We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

T J Carpentry

Profile thumb capture

4.9

27 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–20:00
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Hi,

My name is Tony and I have been a fully qualified carpenter for over 30 years.
During this time I have acquired experience in all aspects of the trade.
I work to a high quality and standard of work and I am always neet and tidy.
I'm very approachable and willing to give advice regarding projects if needed.
I am fully insured and CRB checked.

What we do

  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Flooring services

    • Floor laying
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
  • Doors

    • Orangeries
    • Timber doors
    • French doors
    • Front door
  • More Services

    • stairs
    • balustrades
    • skirting
    • stud walls
    • lanterns

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
27 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony fitted my job into his busy schedule. My mum needed an alteration on her stairs to accommodate a stairlift. He was friendly, turned up on time and his work was excellent. Would certainly use him again.
Customer in Essex Posted on 19/02/2021 , work completed 23/01/2021
Excellent job, very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony removed and installed some new skirting in our bedroom along a couple of walls including around a chimney breast. He did the job exactly as I expected and to a much higher standard than my moderate DIY skills could have achieved. Very satisfied and pleased that I used him, probably saving money in the long run. Tony has a nice personable manner about him, tidied up after and I will definitely use again for any similar work.
Customer in Southend-on-Sea Posted on 05/03/2020 , work completed 27/02/2020
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony spent full day working to install five new doors and box in new boiler. He did a great job to a high quality. Work recommend.
Customer in Essex Posted on 14/01/2020 , work completed 13/01/2020
Hardworking and very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony fitted 10 new oak doors for me and did an excellent job. He was very efficient and worked solidly each day. He turned up on time and was very diligent.
Customer in Essex Posted on 23/06/2019 , work completed 21/06/2019
Reliable and excellent worker
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony completed all work in a professional manner. The carpentry was of a high standard and he was a clean and tidy worker - an excellent job!
John and Linda Keeling Posted on 18/06/2019 , work completed 18/06/2019
Skilled Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Asked Tony to fit a new side door after attempted break in. He had done work for us in the past which we were very pleased with. He sourced a good quality door and appropriate traditional hardware to go on it and a new lock. Did a wonderful job with attention to detail and no mess left behind. The door is now very secure and looks smart. He then returned and mended a large shower cubicle which was very heavy glass and was out of alignment. With great patience he managed to solve the problem. He is efficient, courteous and reasonably priced, he listens to what you need and gives sensible advice. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Essex Posted on 13/06/2019 , work completed 13/06/2019
Simply the best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Erected shed - fitted out the inside with shelving to perfection. Tony has previously carried out work for us. His prices are always competitive and started on the date agreed. As always Tony is punctual, pleasant, a perfectionist & leaves everything tidy. Always discusses the job & makes great suggestions if he feels that the job can be improved, which always seems to work for us. As I say in the title, he is "simply the best".
Customer in Essex Posted on 14/01/2019 , work completed 23/08/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work involved: refurbished the side panels or 8"x8" garden shed. Trader made helpful suggestions. Was punctual and friendly. Premises left clean and tidy, work done on time and budget, confident to recommend trader and would employ for any further work.
Anthony, Essex Posted on 03/10/2018 , work completed 03/10/2018
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony fitted new bannisters and a beautiful oak hand rail. We couldn’t be more pleased with the work, only wish we had found Tony years ago. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him. High quality workmanship, came on time and a reasonable price. Thanks Tony.
Hales Posted on 23/09/2018 , work completed 23/09/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony provided and hung a pair of French doors. An excellent job at a reasonable price and in a timely manner.
Robert Posted on 06/09/2018 , work completed 06/09/2018
Friendly and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly, came out and trimmed down and re-hung a door for us. Only a small job, but done very quickly and cleanly. Would definitely recommend for larger jobs.
Louise, Essex Posted on 03/08/2018 , work completed 03/08/2018
He did what it said on the tin!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, excellent service. He received decisions with me and worked to a very high standard. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend his quality work.
Gwyneth, Essex Posted on 01/08/2018 , work completed 01/08/2018
Thank you
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So pleased with all work done. Love my space saving sliding doors! Thank you so much
F, Essex Posted on 05/07/2018 , work completed 05/07/2018
Grade A carpenter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New French doors new windows and window boards door blocked in doors hung new wood floor skirting and architraves
