We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Stoake Ltd

Profile thumb stoake logo which trusted traders 02

4.9

61 Reviews

About

Stoake is a wood burning stove shop in London, England. We stock a wide range of quality wood burners including Charnwood, Jotul, Stovax, Rais and Scan.

As well as selling stoves we also provide high quality wood stove installation services in-house. We specialise in ecodesign and Defra approved wood stoves, HETAS compliant installations, complex twin wall flue systems and boiler stoves for wood fired central heating.

We also install a range of other renewable energy technologies and can offer comprehensive renewable heat and power systems. We can take Victorian terraces entirely off-grid.

Get in touch for free quotes, consultation and site surveys.
Opening times: by appointment.

www.stoake.co.uk

Social:
https://www.instagram.com/StoakeLtd/
https://twitter.com/StoakeLtd/
https://www.facebook.com/StoakeLtd/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/stoake-ltd/
http://www.houzz.co.uk/pro/StoakeLtd/
https://uk.pinterest.com/StoakeLtd/
https://plus.google.com/+StoakeUK/

What we do

  • Fireplace and stove installers

  • Renewable energy

    • Biomass
    • Solar water heating
    • Solar panels
  • Gas installers

  • More Services

    • wood burning stove installation
    • wood stove central heating

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
61 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Highly Recommended...
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very courteous, professional and respectful company who quoted and installed a fantastic new wood burning stove into our home in Holland Park at a very reasonable price. It's great to come across new companies staffed by highly competent and motivated young people providing an outstanding service. If you are thinking about installing a wood burner stove - this is the place to go in London.
thasler Posted on 08/02/2016 , work completed 08/02/2016
The trader replied (on 12/04/2016)
Hi Tom thanks for the review. We understand that half the job is customer service so it's good to hear this has been well received. Keep in touch, Marcus Stoake
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team at Stoven recently installed a Wood burning stove at our home in NW London, from the initial call with Marcus, site visit from Nigel to the final installation by Henry and Andreas I always found them professional and polite and were very accommodating working around the other works going on in the house. We love the stove and I would highly recommend Stoven Jay
Site User Posted on 27/07/2015 , work completed 27/07/2015
The trader replied (on 13/04/2016)
Hi Jay good to hear you're happy with our service. If you're ever in Willesden pop by our new showroom and say hi: Stoake, 80 Harlesden Road, London NW10 2BE. Take care, Marcus Stoake
Grievances with the group
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stovesonline pointed me to these installers and between the two companies I was sold a stove which was incompatible with my smoke free location. I was quoted £100 for The Work Group's chimneysweep who, upon completion asked if I would be paying him personally, leaving me an invoice for £50. Had I paid him that would have been the end of the matter, but Marcus invoiced me for an extra 20per cent VAT. He also accused stovesonline for providing the wrong stove, stating that they would be picking up the installation costs. With respect, I pointed out that his company, being based in the London area are expected to be familiar with the stove models unsuitable for my area (south west London). Stovesonline admitted they had made a mistake, but didn't know how it happened. I stressed in an e-mail prior to this incident that I would be relying on their guidance and expertise. The exchange of stoves took place with me at home to greet Nigel, but Marcus arrived and left my premises without a word to me; After that, Nigel was really taken aback when I refused to accept an old, ash covered Morso bag containing five holes. He said it had been inside the new stove; I insisted on retaining my original one, still in pristine condition. More explicit details about my experience are available, but I would never contact this company again and will contact my local stockist, through Morso, with regret of this entirely distressing incident
CMR403833605 Posted on 17/04/2015 , work completed 17/04/2015
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 22/06/2015)
We're very sorry this sequence of events has caused you distress and led you to have such a low opinion of us. We always try to be respectful and courteous to our customers and we take pride in the high levels of customer service we provide. We’ve carefully read your complaint and would like to outline how our understanding of the situations differs from yours: We as a company supply and install stoves. We also install stoves that have been supplied by our customers. The stove in question was supplied by yourself for us to install. Before you bought the stove we gave you a site visit free of charge, and we gave you impartial advice and recommendations on the type of stoves we thought to be most suitable for you. You made a decision to purchase a Morso Squirrel from a third party. This stove comes in several different models and although your supplier had intended to dispatch a Morso Squirrel 1430 they actually delivered a Morso Squirrel 1412. The difference between these stoves is that the former is Defra approved to burn wood in smoke control areas and the latter is not. This does not mean the installation was illegal. The stove in question is classed as 'multi fuel’ which means it’s suitable for burning Defra approved smokeless fuels in smoke control areas. At the time of installation we were not aware that a mix up had been made and assumed that the stove delivered was the stove to be installed. As soon as you told us the wrong model had been delivered we liaised with your supplier and came to an arrangement with them to install the new stove at no cost to yourself. We also made arrangements to remove the old stove, repackage it and send it back to your supplier on your behalf. We did this as quickly and efficiently as we were able with no additional charges to you. We feel this is an