We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

SPS Timber Windows Limited

Profile thumb tsc 6990 traditional box sash windows

4.9

111 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:30–16:30
  • Monday 09:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:30–17:00
  • Thursday 09:30–17:00
  • Friday 09:30–17:00
  • Saturday 09:30–16:30
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

Jan 2020

About

COVID-19: We continue to operate, in accordance with PHE guidelines.

Award-winning SPS Timber Windows is celebrating its 22nd year as South West London’s most established specialist in the design, manufacture, installation and finishing of premium quality, energy-efficient, bespoke Accoya® wood box sash windows, casement windows, French doors, folding sliding doors.

Our products are made to “A” rated specifications, to our customers’ individual requirements, in our London workshops and installations are carried out by our own highly skilled craftsmen, installers and decorators.

Accoya® is a premium, FSC certified wood with the best durability possible and is guaranteed against rot for 50 years.

Enquiries can be made via our website: Request an estimate/Contact SPS.

Estimates can be provided from images/drawings/dimensions.

Our Wimbledon showroom is currently open by appointment only.

Our installation service currently covers London (South West, South East, South, West) and Surrey.

What we do

  • Glaziers

    • Timber windows
    • Sash windows
    • Stained glass
    • Double glazing installation
  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
  • More Services

    • french doors
    • bi-folding doors
    • front doors
    • london box sash

Customer reviews

4.9
111 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Replacement sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly professional from start to finish. A great product using the most appropriate materials. Installed by hard working, skilled and considerate team. Standout attention to detail throughout. I would certainly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/06/2020 , work completed 01/06/2020
Great windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So pleased we went with SPS. Our new windows look fantastic! Particularly want to mention the team that fitted them who were an unbelievably nice bunch and extremely considerate and professional. Would recommend SPS without hesitation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/05/2020 , work completed 20/05/2020
SPS Timber windows/double glazed windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very impressed with the professionalism of the work and the fact that the work itself was kept to schedule. The windows are a huge improvement on the very old single glazed windows
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/04/2020 , work completed 17/04/2020
Delighted with the beautiful windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS replaced the windows on our Victorian, four storey, commercial premises. The hardwood, double glazed, acoustic windows not only look stunning but have cut noise and draughts hugely. Despite incredibly difficult circumstances at the moment they completed the job on time and on budget. Marek kept the site clean and tidy throughout. He was also very helpful and kept noise to a minimum too. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend SPS or use them again in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/04/2020 , work completed 03/04/2020
Fantastic service and quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted to express our appreciation for the excellent service provided by SPS Timber Windows Limited at every step of the process, including the initial consultation, detailed survey and plans, project management and administration We would particularly like to highlight how fantastic the installation was - led by Karol. He was extremely professional, meticulously tidy and always polite and pleasant. His craftmanship was exceptional. He was ably assisted by Bart and other team members.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/01/2020 , work completed 11/10/2019
Excellent quality, workmanshop and site organisation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As an ex commercial interior designer I find it very hard to find good, reliable contractors for domestic projects. SPS are a very professional team and carried out the work with ease. We are incredibly pleased and will be using them again for further replacement windows. We had a long lead time (6 months) but it was worth waiting for (deposit placed in a secure scheme by them). We will just need to plan ahead next time.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/01/2020 , work completed 16/12/2019
Very good job done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very happy with the job done and would highly recommend this firm. Day one old door and half window out, brickwork cut down to fit new french doors. Everything in and fitted and house left secure in one day, second day finishing off and third day some minor decoration. Trouble and rubble free with the work screened off to keep the dust down. A through tidy and complete job in 2 days. Thoughtful and considerate work men and I had a working kitchen throughout . Next job will be replacing plastic windows.
Anthony McCormack Posted on 07/12/2019 , work completed 20/11/2019
Worth the premium price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had some very challenging large front bay wooden windows that needed to be replaced. They needed to be very similar if not exactly like the originals as we live in a conservation area. While the work took a bit longer, it was worth it as they took such great care to make sure it was all done right. The team were very professional, tidy and took pride in their work. It has only been a few weeks since we had them installed but so far so good and we are extremely happy with all the windows replaced. While SPS were by far the most expensive, we would choose them again and would highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/11/2019 , work completed 20/09/2019
A company that understands its business and does a great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with our new windows. Replacements for 100 year old casement bay front windows: the result is very pleasing, looking completely correct in situ and enhancing the appearance of the house. The new woodwork allows the moulding and detail to be much better appreciated. Three other windows were also changed, including a sash window and a storm casement window, with which I am particularly pleased. The wooden surround to this window (only 13 years old) was also replaced in accoya, and the design improved on the original with respect to protection from weathering which gives me confidence about its longevity. The frame was taken out in a very careful manner with no damage or problem with the surrounding tiles. The fitter was courteous and efficient, making good provision against the inevitable dirt and disruption during the work and tidying up at the end of the day. The finishing and making good around the windows has been done to a really good standard. I had particular requests related to the work which were accommodated and managed most helpfully. An issue did arise unexpectedly, related to the idiosyncrasies of the house, Simon listened to my concerns and sorted the matter promptly and effectively. He also dropped round after the job to check the work and that we were happy, much appreciated. That illustrates the ethos of the firm, professional, courteous, efficient and engaged with their customers, in my experience.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/10/2019 , work completed 09/10/2019
A solid, reliable, local firm.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We changed all our sash windows to double-glazed Sashes in 2009. This is a double-fronted London Victorian house in a conservation area, and we did lots of research all over the city. We dealt with Simon from the beginning and he was professional, personable and very knowledgeable. The wood the firm use, Accoya, has lasted very well for the last 10 years and their decorating externally to protect it was thorough in the extreme. Our windows were installed on time, on-budget and the 10 year guarantee is REAL. In fact SPS just came round 3 weeks ago to repair a sash that wasn’t moving correctly and did all the work free if charge ( 4 days before the 10 year deadline!). They also changed a whole pane 2 years ago. The difference to other companies is that you get the thermal protection without the green tinge others end up with. Ours look incredibly smart and it’s a pleasure to be able to say they are a London business too. A great outfit with some a very professional approach. Thank you.
Sarah Millan Posted on 17/09/2019 , work completed 01/08/2009
Second Order for SPS Timber Windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In 2016, SPS Timber Windows replaced all the windows on the front of the house. I had noticed their work in neighbouring streets, and was highly impressed. They were the first company I had seen that could manufacture and install wooden windows that were an exact replica of the original 1924 versions, with all the correct mouldings and fenestration, but with even higher engineered quality, more durable wood, double glazing, and modern security. I was so delighted with their work in 2016 that I placed a second order for windows at the back and side of the house. These have just been finished, and, as ever, the quality is superb. Not only the quality of the product, but the people, who are friendly, tidy, incredibly hard working, and leave the place spotless. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
Guy Montagu-Pollock Posted on 12/07/2019 , work completed 04/07/2019
Fantastic french doors & excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had front windows in my terraced house replaced by SPS a number of years ago, and returned to them to make and install three french doors for a new rear extension. Both times I cannot fault their product and the level of service. I was very particular about the French door design and profiles and SPS couldn’t have been more helpful. Their attention to detail with the design and installation was excellent. The doors are fantastic and exactly what I wanted. They come on time, are very professional, leave the work area clean and tidy, and return after completion to check that everything is ok. Altogether a very positive experience. I will be going back to them for some interior doors very shortly.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/07/2019 , work completed 05/07/2019
