We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

E And W Plumbing And Heating Ltd

Profile thumb e   w plumbing and heating logo

4.9

75 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

E & W Plumbing & Heating Ltd is a family-run business. We are GAS SAFE registered plumbing and heating engineers.

Based near Wallingford, OX10, we cover all of Oxfordshire and parts of Berkshire.

Whatever the job E & W Plumbing & Heating will provide an efficient, affordable and professional service.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch - we look forward to hearing from you.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
  • More Services

    • boiler services
    • gas emergencies
    • power flushing

Customer reviews

4.9
75 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
A job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used the services now 3 times - on every occasion different engineers have been used all of whom carried out the work required in a very professional matter and all seem to be well trained. Always advised what the cost would be and how long it would take
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 23/01/2020 , work completed 20/01/2020
Outstanding work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a gas leak in the kitchen. E&W talked through all the options and did what turned out to be a complicated job brilliantly. I dealt with four engineers overall and all were excellent: well qualified, thorough, friendly, and tidy. Communication was quick and efficient and the firm's rates are very competitive. All the work was done on time and on budget. Highly recommended.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 20/01/2020 , work completed 17/01/2020
Boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Could not recommend. Inflexible on timing. Had to wait six weeks without heating, three of which were also without hot water. Installation seemed rushed and radiator overflowed causing water damage to new paintwork in hall below and risk of damage to recently installed underfloor heating. However they did redecorate and paid my electrician's bill for checking electrics. Team doing work were polite. Heating system has behaved erratically post installation but this is not covered by their warranty even though work included flush and balancing of system. When we contacted them for advice post installation they sent us instructions for testing the system over 4 day period. We supplied very detailed report but their only response to this was to offer of chargeable two hour appointment to diagnose.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 20/12/2019 , work completed 18/11/2019
The trader replied (on 12/03/2020)
We are sorry to hear that you feel the service you have received has not met with your expectations. We were upfront about the timescales in which we could deliver the work and met with every agreed deadline. We also squeezed in an extra day of emergency hot water repair work within just a few days of the issue becoming apparent. Additionally, we had one of our office staff travel nearly 2 hours to drop electric heaters to you at no charge prior to any work being undertaken. The system was tested in your presence and left working correctly upon completion. It is unfortunate that some of your existing valves are now failing but the issues you are experiencing are completely unrelated to the work we carried out. We have gone above and beyond in trying to assist you, even taking a call before 8am on a Sunday to talk you through dealing with a leak that had been caused by yourselves. I am sorry to hear that we cannot add you to our list of 1000's of satisfied customers but feel we could not have done any more than we have already done to ensure your satisfaction.
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful and were out to see me as quick as they could. I had a leak which needed fixing and they did a great job! Highly recommend them to anyone.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 22/10/2019 , work completed 22/10/2019
Replace combi boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
E&W are a good family company. I had a good experience from the initial visit by Richard for the quote. The engineer Gary and his apprentice Sharman worked quickly and efficiently and finished the job in very good time and cleaned up afterwards. I am very happy with the company and I thought the price was very reasonable.
Gillian Posted on 25/09/2019 , work completed 20/09/2019
New Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Clear information at the estimate as to what work needed to be carried out and why. Punctual and tidy work, carried out quickly. An explanation at each stage of the work was given, which minimised any disruption - IE. having the water off. The chap that carried out the work was clearly highly proficient at all aspects of the installation. All documentation was completed the company and certificates and warranties were received within three working days of completion. The whole experience could not have been improved upon.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 14/08/2019 , work completed 09/08/2019
Excellent service from E&W Plumbing & Heating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a blocked toilet. It was our second toilet so it wasn't an emergency to get it rectified. I'd tried plunging it myself with no luck. Richard's company, E&W Plumbing & Heating, had been personally recommended to me on a previous occasion. I 'phoned and Richard attended, with his apprentice, within 10 minutes of our call. (Luckily he was in the area). Richard was pleased to have this job as he said that his apprentice needed the experience of dealing with drains and plumbing in a house nearly 100 years old. They worked for about 1½ hours and, using various techniques, unblocked the drain, which had become blocked several metres outside our building. I was very impressed with how Richard supervised, and instructed, his apprentice. He made sure that the job was completed in a timely manner and that everything was tidied away and cleaned afterwards. Richard's attention to detail, when ensuring health and safety, impressed me. He even went to the trouble of offering to replace flower pots and garden ornaments which had been moved to expose the inspection pit. E&W's rates were VERY reasonable and the service could not have been better.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 24/06/2019 , work completed 24/06/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
E & W Plumbing provided a great service, when they replaced our combi-boiler. Our fitter, Gary, was extremely efficient and professional, and it really was fantastic to have the whole job completed in one day, well ahead of the expected time scale and at the price quoted. Great job all round.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 20/06/2019 , work completed 17/06/2019
Unfortunately, very expensive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very nice and professional and said they could repair an enclosed toilet where others said they couldn't. However, I was charged a £75 call out, and quoted £238.54 to do the job. Therefore, over £300 to repair a toilet. I eventually found an excellent man to do it for £60! Maybe they are used to dealing with big contracts, but not recommended for small jobs.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 05/06/2019 , work completed 09/05/2019
The trader replied (on 10/06/2019)
I am pleased that you are satisfied with the customer service and quality you have received from us. As a family run business, it is of the highest importance to us that our clients are completely satisfied. I am sorry to hear that you feel the service you received did not offer the value we consistently deliver. I am happy to provide an explanation as to why we have recommended the repair work for which you were quoted. Due to the hard water in this area, it is very common for toilet parts to become heavily scaled and damaged. This issue is more common with concealed type cisterns such as yours. The components used in concealed cisterns are not generic and are considerably more expensive than those used when repairing conventional toilets. We typically charge between £75-140 for a conventional toilet repair. Most toilet repairs are completed within an hour which is covered by our call out fee. Unfortunately the price of replacement parts is not something we can control. The majority of our work is carried out for private individuals as opposed to larger contracts. Having repaired thousands of different toilets in the local hard water area, we are well versed in the problems that occur and best ways to complete long lasting repairs. It is always our aim to offer the best long term solution to our clients when completing any repair work. This stops-call backs and ensures that the repairs we carry out don't fail soon afterwards. Thank you for your review and custom!
Boiler installation how it should be
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of a new boiler is quite a significant expenditure to care about the service, value and the quality of workmanship. I don't usually leave 5-star reviews just for the sake of it, but I give 5 stars to E&W. From the quote to the installation, everyone was very professional and courteous. The work was done exactly as specified, in time and on budget. I am quite happy with the new boiler and how it was installed. Initially I was contemplating to go for a national brand, but now I am confident I've made a right choice to go local.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 06/05/2019 , work completed 03/05/2019