initial meeting to the final brush of paint, everything went well and, as good quality materials were used, and all surfaces were prepared patiently and properly, it will be many years before the paintwork will need re-doing. Steve is punctual, tidy, trustworthy and a pleasure to have around. Needless to say he is 100% recommended.
MorganL Posted on 09/08/2017 , work completed 09/08/2017
Excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work, friendly and helpful approach, would thoroughly recommend!
Nora Walsh Posted on 01/07/2017 , work completed 01/07/2017
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently used Steve to paint the exterior of our house. He spent time discussing the job and gave good advice on colours. We are very happy with the results. He was very friendly and professional throughout. We would certainly recommend Steve and will use him again
VickiChris Posted on 20/06/2017 , work completed 20/06/2017
Living Room - First Class Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and Co have recently completed our living room and have done a fabulous job. I have used numerous decorators over the years and it is great to have now found one who gives so much attention to detail and proper preparation. This has made all the difference and our living room now looks stunning. I can't fault Steve's work and will certainly be using him again in the future. Great value for money and with a first class result, thank you to Steve and his team. We were properly consulted throughout and Steve was extremely patient whilst we finalised our choices. I found him to be very trustworthy and everything was completed as agreed. I highly recommend his services.
TWilliamP Posted on 02/06/2017 , work completed 02/06/2017
Happy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve painted the outside of my house and I would happily recommend him to others. He and Vic prepared all the surfaces really well beforehand and the finish looks great.
Sally Posted on 31/05/2017 , work completed 31/05/2017
Happy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve painted the outside of my house and I would happily recommend him to others. He and Vic prepared all the surfaces really well beforehand and the finish looks great.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 31/05/2017 , work completed 31/05/2017
Hallway, stairs and landing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It has been a pleasure to deal with Steve and to have him and his associate Tina working in the house. He spent time discussing the job and gave helpful advice, for example, regarding paints. He and Tina completed all the agreed works and went out of their way to organise and supervise some unforeseen additional works and adapted their schedule to fit. We would certainly recommend Steve.
Wendym Posted on 21/04/2017 , work completed 21/04/2017
Excellent standard of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently used Steve to paint two rooms for us. The work was completed to a very high standard and within the agreed timescale. Steve gave good advice on colours and how to deal with a damp problem. We will definitely be using Steve again and have no hesitation in recommending him
Michael Posted on 20/03/2017 , work completed 20/03/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm very happy with the work Steve and his colleague Tina have done in my home. Steve came to my home and we discussed the work that I wanted done and I had a problem with mould and dampness in one of the rooms that was to be decorated. Steve explained fully of how he was going to treat this and if I had any questions about any of the work he was going to carry out he fully explained everything to me. He came back with Tina to introduce us and so Tina knew what work had to be done. I found both Steve and Tina friendly, professional, reliable and considerate. We discussed the colours I wanted and they brought the colour charts and we all discussed the colours together and they were so helpful giving me guidance. I'm very happy with the outcome of the colours. Nothing was too much trouble for them and a few tiny jobs were done that was not even discussed. Tina was very tidy whilst working and protected the surroundings of the rooms she was working in. The work they have done I'm very pleased with and believe me I'm very fussy and hard to please. I would highly recommend them to anyone. I often stayed whilst they were painting and was never made to feel uncomfortable or in the way. I also fully trusted them and left them quite often in my home whilst I went out. They also was so considerate of my two cats and we discussed the best way to paint so the cats would have a room they could stay in. I would 100% use Steve again.
karen Heley Posted on 02/03/2017 , work completed 02/03/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has recently decorated two rooms in our house and I cannot recommend him highly enough. Despite being busy he was able to fit us in at quite short notice, and was really helpful in sorting out paint samples and matching colours that we liked. Both rooms have been painted to a very high standard and are exactly as we wanted them. Steve was professional and friendly throughout, and a pleasure to have working in our home. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him and will definitely be using him again in the future.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/02/2017 , work completed 19/02/2017
Friendly, informative, and very good finish to the work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve is a very clear, considerate and helpful decorator. He was professional and reliable, and we have no hesitation in using him again. All our neighbours commented on his quality of work and a few are now using him also. Nothing seems to be a problem, and if it is he will carefully explain the situation and the solutions that are available. Fantastic.
