Endorsed by Which?

Hadley & Ottaway Limited

4.9

329 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

Member of the British Association of Removers

https://www.bar.co.uk

About

Since 1928 Hadley & Ottaway has been a household name for removals, and in particular removals in Norwich. With 90 years experience, carrying out careful shipping, removals and storage services for some of the most discerning clients. No job is too big or too small for our team of expert removals staff.

At Hadley & Ottaway, everyone cares about your move. Many of the removals and office staff have been with the company for years and really understand just how important it is for removal companies to make sure that everything goes smoothly with your relocation. Our experience means that we can make moving home or office as seamless as possible, relieving you of any stress or worry during the moving period.

Our head office is based in the East Anglia region - this is the centre of operations as there is a dedicated training room, where new recruits and 'old hands' learn to pack delicate porcelain, barometers, grandfather clocks and pianos.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
    • International removals
  • More Services

    • office relocations
    • piano specialist
    • cambridge removals

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
329 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent, professional and kind service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Hadley and Ottaway for my recent move, but I had used them before and had found them to provide an excellent, competitively priced service. Again, they were prompt, efficient, very careful and extremely polite and considerate throughout the whole move. I would thoroughly recommend them to anyone wanting a top notch removals company.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 12/10/2021 , work completed 23/09/2021
The trader replied (on 05/05/2022)
Thank you for coming back to us a second time and I am pleased we gave you the same dedicated service.
Moving made easy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moving house is certainly stressful but H&O provided a great service and reassurance when worrying about parking and labelling. We had the full packing service and absolutely everything got packed! The guys were great in terms of labelling - we had hundreds of books but they labelled every room and bookcase they came from. Very helpful at the other end too putting things in the right rooms. Would 100% recommend them.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 04/10/2021 , work completed 22/09/2021
The trader replied (on 05/05/2022)
Thank you for your posting your review. I am so pleased you were happy with our service.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish the process of moving house with Hadley & Ottaway was a good one. They worked hard with me to accommodate changing dates, a difficult and complicated move and access problems to my new house. The team in the office were excellent and I felt that the quote was fair given the level of service I received. The team of removal guys were without exception just brilliant. Calm, efficient, friendly and careful with everything they handled. I have moved over 20 times in my life and this was one of the most well ordered and efficient moves I have ever had. I would not hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 12/08/2021 , work completed 29/07/2021
The trader replied (on 16/08/2021)
I am so pleased that you got the service we strive to give to every client that we move. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review it really is appreciated.
Very efficient, friendly at a very stressful time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They arrived on the day, took instructions comprehensively but were prepared to ask questions and seek clarification during the course of loading. At the other end they unpacked efficiently, locating all packages where we wanted and also went the extra mile when asked rearranging loads when asked. Nothing was too much trouble.
Andrew in Suffolk Posted on 17/07/2021 , work completed 01/07/2021
The trader replied (on 20/07/2021)
Thank you for sharing your experience on WHICH? As a company it is really appreciated.
Moving Home
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company did everything expected of a professional removal company. The staff were hardworking, efficient and courteous . Their timekeeping was good and they kept us informed at all times about how the move was progressing. The company also followed up afterwards to make sure everything was satisfactory.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 16/07/2021 , work completed 30/06/2021
The trader replied (on 20/07/2021)
I am so glad you had a positive move and would recommend us, thank you for taking the time to leave a review it is appreciated
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hadley & Ottaway packed us and moved us. They arrived at the agreed time on both days, and worked very efficiently. They were polite and endlessly helpful. We had no casualties or breakages in the move. Everything was carefully wrapped and sensibly packed, so it was easy to find things once we were in our new house. We’d used Hadley & Ottaway for a previous move, and would have no hesitation in recommending them. I would say we’d use them again ourselves, but we are most definitely never moving again!
Bridget in Norfolk Posted on 29/05/2021 , work completed 11/05/2021
The trader replied (on 02/06/2021)
I am so glad your experience with us was as good as your previous move. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us, it is really appreciated.
1st class removers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The initial survey was professional and the advice was very helpful. Their moving pack was helpful to us. Once agreed on both sides with quotation, boxes and packing material came in time for us to pack. On day of moving the removal team were on time and all protection was put on doors etc, and dust sheets put down. They bubble wrapped the TV, Mirror and Leather chairs. Completed on time ready to go to new property. Unloaded in good time with no breakages. A job well done. No hurry to collect boxes when emptied. A truly professional company with great teams to carry out the work. I would recommend to anyone.
Anthony in Norfolk Posted on 04/05/2021 , work completed 16/04/2021
The trader replied (on 07/05/2021)
Thank you for taking the time to post your review we really appreciate it. I am so pleased you had a good experience and will recommend us.
The best moving team we have ever had
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A great moving experience from initial quotation to the moving day. We have moved quite a few times and the team that helped us on move day were perfect from start to finish. They turned up at the time quoted and set to work straight away, from start to finish everyone was very helpful, efficient and courteous. I'm sure that for most people moving day is a slightly stressful affair so to have such a good team working with you is incredibly good news. We were even contacted at the right time to arrange collection of the boxes and used wrapping materials. Should we move again we will definitely plan to use Hadley & Ottaway.
Nick in Norfolk Posted on 29/04/2021 , work completed 14/04/2021
The trader replied (on 07/05/2021)
Thank you for your review we certainly try our best to make the moving experience stress free and am pleased we achieved this for you.
Professional movers everyone pleasant and helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our move from a large house to a larger one spanned 3 days and required considerable planning.Throughout the process we were advised and supported by everyone we had contact with at Hadley&Ottaway, calls were always returned and nothing was left in doubt, which took a lot of the stress away from us.Really there is nothing I could say about our move that could be improved on, H & O know what they are doing so listen to their advice and follow it.For the service we received I also think H & O are reasonable on cost, the insured packing service for breakables is worth having. I would not hesitate to recommend Hadley and Ottaway or use them again in future.
Alan in Norfolk Posted on 19/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
The trader replied (on 07/05/2021)
Thank you so much for your endorsement which I will pass on to our crew. We try our hardest to make a stressful situation as pleasant as possible.
House move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hadley & Ottaway full removal service took the stress out of moving house, well worth it, the crew were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them!
Pamela in Leicestershire Posted on 15/04/2021 , work completed 24/03/2021
The trader replied (on 07/05/2021)
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments.