We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Propergeeks.co.uk

Profile thumb which tt log pg
4.8

245 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

Mar 2020

About

Established in 2008, Propergeeks is based entirely on the Wirral but we cover all CH postcodes. We offer a mobile service covering Wirral and Ellesmere Port and a shop-based service from our Leasowe Road store in Wallasey Village. We also offer a 'Remote Support Desk' facility which, in many cases, can resolve common software issues without the need for us to have any physical contact with customers or their devices, (internet service required).

We have over 30 years experience in repairing computers and laptops and we only employ skilled staff who are trained and competent to handle any computer problem, skillfully and quickly. We offer free advice if you need it, a free collection and delivery service if you need that and we never charge a call-out fee. Our reputation is your guarantee that you'll be happy with what we do, happy with the price we charge and happy to recommend us to your friends and family.

What we do

  • Computer Repairs

  • Accessories and parts

  • More Services

    • pc laptop tablet smartphone repairs

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
245 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.8
Sort by
Brilliant Reliable Company!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had problems with my PC and couldn’t log in. I phoned Propergeeks who were snowed under with post-lockdown work. Nevertheless they offered to come out to my home as soon as ever possible and Corey, a brilliant young technician, suggested that it might be a fault with my keyboard. He was right! I drove to the shop and bought a Logitech K120 Wired Business Keyboard for the amazingly low price of £11.66. Thanks to his expertise, I was up and running in no time and I have nothing but praise for this exceptionally excellent company and for the helpfulness and skill of its staff!
Rod in Merseyside Posted on 04/05/2021 , work completed 29/04/2021
The trader replied (on 05/05/2021)
We're sincerely grateful for your positive review. Thanks!
Software repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My email account was hacked by someone who used my email address to send a request for money to my contacts, claiming it to be from me. Fortunately none of them believed that it was genuine but my email account was left unusable. I was unable to repair it myself and so contacted Propergeeks. They did an excellent job. Despite being very busy catching up with their backlog consequent on the Covid shut-down, they collected my PC quickly, reinstalled and updated the email software and returned the PC two days later, when they had said they would. They discussed with me beforehand what they would have to do and did exactly that, also assuring me that if they found it necessary to do anything else they would advise me before doing it. I was very pleased with their professionalism, will certainly contact them again if I have any future problems and am happy to recommend them to other potential customers.
Peter in Merseyside Posted on 01/05/2021 , work completed 29/04/2021
The trader replied (on 04/05/2021)
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Much appreciated.
Very poor customer service. Not treating us with respect. Always on the defensive. Charged for repair which should have been covered under guarantee
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Purchased a new laptop from PG in Dec.18 with software. Given an 18-month hardware guarantee. Had several problems with laptop: crack appeared above the ethernet port, laptop running very slow, bezel coming away from screen. PG caused 2 protrusions on the palm rest during bezel repair. Problems were eventually resolved, with additional cost of £98.40 for a new SSD drive. Laptop was still under an 18-month hardware guarantee. Phoned Consumer Advice about our situation and advised we did not have to accept another repair, we advised PG not to carry out any more repairs (i.e. bezel). PG said they would do the repair which would fulfil their obligations. We contacted Which who advised us to make a complaint against PG to them/Ombudsman. The Ombudsman did not rule in our favour but acknowledged the frustration with the customer service we have experienced and the stress this has caused and will raise our points with both the Trader/Which directly so that they can look to address these further. To date spent £734.59 on laptop. We have been accused of dropping laptop twice and picking up the laptop by the lid causing the bezel to break – untrue. PG did not acknowledge our e-mail complaint and said they did not receive it. PG would not acknowledge receipt of hard copies of e-mails taken into shop. We had to take photographs of us putting hard copies on the counter. S.McGovern owner of PG has been extremely rude to both myself and my husband and has put the telephone down on us
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 28/04/2021 , work completed 14/10/2020
The trader replied (on 29/04/2021)
