We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

SH Carpentry & Construction Limited

Profile thumb sh logo final variations 01

4.9

39 Reviews

About

SH Carpentry and Construction Ltd is a professional, reliable and friendly carpentry, joinery and general construction company working in and around Oxfordshire.

Led by Shane Hiskins, we are a growing home improvements company offering with fresh new ideas and with over fifteen years’ experience in the trade, we have taken the business from strength to strength.

The growth of the business has relied upon our ability to understand the customers’ needs whilst working closely with industry professionals.

Over the past seven years, we have completed work for several private and commercial customers with repeat business.

We have also completed intricate projects including building an office in a workshop area and keeping fire inspection schedules up to date.

No matter what the project is, our main objective is to keep the customer happy and work with the customer and architect closely and all derived from solid professional experience, craftsmanship and teamwork.

What we do

  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Extensions
    • Garage conversions
    • Plastering
    • Conservatories
  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control

Customer reviews

4.9
39 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Great work, 10/10
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shane and Barry did a great job of boarding out our loft. They were friendly, professional and fast. They even fitted the loft. ladder as an added bonus and hoovered up. We have a busy home with kids, dog etc. My Daughter even shot them with Nerf guns while they passed through the house, so highly recommend them as "family-friendly". Cannot recommend enough!
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 17/06/2020 , work completed 15/06/2020
Top Notch firm, Shane and his team were all very helpful, polite, diligent. We had a disasterous leak in a porch which caused a lot of damage.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We met Shane and his team by happy accident but would not hesitate in recommending him. Luckily for us a replacement window fitter who was measuring up for replacement windows for the cottage came when torrential rain had flooded the rear porch causing quite a lot of damage, recommended him as a good and reliable workman. Shane arrived the following day, assessed the situation, was very helpful and stepped in at short notice to help us resolve the immediate problem. Following on from mending and reroofing the porch. it was discovered that all the windows of both cottages did not have any lintels on the outer walls. Shane and his team agreed to stay on and worked for three weeks replacing missing outer lintels on the two adjoining cottages windows which we let to tenants. They were very punctual and polite, tidy, professional. Shane kept us appraised of the costings, gave us regular progress reports. good job all round.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 24/04/2020 , work completed 20/03/2012
Amazing work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shane and his team converted our garage into a playroom and converted the loft space into a bedroom. The team have done an amazing job and we couldn’t be happier with the end result. We were very impressed with how helpful everyone at SHCC was during our project and any questions were answered quickly. I would highly recommend SHCC.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 23/04/2020 , work completed 10/01/2020
SHCC - an excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shane and his team built a new car port for us. We were very impressed by how responsive the team were to our questions, how well they conducted themselves on site, the timeliness with which the job was done and the quality of the work. It was an extremely good experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this company. Matthew Batstone
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 28/02/2020 , work completed 21/02/2020
Damp works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had quite extensive work done to remedy a damp problem. All the works were project managed well by Shane and the workmen who came were polite and helpful. A cupboard had to be dismantled and skirting and dado rails removed as well as floor boards being taken up. I am impressed that everything has been put back so it looks just as good as it was before. The work has been completed to a high standard. All queries and concerns were addressed promptly and I would definitely recommend SH Carpentry.
Di Posted on 23/02/2020 , work completed 03/02/2020
Excellent quality craftsmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlotte and Shane were brilliant from start to finish. I required a mezzanine floor to be built in a bedroom with 13ft ceilings. They worked tirelessly to ensure that I got exactly the right style of mezzanine, coming up with bespoke solutions to fit my needs. Shane also organised decorators to attend to the walls in my old house, which required backing paper to fill in the cracks. All of the workmen were professional, pleasant and respectful to my property, and ensured the best quality of work. I would recommend them to anyone and trust that they would do a great job. It has reaffirmed my faith in the building trade after a couple of less pleasant encounters. Thank you.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 06/01/2020 , work completed 06/10/2019
Very reliable builders who carry out work to a high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been extremely happy with the work done by SHCC. The communication was excellent, and I was continuously kept informed about the state of affairs of the project. The initial goal of removing an internal wall expanded into including a number of additional projects (damp proof course, plastering, decorating etc). Throughout the period Charlotte and Shane were wonderful in rapidly keeping in touch with me. I really felt as if thy were trying to do things at as high a standard as they would expect in their own house. All of the team members that I dealt with were careful and tidy and a pleasure to deal with. I can very highly recommend the entire SHCC team!
Happy customer in Oxford Posted on 03/12/2019 , work completed 03/12/2019
