We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Damp Surveys Ltd

Profile thumb which damp survey
5.0

86 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Book https://dampsurveys.com/booking-request/
See example report on form. Cost of surveys and report is £400. Phone answered 10AM to 12Midday.

Independent surveyor, RICS qualified Expert Witness and Damp and Timber surveyor through PCA + ISSE and SPAB.....Surveys take about 1 - 1.5hour.

Rising damp guarantee; full service with report and fee repayment if we find rising damp.

Rising damp is from groundwater. Groundwater is pumped out below tube lines - therefore virtually impossible in London.

Rising damp is misdiagnosed as:
1. vested interest from rising damp contractors,
2. it can be hard to identifying the root cause of damp,
3. applying slurry to treat rising damp hides damp for a while. However there is a risk of ROT or MOULD.

See Which report;
https://www.which.co.uk/news/2011/12/damp-proofing-companies-exposed-in-which-investigation-274087

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Woodworm treatment
    • Timber treatment services
    • Injection damp courses
    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
86 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
A survey to identify the root cause of damp penetration through wall and to propose remedial measures.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Damp Surveys responded quickly to my initial enquiry by telephone and a survey was arranged within a few days. The whole approach was professional, thorough, analytical and well explained. I was present during the survey and was able to understand what was being investigated using a variety of temperature and relative humidity sensors. A report was produced and e-mailed to me a few days later. This was accompanied by thermal images and a photographs external and internal. These provided a wide-ranging record of conditions at the time of the survey. Remedial actions were proposed to deal with the existing problem and prevent reoccurrence. I would thoroughly recommend Damp Surveys Ltd to anyone to anyone who need to identify the source of unwanted dampness in a property.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/04/2020 , work completed 14/02/2020
Highly professional, thorough, knowledgeable, engaging and very good communicator. Top marks.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with all aspects of our damp survey carried out by Simon. He was at all times completely professional in his work. Very engaging too, with excellent communications skills, able to convey and discuss the technical aspects of his investigations in a manner comprehensible to a layman. The survey itself was extremely thorough and methodical, and carried out using an impressive array of diagnostic tools. He is obviously very knowledgeable about his subject, and showed a determination to examine all potential causes of our damp problems before arriving at his conclusions. We have a very high level of confidence in Simon's considered recommendations, would highly recommend him, and would have no hesitation in using him again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/03/2020 , work completed 11/03/2020
Excellent independent damp and timber surveyor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Simon to carry out a comprehensive damp and timber survey. I was thoroughly impressed with Simon's responsiveness and attention to detail. He took great care in understanding the reasons why we required the survey and in identifying the root causes of any possible issues. Simon took the time to walk me through his findings, then discussed possible solutions and suggestions for mitigating the minor issues he identified. Moreover, his turnover time in producing the report was incredibly swift. I can't recommend him highly enough if you are looking for a quality independent expert to survey your property.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/03/2020 , work completed 09/03/2020
Very honest and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon was good at explaining the issues I faced, getting a sense of the property layout and anything which could be causing the problem. Along with the report, I have been provided with very clear guidance which I will be upholding. Has helped to save me money by not assuming the worst, as advised by some builders. Recommended
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/03/2020 , work completed 06/03/2020
Damp survey, penetrating + other damp issues in London
Very professional execution of the damp survey. Simon surveyed a property suffering from penetrating damp, he helped identify other damp issues and was happy to discuss the technicalities and areas of improvement. Remedial works suggested cost much less than you’d expect to see with companies doing both the survey and work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/03/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
A true professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed with Simon during his visit - and before. He called when he was on his way and arrived at the pre-arranged time. He was respectful of our house when entering in very wet weather, and did a very thorough job, listening, asking questions and taking time. It was a survey of the highest quality - not a quick rush-around and some jumbled instant verbal advice. His approach is thoughtful and considered, and clearly based on a lot of experience and knowledge. He took his time in a good way, offered some very clearly articulated explanations and some tips. I am looking forward to a full report in a few days that Simon has said will detail his findings in a fuller way. We can sit down to digest this in our own time, as opposed to being pressured on the spot to make a decision or even simply remembering all the details of a complex house problem that is "jargonny". Very highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/03/2020 , work completed 04/03/2020
