Endorsed by Which?

Bumfords

4.9

114 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

Since 1968 we have served hundreds of thousands of customers and enjoy a reputation as a trustworthy and reliable local company.
We know how important good service and craftsmanship is, in addition we only supply and install the highest quality and most energy efficient products. The Bumfords' standards are and have always been kept very high.
In addition to plumbing, heating and boiler installation and repairs, we also offer smart controls, electrical, bathroom, fire and stove installation and renewable solutions. Our engineers are highly trained and are able to install and maintain Gas, LPG, Solid Fuel and Oil Fired products.
We offer a free site survey to enable us to prepare your quotation. You will be visited by one of our highly trained, sales engineers. Our sales engineers are time served plumbers. We do not hard sell and there is absolutely no obligation. To make the cost of home improvement work easier to bear, we offer finance at competitive rates.

You can Trust Bumfords, Established 1968

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
    • Boiler installation
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Air conditioning contractors

  • Fireplace and stove installers

    • Electric Fires
    • Gas fires
    • Log burners
    • Wood burning stoves
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
    • Wet rooms
  • Smart Homes

    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • Renewable energy

  • More Services

    • oil tank installation
    • kitchen sink

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
114 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and informative service provided by Robin when assessing the work required to replace old central heating with a new combination boiler system. Matt and Jack who came to complete the work did an excellent first class job could not fault anything Would highly recommend. Five stars
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 05/04/2023 , work completed 24/03/2023
The trader replied (on 21/04/2023)
Hello! Thank you for the fantastic 5-star review! It's great to hear that Robin and our team were able to offer you such a wonderful and unforgettable experience. We appreciate the time you have taken to leave us such a positive review and it means the world that you would highly recommend us. We hope you keep us in mind for any future projects and we look forward to seeing you again if you do. Kind regards, the Bumfords team.
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very happy with the work Bumfords had done at our previous house in South Yorkshire and wanted them to do the replacement boiler & heating system in our "new" (18th century) house near Matlock. It was a fairly big job (over a week) and not straightforward but Robin took the time to assess the requirement and came up with a very good proposal. The engineers, Phil and Joe, then did a fantastic job to get everything in and up and running with the minimum of disruption. All in all, Bumfords were excellent and we highly recommend them.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 22/03/2023 , work completed 20/03/2023
The trader replied (on 24/03/2023)
Hello, Thank you for the amazing positive feedback and 5 stars! Our team strives to provide the highest quality service around and we're happy you received such a memorable experience with us. We appreciate your kind words and we will pass them on to our team so that they can get the recognition they deserve. It means a lot that you would recommend us and we hope you keep us in mind for any other future projects. Kind regards, the Bumfords team.
High Standard as Always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Bumfords for many years and wouldn't go anywhere else. Although busy through high demand, Robin took the time to assess the work needed and discuss how best to meet our needs. New boiler was installed as scheduled by polite, professional and friendly heating engineers, Matt and Jack, whose work was outstanding. Would highly recommend.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 12/01/2023 , work completed 22/12/2022
The trader replied (on 17/01/2023)
Hello! Thank you for the amazing feedback! It's great to hear that you've had such a memorable experience with us and that you speak so highly of Bumfords and our team. We hope you're enjoying your new boiler! Kind regards, the Bumfords team.
Completed job exactly as agreed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bumford's engineer, Craig, arrived at agreed time and completed whole job in a timely manner. A key factor on this was to do the job without draining down the system (open vent system with h/w cylinder). Did this very efficiently, with no mess at all. Would highly recommend.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 08/11/2022 , work completed 04/11/2022
The trader replied (on 11/11/2022)
Hello! Thank you for your kind words, it's great to hear that you've had such a unique experience with our team! It means a lot to hear that you would recommend us and we value your business. Kind regards, the Bumfords team.