Fantastic windows and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thrilled with our new windows from SPS. The aesthetics and quality are incredible, couldn’t fault it if you tried. The communications process with the office was smooth, personable and customer focused. The men who came in to install the windows were polite, friendly and cleaned up after themselves very well. We’ve just ordered more windows and I cannot recommend SPS enough.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/04/2019 , work completed 21/03/2019
Delighted with work done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I live in a very noisy flat. SPS advised me as to what windows would reduce this noise, they then made very detailed drawings which greatly helped during the planning application process for protected buildings. They kept me informed as to when the windows would be made and could be fitted. The person who fitted the windows (I believe his name is Karol) was superb. He was very professional, efficient, cared a lot about the standard of work he was giving me, kept me updated as to progress and next steps and was very personable. Once the work was finished, I was able to have the first good sleep for over a year... the sound proofing is very good. I would definitely use SPS again and intend to do so in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/04/2019 , work completed 15/03/2019
SPS - Superb workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS made and fitted a beautiful, sash bay window in our period home. Time and trouble was spent over the initial site visit, prior to the company submitting a quote, detailed CAD drawings and specifications. During the assembly of the window, we were very impressed by the dedication and attention to detail shown by their fitters and decorators. The job wasn't completed until they were entirely satisfied with the result.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 14/03/2019 , work completed 27/02/2019
SPS - brilliant company doing great things
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used SPS for to replace ageing windows and put in new French windows at the back. Their work is absolutely first rate and looks brand new after almost a decade of wintry weather, rain and all the rest. Last night the boss Simon dropped by 30 mins after I'd called in with a problem on one of the doors. He fixed it in 10 mins for no charge. This is the sort of business you actually have a relationship with. You're not just a one-off customer who's rapidly forgotten. It's not just "after sales" service. You actually feel part of their extended world. Very rare indeed, and worth praising and treasuring. A terrific company. The pride of south London!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/12/2018 , work completed 19/12/2018
Delighted with the result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The installer was cheerful, polite and fast (2½ days for two sash windows to be replaced and made good), and left the room spotless. We are delighted with the result and hope to purchase further windows from SPS in due course. Mr and Mrs Hunter, Putney
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/12/2018 , work completed 18/11/2018
Bay windows and a porch door installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company replaced two bay windows and two bedroom windows as well as installed a porch door at my house in Lee, South East London. It took some time between the initial visit and the final installations, but the final result was worth the wait. Both the window fitter Karol and the decorator Max took their time to make sure that windows and surrounds look their very best. Karol made small adjustments to the initial plans, and always clearly explained what he was doing. Max completed the works inside and outside the house on time, making good some very tricky places. I was very impressed with the dedication of the team who worked on site (and spent a few hours in the traffic on the way to and from the job), and rapid responses from the head office. I would recommend the company, but the best advertisement is the windows that they have installed.
Nadia, L South East London Posted on 06/10/2018 , work completed 06/10/2018
Six new sash windows admired by all who see them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job. I actually had 5 sashes and one hinged casement replaced. Had to be like for like as in a conservation area. Long lead time as they were very popular and so busy. Ordering was a bit of a palaver for me trying to understand the different woods and finishes. They weren't the best at accepting my somewhat unusual choices but we got there in the end. The fitter was clearly very experienced, hardworking and skilled. He did an very good job. In the kitchen he fitted a continuous frame which others might have done in two parts by removing and rep!acing a section of work top. He also was able to adapt to my request for extra insulation in two of the windows. And he spotted a factory damaged pane and had it replaced the next day. One of the frames in the lounge ended up about a centimetre short which showed as a dark line above the carpet. However they were able to fill that in later. Overall the work was completed within a few days, and the mess cleared up daily and rubbish removed from the flat in a neat way. There were some minor variations from what I expected, the specified and contracted hand painting didn't have the factory spray painted smoothness that I had wanted but no-one else who saw it thought much the worse of it. Many people who have visited have spontaneously complimented me on the good look of my Windows. How often does that happen? They still glide effortlessly open and shut . The paintwork is as white today as it was 3 years ago.
Christopher Armitage Posted on 11/09/2018 , work completed 11/09/2018
Excellent windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS made and fitted 2 large bay windows in our Edwardian house. We are delighted with the result. The windows are a very good match with the original ones. The attention to detail on the windows and the making good around them was excellent. The people who fitted and decorated them were all highly skilled, thorough, tidy and pleasant. Highly recommended.
Jane Barnes Posted on 07/09/2018 , work completed 07/09/2018
Excellent Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had nearly 30 large sash windows and a several French doors replaced by SPS. This was a considerable project over 4 floors of a Listed Building and in a Conservation area; so a few hoops to jump through! All the windows and doors had to be bespoke and to exacting standards, required by our local Conservation Officer. The quality of the wood and the standard of finish was excellent and cannot be faulted. They have a small but very professional and knowledgeable team of their own fitters who were always on time, courteous, hardworking and very mindful that they were working in someone's home. As Property Managers for the owners, an UHNW Family in SW10, my partner and I were concerned about the scale of the work along with the security and protection of the fine furnishings and decor. We had never used SPS before and, understandably, wondered if they were capable of such a high challenge. We should never have worried as great care was taken to protect everything along with 'sealing' each area/room that they worked in from dust etc. We still can't work out how Karol (project manager and head fitter) along with his team, managed to remove all the old windows and doors without any damage to the interior decor! Based on our experience with SPS, which we had to spread over several months due to client visits, we would fully recommend them for any window/door project where quality, professionalism and hassle free fitting was required. The owner is also very impressed.
Richard Posted on 06/09/2018 , work completed 06/09/2018
Excellent quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used SPS Timber Windows on three separate occasions. Firstly we had two replacement sash windows, this was followed by the installation of a replacement French door from the kitchen and most recently we have had new French doors with glazed side panels, a lantern light and fascia fitted to a new rear extension. At all times we were able to discuss our requirements with Simon who was more than happy to help us develop our ideas. During the manufacture and lead in period we were kept informed of the progress, which allowed us to fit in the installation seamlessly with the other works we were having done. The guys who carried out the installation were all professional, polite and courteous and took great pains to protect and not damage any of our existing furnishings. Finally the product - just plain excellent! The look and finish are second to none! We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending SPS to anyone who needs new replacement windows or doors John & Moya, Wimbledon Park
John B Posted on 21/08/2018 , work completed 21/08/2018
Great service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed by SPS, they worked hard to accommodate our wish to install the windows before the birth of our son, despite it being tight against the lead time to manufacture the windows. The guys who worked on the job were extremely considerate, cleaning thoroughly each day and installing zip walls/carpet wrap to minimise dust. Making good after installation was part of the reason we picked SPS (although there price was extremely competitive anyway) as other firms wouldn’t do this. They did not disappoint, walls were very well finished and multiple coats of paint (over a number of days) applied inside and out. They saw the job through to the end, as promised.
GLW Wimbledon Park Posted on 15/08/2018 , work completed 15/08/2018
Brilliant job. Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a number of quotes for the replacement of a large first floor circular bay lead light window in my Edwardian house in a conservation area. A number were cheaper but I am delighted to have chosen SPS. Throughout, they were entirely professional. Although there was a delay in manufacture I was informed early on and was not inconvenienced. The workers were trustworthy, professional and courteous and took pains to protect my furnishings and carpets, working behind a "zipwall" that kept dust away from the rest of the bedroom. The installation went smoothly, the finished product is fantastic and the fit is brilliant. Marek was very polite and fastidious in his decorative finish. I would highly recommend this company.