N&D E18 Posted on 04/02/2017 , work completed 04/02/2017
Great job, nice chap. Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a beautiful job on our communal hallway. His input and advice on color choices were really helpful and much appreciated. We found him reliable, professional and a pleasure to have around. He even offered to come back after the carpets had been fitted and patch up any marks from the fitting- which he did promptly and free of charge. Would definitely use him again.
claire@35 Posted on 07/01/2017 , work completed 07/01/2017
Exceeded expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted Steve in July for Interior decorating. Fully booked Until Oct/Nov. He surveyed the work required, hall, stairs and landing, walls and woodwork painted. Written quote received within 5 days. Phoned him up October, still very busy but would we accept his associate. We agreed and a mid November time was agreed. 2 days before the due start he brought his associate, Tina, for a survey on work to be done. A timescale of 5/6 days was agreed. The work was started on time and immediately a professional attitude was apparent. Every surface not for painting was properly covered. Despite our changing our minds on a wall colour, thankfully not yet started, the work ran to plan and was finished on schedule with all evidence of activity cleared up and a final Hoovering. We cannot speak highly enough of the quality of the workmanship and the professional attitude throughout the exercise. Recommended without reservation.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/12/2016 , work completed 06/12/2016
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Steve to be professional, friendly, trustworthy, reliable and very accommodating. Steve painted my dining room and bedroom to a very high standard including making the walls good after I was left with damaged walls by an electrician. Steve is due to return to decorate the remainder of my house in December and I have already booked him to paint the exterior of the house next year. I am extremely happy with the work completed and would highly recommend Steve.
1974038 Posted on 08/11/2016 , work completed 08/11/2016
Redecoration of lounge, walls, doors ,woodwork, radiators and hallway
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1st visit from Steve was reassuring. He was professional, yet friendly and not intimidating and listened to my plans, discussed work to be done and as I'm disabled we agreed to carry out the work while I was away. We agreed a date, Steve came to collect keys and I felt confident of his integrity. On my return I was delighted with the result,the paintwork was excellent, all the carpets and furniture were intact, the lounge and hall clean and tidy, all work done as agreed and it all looked brilliant. I would not hesitate to recommend Steve as being highly competent, professional and entirely trustworthy.
Kate Franklin Posted on 06/11/2016 , work completed 06/11/2016
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I picked Steve based on the reviews I had read, and he certainly lived up to the good comments. An excellent job (exterior of house, painting four sides plus porch area) which required some repairs to cracks in the rendering. Steve and Vic were efficient, considerate, and helpful and always pleasant. Good weather meant the job progressed without breaks and we were very pleased with the result. Definitely a Trusted Trader.
Barry D Posted on 02/09/2016 , work completed 02/09/2016
Professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I decided to employ Steve after a number of other decorators gave me the run around. He gave me a prompt quote and a realistic time frame for my work to begin. Steve redecorated my living room and papered a wall in my back bedroom. He was clean , swift and of a high standard. I would have no hesitation using him again or recommending him to others.
Julia Wellby Posted on 01/08/2016 , work completed 01/08/2016
Professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his colleague Vic did an excellent and professional job painting the outside of my house. I was impressed with their preparation, protection of the surrounding areas and attention to detail. The exterior of my house now appears pristine and welcoming. They even went the extra mile and painted my bathroom radiator which the plumber had temporarily removed during my bathroom refurbishment. I shall be having them back to decorate the interior.
2011-08-07 14:44:35.563 Posted on 08/07/2016 , work completed 08/07/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his colleague Vic painted the outside of our house. They did an excellent and professional job despite some terrible weather and other assorted difficulties (my changes in some colour choices etc.) They are very nice people; friendly, cheerful and interesting. They were a pleasure to have around. We left for a few days during the job and they had access to the house, which was absolutely fine. The costs were very reasonable. I would recommend them and hope to have Steve back to paint our large front room.
BFlats Posted on 01/07/2016 , work completed 01/07/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was friendly, polite and professional, offered advice and listened to what I wanted. He kept me informed at each stage of the work which gave me confidence in his abilities and that he would complete to schedule. He always tidied up both inside and out so everything was done with the minimum disruption. The work was of a very high standard using good quality products and at a reasonable price. Overall I am extremely please with the results and will definitely use him again. Excellent work.
2011-07-30 12:35:20.547 Posted on 23/06/2016 , work completed 23/06/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his colleague Vic worked hard and produced an excellent result painting my house exterior despite some awful weather. They were interesting people and completely trustworthy as well as being very professional. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.
