Endorsed by Which?

Splash of Colour Painters & Decorators Ltd

5.0

161 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–18:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

APRIL 2021
Jul 2020
JANUARY 2020
Jul 2019
DECEMBER 2018

About

We are a small family Multi award winning Painting Decorating company , with years of experience in the painting and decorating industry, we are Period property specialists.

Our excellent reputation and expertise has been built on paying close attention to detail and taking a pride in the work we produce.

Building strong business relationships with our customers is very important to us.

We are extremely proud to have been awarded the Which? Trusted Trader of the Year in 2020 and the Which? Trusted Trader of the Month on a few occasions. We are also delighted to have won the Scottish Home Improvements Award - 2021 Category: Best Painting and Decorating Company. Prestige Scotland award best painting and decorating company- 2022 and now won the award for the second time 2023

What we do

  • Plastering

    • Plastering
  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors
    • Wallpapering
    • Exterior decorating
  • More Services

    • specialist sprayers
    • wallpaperhanging
    • polished plastering

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
161 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent finish.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour are perfectionists! They produced a brilliant finish on some mdf sculptures and plinths for Glasgow School of Art exhibition 'Instant Whip'. Many visitors to the exhibition commented on the finish. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them for domestic and commercial work. Their prep and attention to detail is excellent. Listen to their advice on care of surfaces and you'll have a great finish that lasts. Many thanks.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 19/03/2024 , work completed 11/03/2024
Excellent workmanship and Customer Focus.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We invited Splash of Colour to quote and redecorate our dining room before Christmas. The ceiling had suffered water damage and required repair. What a fantastic result. Shaun has a forensic attention to detail, and ensured a perfect, seamless finish. Very professional in their approach. Clear estimate to approve, arrive when they say they will and stay until the job is completed to perfection. High quality finish and close attention to customer needs. Will have them back and highly recommended for excellence.
Customer in East Dunbartonshire Council Posted on 01/01/2024 , work completed 21/12/2023
Excellent work by a really helpful, professional team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour turned a tired and dingy flat into a light, bright home. They stripped wallpaper, sanded and prepared walls (some of which were in a poor state and needed more work than anticipated), repapered walls and ceilings, and sanded, filled and prepared and painted all woodwork. They provided excellent advice and tips, as well as contacts with other trades as needed. The quality of their work is really good, as are their communication skills. They worked to budget, and although they weren't able to complete to the original schedule, they discussed this early on with me. They're generous with their extensive experience and happy to advise as needed. This is the second large job they've done for me, and I thoroughly recommend them. I'll be going back to Splash of Colour for any future jobs.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 21/12/2023 , work completed 13/12/2023
Professional, detailed results
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Splash of Colour for my tenement renovation decorations, each time with fantastic results. Shaun has always taken the care to preserve and protect any period details, as well as offer professional advice throughout the process- be it colour selection or adjustments to the work in mind based on his experience/expected outcome. They are very conscientious about prep (carpet/floor protection, barriers), detail (sanding, filling, knot protection) and final cleanup/removals. Final results were clean, trim, and to spec. Any (minor/OCD) issues were hastily attended to. Would happily recommend.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 20/11/2023 , work completed 10/11/2023
The trader replied (on 28/11/2023)
Hi, thanks for this fantastic review It’s always a pleasure to work with you kind regards Shaun mckay
Absolutely Fantastic!!!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour are absolutely fantastic. I've been blown away with quality of work that Shaun and his team (Shaun Senior, Tony and Paddy) have put into my hallway and staircase.They are professional, arrive on time and clean up after themselves. More importantly they are flexible and accommodate any changes happily. Amazing level of prep and detail to attention. Highly recommend Splash of Colour.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 21/10/2023 , work completed 20/10/2023
The trader replied (on 09/11/2023)
Hi I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave this review we really appreciate it kind regards
Another fantastic result by Splash of Colour
