Endorsed by Which?

Hadley & Ottaway Limited

4.9

329 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

Member of the British Association of Removers

https://www.bar.co.uk

About

Since 1928 Hadley & Ottaway has been a household name for removals, and in particular removals in Norwich. With 90 years experience, carrying out careful shipping, removals and storage services for some of the most discerning clients. No job is too big or too small for our team of expert removals staff.

At Hadley & Ottaway, everyone cares about your move. Many of the removals and office staff have been with the company for years and really understand just how important it is for removal companies to make sure that everything goes smoothly with your relocation. Our experience means that we can make moving home or office as seamless as possible, relieving you of any stress or worry during the moving period.

Our head office is based in the East Anglia region - this is the centre of operations as there is a dedicated training room, where new recruits and 'old hands' learn to pack delicate porcelain, barometers, grandfather clocks and pianos.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
    • International removals
  • More Services

    • office relocations
    • piano specialist
    • cambridge removals

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
329 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Hadley and Ottoway 22 years ago when we moved into our bungalow and wanted to use them again for this move. They did an excellent job, have no complaints. The whole thing was well organised and after we moved they came and took the boxes away. Really pleased with them and would recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/10/2022 , work completed 05/09/2022
The trader replied (on 12/12/2022)
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you would recommend us, this is great encouragement for our staff who always strive to give their best everyday.
Fantastic removal company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Hadley and Ottaway for 5 months storage and then removal out of county. They were very polite, highly efficient and the removal men were extremely helpful. They were a really reasonable price for the work they did. The were great with the dog and the children. Very hard working firm. Highly recommend.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 22/08/2022 , work completed 01/08/2022
Move from Norwich to Highfields Caldecote, Cambridgeshire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our move was done on the two hottest days of the year. The crew worked tirelessly and uncomplainingly, particularly as the location of our house in Norwich meant everything had to be carried an extra 40 yards. Everything was delivered as requested and without any damage. There were several delays in the build up to the move, including a postponement and a late cancellation which cost us, but was obviously not the fault of the firm. The crew were helpful and pleasant throughout, and anxious to ‘get it right’, always asking if there was any doubt about where something was to go. On arrival at the new house, they had to wait nearly three hours while the estate agents managed to establish that the keys should be released. Again, they did this without complaint. We have no complaints whatsoever about the service Hadley and Ottaway provided.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 04/08/2022 , work completed 20/07/2022
Piano Damage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had you move house for us, the general service was good but the Piano was not correctly wrapped as we were told it was going to be and was damaged during the move. A grandfather clock was also damaged. We see the clock fall over and the staff admitted this. They have not admitted to damaging the Piano so I can't even get the insurance to pay for the damage. I will be pursuing a claim through the courts if need be but this is not my prefered choice.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 03/05/2022 , work completed 11/03/2022
The trader replied (on 09/05/2022)
I am presently away from the office but am aware that our crew did confirm that whilst doing the move they did have an accident which resulted in damage to a grandfather clock which I apologise for and understand that this is being dealt with for you with our insurers. With regards the piano I understand that the crew were not aware of any damage when they left the property but I will get a manager to interview them again. I am sorry you feel we have let you down as it is very rare for us to be in this position.
Tried and tested
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It is over sixteen years since we last used Hadley and Ottaway to carry out our house move and before that in nineteen eighty three. That must say something about our experience of the well organised and smooth operation which characterises the way Hadley and Ottaway perform. There was, once again, excellent communication and a willingness to be adaptable especially once exchange and completion dates were on the table. Packing materials arrived in good time for us to start on the mammoth box filling and part of that adaptability was exemplified by providing us with an extra pair of hands to pack pictures on removal day. We were delighted with the way Steve and his team worked on day one so that on day two tasks of garage and garden clearing were accomplished in comfortable time. It was a little disconcerting to see both vans leave for our next property destination while we waited for the green light of completion confirmation. By the time we arrived they had already virtually completed the garden/garage off load. They steadily filled up our new home with boxes, pictures and furniture and were instrumental in enhancing contact with our new neighbour - she very kindly made tea/coffee for all of us. Overall the team worked hard, were always attentive and with good humour at all times. Steve may have had some concerns about schedule overrun but we are truly grateful for excellent planning from start to finish. Quick to collect the packing materials after moving and no breakages. A mastermind removals.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 15/04/2022 , work completed 31/03/2022