Mrs D, Wimbledon Posted on 30/06/2018 , work completed 30/06/2018
Superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can not recommend SPS enough. Having read the very few 4* reviews It was clear that the write ups were glowing so felt I was making a sound choice. It was the right choice. The process, the suggestions, the flexibility, the professionalism (especially of Marek, the fitter who ignored my requests to not worry about covering carpets that I knew were to be binned!) and of course the product. 2 beautifully crafted replacement multi-window units have revived the style and look of the property. The ingenuity of the front porch design that has given me a front door that must be 15-20% bigger in area. It looks magnificent. Whilst not cheap, I am certain I have saved money for myself and future owners of this property for decades to come. I have one regret - that I did this in summer! Living on an A road opposite a firestation and replacing single glazed windows, I am finding myself opening windows to let out the heat and let in the noise that these ablely mute. Am I really saying this....yes, roll on Winter! To Simon, Richard, Marek and the team. Thank you so much. Huw
Huw Williams Posted on 24/06/2018 , work completed 24/06/2018
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very professional performance by SPS Timber Windows. Neat and clean. Ensured that I knew what was happening. No damage to existing interior decoration.
Michael, London Posted on 12/06/2018 , work completed 12/06/2018
Brilliant windows and installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS replaced all of the windows in my conservation area house. I wish all renovation projects could go so smoothly. After many years and much experience with building works, including other window manufacturers, SPS has my highest ever recommendation. Their precision in constructing and detailing the windows means they are indistinguishable from the originals (though much cleaner and sharper looking), while draft-free, energy efficient, and smooth to operate. Installation went like clockwork, the carpenter took great care to protect the work area and clean every day. When there was a small confusion over the specification of a door light, SPS quickly put it right.
MMCSW8 Posted on 06/06/2018 , work completed 06/06/2018
Brilliant Job -I'm very pleased !
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS replaced a window for me last year. I was so happy with the result, that I used them again this year for another window replacement. Their installer Lukasz arrived on time. He was courteous, friendly and very hard working. He showed great craftsman skill, he took pride in his work and the result was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he left the place clean and tidy. Brilliant job, I'm very pleased! SPS products and their customer service are of a very high standard and quality. I found them to be trustworthy, reliable and professional and the people I dealt with very helpful and friendly. I've still got windows that need replacing, and I'll only use SPS in future. I've no hesitation in recommending this great company.
Sophia G Posted on 31/05/2018 , work completed 31/05/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had all the front windows replaced in an Edwardian property, including two large bays and incorporating stained glass to replicate the original. The fitting by Marek and Max was completed to a very high standard and with little disruption. We are very pleased with the final product.
Stephen Posted on 23/02/2018 , work completed 23/02/2018
Superb windows and excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS did an excellent job in replacing all of the windows in our apartment with double-glazed, draught-proof, Accoya wood, box-sash windows. We are delighted with the result. The quality of the workmanship is excellent. The windows are superbly furnished and finished, look very stylish and are very smooth and easy to use. We are really pleased with them, all the more because of the use of Accoya and the durability of this material. Simon and his team were a pleasure to deal with. They responded promptly to calls and emails, and completed the job on time despite the local difficulties we experienced with the company that manages the apartments. I would definitely use SPS windows again and have no hesitation in recommending the company to others.
lynnzstuff Posted on 14/01/2018 , work completed 14/01/2018
Immaculate Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was dreading replacing the 80 year old front windows of my house plus a large staircase window as they included double-height bays and stained glass fanlights. However, in the expert hands of Simon and his team I needn't have worried. The stained glass of the stair window was re-used as far as possible and that of the other windows replicated in new glass whilst the timber frames of the original were replicated in Accoya. I was provided with a full schedule of the work to be done so I knew exactly what would happen and when and all that was required of me was to keep the coffee flowing ! A particular mention goes to Lukasz who carried most of the job on site and worked very hard to ensure an excellent result. I would recommend this firm to anyone who wants quality and is prepared to pay for it.
Pamela, Merton Park, London Posted on 05/11/2017 , work completed 05/11/2017
Fantastic Quality, Fantastic Workmanship, Fantastic Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The title says it all really. SPS made and installed bi-folding doors and a bathroom window earlier this year. Extremely professional company and after-sales is superb too.
Leigh Posted on 20/10/2017 , work completed 20/10/2017
Excellent product, installation and customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the past three years SPS have replaced my front door, French doors to the garden, and most recently four casement windows in the front of my 1930s house. On each occasion it was a pleasure to deal with the company, with everyone being extremely courteous, knowledgeable and helpful. If any small problems occurred, they were resolved very promptly, which made me feel confident that I could trust the company. Each project was immaculately planned and installations were carried out very efficiently to the highest standard. I am especially grateful to Karol, the fitter, whose attention to detail, work ethic and sterling craftsmanship continue to impress me. My doors and windows look superb, and I have no hesitation in recommending SPS Timber Windows to anyone expecting outstanding results. Eva
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/10/2017 , work completed 19/10/2017
Window Gazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
See Attached: Window Gazing - We have been gazing dreamily at our beautiful windows ever since they were installed with superb craftsmanship by Lukasz. Our old house has its quirks but these were surmounted with ingenuity and skill. Everyone we dealt with at SPS inspired confidence and bore out their rating as a trusted trader. We especially valued their advice on the aesthetics of particular windows and door for our Victorian kitchen. Home improvements of any kind usually make us fretful but this was a different experience altogether. Their attention to detail even included a timetable of work and written advice on future maintenance. Let's not forget the Rolls Royce cat flap either. Our cat is happy and so are we.
Carole, London Posted on 03/10/2017 , work completed 03/10/2017
Excellent, professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything from the initial enquiry to final fitting was professional and expert. The windows are of very high quality, beautifully fitted and very good value. I would recommend without reservation.
Timothy, London Posted on 18/09/2017 , work completed 18/09/2017
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 3 sash windows replaced by SPS and having researched quite thoroughly before going ahead, I decided not based purely on cost but rather on a number of factors such as glass quality, wood type etc. Having opted for the cheapest in the past and regretted it I was keen to avoid making the same mistake. Whilst all of those who quoted for our job seemed credible and would likely do a good job, little things like the windows being made in this country and the patience with my various questions all pointed me to SPS. We are extremely pleased with the windows and are very glad we invested in the good quality which they clearly are. Special credit goes to our fitter Marek. He was extremely professional, polite, tidy and charming. We were both sorry we weren't around to thank him in person before he left. It was extremely pleasing that he left the place so clean and tidy when he left. He clearly took pride in his work and that has left us with a very good feeling about SPS, from start to finish. He is to be commended for being such a good ambassador for the company. It is refreshing to feel like that after works finish! We have no hesitation in recommending then.
Paul Hawkins Posted on 29/08/2017 , work completed 29/08/2017
Very high quality product and finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following a recommendation from a work colleague we asked SPS to quote against other firms for 7 wooden sash windows, a tri-fold wooden patio door, wooden Juliet doors for our loft and a small wooden casement window - plus 5 plantation blinds. The price was on a par with another firm that also does high quality wooden windows, but we particularly liked the SPS product and the advice offered by Simon. Leads times weren't a problem as our renovation was some way off and SPS worked well with our builder to hit key dates. The installed windows all look beautiful and have been finished to a very high standard (best finish our builder said he had seen). Great customer service and extra aftercare to provide a key that had got lost in our other building work. The product is not cheap, but you get what you pay for and I would highly recommend this company.
Bill Pike Posted on 09/07/2017 , work completed 09/07/2017