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun and team have again delivered a first class job in the gradual process of redecorating my Victorian townhouse. On this occasion it was a large double bedroom suffering from water ingress through the walls. He also volunteered to paint and putty the outside windows. The bedroom had not that long ago been redecorated before the water damage but Shaun felt it was not done to his standard. He was right. He spent the majority of his time on site ensuring good preparation of walls, woodwork and windows. He even had to deal with a fresh leak into the room but took it in his stride. While it can take a while to obtain the attention of Splash of Colour, the result is worth waiting for. I am already talking to them about the next job !
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 29/09/2023 , work completed 22/09/2023
The trader replied (on 09/11/2023)
Hi thanks for this fantastic review we really appreciate it and thanks for taking the time when you’re so busy. Kind regards
Beyond all expectations!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Splash of Colour recently came to refurbish original sash windows in my Victorian flat. They were to be painted inside and out. I'd had preliminary work done - damaged wood replaced, a bit of pointing. However, some of the previous work done was not to Splash's high standards, so they remedied it all without fuss. They also burned off a century of old paint on the outside, re-puttied, new mastic, new window pulls - anything they reckoned needed done to meet their standards was done, far beyond just painting. Shaun's attention to detail is great, truly perfectionist - the windows haven't looked so good since they were installed 140 years ago! Shaun will be coming back shortly to deal with piece of chrome spray painting that I'd given up hope of finding someone to do, but Shaun didn't bat an eyelid about doing it - just another example of his comprehensive knowledge and ability. If Shaun, Shaun senior, and Tony could clone themselves, the world would need no more decorators!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 24/09/2023 , work completed 13/09/2023
The trader replied (on 09/11/2023)
Hi we would like to thank you for this fantastic review we really appreciate it kind regards
Careful and Precise - just a fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun has done roughly half of the decorating agreed on so far but that is 3 areas/rooms so I am already confident to say what a fantastic job he has done. The attention to detail is exceptional and means they do a really well finished job. They have done some plastering for me as well as painting rooms, and everything they do is considered and designed to make it a fabulous finish with minimal interruption the home. I was amazed at how little dust was created with sanding but they have invested in machines that really hoover the majority of sanding dust away so its an easy clean up job at the end. The preparation work and time they spend on this gives me confidence it will be a long lasting finish too. Don't expect a paintbrush too soon! They spend the majority of the time on prep to give that great finish. There are 2 more rooms they are planned to decorate for me and I have no hesitation in recommending Splash of Colour. They were recommended by a neighbour so I viewed the end result of their work before getting a quote but the work is exceptional. So far all work has been done on schedule, and where there has been any variation in budget it has been because of my choice of paint.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 19/09/2023 , work completed 27/08/2023
The trader replied (on 09/11/2023)
Hi thanks for taking the time to leave this review. We really appreciate it. Kind regards
Professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Splash of Colour to quote for a repaint of my window frames and also our shower room. Shaun came quickly and listened to what I wanted to do and also made some really helpful suggestions. The quote, in my experience, was good value. The team have just finished the job and I'm over the moon. The windows were a bit more complicated as I wanted the putty line a different colour, but the finish is fantastic, so precise. I'm so pleased I found Splash of Colour, the whole team are such hard workers, with great attention to detail, and just nice guys all round. And they made sure they left the place spick and span each day. Thanks to the team for such a great job, they are thorough professionals.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 19/08/2023 , work completed 18/08/2023
The trader replied (on 23/08/2023)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave this fantastic review. We really appreciate it was a pleasure to work with you this is the standard of you get when you use a which? Trusted trader kind regards Shaun Mckay
Beyond all expectations!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shaun junior impressed us from the outset with his quote to repair and make good our ceiling which was badly damaged due to water ingress. We knew we were in good hands when he explained the work that needed to be done to guarantee a complete repair to our kitchen. We were not disappointed. The old artex ceiling and the tired, chipped walls are now perfectly smooth and expertly painted by Shaun. He ensured the job was clean and neat by using special equipment to keep dust from spreading throughout the flat and he covered everything with huge sheets of plastic to protect surfaces. Our kitchen is vastly improved; looks amazing and the job done was well beyond our expectations. Thank you Shaun and team!
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 21/07/2023 , work completed 20/07/2023
The trader replied (on 09/11/2023)
Hi thanks for taking the time to leave a fantastic review. We really appreciate it kind regards