Endorsed by Which?

Sussex Solar Ltd

5.0

79 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–18:00
  • Monday 09:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–18:00
  • Thursday 09:00–18:00
  • Friday 09:00–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–18:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

We are a family-owned, renewable energy company, established since 2004. We install solar PV panels, Tesla Powerwalls, heat pumps and solar thermal (hot water) systems. We also provide a comprehensive maintenance and repair service. Based in Horsham, West Sussex we are known for our technical expertise, high standards of workmanship and excellent customer service. We preserve our great reputation by never subcontracting our work to others and we keep our installations to a geographical area that we know we can support with ongoing service.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Air source heat pumps
    • Solar water heating
    • Solar panels
    • Home energy analysis
  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical installations
  • Air conditioning contractors

  • Smart Homes

    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • More Services

    • tesla powerwall
    • energy storage
    • solar pv
    • energy batteries

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
79 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Sussex Solar 5.6kW PV system with 5.2kWh battery: Enthusiastic recommendation and endorsement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In September 2022 Sussex Solar Ltd installed a 14 panel 5.5kW (pk) solar PV system with GivEnergy 3.6kW hybrid inverter and 5.2kWh battery. It went live towards the end of September and over the first week of its operation met more than 80% of our electrical power needs. The positives: • A well-proven set of system components: solar panels, hybrid inverter, battery, cabling and smartphone app. • Very good responsiveness to emails, requests for information, and answers to questions. I approached four possible suppliers for a quote: Sussex Solar were the only one who responded. • Excellent project management of the whole installation process: scaffolding install; system install and commissioning; and scaffolding removal. • Excellent quality of workmanship, including tidiness • A great set of individuals involved throughout the process No negatives, but a couple of things to aware of: • They offer a limited number of inverter/battery configurations. This is good as it means that the whole process from design to installation is very smooth. But you may need to make some compromises in your requirements. • You will be given an estimate of the overall peak solar power that your panels will generate. However, it will be up to you to work out the economics of what this will mean for your situation. • The application to the local electricity supplier for a DNO / export MPAN is made after commissioning. Depending on the electricity supplier it could be a week/months.
Robert in Hampshire Posted on 30/09/2022 , work completed 22/09/2022
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with the way that Sussex Solar handled this project. From the site survey to start with through to completion and commissioning, everything was handled in a professional manner. Andy has a very competent team working with him and I would thoroughly recommend this Company.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 29/08/2022 , work completed 12/08/2022
Fitting a 4.6KW system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial enquiry onwards Amanda and Andy gave clear and easy to follow advice on the best set up for me and our house. It was daunting not knowing where to start. I tried several companies, many of whom didn't even bother to call me back. Due to strong demand, getting the equipment took longer than envisaged but they kept in touch. The team who fitted the panels were very efficient polite and also very tidy. Once installed and the system commissioned Andy spent time to really clearly walk us through the system and how to use it. Sussex Solar were top notch and a great family business.
Tim in Surrey Posted on 17/06/2022 , work completed 31/05/2022
2KW PV panel System - Hampshire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have been a delight to work with from the initial enquiry through to the completion of the installation. The original enquiry based on purely my supplied requirements and details produced an initial illustration design and cost estimate. That evolved as more details were understood but the final pricing was met. At every stage of the process, Sussex Solar keep me fully informed of every step including accurate lead-times and on-site attendance. Their timekeeping was impeccable considering they are based 50 miles distant and they treated my property with respect at all times leaving it as they had found it. It is early days to report on the performance of the installation but I have no doubt that it will live up to the projections. Bearing in mind the increased interest in renewable energy and the associated enquiries I can only complement on the company for their responsiveness which is a quality I value highly and wish others would/could emulate.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 12/04/2022 , work completed 08/04/2022
Excellent long establish firm in the renewables business.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have just installed a twelve kw Vaillant air source heat pump to replace our gas boiler. Advice, planning and execution of the job all excellent. We have in fact used Sussex Solar for a number of jobs over the years (first, solar thermal about fourteen years ago, then a PV system about twelve years ago, and now the heat pump). In each case they gave good advice, designed a robust system, and installed it to a high standard. The few items of servicing that have been necessary have also been handled well. I highly recommend them for the range of products and services they offer.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 04/03/2022 , work completed 01/03/2022
5kwp Solar installation by Sussex Solar
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex solar finished my 5kwp solar installation just before xmas 2021. I found dealing with Sussex Solar to be simple and pleasant from inception to completion - the office team provided great communications for all my little questions in a very timely manner. Sussex Solar were the only company to respond with a design capable of fitting 15 panels upon the roof of my new build garage, providing a significant increase in capacity to just under 5kwp. As with many new build projects, coordinating suppliers and contractors in these times is a challenge, Sussex Solar were very flexible about fitting in around my roofer, which I very much appreciate. Installation of the in-roof trays and panels (when the day finally arrived), was quick and painless and they were happy to await the final electrical connection before commissioning the inverter and panels. I'd recommend speaking with Sussex Solar to anyone considering PV renewables, I'm very happy with the end result.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 01/02/2022 , work completed 24/12/2021
Decommission old solar system and install new solar pv panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very satisfied with the work carried out by Sussex Solar. The installers were efficient, courteous, punctual and left the premises in a clean and tidy state.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/07/2021 , work completed 05/07/2021
Installation of solar panels and Tesla Powerwall battery.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The installation was a very smooth operation from start to finish. Sussex Solar maintained the highest level of personal service throughout. First impressions inspired confidence and everyone we dealt with was courteous and knowledgeable. The works were completed on schedule and the budget adhered to. Everyone on site was as courteous and pleasant as the office staff, and the work was carried out professionally and with minimum disturbance. As regards aftercare, we received all the relevant paperwork surprisingly quickly. To date, all is functioning extremely well. Sussex Solar are highly professional and deliver an outstanding standard of personal involvement in the project, which we appreciated. We would recommend them unreservedly.
Jo in West Sussex Posted on 14/04/2021 , work completed 17/03/2021
Solar PV, Tesla Powerwall, Tesla Gateway, EV Charger installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first site visit to final installation Sussex Solar did everything as promised. A real quality job and fairly priced. Nice, honest, flexible people to do business with. Their scaffolding contractors were polite too. Would not hesitate to recommend.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 18/03/2021 , work completed 15/03/2021
Very Happy With Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been very happy with the service from Sussex Solar from the planning of our system through to installation. Andy and the team really know what they are doing. I would not hesitate to recommend Sussex Solar to others.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 03/02/2021 , work completed 03/08/2020