The Ombudsman Service decided that we had no case to answer. They pointed out in their report that we had exceeded our statutory responsibilities and carried out repairs to your laptop when it was actually, out of its guarantee period. In addition, the Ombudsman never condemned our customer service performance, as you have misleadingly stated in your review. You are, without doubt, the rudest and most objectionable customer my business has ever had the misfortune to service. Every single one of my staff who dealt with you made a complaint to me about your unreasonable and offhand attitude toward them. At every stage, we tried to help you with kindness and with courtesy but for reasons known only to yourself, those attempts were met with hostility and aggression. Even though we made you an offer of a full cash refund for the laptop, (which you refused) and the Ombudsman Service decided we had no case to answer, you are still attempting to damage my business by publishing negative reviews which are misleading and contain an inaccurate account of what actually occurred. Nobody here was ever rude to you, nobody ever put the phone down on you and we acted immediately by contacting you when we received your many and various complaints in writing and by email. You are a professional and persistent complainer Mrs Kelly and your opinion of my company is at odds with the 99% of customers who recommend us on our Which? Trusted Traders listing.
restored laptop
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We'd have had dealings with ProperGeeks before so had no hesitation in going back when my laptop refused to do anything. Half expected to be told it was only fit for the bin. But no, the old hard drive was replaced, better security was installed and everything tidied up. The laptop was returned to us at the agreed time and the work done at the agreed price. Chris connected it to the WIFI and gave us helpful suggestions on computer use. A wonderful service and local. I don't think we would get better anywhere else.
Christina in Merseyside Posted on 28/04/2021 , work completed 27/04/2021
The trader replied (on 30/04/2021)
We're happy we could help. Sincere thanks for your kind review.
Professional efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Proper Geeks provided a refurbished laptop for another family member recently, we were very impressed with the work so when my laptop started running very slowly we returned. The laptop was assessed, hard drive replaced with SSD, everything necessary was reinstalled. The work was done on time and within the stated budget. Great service. Face to face is an added bonus. They also provided great help to another family member with low technical ability at the same time, providing her with a new replacement and making sure she knew how to use it.
Patricia in Merseyside Posted on 27/04/2021 , work completed 23/04/2021
The trader replied (on 30/04/2021)
Sincere thanks for your positive review. It means a lot to everybody here.
Friendly, efficient and very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I took my laptop to Propergeeks for repair. Unfortunately, it was not repairable (it was very old) but they were able to save all my data and transferred it from my MAC to my new PC. A few weeks later, I was having problems getting my printer to link up, I sent them an email asking if they knew what the problem could be and they rang me up that day and managed to fix it remotely for no charge. The service given was excellent and I could not recommend them highly enough. Many thanks
Neil in West Kirby Posted on 10/02/2021 , work completed 08/01/2021
The trader replied (on 16/02/2021)
Sincere thanks for your positive review. Much appreciated by everybody here.
All problems resolved
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I purchased a new computer printer and could not install it. I called out Propergeeks whom I had used before, they responded almost immediately, installed my printer and ensured I was happy with everything. They observed strict covid protocols while in my house and I was very satisfied with all outcomes.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 08/01/2021 , work completed 08/01/2021
The trader replied (on 18/01/2021)
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Much appreciated.
Professional and caring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My Macbook pro was taken in within a day and repaired within the week as stated. Several phone calls made by Ross to check that I was happy and informed with procedures. Chris delivered the Lap top on time and spent time explaining new procedures and some problems I had with printing. He was so clear and not at all rushed in his explanations. I thoroughly recommend Proper Geeks.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 18/12/2020 , work completed 18/12/2020
The trader replied (on 18/01/2021)
We're very grateful for your positive review. Thanks.
So reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this firm on several occasions and have always been 100% satisfied. Recently I had a problem with accessing video files in Microsoft media player, possibly caused by a recent update. This was sorted in no time - completely professional service by knowledgeable staff who are always helpful, courteous and friendly. The customer is always kept in the loop and charges are very reasonable. This first-class business meets a real need. Long live Propergeeks!
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 27/11/2020 , work completed 26/11/2020
The trader replied (on 02/12/2020)
Sincere thanks for your positive review. It means a lot to everybody here.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with the excellent service we received from Propergeeks. They collected, repaired and returned my wife’s iPad with the minimum amount of fuss and charged a very fair price. I would have no hesitation in recommending them. They are knowledgeable, professional as well as being nice and polite people. It was a pleasure to deal with them.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 23/11/2020 , work completed 18/11/2020
The trader replied (on 02/12/2020)
We're glad you were happy with our service. Thanks for your review.