Oriel window replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS did an excellent job of replacing this beautiful but very damaged and fragile feature window which had been patched up a number of times over the years. It was definitely worth the wait as the company finished the work very quickly and efficiently once they got on site. I'm delighted with the results as I finally have a beautiful double-glazed window, fully in keeping with the original design of the house, but now meeting modern insulation and security standards.
Trisha Posted on 24/05/2017 , work completed 24/05/2017
Very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient. Started and finished as promised, reliable, clean and quick worker.
A, London Posted on 24/04/2017 , work completed 24/04/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS recently replaced 7 sash windows to an excellent standard. Although there is an understandably long lead in time, the dates given at the start were all met, and the work completed to a high standard. Lukasz, who installed them, was very professional, tidy and always courteous.
ragordon Posted on 09/04/2017 , work completed 09/04/2017
Great quality and efficient installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the years, we have had several ageing sash windows replaced by SPS and this time they renewed a first floor window and installed french doors in place of some inappropriate metal framed sliding doors. The quality of the delivered products and the professionalism of Lukasz, who installed them, were first rate. You do need to plan ahead as the lead time is long and there are cheaper alternatives on the market, but SPS's attention to detail ensures that you get exactly what you expect.
Martin Posted on 19/03/2017 , work completed 19/03/2017
Worth the wait? - Yes!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an old PVC window replaced by SPS with a sash window. The quality of the window is outstanding. A previously unloved room has been transformed into a beautiful room. Their fitter Marek was very professional. He took great care and paid attention to detail when he fitted the window and left the place clean & tidy. A first class job. I will use SPS again in the future. I highly recommend that company.
Sophia, London Posted on 27/02/2017 , work completed 27/02/2017
Excellent work completed, again, by SPS Timber Windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS did an excellent job earlier this year - as they always do - replacing more of our very old sash windows and French doors for us. The quality of the product is outstanding and is real value for money (though you are not buying something cheap here!), the installation was immaculately planned and executed to high standards (without any scaffolding even at first floor level), and they are some of the cleanest and tidiest workers to come to our house. They have now completed a programme - over 10 years or so - of replacing all our 100 year old windows and our front bay. Highly recommended!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/02/2017 , work completed 20/02/2017
Excellent work and amazing attention to detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had two large gable windows and a smaller casement window fitted by SPS. It took less than a week including putting the scaffolding up and taking it down. The fitters were very careful and there was almost no damage to the walls either inside or out. The completed job looks fantastic. I cannot praise the whole team enough!
Keith1 Posted on 20/02/2017 , work completed 20/02/2017
Very Satisfied Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had 2 casement windows installed in our Edwardian House. Wished to have exact mouldings replicated from our original mouldings so the internal and external appearance would not be changed at all. Apart from a small change in the Workshop which had to be made at the outset, which was dealt with immediately to our satisfaction, we could not fault the quality and finish of the new windows. The fitter, Michal, gave the highest attention to detail and kept us informed at every stage of the installation. He was pleasant to have around and left our home clean and tidy at the end of each working day. Could not fault his work. Wouldn't hesitate to use SPS again or recommend to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/02/2017 , work completed 03/02/2017
SPS Windows - Excellent Quality and Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initially we used SPS to replace our Victorian French doors and the sash windows in our bedroom. We were so pleased with the result that we have had them back to replace cottage style windows and door in our kitchen. The work was completed last week and we immediately felt the effect with the room being so much warmer now with double glazing and no draughts! On both occasions the operations went exactly according to plan and we are very happy with the results.
iPad two Posted on 29/01/2017 , work completed 29/01/2017
SPS Timber Windows - Highly recomended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS completed the replacement of all windows and front door in our two storey Edwardian terrace house to the original details, albeit with double glazed units. The process was incredibly unobtrusive considering the scale of the job and the finished product is faultless.
r.base Posted on 17/01/2017 , work completed 17/01/2017
SPS Timber Windows - delighted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I researched a number of different companies to fit Southfields coach house style double glazed sash windows and thought that SPS were the highest quality and the best looking. Timing was going to be an issue but Simon was able to reduce the lead in time by 3 month to fit within out time frame. I suspected it was a sales pitch to win the business but they delivered the entire project on time and there were no hidden costs - it ran like clockwork. Are the windows expensive? Yes, but they are worth every penny in our opinion and look great!
Freddie Posted on 15/01/2017 , work completed 15/01/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were impressed by the high level of personal service offered by SPS Timber Windows from our first email enquiry to their subsequent onsite visits and eventual installation. The period windows they replaced in our house look exactly like the originals but are double glazed and completely draught proof. Excellent workmanship and the actual fitting was done by a friendly and hardworking team with minimal disruption who left the house clean and tidy behind them each day. We were very pleased with the final result and would highly recommend this company.
Peter W Posted on 06/01/2017 , work completed 06/01/2017
Replacement Leaded Windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The front leaded windows on the ground and first floor of our 1900's house needed replacing, so we asked SPS to replace them all with double-glazed wood framed replicas. They did an excellent job - everything about the process, the staff and the result was first class. It's almost impossible to tell that the windows are new, which is exactly what I wanted. I would certainly use them again.
Apentax Posted on 15/11/2016 , work completed 15/11/2016
Very happy with new windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 6 windows replaced in our Victorian terraced house. We went for wooden sash double glazed to get the best of both the traditional look and also the benefits of double glazing. We had received quotes from other companies, but felt the combination of a fair price (not highest, not lowest), generally being very knowledgeable and helpful during the quotation process and also a personal recommendation was convincing enough for us to proceed... and we are very glad we did. Everyone we have dealt with has been extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The installation itself was handled extremely well by the installer Michal and the decorator Max; very impressed with their professionalism, friendliness and tidiness. The windows are exactly what we wanted and look amazing - very glad to have the double glazing now that the weather is turning cold. To summarise, very happy and would recommend SPS without hesitation.
Happy Customers in SW19 Posted on 26/10/2016 , work completed 26/10/2016
Wonderful service and the perfect product!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial quotes, through the design phase and most importantly during the installation itself, SPS were top notch. SPS are, as a company, completely organised, focused on quality and good customer service and delivering the best possible product. They replaced all of our windows in our Edwardian terrace and we could not be happier with both the care and attention while carrying out the works and the finished product. A special mention to the fitting and finishing team - their care, politeness, excellent communication skills and desire to create the perfect windows was key. I would not hesitate to use SPS again.
David & Sonia Posted on 09/10/2016 , work completed 09/10/2016
Excellent quality and service. Thoroughly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS replaced two large casement windows for us last year. We had no hesitation in asking them to come back this year to replace three more windows (two sash and one small casement). They have been excellent throughout: * estimation and measuring was clear, prompt and highly professional; * plans and schedule of works were delivered when they were due, and were also very clear and helpful; * works were started, carried out and completed as per schedule; * craftsmen were delightful, highly skilled, thorough, and caring in their work. They took pride in their work, and left the house as clean and tidy as they could at the end of each day; * when there was one small issue (a matter of who would be arriving that day), it was promptly resolved, and followed by a personal visit from a senior person. SPS are not cheap, but their work is of such high quality it is worth every penny.
Happy Customer Posted on 13/09/2016 , work completed 13/09/2016
Victorian Terrassed House Windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS refitted all windows on our Victorian terraced house. This included some features (obscured glass inn curved inlay) to match the originals on our street. Result is impeccable. Staff were extremely friendly and professional. We had a hiccup (needs some re-plastering done, the alarm system was affected at some point); but SPS dealt with all that without us having any trouble. Builders, who worked in our house were great, friendly and approachable at all times.
chartman59 Posted on 02/09/2016 , work completed 02/09/2016