Harvey Posted on 15/06/2016 , work completed 15/06/2016
Excellent service from a highly skilled professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Steve as we needed our new bathroom painted. Steve's communication was excellent from start to finish. His attention to detail is commendable and resulted in a really good end result. We would happily recommend Steve to anyone and will definitely use him again.
2011-03-12 10:00:02.923 Posted on 12/06/2016 , work completed 12/06/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his colleague Vic painted the outside of our house. They did an excellent and professional job despite some terrible weather and other assorted difficulties (my changes in some colour choices etc.) They are very nice people; friendly, cheerful and interesting. They were a pleasure to have around. We left for a few days during the job and they had access to the house, which was absolutely fine. The costs were very reasonable. I would recommend them and hope to have Steve back to paint our large front room.
BFlats Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016
Whole House Decoration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did an excellent quality job decorating my whole house, he was the best quote out of the others I received and was reliable and friendly. I have already asked him to do another job for me. Highly recommended.
James Martin Posted on 02/06/2016 , work completed 02/06/2016
5 star service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did an amazing job painting my front room, wall to wall bookcase, hallway and landing. The quality of the work was excellent and he was most helpful with his advice. I would highly recommend him to anyone thinking of having work done. He was punctual, friendly and hardworking with a real care shown towards his work. Will definitely be asking him back again for more work.
victoria.osullivan Posted on 16/03/2016 , work completed 16/03/2016
Reliable Tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Helpful right from the start. Courteous and pleasant, Steve arrived on time and did a very good job. We would certainly use him again for any future work and would have no hesitation in recommending him to our friends.
Alf Donovan Posted on 22/02/2016 , work completed 22/02/2016
Ray 8/2/2016
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My daughter recently purchased a flat which had to be decorated throughout and needed to be done with some urgency. I have always done my own decorating but I am now of the age where it takes me longer to do and I find some jobs difficult. In all honesty I was dreading getting somebody in I did not know. So I turned to trusted traders and selected a few, Steve amongst them. Steve was the only one that provided me with a complete breakdown regarding labour and cost of materials. I contacted Steve and informed him of the situation I was in and to say he went out of his way to help would be an understatement. Steve arrived at my daughters flat and we went through everything in detail. Steve even worked weekends to help finish the job for us. Steve was punctual and did everything we asked. His work was excellent. We trusted him with the keys to the property and he left it clean and tidy when he had finished. Steve was a gem find and we will most certainly be using him again. I have no hesitation what so ever in recommending him. His estimate for the work carried out I felt was extremely reasonable. Thank you Steve.
2011-06-16 10:17:28.253 Posted on 08/02/2016 , work completed 08/02/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient job, pleasant to have working in your home, would recommend him to all my friends.
William, Essex Posted on 25/01/2016 , work completed 25/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was absolutely first class. On time, conscientious, and did a wonderful job at a most reasonable price. Highly recommended
Rospike Posted on 04/06/2015 , work completed 04/06/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has recently decorated our hall, stairs and landing. He also did some external painting work for us. Steve consulted us throughout the work, and it was carried out to a high standard. He is a very friendly person, and we were happy to leave him in our home. We would certainly use him again, and have no hesitation in recommending him.
Barkingside-phil Posted on 17/07/2014 , work completed 17/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve stripped the wallpaper from our master bedroom and study; papered the walls; painted the walls; and painted/varnished the woodwork. He also repainted our downstairs bathroom ceiling to cover some water damage. The work took place over three weekends, which suited both our schedule and his; he was very accommodating to our needs and other commitments. We're very happy with the quality of the work; he was thorough and consultative, and we would be very happy to use him again.
Liz&Geoff Posted on 01/06/2014 , work completed 01/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has just repapered our kitchen ceiling after water damage. He was willing to take on just the papering, which was the bit my arthritic shoulders put me off doing myself. I had to delay him a couple of times because of other problems, but he remained willing and amiable. He's now just finished quite an awkward job, in less than five hours start to finish, and to a very high standard. He is proffessional, a clean worker and very much the kind of person I am comfortable to have in my home. I would not hesitate to recommend him.
Woodford Will Posted on 11/04/2014 , work completed 11/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did some interior repair work for me to some water-damaged ceilings - quite awkward jobs but he made a fantastic job of it. Highly professional, friendly and leaves the place very clean at the end of the day. Can't recommend him enough!
bendavo Posted on 28/01/2014 , work completed 28/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve is a very good decorator, he did a great job painting the exterior of our house. He was also timely, neat and clean. I would recommend him to others.