The trader replied (on 09/03/2020)
https://surveyor.tips/damp-and-calcium-sulphate-salts-by-electrical-sockets-on-cold-flank-wall/ Thank you for your kind review. I prioritise clients who are kind enough to a leave a review, by putting up, and encouraging broader community interaction on an anonymous post. Together we will tackle the increasing risks of damp as lifestyles change and old properties are retro fitted to reduce their carbon footprint.
Excellent service, knowledge and expertise.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called Simon after reading the reviews on Which Trusted Trader. Simon gives a clear unbiased review of the issues. He was quick to respond and visit our rented property which had dampness on the wall. Simon was very courteous and took time to explain to us and to our tenant that the problem was due to ventilation, balancing the heating and keeping windows open. Also taking care with drying clothes indoors due to the moisture generated. Simon also gave us ideas on how to help with ventilation by installing extractor fans in the bathroom and kitchen (the two worst moisture generating areas). Simon's report was received in a couple of days detailing all explained with photos and further explanation. We were really pleased and thoroughly recommend his services.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/03/2020 , work completed 25/02/2020
Good, professional advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a woodworm problem. Simon advised us that we could do the work ourselves. He was very thorough and helpful. I would use him again for any work in his areas of expertise, and I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/02/2020 , work completed 11/02/2020
The trader replied (on 15/02/2020)
Thank you for your feedback. Woodworm is very rarely active in UK properties, as old timber is not sufficiently nutritious and modern timber is protected with insecticide. This was an unusual case where plywood was installed in a cellar by a builder about 5 years ago, which had not been protected properly. Anobium punctatum, or common furniture beetle had infested the plywood in the timber yard before the wood was sawn. We can tell this as the internal chambers were exposed on the ply surface. There were little piles of frass (sawdust coloured excretion) below jagged edged holes, both a sign of currently activity. We demonstrated how to spray the timber with commonly available professional grade Permethrin (about £10 Amazon). It should be noted that only the modern ply had been affected by woodworm, not surrounding timber. We recommended identifying and highlighting each hole, spraying all the timber in February before the common furniture beetle activity starts with a double dose in May for the area close to the holes. Also, as the issue of woodworm will come up every time the property is sold, it is worth staining, painting or otherwise covering inside each hole, so as to demonstrate that there is no ongoing activity. Otherwise, a homebuyer’s surveyor will inevitably delay the sale and increase the costs of sale, for fear that there is woodworm activity. See https://surveyor.tips/woodworm
Trustworthy expertise and a thorough survey.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon was punctual, polite and thorough and provided lots of impartial expertise, knowledge and a range of solutions for the damp and mould issues in my flat. Small interventions have already made a difference and will likely save me a lot of money in the long term. He gave me a helpful perspective on a pre-existing quote I had from another builder and also provided various low cost options to improve conditions in my flat. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/02/2020 , work completed 07/02/2020
Great, reliable work from a true expert.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a small area of damp on one of the internal walls of our Victorian property and had called on a couple of companies which specialised in damp-proofing, but who seemed to primarily be trying to upsell their silicon wall injection service rather than seek out the cause of the problem. Simon, on the other hand, did a thorough survey of multiple rooms and came to the conclusion that the damp was probably caused by a leak in our bathroom on the other side of the wall where the problem was - and that if we fixed that it would probably solve the problem. Further investigation proved that Simon was correct and now having repaired the leak the damp has receded, meaning that we have a long term fix to the underlying cause rather than an expensive and disruptive damp treatment that wouldn't have ultimately lasted given the bathroom leak. Simon was professional and gave us a reasonable price, but most of all his advice was based on real expertise rather than a desire to upsell another service. I would highly recommend him to anyone experiencing a damp issue.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/02/2020 , work completed 06/12/2019