Damp
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a great team doing the work. Charlotte and Shane have been always helpful and pleasant. Harry and Malcolm did a great professional job being very helpful and advised us what was going on all the time. Would recommend this company very highly. Thanks.
Colin and Denise, Oxfordshire Posted on 23/07/2019 , work completed 03/07/2019
Good job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Right from the start Charlotte had her team organised and working fast. They had to find the cause of persistent damp, and treat it. This had been attempted by two other well known companies. I was kept informed, even when the news wasn't good. Harry and Malcolm were also reliable and organised. This is a company that I would not hesitate to recommend to friends, and I will call on them next time I need a good job done.
Mrs Gillian Meecham, Oxfordshire Posted on 20/07/2019 , work completed 16/07/2019
Craftsmanship in carpentry
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved into a new house four years ago and have used SH C&C for various jobs to help personalise our house into a home. They have completed several carpentry jobs; bathroom cabinets, shelving in Utility Room and Airing Cupboard, built-in cupboard in downstairs toilet, and boarding of loft and installing loft ladder. They completely fitted out the garage with shelving, cupboards and work benches. Shane designed, built and installed a glass-fronted, wall-mounted display cabinet in the kitchen. He and his team are reliable and meticulous in everything they do. The quality of their work is excellent. We have relied on Shane for his ideas, and he does not sign off a job until all parties are satisfied. We have found Shane and his team to be completely trustworthy and they have worked in our house when we have been absent.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 26/01/2019 , work completed 11/01/2019
Church damp proofing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work involved damp proofing a large Victorian church building by improving the external rainwater drainage and inserting a DPC to prevent internal rising damp. The church required flexibility of start and end dates to fit with its commitments and this was agreed through very amicable discussions with Charlotte. Externally, a cement plinth was replaced and an ACO recessed drain installed after DPC treatment. Internally, damaged plasterwork was replaced by drywall treatment after further DPC treatment, and wooden skirting and dado replaced. This large amount of work was completed on time, to a high standard and to an agreed budget by dedicated workmen who arrived on time and left the building clean and tidy, all ably coordinated by Charlotte. I strongly recommend SHCC.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 26/01/2019 , work completed 20/11/2018
French drain and new beam
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Charlotte was great. She kept me in the loop on everything, sending me pictures of what they'd discovered about the condition of the structural beam, for instance, so as I could make properly informed decisions about what it was best to do, even when I was away or at work. And she understood that having builders in your house can be a bit stressful. Even the very nicest and considerate builders, namely Harry and Malcolm, whom I also highly recommend.
Kate T. Posted on 10/11/2018 , work completed 10/11/2018
A highly professional team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shane and his team have just completed the renovation of my 1960s bungalow. The project included a garage conversion, dividing a bathroom into an ensuite and a shower room, updating the heating system and adding a built in bookcase and wardrobe as well as general repairs to the structure. This was a large project for a novice renovator but the team made the whole thing run incredibly smoothly. The quality of the work is very good and every little detail has been considered. I would happily recommend Shane and his team and can't thank Charlotte enough for keeping everything on track.
Happy homeowner Posted on 15/09/2018 , work completed 15/09/2018
Renovation project on 200 year old house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Shane if he would help with renovating part of our house which is about 200 years old. The works required damp proofing of walls, replastering walls and replacing old lathe and plaster ceilings with new plasterboard, new electrics with additional wiring to improve sockets and lighting etc, replacement of old timber lintels, change of design to fireplace etc. New plumbing and insulation. Basically a project which involves pretty much all the trades. Shane gave really good advice and helped with ideas and made us feel that we were leaving a very daunting job in capable hands. Between the SHCC team they planned and managed all the trades (including some that we hired in) and turned the job round in a good time considering what was involved. They managed a lot of decision changes that we made throughout the job and the end result far surpassed our expectation. We were impressed with the quality of the workmanship and finish and although it was renovating existing parts of the house it feels like a completing new house. We got regular updates on when and what work was being don so nothing was unexpected to us and the whole job ran smoothly with minimal interruption to our family of four living in the house whilst the work was being done. We are now planning on using SHCC again for the next stage of our house project.
T Barclay Posted on 22/08/2018 , work completed 22/08/2018
Replaced roof tiles and cleared gutters
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came back really quickly and had tiles back on in less than a week. Reasonable price.
jeemer32 Posted on 26/03/2018 , work completed 26/03/2018
The trader replied (on 30/04/2018)
Thank you we are glad we could help James . If you need anything else then let us know SHCC
Absolutely reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very high quality of work, and well organised despite needing several different tradespeople. Shane’s a good project manager. The guys also left the house clean and tidy.
Jeremy Whiteley Posted on 14/03/2018 , work completed 14/03/2018
The trader replied (on 30/04/2018)