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 17/05/2018 , work completed 17/05/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built and replaced our banisters and it was quick, easy, clean and finished to perfection. Very happy, would highly recommend, and would happily call back for more planned work in the future. Very honest guy, good price too.
FayeLowe, . Posted on 01/05/2018 , work completed 01/05/2018
Fantastic tradesmen and work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The project was a refurbishment of my new home, the lads showed/talked me through the whole process and gave me lots of great advice. No issues with the workmanship and the outcome was over and above what I was hoping for.
Gava83, . Posted on 05/01/2018 , work completed 05/01/2018
very happy with Tony's work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony (T.j carpentry), has done many different jobs for us including, laying laminate flooring, skirting, shelving, rehanging door and putting a number of Ikea furniture items together. His charges are very good and we are always pleased with his work. He is very personable and easy to talk to. His communications with us have always been very good also. He has also been very punctual when coming to us. He was recommended to us by the plasterer we used.
Brian P, . Posted on 24/11/2017 , work completed 24/11/2017
Great service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony helped us by building cupboards into our existing porch, hanging a new internal door and building the surround etc to house it all. His work is second to none! I have no hesitation in recommending him. He is punctual, tidy and reliable!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/02/2017 , work completed 09/02/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
"Used company twice (1) Fit a new door (2) To lay wooden flooring - both perfect.
Which? Member, 168378 Posted on 04/11/2015 , work completed 04/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
"This company was recommended to us by a family member who had had work done previously. We wanted a door fitting & my daughter suggested that I try this gentleman
Which? Member, 168376 Posted on 04/10/2015 , work completed 04/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has just done some more work for us. He removed an existing 'integrated' cooker in the kitchen and cut the worksurface to accomodate a free standing cooker for the same space. He also built a cupboard for us to fit an awkward sized space in our utility room. Once again, found his work to be of good quality. He works very hard to understand your requirements and then works with you as the job progresses to make sure it is still in line with what you want.
Which? Member, 196016 Posted on 04/09/2015 , work completed 04/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed 5 doors replaced in my home. Tony sourced the doors to my requirements and fitted them in one day - working throughout a Saturday to complete the job. He did a very neat job and left the premises clean afterwards. The price was reasonable and I would recommend him happily.
Which? Member, 197764 Posted on 17/07/2015 , work completed 17/07/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Tony because of the good reviews. I have not been disappointed. Tony fitted 6 doors and dealt with an awkward floor level change requiring a bespoke threshold. He has time to listen to your requirements and comes up with very useful options using his undoubted experience. Tony's prices are very reasonable and he can be relied on to make the best decision dependent on budget and requirements. I have no hesitation in recommending Tony.An excellent find any carpentry work.
Which? Member, 196487 Posted on 23/04/2015 , work completed 23/04/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Tony to hang a door, build a new frame for it & refurbish our porch, building new cupboards & fitting a light. We cannot recommend him highly enough. He was friendly, punctual & his work is of an exceptionally high standard.
Which? Member, 195691 Posted on 16/03/2015 , work completed 16/03/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has just repaired a bespoke wooden up and over garage door which had started to rot at the bottom. He also made two wooden drain covers to match originals. He found the timber, showed it to us before starting work and did an excellent job. He was very pleasant to deal with, listened carefully to what we wanted, was reasonably priced and tidy. Would definitely use him again.
Which? Member, 194018 Posted on 12/11/2014 , work completed 12/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has just completed a job for us and we are very pleased. He fitted out an existing cupboard, increasing the size of the door frame, replacing the doors and putting in shelves. He discussed the plan with us as the job progressed, made helpful suggestions and was happy to modify things as we requested. He was a delightful person to have around. The service was great. We would definitely use him again.
Which? Member, 188733 Posted on 13/05/2014 , work completed 13/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When having a boiler maintenance the engineer found that the boiler cover could not be taken off because it had been fitted into the airing cupboard in a position that was too high and wide to get out of the existing door frame. I contacted Tony on Thursday and although he was busy with a big job for the next week he fitted in this relatively small job on the following Sunday. He fitted a new door frame and refitted the door with a minimum of fuss and cost and was a pleasure to do business with. All in all the service provided was excellent and I would use him again and recommend him to friends and family.
Which? Member, 178998 Posted on 28/08/2013 , work completed 28/08/2013