Endorsed by Which?

Dee Cee Upholstery & Interiors

4.9

361 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

Apr 2020

About

We would like to introduce you to Dee Cee Upholstery and Interior’s World of Comfort.
Established in 1978, we are one of the South’s leading experts in Upholstery and Rise and Recline Mobility Chairs.
Partner in Dee Cee Upholstery, Derek Caplen, became the youngest master Upholsterer in the UK at the tender age of 21, and by the age of 43 he had become the youngest Fellow of the Association of Master Upholsterers for his outstanding contribution in training young people, and dedication to the A.M.U. and Soft Furnishers.
As suppliers of award winning, quality Rise and Recline Mobility Chairs, we are acknowledged experts, recommended by occupational therapists, physiotherapists and healthcare professionals, and are approved specialist suppliers to local councils and the NHS.
We have also won local and national awards for exceptional customer service.
We are experts in quality Re - upholstery, we cover the Southampton and surrounding locations. A service that will leave you sitting comfortably.

What we do

  • Upholstering

  • Furniture repair and restoration

  • Disability and mobility

    • Powerchairs
    • Rise and recline chairs
  • More Services

    • antique re-upholstery
    • re-upholstery
    • upholsterers

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
361 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Dining chairs like new.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very old dining chairs were re-upholstered exactly as discussed i.e. using traditional methods and materials. Excellent advice and information from Carol in the shop and the work was beautifully carried out by Derek. The work was collected and returned within a few days. It was a pleasure to deal with Dee Cee Upholstery who provided an excellent service at a reasonable cost. I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Southampton Posted on 12/11/2022 , work completed 10/11/2022
The trader replied (on 19/11/2022)
The 4 antique dining chairs had drop-in seats, the frames had to stripped out and repaired before we could carry out the re-upholstery. We used traditional upholstery skills and materials such as best-quality English black and white webbing, horse hair and cotton felt. They were then covered in calico and recovered in a plush green dralon velvet, the last part of the renovation was to fit a cotton lining to the underside of the seats.
Sofa cushions filling replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great friendly service. I had some sofa cushion fillings replaced as a tenant vacated and had disposed of them all. 1 odd shaped one, others regular shaped. Really impressed with turn around, just a few days and reasonable price for the job.
Customer in Southampton Posted on 21/10/2022 , work completed 19/10/2022
The trader replied (on 28/10/2022)
Tenant Direct a local tenancy business were left ( quite bizarrely ) without any cushion interiors for the corner sofa when their tenant vacated the property. The replacements were needed urgently as a new tenant was due to take residence soon. In the circumstances we made new cushion interiors asap which was very much appreciated by our customer and we are pleased that they found the job was reasonably priced.
Fabulous Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My dog chewed a very visible part of our 4 year old sofa. We emailed to ask if just that piece could be reupholstered. Communication was quick and helpful. I had to order the matching material from Next and it was 8 weeks for delivery. Once I had it , I emailed and they collected my sofa within a week and it was returned within the following week. Fabulous. You cannot tell. Friendly respectful helpful.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 19/10/2022 , work completed 18/10/2022
The trader replied (on 28/10/2022)
The front bottom border of the sofa was damaged by their dog who had chewed it . We recovered part of the sofa when our customer supplied us with matching fabric , when the job was completed our customer was highly delighted that it is now in perfect condition and was glad that we had been recommended to her.
Outstanding work and Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They reupholstered 2 ancient armchairs which were much loved by my late husband. From the first visit to the final delivery, nothing was too much trouble. The ‘new’ chairs are outstanding and will certainly last and be admired for many years to come. It is quite rare to come across this high level of skill and professionalism and well worth the money spent. I would never use anyone else and would recommend them to anyone looking for high quality restoration.
Customer in Southampton Posted on 11/10/2022 , work completed 11/10/2022
The trader replied (on 12/10/2022)
We recovered these 2 arm chairs over 20 years ago and way back then our customer was highly delighted just as she is now. When the chairs were stripped out in our workshop they were in a very worn state and in need of re-upholstering as opposed to just recovering . The "as new " chairs should last for the next 20 years . This excellent review outlines everything that we strive for with all types of upholstery that passes through our highly skilled master upholsterers. We are always prepared to go the " the extra mile " for the satisfaction and comfort of our loyal customers
Reupholster Fireside Chair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We bought a very comfortable fireside chair secondhand which was showing its age. We took the chair in for an estimate and Mr Caplen was very helpful suggesting what type of material would suit the chair. The work was completed in about 3 weeks and we are extremely pleased with the finished results. Well worth the money!
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 09/10/2022 , work completed 06/10/2022
Reupholstering Dining Chairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the time we took in one of the chairs for a quote, we were impressed with the professional service. We were given clear time scales and when they arranged to both collect and return the chairs their timekeeping was excellent. The quality of the work was excellent and we were extremely happy with the finished result. The six dining chairs both looked and felt brand new
Customer in Southampton Posted on 19/09/2022 , work completed 08/09/2022
Great Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Derek undertook a complete overhaul of our antique sofa. Great job, performed on time and to a very high quality.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 08/09/2022 , work completed 02/09/2022
The trader replied (on 23/09/2022)
Our reputation as master upholsterers who specialize in top quality traditional re-upholstery goes far and wide ( our showroom and onsite workshops are based in Portswood Southampton and Ruth came to us all the way from Malmesbury in Wiltshire. The two seater button back Edwardian sofa was stripped out to the bare frame and was completely re-upholstered in an antique gold linen style flatweave fabric .We then replaced the coil seat springs and covered both seat and back in calico lining ready for the fabric to be applied. To add the finishing touch and make the job complete we cleaned and waxed the turned showood oak legs which enhanced the patina of the wood . Once again job completed on time to a very high quality thank you for your review and business
Superb workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dee Cee has carried out the re-covering of 2 x wingbacked armchairs. Throughout the whole process, they provided friendly, helpful advice in choosing the best materials. Their workmanship and service was superb and would recommend them to anyone
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 24/08/2022 , work completed 23/08/2022
The trader replied (on 26/08/2022)
The two traditional style wing chairs were not just recovered , the original fabric was removed and the upholstery was then stripped out as required and re-upholstered including supplying replacement fire retardant seat cushion interiors wrapped in polyester wadding and stockinet lining. It was very pleasing to find our service was superb and that they would recommend us to anyone
Replacement springs in a chair.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very prompt and courteous service, Very pleased with the quality of work. Derek inspired confidence and was willing to do the work when nobody else was. We were not disappointed and we would definitely use them again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/08/2022 , work completed 14/07/2022
The trader replied (on 05/08/2022)
If a job is important to our customer it is important to us . It is nice to know that i inspired confidence in our our service and that we took the job on when nobody else would do it, another satisfied customer !
Window seat cushion cover
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was really pleased with the friendly and reliable service Derek at Dee Cee Upholstery provided. The finished outcome, a window seat cushion cover, was better than I could have hoped for! My only slight niggle is that, days after I thought the job had been started, I had to confirm a third time that I wanted the work to be done. This meant that I had to wait a bit longer but it was well worth the wait!
Customer in Southampton Posted on 11/07/2022 , work completed 07/07/2022
The trader replied (on 05/08/2022)
The window seat was custom made by our customers carpenter . The fabric used was a chenille selected from our end of rolls in our remnant room at ( ( at half the normal retail price ) . We upholstered the base using 3 " medium density fire retardant foam covered with an interliner of 4 0z polyester . We then trimmed the top edge with piping in the same fabric and delivered the window seat free of charge, as our customer stated it was worth the wait.