Thank you Jeremy you have been a great client to work with and have enjoyed continuing to work with you and Rebecca. SHCC
Building work carried out on my garage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good standard of work. Clean and tidy during and after the work was executed. Highly recommend Shane and his team.
Aldo Ceresa Posted on 08/03/2018 , work completed 08/03/2018
Highly Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SH Carpentry & Construction were easy to communicate with - the original contact was by e-mail, following by a very swift and helpful response. The inspection visit, prior to the estimate, was arranged at a very busy period for the firm, and was undertaken in a thorough and entirely professional manner with helpful suggestions as to sequencing of the work and other matters (e.g. choice of paint colour). The estimate was clear and reasonable for the type of work to be undertaken, and part of the work was undertaken by Shane, who is in overall charge of the company, on an early evening, after finishing work, in order to enable the subsequent stages of the work to be undertaken more swiftly. All the work was carried out entirely professionally and to a very high standard. I would not hesitate to recommend this company to anyone. Peter L
Langford Posted on 18/11/2017 , work completed 18/11/2017
High quality work and efficiently completed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend Shane and his team. Works completed: - an initial visit to prepare our house for some damp work. - substantial work in the loft strengthening beams and installing fire walls. - construction of several bespoke wooden built-in cabinets and a shelf on site and some other minor works to improve what our previous builders had left unfinished. Quality of work: Fantastic. We are particularly delighted with the carpentry works, which were measured and constructed on site and so fit perfectly. We are also pleased with the other works. Professional approach: Fantastic. Arrived promptly and worked non-stop all day! Did the carpentry etc. outside to avoid getting dust in the house and removed all materials afterwards and tidied up. Really polite and helpful in advising on how to complete the works and costs etc. They are also flexible on time, visited us on two Saturdays to get the work finished quickly for us, and have suggested some evening visits to complete some further work. Communication: Excellent. Responsive on emails, kept us updated, checked throughout the work to ensure it was exactly as we wanted. Cost: The invoice was exactly what we had agreed in advance. They are not a budget company, but the quality of work is excellent and worth paying for. Overall: We would highly recommend SH Carpentry and Construction and have already engaged them to do some more work.
Emily1 Posted on 04/10/2017 , work completed 04/10/2017
Efficient, skilful service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The task was to inset a limiter above some patio doors. Shane and Pete were polite, friendly and efficient. The work was done to a high standard and I was very pleased that it began and finished punctually on schedule. I have no hesitation in recommending the company.
Penelope, Oxfordshire Posted on 24/07/2017 , work completed 24/07/2017
Quality well finished job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shane and his team Carried out building work and fitted a new kitchen All the work was completed to a high standard And all trades involved were friendly, professional and competent. We would not hesitate to recommend SH Carpentry.
Boweslg2017 Posted on 06/06/2017 , work completed 06/06/2017
Good advice and excellent execution
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The house had a number of issues, including a failing chimney stack, some rising damp and leaking guttering and down-pipe. We were recommended to contact Shane, whose company justified the recommendation. He responded promptly to a request for a site meeting during which he advised on the most appropriate way of addressing the various issues. This was followed quickly by an estimate for the works, which works he was able to commence quickly. The chimney stack received attention first and was soon stable and safe. Externally Shane's team also replaced the guttering and down-pipe, including additional work to solve an unexpected problem. Finally clearing a small area adjoining the house front around the external air-bricks. The planned date for remedial works to the internal damp initially set by us was delayed by a decision to relocate the mains electricity supply, but Shane was happy to accommodate the date change to meet our requirements. Shane's team carried out the external works required by the electricity company to enable that company's operatives to carry out the relocation, in such a way that one of those operatives expressed gratitude for the quality of the work as it had made their job easier. Shane's team then, in cooperation with the damp proofing company, completed the necessary plaster removal and re-plastering internally, leaving us a smooth clean area ready for decoration in due course. Shane and his team were professional and easy to deal with throughout.
Terence Posted on 18/04/2017 , work completed 18/04/2017
Professional, Quality and Trust
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shane and his team were absolutely first class in completing a building project in Banbury. I rent this commercial building to a restauranteur and because I don't live in Banbury I was so fortunate to be introduced to Shane. Not only was the project completed to the highest possible standard I was also very pleased with the communication between Shane and myself throughout the process. I will be recommending SH Carpentry & Construction Ltd to all my friends and colleagues. Furthermore I have an extension at the same location awaiting planning permission and have engaged Shane to build this for me.
John Cushing Posted on 09/04/2017 , work completed 09/04/2017
Professional and competent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shane and his team removed a load bearing wall and re-plastered. They completed the job on time and were friendly and accommodating, whilst doing a good job. I have booked for them to do a large extension of my kitchen.
weekslysbeth Posted on 03/01/2017 , work completed 03/01/2017