Nothing but high praise for SPS Timber windows - a very professional company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were recommended to SPS Timber Windows by our neighbours. Like them, we have decided to replace all our box sashes, keeping to the traditional style, staggering the work over three or four phases. The first, replacing the first three, has just been completed, and we have nothing but high praise for the team. They are highly skilled craftsmen, efficient, extremely tidy, careful, and very polite. We had expected huge disruption, but the sites were kept contained, stress free for us, and all completed on time. The windows are of a very high quality, superbly constructed, and very robust. We have had a very happy experience from beginning to end with the whole SPS team, so much so that we have now confirmed the second phase!
Wandsworth Posted on 12/08/2016 , work completed 12/08/2016
Excellent service at every stage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a very large sash window replaced in our front room. This was the fifth job that SPS has done for us. We keep coming back because of the consistently high standard of workmanship and service. The new windows look stunning, with careful attention to detail. This job was particularly challenging because of the size of the sash and the complication of a large set of shutters that had to be taken down and subsequently reassembled. All of this was done by the fitters without any fuss and with great care. I am pleased to recommend this excellent firm.
John Bowler Posted on 16/06/2016 , work completed 16/06/2016
Replacement casement windows to the front of our 1930s house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We bought the house because of its many original features and really didn't want to replace the original windows but they were draughty and leaked! We spend a long time looking at various different timber window companies and chose SPS as they seemed to be the best at matching the existing profiles. The result is fantastic, the windows compliment the house and to the untrained eye you would not know they were any different except they fit well, are more secure, double glazed and don't leak! I would definitely recommend this company.
Long Ditton resident Posted on 09/06/2016 , work completed 09/06/2016
Replacement windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was a pleasure dealing with SPS. The process was smooth and well managed from start to finish. Without exception every one that I dealt with in SPS was helpful, reliable and friendly. The level of customer service and workmanship was first class. There was a lengthy lead in time but the finished product was well worth waiting for.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/04/2016 , work completed 11/04/2016
Very authentic looking and good quality windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had 7 box sash windows replaced in our flat which had been there for many years and were rotten. They are of very good quality and look much more authentic than any others that we have seen, including some large window showrooms. They are not the cheapest in the market but definitely look very expensive once installed and we think they are worth paying extra for. Simon gave us good advice and arranged for the measuring etc. They are very busy but he managed to manufacture and install our windows in time for us to move in. One slight hiccup was that the windows were supplied not fully finished but Justin and Max came immediately to inspect the windows and arranged for Max to meticulously and carefully finish them to an excellent standard. We were very impressed and ordered our loft hatch window from them too. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
Nashat Posted on 18/03/2016 , work completed 18/03/2016
SPS are an excellent choice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
While the lead in time from placing an order to installation of the windows was quite long the finished result was absolutely worth waiting for. Every stage of the process has been highly professional and thorough. The quality of the finished windows is first class and a source of envy! The installation was very impressive and each night the house was left in good order with all of the old material removed. I have no hesitation in recommending this company.
2011-07-28 09:19:12.69 Posted on 13/03/2016 , work completed 13/03/2016
Excellent Product, Great People.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The windows on our house were 95 years old. They leaked wind and water, but nothing I had seen in aluminium, PVC or even wood looked right. Eventually, I came across a house in the next street having new windows. The windows were the first I'd seen that looked like the originals. By coincidence, the house belonged to friends. When the job was over, I asked what they thought about them and they were effusive with praise. I did some research on the product, was impressed with the specifications and the materials used, and contacted Simon Walker at SPS Timber Windows at once. From that moment, everyone we met or spoke to from SPS had been great. The installation team were terrific. They worked extremely hard, and conscientiously, made very little noise, considering the work required, and were very friendly. Each window was out and in the same day, so the house was secure and weatherproof every night. What astonished and delighted us was that they tidied up, removed the dust covers, and hoovered at the end of every single day. Amazing. Now they’re in, the quality of the windows, and the attention to detail during the installation, is very impressive. The fenestration is correct, as it was originally, and period details, rails and moldings have been recreated to match. Considering the quality of the windows, they are good value for money. I would certainly have more windows done by SPS, and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to anyone else.
guym-p Posted on 04/03/2016 , work completed 04/03/2016
Very happy with service and windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial consultation, through planning and fitting, SPS have been a pleasure to deal with. We had our windows fitted at the end of a long refurbishment process and were dreading "another company" coming to our flat to do work. However, SPS were very efficient and tidy and the resulting windows are of a very high quality. Price-wise, our windows were a reasonable price.
kerzlino Posted on 22/02/2016 , work completed 22/02/2016
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS have just finished installing 13 double-glazed sash windows at the front of my house, replacing the 100 year plus originals. We chose them having looked at a few local alternatives - and taking into account that they have done quite a lot of work up and down our street. They did an excellent job for us, reproducing the original specs very closely indeed, matching the existing paint colours and making up bespoke architraves to reproduce the originals. The fitters were great and worked very hard to keep to schedule (thanks Karol!). Overall a great success - the house is now a lot warmer!
2011-08-06 20:43:02.323 Posted on 03/02/2016 , work completed 03/02/2016
Very high quality and fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would strongly recommend SPS. The service from Simon and team was brilliant. The quality of workmanship is superb - the construction, the fitting and the decoration post fitting. It's hard to see that we've had new windows fitted because of the finish around the installation. They are not the cheapest but they are worth the extra money.
Tony Smith Posted on 28/01/2016 , work completed 28/01/2016
Top quality windows designed to last
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using SPS windows for 7+ years to slowly replace all the windows in my house (which is 100 years old) in a style designed to be consistent with the original architecture. The windows are all hardwood and finished to exacting specifications. Their installation team are also exacting to be sure they are installed to last, and the paint used is of a high specification that lasts well even in exposed situation. I happily leave their staff alone in my house, knowing that they will just get on with the job, and they clean up every day having covered all the furniture. I made one mistake when having an extension built in having a builder install the windows. SPS are MUCH BETTER and more exacting in the quality of installation, and they back up their workmanship with a 10 year warranty - and they have always come and eased the windows where needed. They are not cheap - but their product and service are quite outstanding and can be relied upon.
colincohen Posted on 24/12/2015 , work completed 24/12/2015
Superb job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS have just completed installation of two large double casement windows at the front of our house. Friends and neighbours for whom SPS had done work recommended the company to us, and I want to add our whole-hearted recommendation to theirs. I don’t think we could have found a better company anywhere. Their communication was excellent throughout, they were always reliable and punctual, and their plans were very clear. The quality of their work could not, as far as I can see, be surpassed, and, during the whole period of installation, their craftsmen were similarly reliable, punctual and very hard working. It has been a pleasure doing business with SPS. We will certainly return to them when we replace more windows.
2011-07-25 19:12:01.517 Posted on 23/10/2015 , work completed 23/10/2015
SPS work on two houses
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have known SPS for over 10 years and in that time they have fitted an extensive number of casement windows, front doors, french doors, and bifold doors on two houses. The product quality is excellent and has improved over time. The style and mouldings are a perfect match for the type of property (1930's). They are very good at creating bespoke pieces for any form of awkward opening, and you will always receive detailed CAD drawings for all items. The measures and fitters are excellent, the team is long standing and that experience shows in the quality of the final installation. The whole process from design through manufacture to fit takes time, but it is well worth the wait. Finally the earliest window fitted still look fantastic even many years later.
83639 Posted on 03/10/2015 , work completed 03/10/2015
