Endorsed by Which?

Bumfords

4.9

114 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

Since 1968 we have served hundreds of thousands of customers and enjoy a reputation as a trustworthy and reliable local company.
We know how important good service and craftsmanship is, in addition we only supply and install the highest quality and most energy efficient products. The Bumfords' standards are and have always been kept very high.
In addition to plumbing, heating and boiler installation and repairs, we also offer smart controls, electrical, bathroom, fire and stove installation and renewable solutions. Our engineers are highly trained and are able to install and maintain Gas, LPG, Solid Fuel and Oil Fired products.
We offer a free site survey to enable us to prepare your quotation. You will be visited by one of our highly trained, sales engineers. Our sales engineers are time served plumbers. We do not hard sell and there is absolutely no obligation. To make the cost of home improvement work easier to bear, we offer finance at competitive rates.

You can Trust Bumfords, Established 1968

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
    • Boiler installation
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Air conditioning contractors

  • Fireplace and stove installers

    • Electric Fires
    • Gas fires
    • Log burners
    • Wood burning stoves
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom suppliers
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
    • Wet rooms
  • Smart Homes

    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • Renewable energy

  • More Services

    • oil tank installation
    • kitchen sink

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
114 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Fabulous work, excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bumfords provide an excellent service and their work is always done to a great standard. I have used them for a complete bathroom installation, install of new gas boiler and then today install of new taps, radiator and shower screen. They are a great company and I would highly recommend. Five stars.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 16/03/2022 , work completed 16/03/2022
The trader replied (on 17/03/2022)
Hello. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review! Our team is over the moon to hear that you've enjoyed our services and that you speak so highly of us. Kind regards, the Bumfords team.
Dependable company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After reading all the reviews we engaged Bumfords for the first time to replace our central heating boiler and a radiator. This work was carried out to our total satisfaction. We recently engaged them again on a much smaller plumbing requirement to which Alex responded with the usual eagerness to assist we have found with all the people we have dealt with at Bumfords. It follows therefore that we have no hesitation in recommending this company to anyone looking for a dependable company to carry out the services they provide.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 11/02/2022 , work completed 10/02/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review! Our team really appreciates your kind words and it is great to hear that you've enjoyed your experience with our team at Bumfords. Kind regards, Bumford's team.
The Bumfords service epitomises professionalism, customer focus, cleanliness, quality and craftmanship.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are undertaking a major refurbishment of our home and I wished to appoint one trustworthy company to fulfil all our plumbing and heating requirements. Several people recommended Bumfords to me and I have not been disappointed. Phase one of the works was completed last week and involved installation of a new en-suite shower room, new gas boiler and various other plumbing and heating works. Specialist asbestos removal was also required and facilitated by Bumfords. The shower room was a particularly challenging project, due to pre-existing house design and build features, which Bumfords overcame and resolved, with stunning results. There were a couple of hiccups along the way, mainly due to supply chain issues. Bumford speedily resolved the problems and brought the project back on track. Our project manager, has been exemplary, running the project to military precision and keeping us fully informed along the way. Those working in our home have been equally professional and helpful, delivering quality workmanship, advice and guidance, as well as rapidly accommodating our changing and evolving requirements. Phase two of our works programme is due to commence shortly. This involves gas fire installation and a new bathroom. The bathroom will also be challenging, due to similar design issues already encountered with the shower room, where Bumfords took on the challenges with aplomb. We look forward to welcoming Bumfords back into our home to undertake Phase two.
Christine in South Yorkshire Posted on 10/02/2022 , work completed 04/02/2022
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Hello Christine, Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review! We're glad to hear that you aid you in completing your major refurbishment and that our team held up to the professional standards they provide to all customers. Kind regards, Bumford's team.
Great work
Confidence from first meeting Alex who assessed the work needed to be done, new boiler,oil tank, radiators , asbestos removal and removal of old. Job carried out with friendly, professional,highly respectful gentlemen. Delighted with result would recommend to anyone
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 03/11/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 16/02/2022)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review! We appreciate the great review and it's great to hear that you would recommend our team! Kind regards, Bumford's team.
Straightforward and pleasant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We hired Bumfords to service our boiler and cylinder. Lee was very polite, friendly and knowledgeable and carried out the job well, letting us know what work had been conducted. A very professional job all round and would recommend to anyone else looking for boiler servicing in South Yorkshire.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 22/10/2021 , work completed 18/10/2021
Excellent work throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What I thought would be a mammoth task was completed within 3 days. The team from Bumford Heating Limited were outstanding, they installed a completely new solid fuel central heating system and got it up and running in the time stated above.
Steve in South Yorkshire Posted on 07/10/2021 , work completed 06/10/2021
Helpful, prompt and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Bumford's for a number of years now and have always been very satisfied with their work. They deal with urgent issues as quickly as they can and the engineers are always knowledgeable and helpful. My boiler broke down on Saturday 2 October and I emailed them about this at 6pm that day because, from past experience, I knew the issue would be dealt with as soon as possible on Monday. Bumford's dropped off electric fan heaters to me on Monday in case there was a delay getting an engineer out to me, but in the event the boiler (which needed a new pump) was up and working again by 3pm on Tuesday 5 October. A great service!
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 06/10/2021 , work completed 05/10/2021
Exemplary Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent company!! I cannot recommend highly enough. Bumfords have provided exemplary service for my 95 year old mother’s central heating system over many years. Everyone we have ever dealt with has been friendly, polite and professional. Recently though they have impressed as a business that really cares about its customers. The ancient back boiler of Mum’s system started cutting out making it impossible to use the central heating system. We received a very prompt Covid compliant visit from Alex who advised us on the installation of a new boiler and provided a very reasonable quote. However, we did not think my mother would cope with the upheaval it would require. Bumfords understood our position and instead of shrugging their shoulders, like many companies would have done, they showed great empathy. They sent another engineer for one last go at trying to solve the problem. Bob was amazing, methodical, analytical, and patient and after testing everything and eventually spending over half an hour lying on the floor staring at the boiler flame he cracked it. A couple of days later he returned and fitted a new part and all is well! This company is definitely one in which you can have great confidence and one you can trust completely.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 17/05/2021 , work completed 06/05/2021
Commendable service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our relative in her 80's coping with dementia required a replacement boiler. She lives 170 miles away and we had to organise it over the phone. Everyone we spoke to at Bumfords proved to be knowledgeable, considerate and polite. The sale representative deserves special thanks for his understanding of the situation and for ensuring a smooth installation that ran to schedule. We felt in good hands and offer them our sincerest gratitude. I would highly recommend Bumfords.
Customer in Sheffield Posted on 30/03/2021 , work completed 29/03/2021
At last a real handyman!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Since moving to Yorkshire I've found it difficult to find a proper handyman. Bumfords have proved to be the real thing. In one visit Craig mended a leaking tap, put a new rubber seal on a leaking gutter joint, installed a new locking handle on the bathroom door, and then when the toilet started to overflow unexpectedly while he was here, he also sorted out the ball-valve. He also took the trouble to point out problems he'd noticed with the roof while he was up the ladder, and to recommend a roofer. I was only charged £80 for the whole lot! I am delighted with the service.
Ruth in South Yorkshire Posted on 26/03/2021 , work completed 18/03/2021