Clean, competent, professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shane and his team converted an under stairs cupboard into a toilet for me, which required a lot of redirection of drains, plumbing etc. It was all done very tidily and is well finished. They were able to work through the inevitable glitches in the process, and it was well managed. I am pleased with the result.
Huxley Posted on 29/12/2016 , work completed 29/12/2016
Competent & Accommodating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SH Carpentry were recommended by a damp expert to resolve a damp issue caused by a breached damp course. The work included opening a chimney, replastering, new joists, floorboards, DPC and new airbricks. Shane and his team were very accommodating with my requests and I am very pleased with the work completed. I would not hesitate to recommend him.
Robin Gemmell Posted on 22/07/2016 , work completed 22/07/2016
In reality, what else would you require from a credible tradesman!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Accurate initial quote, guys on site when expected, kept me informed during all stages of the project, sterling job. In reality, what else would you require from a credible tradesman!
Howard, Oxford Posted on 22/07/2016 , work completed 22/07/2016
In reality, what else would you require from a credible tradesman!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Accurate initial quote, guys on site when expected, kept me informed during all stages of the project, sterling job. In reality, what else would you require from a credible tradesman!!
Howard, n/a Posted on 22/07/2016 , work completed 22/07/2016
Fully recommend - fitted shelving and cupboards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from co-operating in developing the details from a basic design concept. Very practical advice. Skilled workers who produced a beautiful result. Fully recommended.
Alan Posted on 27/05/2016 , work completed 27/05/2016
High quality and caring construction.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SH Carpentry and Construction Limited provided us with work relating to a kitchen extension and laying of new heated flooring. Throughout the construction, they were more than happy to respond to queries immediately and deal with any issues or concerns we had. The quality of the workmanship is excellent, in particular a large heated tiled floor was laid and the results are amazing. Well done Shane, Rob and his team. We hope to have you doing some more work on our house very soon.
TARAS TYMOFIJIW Posted on 04/05/2016 , work completed 04/05/2016
Brilliant job, professional workers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just completed a house renovation and have had alot of trades working in our house.SH Carpentry were extremely professional and we felt very comfortable having them work in our home. Their standard of work was exceptional and they went above and beyond to make sure we were happy with the finished product (stair case) and that it was done in the allotted time frame. Would definitely recommend - it's a shame we hadn't asked them to do things for us before!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/05/2016 , work completed 02/05/2016
First Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SH Carpentry and Construction have recently completed a medium sized extension and internal re-model of my house. I obtained 4 quotes for the work and SH were not only cost effective but also the most proactive and professional which is why I selected them. I was not disappointed with my decision, SH started when they said they would and showed their technical ability and experience to get over a few ‘issues’ we had with architect and structural engineer drawings to still deliver on time and principally on budget. The team are punctual, polite & trustworthy, I would have no hesitation using them again or recommending to friends and family.
Kevin Pimm Posted on 25/04/2016 , work completed 25/04/2016
Trustworthy & Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company on 2 main projects, a complete renovation on a listed house and an update on bathrooms and garden (including outdoor room/gazebo) on a town house. They continue with any smaller, upkeep jobs too. They are completely trustworthy, reliable and take pride in their work. They were recommended to me and I have since recommended them to a number of others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/03/2016 , work completed 30/03/2016
Top Class Jobs.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a refreshing thing to experience a really good company with Excellent, polite and professional staff who went that extra mile for us which makes all the difference. Kept the areas as clean as possible and just didn't stop working. The result was a top class job done on time and budget, I highly recommend this company and hard working staff. just Brilliant, you will not be disappointed. Thank you so much for doing a wonderful job for us.
TimCassap Posted on 23/03/2016 , work completed 23/03/2016
Great job, great attention to detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable, prompt, great attention to detail, the work they completed was exactly how I envisioned it. The job was not rushed and shows in the quality of workmanship.
Steven, Oxfordshire Posted on 16/03/2016 , work completed 16/03/2016
Great job, v. professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really professional work and very good to work with.
Ruth, Oxfordshire Posted on 01/03/2016 , work completed 01/03/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They did job to high standard. I am very pleased with work they did for me.
Monimh, Oxfordshire Posted on 22/02/2016 , work completed 22/02/2016
Clean efficient & good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First experience with very encouraging results.
Peter, Oxfordshire Posted on 16/01/2016 , work completed 16/01/2016
100% recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shane, Rob and team were absolutely superb taking on a full renovation of our property where other builders we saw seemed nervous and overwhelmed of the scale of the project. SH filled us with confidence. They were there when they said they would be. Clean, polite and a general pleasure to have around. Their work was to a very high standard and we would not hesitate to recommend him.
Aydin, Oxfordshire Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015