Another happy SPS customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A bit of a wait after placing our order, but we were warned and it was ready when they said it would be - installation was exactly as their timetable - replaced 10 sash windows on our Edwardian house - great match to the old single glazed units - excellent quality and great service from the SPS team.
DomK15 Posted on 25/08/2015 , work completed 25/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used SPS to fit new double glazed french doors in our living room. From start to finish every aspect of their service was exceptional and we are delighted with the quality of work. The original Edwardian design was matched exactly. They have a long lead-in period as they are very busy but it was worth the wait. They are not the cheapest, but this is definitely the company I will use next time.
Majowi Posted on 14/07/2015 , work completed 14/07/2015
Does what it says on the tin!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It can be a challenge to find a company that actually comes through with what they say they will on time, competetively priced (& I did my research on such an expensive job) and with professionalism from all the contacts I had with the company. SPS ticked all the boxes. The bonus was they were local. The quality of the five sash window box replacements is obvious to see and the work was carried out with minimal disruption; our home being left safe, clean & tidy after each day. I have no hesitation in recommending SPS, indeed I have already done so.
Lynn Smith Posted on 14/06/2015 , work completed 14/06/2015
Exceptional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We completely refurbished our house and the installation of the new SPS windows and French doors was one of the absolute highlights. In our previous flat, we had used another (and more expensive) supplier of timber sash windows, but I would choose SPS again anytime. SPS windows/doors are exceptional in terms of quality, finish and design. In fact, I can only describe them as absolutely beautiful and it continues to be a real joy to look at them every day. Our windows/doors are a perfectly mix of Edwardian style, blending in perfectly with our house, and modern quality in terms of the smooth finish, fixtures and security features. The installation process was also amazing for us. SPS managed our expectations well in terms of installation lead times and even delivered ahead of schedule. And the installers were extremely professional, worked well with the other builders and finished everything off to a very high standard. I have been highly impressed and would recommend SPS to anyone thinking of replacing their windows/doors. A big thank you again to everyone at SPS.
CMR308091399 Posted on 02/06/2015 , work completed 02/06/2015
Excellent Products and Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used SPS Timber Windows on three occasions in the last 5 years replacing doors and sash windows in a Victorian Semi. On every occasion I have been impressed by the professional approach and attention to detail in the specification of the replacements. Equally, the installers work to a high standard and always leave the property clean and tidy, taking care to protect furnishings. I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Which? Trusted Traders Customer Posted on 31/05/2015 , work completed 31/05/2015
9 x New Sash Windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class product, service and workmanship throughout. All aspects of the job are handled with absolute professionalism and SPS deliver on every commitment. Prior the engaging with SPS, I obtained 4 quotes from similar firms and very pleased with the decision to go with SPS. Highly recommend.
JMsw19 Posted on 07/04/2015 , work completed 07/04/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I live in a grade 2 listed building and used this firm to replace a window that was in a poor state of repair. I was particularly impressed with them because they did well even when things did not go to plan (the local council rejected a planning application for a double glazed replacement so we had to submit a further planning application for a single glazed window). So obviously the planning difficulties meant the process took longer than I hoped, once planning approval for a single glazed window was obtained they acted fast to manufacture and install the window with the process being done smoothly and in accordance with the original quote. Often the real test of any firm is whether they maintain good customer service when unexpected difficulties arise and SPS Timber windows in this instance passed this test with flying colours.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/03/2015 , work completed 19/03/2015
SPS Timber Windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I live in a Victorian terrace in Putney and needed to replace my old sash windows which were single glazed and draughty. Replaced 10 double glazed, wood sash windows in all. Extremely high quality product and Simon and team delivered them on time and to an excellent finish. No surprises at all, and the installation team was very courteous, cleaned up after themselves, and delivered everything they said they would in the quote (which was very competitive vs. the other quotes received). Was always very responsive when I had questions as well. Would recommend without reservation.
2011-07-30 18:31:45.043 Posted on 14/03/2015 , work completed 14/03/2015
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
"I've used SPS Timber over the past 8 years for various doors and windows. Some were of standard requirements (sashes) and some were very bespoke. In my view they are consummate professionals for these reasons: 1) They are excellent at what they do . High quality materials and workmanship 2) No b.s. when dealing with them (this is refreshing, for as a woman dealing with tradesmen I am subjected to such nonsense with tedious regularity). Straightforward, honest, respectful, clear advice, options and recommendations 3) Comprehensive breakdowns in quotes and responsive to queries 4) Accommodating in delivery and installation time where possible 5) Installation and making good executed on time in a clean, efficient and effective way 6) Flexible when required and unflappable should the unexpected occur 7) Guarantees given per FENSA I would have no hesitation in recommending them and I am not easily pleased either. Not cheapest but worth every penny. I have dealt with various tradesmen in many different disciplines and SPS stands head and shoulders above the rest (along with my CORGI registered plumber Madigas Services)."
Enoki1000 Posted on 09/03/2015 , work completed 09/03/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In short SPS are worth every penny you'll spend on your new windows. We've just had new timber sash double glazed windows put in front and back of our Victorian terrace home. 10 windows in total. From the day Simon arrived to give us a quote (we got 4 vendors in) to the day the installation team finished their work SPS have been thoroughly professional. They were not the cheapest quote but the proposal was very detailed, right down to the fixings and finishes and we were able to go and see past examples of their work and most reassuringly (albeit equally frustratingly!) they had a six month queue of people waiting for them. Once on site SPS were always punctual, very clean and tidy and we felt they really went the extra mile when it came to touching up and making good. Our windows look excellent and they've lifted the feel of the house inside and out. It's all money well spent with SPS. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend them again.
Nicholas, London Posted on 09/03/2015 , work completed 09/03/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed to replace three of the original sash windows in our Victorian house and SPS have done a truly exceptional job. Their service throughout was top rate. In the initial survey a great deal of attention was spent on ensuring that they matched as closely as possible the original design of the windows, and the installation team did their work
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/03/2015 , work completed 05/03/2015
Great windows and a great fitting team.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending SPS for new windows. The quality of the windows is brilliant and our house is quieter and warmer as a result, they look great and the installation was seamless. They made good the plaster and paint work around the new windows, and protected all our belongings and carpet impeccably. We had our final windows installed just before Christmas. I'm a great believer that you pay for what you get and I just hope SPS don't change.
Mrs Abela Posted on 04/02/2015 , work completed 04/02/2015
SPS Timber Windows -excellent products & service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS have recently installed double glazed timber sashes to my Victorian house in London. These were very large bay windows and I am delighted with the results. I would certainly recommend the company - the products are very good; the workforce were lovely, and seemed genuinely motivated to provide a quality result. The documentation provided was very impressive - detailed and clearly presented. There is one downside - you'll probably have to wait a while - although I guess any very good company will have a long lead time. It's worth it though. My thanks again to all involved.
R M Fielding Posted on 19/11/2014 , work completed 19/11/2014
Excellent quality and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS have just completed the replacement of 8 windows with Double Glazed windows in Accoya (wood with a long life). The installation included a bay with tall French doors. The quality of windows ( which totally matched our previous windows in design) and the work done by the the installers is of the highest quality. For each window, all furniture and floors were protected with sheets and the installation remedial work inside and out (painting and pebble dashing) was expertly completed leaving the property as if there had been no change of windows. I strongly recommend SPS for the installation of replacement windows in wood.
MalcolmW Posted on 23/10/2014 , work completed 23/10/2014
Outstanding quality and service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS replaced a total of 20 window and doors during the two stage refurbishment of our Edwardian property in 2011 and 2013. The quality of workmanship, professionalism and expertise throughout the whole process was second to none and we are delighted with the end result. Even a couple of 'snagging' issues as a result of settlement after the building works were dealt with speedily and efficiently. We have no hesitation in recommending SPS.
AlisonTD Posted on 25/07/2014 , work completed 25/07/2014
sash and casement windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS installed new box sash windows in our kitchen back in 2013. We were so impressed with the results that we have gone on to replace the remaining windows in our house (both sash, casement bays and a balcony door). Their installers and decorators are very friendly and proficient and we are thrilled with the results. The standard of finish is very high and was worth waiting for (there was a wait - we think testament to their popularity and level of service). Thank you SPS.
2011-08-12 12:52:10.237 Posted on 09/07/2014 , work completed 09/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My daughter used SPS windows to replace all the sash windows in her Edwardian terrace. The windows are beautiful quality and the installers were polite, friendly, efficient and very tidy. Whilst these windows are not cheap, they were also not the most expensive quote we got. Strongly recommend!
KAO Posted on 02/07/2014 , work completed 02/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had the front windows, front door & garage door of our 1930's house replaced by SPS Timber Windows, including a large square bay. The new windows look just like the originals, with curved tops, but with modern double-glazing. The original stained glass in the door & hall were incorporated into the sealed glazing units, to maintain the authentic look. The fitters were reliable, tidy & hard-working. The carpenter who did the measuring-up beforehand did a very thorough job. We are very pleased with the quality & have had many positive comments from neighbours & visitors. The only downside was the length of time we had to wait from order to fitting (about five months), but on balance we would highly recommend this company, especially if you want to maintain the period look of your property.
Jude 1 Posted on 26/05/2014 , work completed 26/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our house was built in 1927 and the front bay windows needed replacing. I had obtained quotes from two companies for PVC windows and then came across SPS. Their quotation procedure, together with the high quality of the specification of their windows, were most impressive. The price was roughly double that of PVC windows, but we decided that the quality of the product (appearance, longevity, energy efficiency) justified this extra cost. SPS replaced both bays at the front and four other casement windows on the first floor. Before construction, the windows were measured and photographed to ensure that the new items would, as far as possible, be clones of the original. The installation team of two were tremendous. The new windows fitted accurately and the small amounts of inevitable damage to the immediate areas of the interior and exterior wall surfaces were made good speedily and to a high quality. They also repainted the repaired areas. (You will have to know what the original colour was of course!) The team plentifully used dust sheets and plastic sheeting to minimize the effect of dust from the installation, and they cleared up and vacuumed at the end of each day. The windows look tremendous and we are very pleased with them. I have no hesitation in recommending SPS highly.
Gordon, TPR Posted on 26/05/2014 , work completed 26/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used SPS to double glaze an existing sash bay window in our kitchen. They copied the original period mouldings of the windows and the surrounds perfectly. The workmen were efficient and professional and cleaned up at the end of each of the 2 days' work. We are extremely pleased SPS's window and the company's service generally.
Sarah G Duncan Posted on 19/04/2014 , work completed 19/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS fitted a new 3-part bay sash window to our Victorian property. The experience was entirely stress-free from the initial meeting to the windows being completed. From keeping the dust to a minimum to ensuring the final decoration matched perfectly with the room they were fitting into. You may have a wait a long time to get them in but the wait is well worth it.
Charlie A Posted on 07/04/2013 , work completed 07/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS replaced all the windows in our Edwardian house. They have matched them perfectly to the old style. From start to finish the whole experience has been professional and problem free. The installation was fast, clean and stress free. There were no hidden costs and they redecorated any small areas of damage post installation. We have had many words of praise from other professionals and neighbours. It has made such a difference this winter not to have cold draughts. to be fully recommended
jjtc79 Posted on 05/04/2013 , work completed 05/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS replaced all the windows in the front of our house including replicating ten Edwardian stained glass fanlights in double glazed units (something which several other reputable firms said could not be done). The end result is precisely what we wanted and the foundation for that was the care they took in understanding our needs and setting out a very precise specification of what they planned to deliver. The only material downside was that they had some scheduling problems which meant the whole job became somewhat protracted. However, this was offset by good communication (not normally a strength of the building-related trade) about the nature of the problems and by ensuring that we were open to the elements for the minimum time possible. Their installers were friendly, efficient and impressively hard-working. We have more windows to replace later this year and will be asking them to quote.
PhilWise Posted on 25/01/2013 , work completed 25/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS replaced 6 windows in my house before Christmas. From initial visit to completion of the job the communication was clear, detailed and speedy. The quote was most comprehensive and carried out exactly. The men who did the work were excellent - everything was covered in dust sheets; they turned up daily on the dot; I felt i could trust them completely and gave them a key so that I could get on with my life; they were most tolerant of the dog; once the windows were fitted they were cleaned and the woodwork was filled and repainted; the small amount of colateral damage which was done to the walls surrounding the windows was removed using the original wall paint. At my request they also rerouted the phone and TV aerials while the windows were out. They worked hard, were very helpful, mobile phone calls were minimal and they were all very pleasant. They even played Nina Simone one day - marvellous. On the Thursday before Christmas the last and much the largest window (sliding doors for the patio) was to be fitted. The old one was removed, but on arrival the new one proved to be significantly too tall. it was taken back to the workshop; the large hole was boarded up overnight; the new window was cut down to size overnight and replacement glass was obtained in order that it was completed on the following morning and installed by the end of the next day Friday. I believe that one of the men had to delay his departure time for his Christmas holiday - he couldn't have been nicer about it. We all make mistakes - it's how they are resolved that counts and they couldn't have done a better job. The windows themselves are beautiful and i'm thrilled. Where appropriate they are exact copies of the original victorian sash windows.The original ones had had secondary glazing fitted but I can tell that the heat retention in the area near the windows is now a great deal better. I can also open and close them with ease for the first time. I'm soon going to measure up for the remainder of the windows to be replaced by them - I think that tells you everything
carrie1955 Posted on 10/01/2013 , work completed 10/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I agree with all the other reviewers. We used SPS Windows to replace 7 sash windows in an old Victorian property and to build and fit French doors. The quote was middle-of-the-range. Excellent workers, communicating well with us, left the property clean and tidy, and worked efficiently within the stated time frame. We had a problem with the new doors (after a week, they didn't open properly). When we told them, they came back immediately and fixed it; now 6 months later, we have had no further problems. Recommended.
Irene13 Posted on 20/10/2012 , work completed 20/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS' design and installation of my new French windows was an entirely stress-free experience. They were friendly and attentive to my requests for particular features, meticulous in supplying drawings and written estimates; they kept to their predicted timetable and there were no hidden extra costs. The product is of high quality and the installation process was impressively well managed and rapid, including one or two followup visits to check on details. Dust was kept to a minimum and as promised the paintwork around the installation was fully restored. If all service providers were this good life would be a lot sweeter. Highly recommended.
Commoner149 Posted on 14/07/2012 , work completed 14/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS give extremely good customer service. They are efficient, responded swiftly to my queries and kept me updated on progress at every stage. As I was having windows repaired to a property that I let out (and is nearly 200 miles away from where I live) this consistent, clear communication was very reassuring. I would say that in terms of price, SPS are mid range, but in terms of quality they are at the very top of the class. Because of planning regulations I had to replace my windows like for like, so I didn't want to risk any problems by going with a low quality option, I also didn't want to have to get them redone again in a few years time. The results are great high quality windows that are guaranteed for 10 years and conform to all of the building / FENSA regulations. I would have no hesitation recommending them to anyone, they are based in SW18 but it was no problem going to N1.