Sujon1976 Posted on 26/11/2013 , work completed 26/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Any concerns about using an unknown contractor were soon dispelled by SteveÔøΩs professional and reliable estimating ÔøΩ pointing out areas that I had missed and making sensible suggestions. There was some delay in starting the outside decorating but I was kept fully informed of when the work would start. It was completed in good time and to a high standard. Later he was back to do most of the interior again as scheduled and to a high standard. Everything you want in a contractor: reliable, professional, competent.
Keithd Posted on 13/11/2013 , work completed 13/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked Steve for outside decorating in early June and, because he is busy, we had to wait for mid September for him to start. He only needed a week for front and back, which I thought was pretty efficient, and he planned the work such that he could continue working in the dodgy weather. As everybody notes his work is tidy and clean. We have now booked him for a full two story hall decoration. (Note: Steve like's his tea very milky - almost latte! - no sugar, and like radio 4 so there is no tinny popular music from his radio!)
grumptyoneuk Posted on 12/10/2013 , work completed 12/10/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Steve based on positive feedback on Which? Local, to quote for re-painting the ceiling in our through-lounge. He was on time for the visit to view the proposed work and gave a quote after talking us through the options in terms of materials, finish, etc. He then came when agreed to carry out the work, which was carried out quickly & efficiently. Very professional and conscientious, so we've no hesitation in recommending him as a local trader. We will definitely be using him again for any future painting & decorating.
Mr Bickford Posted on 22/08/2013 , work completed 22/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve decorated main bedroom and kitchen for us recently. He started when promised and was clean quick and efficient and did a great job. No hesitation in recommending him as a local trader.
Bethesda Posted on 26/06/2013 , work completed 26/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Stephen's details on this site. He has just finished painting the outside of our house and our kitchen cupboards and unlike the last people who did the job, he did it properly. We are happy to recommend him and will now use him for all of our decorating jobs. He turns up when he says he will, he cleans up after himself and did a fabulous job. We are very pleased!
sueinessex Posted on 02/05/2013 , work completed 02/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Steve a few weeks ago, based on positive feedback on Which Local, to quote for re-painting and partial re-papering of a lounge / living room. Steve was prompt in visiting to inspect the proposed work and prompt in following up with a detailed, written quote for the proposed work, which he was able schedule to suit my timetable the week before Christmas. During the contracted work he also offered, as a courtesy, to carry out some temporary protective paintwork to some severely exposed and weathered external window frames, as a stop gap protection against harsh winter weather in anticipation of exterior repainting that I am planning for next year. I found Steve to be courteous, punctual, professional, reliable and diligent. I was highly satisfied with Steve's work and manner and would use him again.
SpaceMonkey Posted on 27/12/2012 , work completed 27/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve recently re-decorated 5 rooms in our house, after finding his details on Which Local. His quote was clear and concise and we agreed a start date that suited. We were very pleased with the quality of Steve's work and also that he is very trustworthy and very reliable. We will certainly be asking Steve to come back when we need further work completed and we will be recommending him to friends and family.
VincentM Posted on 09/12/2012 , work completed 09/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve recently completed painting all of the exterior woodwork on our house. He paid attention to what was requested, the preparation, undercoating and top coats. We're very happy with the results and are happy to recommend his work, competitive rates and his relaxed and friendly nature.
mike57witch Posted on 28/10/2012 , work completed 28/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Steve twice in the last few months, first to paint my sitting room and next to paint my kitchen and kitchen cupboards. Both times I was impressed with his painting and the results were excellent. He leaves the rooms clean and tidy after working and arrives promptly in the morning. Steve is pleasant and takes a pride in his work.
r1906 Posted on 12/09/2012 , work completed 12/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed someone reliable to paint/renovate the outside of my elderly fathers house whilst i was away. Having read a previous review and then met Steve, i can only say that this website is a success. Steve did a very thorough and excellent job on the house. We were pleased with the quality of work and with the attention to detail, and all this at a very reasonable price We will be using him again. Highly recommended to all
dodger27 Posted on 02/07/2011 , work completed 02/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve's decorated nearly our entire house over the course of the last year and we couldn't be happier. He's a great decorator - quick and efficient, and he's a really friendly guy. I would definitely recommend him to anyone.
Rob Hick Posted on 11/10/2010 , work completed 11/10/2010