The trader replied (on 05/05/2022)
Thank you for your review which is so pleasing to read as our crews try to strive to be the best in the business and having such positive comments helps them immensely.
An Outstanding Removal Firm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moving house can be a very stressful experience, a key part of which is transporting your possessions safely and cost-effectively. It is critical that you pick a reliable firm to relieve the worries of doing so. I chose Hadley & Ottaway (H & O), based in Watton, Norfolk. Following a visit from Chris Howlett, Senior Sales Executive, I received a sensibly priced quotation for my family’s move. Based on Chris’ assessment of items to be moved I was provided with appropriate packing materials and details of the proposed move. Like so many moves competition can be difficult to predict and ensuring your movers can meet your completion date is extremely stressful. Darren and the office staff at H & O ensured we were able to move on time. Ross and a team of four were absolutely superb in moving us. Throughout the operation, they were exceptionally careful, thorough, happy to accept changes, quick and cheerful. No property was damaged. I thoroughly recommend Hadley & Ottaway, an excellent firm, to move you.
Richard in Norfolk Posted on 22/03/2022 , work completed 04/02/2022
The trader replied (on 05/05/2022)
Thank you Richard for posting your review, I am so pleased that were able to give you the service we strive to give to all our clients.
An excellent removal company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hadley & Ottaway have moved us twice the most recent being 2nd February. In addition, we have also used their storage facility. We had some difficult times before completing our new house purchase on the 2nd February and during that time Hadley staff were so supportive and flexible. Could not recommend this company high enough.
(your username) Posted on 21/02/2022 , work completed 02/02/2022
The trader replied (on 05/05/2022)
I am sorry you had some difficult times prior to your removal and am pleased to hear that we were able to help as required. Thank you for posting your review we do appreciate it
Fantastic Company!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Staff from Hadley and Ottaway were with us for 3 days, packing up some of our belongings to go into storage, packing up and then moving us with the rest. From the minute we made contact with Hadley and Ottaway for a quote, to the day they came back to collect empty boxes from our new home the service was outstanding. So professional in everything they do. The lads that were with us for the three days were knowledgeable, professional and fun. The move went so smoothly and made what could have been a stressful few days into a calm and happy experience. Our possessions were treated with respect from the valuable antiques to the cutlery! Would so very highly recommend Hadley and Ottaway.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 11/01/2022 , work completed 22/12/2021
The trader replied (on 05/05/2022)
I am so pleased that you found the removal as stress free as we could make it. Thank you for taking the time to post your review always appreciated.
Great service from beginning to end
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team at Hadley and Ottoway delivered outstanding service from beginning to end of my house move. They were in constant communication with me and the process was simple and smooth from first booking the move date, to the consultant coming to give a quotation, through to the house move day. On move out day, the team were professional, polite, friendly and communicative throughout, in fact they were joy to have with us all day! After the move I received an email to make sure the move had taken place well and all was fine. I would definitely recommend Hadley and Ottoway to anyone moving house.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 24/11/2021 , work completed 27/10/2021
The trader replied (on 05/05/2022)
Thank you for sharing your experience on Which. We are very pleased that you got the service that we try to give to all our clients.
Good, efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prior to our move on the 11th October we had an estimator arrive to assess the quantity of the move. In the lead up to the move 90 boxes duly arrived for us to pack! On the day of the move we were greeted by the two man team who worked efficiently through the packing and loading process: this included the careful packing of our china and glassware. The two man team were both courteous and professional throughout. They advised that it would be approximately two and a half hour journey to our destination. After this two and a half hour journey to our destination they still maintained their professional and courteous approach regarding the unloading of our possessions. We could not fault their diligence and hard work during the course of the move to our new home. We would happily recommend Hadley & Ottaway to anyone seeking to move house.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 08/11/2021 , work completed 11/10/2021
The trader replied (on 05/05/2022)
I am so pleased you were happy with our service and thank you for taking the time to post this on Which.