Charlwsm Posted on 16/03/2012 , work completed 16/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used SPS about 2 years ago in the old flat [see previous review] and they did such a good job that we got them back to the new house to replace all the horrendous windows and doors that had been done by a previous builder. We got three quotes two for new windows, one for repair. SPS costs were in the middle. We had to wait quite a while as they were so busy, but a helpful team came and installed, they worked SO hard to get us done before the snow last year. In a time of bad workmanship seemingly being the norm, this is a refreshing change. Their doors and windows have changed the whole quality of the house. It give us great pleasure now to have no gaping gaps in the front door frame, no drafts, we can open and close the windows to air the house and we are secure. What a difference it makes. Thank you SPS.
kerstinlc Posted on 02/10/2011 , work completed 02/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I saw one of SPS Timber Windows vans locally in Raynes Park and called them to discuss the installation of new bespoke, double glazed timber French doors for our house. We had already had 2 quotes from other suppliers, but SPS was by far the most competitive (not cheap still, but you certainly get what you pay for!). Now the installation is completed we are really happy we used SPS for our project, and even our builder, who normally works with another supplier, was really impressed. The whole process from initial site visit to delivery went really smoothly, and the people we dealt with were very professional. By using SPS I was able to design the doors exactly like I wanted them. Also, the doors are manufactured nearby (I even had a chance to take a glance in their workshop), so the lead time was much shorter than you would normally expect, and SPS made every effort to work to fit in within our building project. I also like the fact that we only had a little deposit to pay with the balance all paid post installation, once the client is 100% happy. A big thumbs up and I would not hesitate one second to recommend this company.
frenchmummy Posted on 11/08/2011 , work completed 11/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found SPS Timber Windows through Which Local. SPS replaced six casement windows, a kitchen door and the entire front door assembly over a two week period at the end of March - early April. We had researched double glazing services and had quotes from national suppliers, which were in fact cheaper than SPS. From the first visit in December 10 through to the final lick of paint, the service and attention to detail was outstanding. Communication was consistent- we never needed to ask when or if something was going to happen and all our expectations were managed. The project management of the process was faultless. In terms of quality of product an installation, I doubt you will find better. The install team cared about our property and went to extraordinary lengths to keep disruption and dust/debris to a minimum. They also cared about the security of our house. The detail of the finishing both internal and external was first class and the craftsmen (because that is what they are) took pride in the quality of their work. Yes it costs more than the Anglias' of this world but boy the differnce shows. If you care about how your home looks and are seeking replacement double glazing then SPS need to be on your shopping list.
Pauline simpson Posted on 22/05/2011 , work completed 22/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very highly specified products, with an experienced and polite installation team that performed impressively well. Clean and tidy workers, they took care not to damage our polished wooden flooring or other decor. Surveyors also excellent; the windows and doors fitted first time with little problem. I would suggest getting in the cleaners for a day, after the installation because inevitably, dust gets everywhere despite the installation team's best efforts! We are extremely pleased with this team's work and it was a joy to see that they took pride in their workmanship.
Amethyst Posted on 02/05/2011 , work completed 02/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon, Sandis and the whole team at SPS did a fantastic job of replacing old box sash windows (12 in total) plus 3 casements and some french doors. We had quotes from 5 different companies and SPS came out averagely priced. They know their stuff, are honest, skilled and the windows speak for themselves. We have had so many people comment on them and i'm sure our energy bills will be significantly lower in the coming years as a result. They are a popular and busy company so the lead time was 12-14 weeks but it was well wrth the wait.
fblessley Posted on 02/04/2011 , work completed 02/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really happy with excellent service and superb quality from the whole team at SPS. Had all the front wooden bay sashes replaced on 1900 semi in Wimbledon. Beautiful finish, true to original but much better! Highly recommended, not the most expensive quote by far and good value for money - as a previous reviewer said, you get what you pay for.
nicbrad Posted on 21/01/2011 , work completed 21/01/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon Porter, Sandis Kivlandis and their team of craftsmen offer a high-quality service. They replaced badly degraded Victorian box sash windows in my house on the front bays both downstairs and upstairs (where they also replaced single window). Work was scheduled accurately and carried out remarkably quickly (3 days start to finish for fitting). All surrounds were immaculately made good both inside and out; the rooms were left spotless at the end of each day. Even though not the cheapest deal in town, they get a 5 for value because they work with great efficiency to a standard that would be hard to better. My house is now warmer, quieter and looks so much better. This was a major undertaking carried out with minimal disruption and represents a very worthwhile investment.
David Skinner Posted on 21/09/2010 , work completed 21/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used SPS Timber Windows for replacement wooden windows in a 1930's house. The customer care was of a very high standard and any problems or concerns were dealt with quickly and effectively. All those responsible for the installation and painting (mainly Rafal, Milosz and Bill with Sandis managing the whole process) were very pleasant and worked with great care. They were also punctual, tidy and worked very hard. The attention to detail was very high and we are extremely pleased with the result. We would strongly recommend this company, without hesitation.
GeoffreyS Posted on 12/05/2010 , work completed 12/05/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS replaced 9 louvre windows with double-glazed sash windows, including two bay windows. The workmen were very thorough, particularly when it came to touching up the paintwork and ensuring they were finished to a high standard. All the windows look great and work really well.
Alexandra J Posted on 17/04/2010 , work completed 17/04/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly professional service and superb quality of windows. It was amazing how little disruption there was and, incredibly, that somehow the house was cleaner after the fitters had tidied up at the end of the day than before they started. Not sure what that says about my housekeeping, but very impressive.
Rochelle Posted on 15/12/2009 , work completed 15/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
SPS have neatly fitted a sturdy, attractive sash window, and to all specifications. The workmanship seems good and staff are genial. The only criticism I have is with their communication. I was expecting them to come and fit the window on 3rd Sept. It wasn't actually ready until the following week but no-one informed me of this.
Jon Mitcham Posted on 28/09/2009 , work completed 28/09/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found SPS Timber Windows on Which?Local.The good review encouraged us to make contact. From the first contact to the last work everything went just as one would want it. Questions were answered, appointments were made. The works were done precisely as promised. The people doing the works were ever so pleasant. Very hard working, leaving everything top clean and tidy. You wouldn't know that work has been done. The quality of the woodwork and the glass is excellent, the windows slide like "butter'. Yes, it was expensive. But here you get for 100% what you pay for.
Ilse Posted on 01/09/2009 , work completed 01/09/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had new double glazed french doors and sash windows fitted by SPS Timber Windows. The quality of the service, the product and the fitting has been excellent. The design and proportion of the doors and windows are perfect - they look great - and the finish is top quality. They are not the cheapest quote we had, but worth every extra penny we spent. One piece of advice a friend gave me was that if you spend most of your time looking out the french doors, make sure they look nice. Very wise words...
kerstinlc Posted on 24/07/2009 , work completed 24/07/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had two large sash windows replaced in the bedroom and a small casement window in the bathroom. Because we live in a conservation area we had to have planning permission, and SPS were very helpful and co-operative in sending through the plans etc. The windows are lovely, and the decorator who made good afterwards was painstakingly thorough.
kimw Posted on 08/06/2009 , work completed 08/06/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 2 large bay windows and one other replaced with double glazing which had to be in sympathy with what we already had. The overall experience was very professional. The carpenters were efficient, very clean and finished off the job perfectly.
78Fergus Posted on 09/09/2008 , work completed 09/09/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
High quality double glazing specialists with hard working installers. They have done a fantastic job on our house.
PGP Posted on 19/08/2008 , work completed 19/08/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They replaced an old sliding sash window with a doubled galzed sliding sash. Good quality wood and nice solid feel to the new window. The cost was £1090 plus VAT. The window was roughly 5 feet high by 3 feet wide.
Timbonius Posted on 23/10/2007 , work completed 23/10/2007