example of the high level of service and after sales care we provide. We always notify HETAS when we install a stove. They notify building control and they are responsible for posting a certificate of compliance directly to the customer. Immediately after you told us you hadn’t received the certificate of compliance we rang HETAS to investigate. They told us they’d posted you the certificate several weeks before, but it wasn’t sent with recorded delivery and they agreed to send you a second copy post-haste. The chimney sweep was itemised in our written quotation as a sweep with inspection camera. This means that the sweep will clean the chimney and also carry out a CCTV survey to ensure that there are no obstructions in the chimney. It turned out that he didn’t need to use the camera as his experience with his chimney rods told him it was a clear flue. We pass these savings on to our customers as standard and this is why we charged you less for the sweep. We use a sub contractor for this service and we apologise if he caused any confusion by giving you the invoice directly. The Morso bag was taken out of the new stove and handed directly to you. We have no idea how it came to have holes in it but again this was a purchase made by yourself from a third party. When you raised this with us we swapped the bag with the old one from the stove being returned. We understand that having a stove installed in your home is not only a practical decision but is also an emotional investment. We are sincerely sorry that your experience has been such an unhappy one. We also feel that we have behaved with respect and done everything in our power to resolve any issues as they arose whether our responsibility or not. If you have any reasonable requests of us to reconcile this situation we will consider them. And writing as Marcus: I personally apologise for not saying hello when I helped Nigel to switch the stove. I was a little nervous as the last time we'd spoken on the phone you shouted at me for quite some time. I didn’t have an inclination to subject myself to that again, but I also didn’t understand how much my visit would mean to you. Sincerely Marcus Hodgetts and Nigel Meyers Directors | Stoven
Courteous business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this business to put in a wood burning stove with stainless steel flu liner, new central heating boiler, hot water cylinder and redid the whole central heating system. The work was completed very neatly and I found them to be thoughtful throughout.
RDav12 Posted on 09/12/2014 , work completed 09/12/2014
Charlie
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Marcus and the team at The Works Group, Please accept this message as a token thank you for helping us through the entire process of installing our fabulous new wood burning stove. The level of your support and your professional approach towards meeting our criteria was exceptional. The quality and finish of the workmanship is astonishing, and we are extremely grateful. You have all been very ready to help and give wise advice even with the smallest of questions, which is indicative of an attitude that ' nothing is too much trouble'. We would not hesitate to recommend The Works Group Ltd to our friends and family. Charlie, Jo, Gracie and Bump!
Charlie Posted on 17/10/2014 , work completed 17/10/2014
The Works Group Ltd
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Works Group Ltd fitted our Stovax Stockton 14 Multi Fuel Stove with wrap round boiler - They were polite, always on time, clean, tidy, totally trustworthy and extremely good at what they did. Their after sales service is 100%. They are a genuine company and I would definately recommend them. Look no further! Thank you to Nigel and Marcus and their staff. Maggie and Kevin
Lindsay Posted on 16/10/2014 , work completed 16/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel installed a gas/electric cooker for us, taking out the old built-in cooker and cutting our formica bench top in order to fit in the new free-standing cooker. He worked late to fit us into his busy schedule, which we very much appreciated as we were desperate to get it installed. He was friendly, considerate, a pleasure to have around and he did a very good job. We will definitely be asking him to do more work and can thoroughly recommend him.
marmaladejam Posted on 26/04/2013 , work completed 26/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our Victorian era house has complex plumbing and central heating systems. These needed to be upgraded to modern standards. More than one plumber decided the job was too complicated. Nigel was happy to take on the challenge, and did an excellent job. The work turned out to be more complicated than expected, but he stuck to his original estimate. There were some extra items not covered by the original quote, and these were charged at a fair price. Nigel was a pleasure to deal with. He ensures he stays on top of the latest technical developments and regulations. He is also qualified to install green energy systems, but these were of no interest in our situation. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Runner10 Posted on 01/03/2013 , work completed 01/03/2013
Solar Panels installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Wrks Group installed Nine solar panels on my roof
Caroline, London Posted on 01/08/2012 , work completed 01/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Nigel on the basis of the recommendation on this website and I would have no hesitation in recommending him as well. As I had moved into a new house he was able to offer me a quick appointment at a time convenient to me for a boiler service as I had no instructions on how the system worked and the thermostat was not working. He went through a thorough explanation of my heating system and explained why I didn't need extra unnecessary work carried out. He checked all my radiators as well and set them to operate correctly. He even looked at my gas oven at my request to let me know it was safe to use and possible improvement work he could carry out if I wanted it. He was friendly and polite in all the work that he did and answered all the questions that I had. His rates seemed reasonable especially as there was no hidden extra work.
sukhdip Posted on 11/06/2012 , work completed 11/06/2012