We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Hadley & Ottaway Limited

Profile thumb hadley   ottaway logo
4.9

307 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What makes our traders different?

Removals is an industry that Which? Trusted Traders has a strong focus on reducing consumer detriment in, due to the nature of it's work / audience of customers. Which? Trusted Traders carries out due diligence on all our endorsed businesses, and we want our consumers to continue to make the right choices about the companies they choose to carry out jobs, especially with removal businesses. We have a useful article to let you know exactly what you can expect from our traders, find it under the 'advice' section of our website. Did you know Which? Trusted Traders work with a number of competent persons schemes to help raise standards within the home improvement and motoring sectors. For more information please check out our relationships page.

Organisations and Awards

Member of the British Association of Removers

https://www.bar.co.uk

About

Since 1928 Hadley & Ottaway has been a household name for removals, and in particular removals in Norwich. With 90 years experience, carrying out careful shipping, removals and storage services for some of the most discerning clients. No job is too big or too small for our team of expert removals staff.

At Hadley & Ottaway, everyone cares about your move. Many of the removals and office staff have been with the company for years and really understand just how important it is for removal companies to make sure that everything goes smoothly with your relocation. Our experience means that we can make moving home or office as seamless as possible, relieving you of any stress or worry during the moving period.

Our head office is based in the East Anglia region - this is the centre of operations as there is a dedicated training room, where new recruits and 'old hands' learn to pack delicate porcelain, barometers, grandfather clocks and pianos.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
    • International removals
  • More Services

    • european removals office relocations piano specialist

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
307 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent work
All the staff were very helpful polite and professional on our move from Norfolk to Yorkshire. Everything went as promised, all the floors were protected. On unpacking, nothing had been damaged. Well done all of you. As an added bonus they drove my car all the way to Yorkshire all included in the price... Thank you Hadley & Ottoway, I would recommend you without hesitation.
Customer Posted on 03/12/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 22/01/2020)
Thank you so much for taking the time to put your review on Which.
House removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company provided an excellent service for our move from Essex to Norfolk. The staff were helpful and polite.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 30/11/2019 , work completed 31/10/2019
The trader replied (on 22/01/2020)
I am so pleased to hear that you were happy with our service.
Removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hadley & Otterway staff arrived on time and were very helpful and polite on what is a stressful day. Nothing was to much trouble for the team assigned to our removal and all went really well with no breakages. Would recommend this company to anybody looking for a good reliable service.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 24/11/2019 , work completed 22/10/2019
The trader replied (on 22/01/2020)
Thank you for your kind remarks and posting your thoughts on Which.
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They provided an excellent service throughout from accurately assessing the number of vehicles required both in terms of our property and logistics of pick-up and delivery along narrow lanes. Helpful staff resolving all queries promptly. High quality packing. Pick and delivery occurred exactly as planned.
Customer in Cornwall Posted on 20/11/2019 , work completed 24/10/2019
The trader replied (on 22/01/2020)
Thank you for your review. I hope you are all settled in now.
Fifth time user.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Why would I go anywhere else if we were not more than pleased with their service. On time, well prepared, neat, clean, and courteous and polite staff. TVs, mirrors and pictures wrapped and packed carefully. Wardrobe boxes supplied for all hanging clothes. Front door protected as we're all carpets and floors. We have one more move planned so guess who we will go to.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 16/11/2019 , work completed 28/10/2019
The trader replied (on 22/01/2020)
It is so nice to have a Client who has used our Company on numerous occasions and are always pleased. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you for move number 6.
The Old Coach House
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite courtoeus service, very professional. they arrived on time and provided the equipment promised and left things clean and tidy at the end of the job
John, Norfolk Posted on 15/11/2019 , work completed 15/11/2019
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt arrival, effiecent working. Very courteous polite and helpful and took great care to make sure all items they packed in the house were looked after. Noting broken in transit Very pleased with them, second time I've used.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/10/2019 , work completed 21/10/2019
The trader replied (on 22/01/2020)
Thank you for taking the time to put your review on Which, we so appreciate it.
Excellent service, polite and helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent removal company, couldn't fault them. They had three floors to contend with, with a huge amount of stuff on the floor. The move was over three days was very organised, minimal stress, guys worked very hard and just got on with it. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a good reliable removal service.
Jo Blackman Posted on 23/09/2019 , work completed 06/08/2019
The trader replied (on 16/10/2019)
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. Really pleased you were happy with our crew.
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a number of changes to the timing of our move (the problem was exchange of contracts only 3 days before completion) but the company moved some resources around to ensure that our move could go ahead. I was most worried about my piano but the team moved everything exactly as they said they would. They were all very personable guys and good to work with. We had a little delay getting the keys to the new house but they were not phased and completed the job to my entire satisfaction. Maybe I could have got the job done cheaper but not to the standard that I received, so worth every penny to me. Thank you Hadley and Ottoway.
John H Posted on 09/09/2019 , work completed 21/06/2019
The trader replied (on 18/09/2019)
Thank you for your review, we do always try to work with our customers with regards dates and try to be flexible. So good to know that we managed this for you. We like to think we have the best crews and when we hear reviews like this we are extremely proud.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hadley & Ottaway over an 18 months removal, into storage, and out of storage period provided a first class service given by all we came into contact with at that company ( quoting / invoicing/storage management/ general day to day advice/help/out of storage delivery).
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 30/08/2019 , work completed 29/08/2019
The trader replied (on 18/09/2019)
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, really appreciated