New Worcester 12RI boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My new boiler was fitted yesterday. I have used Bumford Heating to service my boilers for over 20 years. As I needed the boiler replacing I didn’t shop around, I just contacted Bumford. Alex visited my house and discussed which boiler would be suitable. Yesterday morning Phil arrived at 8 am to commence the work. He was very polite and efficient. The work was completed in one day as I was told it could take up to two days. The outside work looks wonderful as I was concerned that it wouldn’t be as neat as it was formally. I should not have worried. I didn’t even have to sweep the drive etc. Both inside and outside were left clean and tidy. I have no hesitation to recommend this company.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 04/10/2022 , work completed 23/08/2022
The trader replied (on 04/10/2022)
Hello! Thank you for the fantastic review! We are very glad to have such a loyal customer as you are and we are delighted to hear that we were able to give you such an unforgettable experience. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, the Bumfords team.
New combination boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New combination boiler required new copper pipe upgrade. This was a bigger job than just installing a boiler. They did a very careful job of installing the new pipe work on the outside of the house taking on board my requests as to how it should look and not stand out too much. They kept to schedule and cleaned up after themselves. They were though beforehand in the discussion around which boiler would best suit us. They were professional and would not shy away from explaining that regulations specified that a larger diameter gas pipe was needed. Other companies did not tell us about this.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 19/09/2022 , work completed 14/09/2022
The trader replied (on 29/09/2022)
Hello! Thank you for the amazing review! It's great to hear that our team has left you with a memorable experience, we thrive on positive reviews and we will pass your kind words on to our team. We value your business and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, the Bumfords team.
Top Quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bumfords fitted an unvented cylinder system and removed my old system including the water tank in the loft. The work was carried out with care and precision. Attention to small detail and leaving everything clean and tidy was excellent. I received excellent advice beforehand and the new system is delivering everything promised.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 14/09/2022 , work completed 02/09/2022
The trader replied (on 14/09/2022)
Hello! Thank you for the amazing review! We love to hear that our customers have had a great experience with Bumfords, our team thrive on positive reviews and we will pass on your kind words. Kind regards, the Bumfords team.
New Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My old back boiler needed replacing and I wanted the new one to be fitted in a cupboard in my bathroom. First time I've used Bumfords, from beginning to end, a most professional service, which means it won't be the last. The guys where great, nothing too much trouble. Great team, great work. Would recommend to anyone. Thank you.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 04/08/2022 , work completed 08/07/2022
The trader replied (on 05/08/2022)
Hello! Thank you for the fantastic feedback on our team! Knowing our customers have had a remarkable and memorable experience with us means a lot to us. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, the Bumfords team.
New oil fired boiler supplied and fitted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to replace my existing oil boiler and Bumfords were local with a good reputation. Robin Bumford came and completed a site survey alone with a very competitive quote. Prior to this Robin returned with the engineer Phil Romans and discussed the installation. On the day of the installation, phil removed and disposed of my old oil boiler and fitted a brand new Worcester Bosch. Only when he fired it up did he find fault with the boiler - this was not his fault but immediately contacted Worcester Bosch and an engineer came and replaced the part free of charge immediately. I would have no hesitation I'm recommending Bumfords heating and both Robin and Phil did and excellent installation at a very competitive price - compared to other local companies.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 04/07/2022 , work completed 23/05/2022
The trader replied (on 18/07/2022)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this amazing feedback! We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with our team, it's great to hear that you rate our team so highly and we hope you choose to use our services again. Kind regards, the Bumford's team
Installation hot water system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service from first phone call to completing the work. Everyone was very helpful in sorting out the problem and delivering a solution. We had a new hot unvented water system installed. Very responsive to first phone call and assessing the work. A clear quote and agreed installation date. Explained the installation, how to use and future maintenance. Kept disruption to a minimum and cleared away as went along. Completed installation to schedule and price. Excellent quality job. Will definitely use again.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 23/03/2022 , work completed 22/03/2022
The trader replied (on 28/03/2022)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this amazing five-star review! We really appreciate you sharing your experience with our team and we're glad that you rate us so highly. Kind regards, the Bumford's team.