We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Smarter Home 4U Limited

Profile thumb smarter home 4u logo

4.9

36 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–20:00
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:30–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Smarter Home 4U have transformed countless properties across Greater Manchester – and beyond – with professional, reliable repair and maintenance services. From those odd jobs around the house to full-scale extensions and restorations, we draw on over 30 years’ experience to deliver the highest standard of workmanship every time.

We carry out all types of home improvements, inside and out, whether you’re a homeowner wanting to give your property a makeover, or landlord seeking a quick, cost-effective fix for a tenant. We also offer property maintenance services to commercial clients, and strive to become a long-term partner for your facility management needs.

No task is too big or small for Smarter Home 4U. Whether you’re putting up shelves or planning major refurbishment works, we combine our hands-on knowledge with an honest, hard-working approach to deliver the best solutions for our clients. Just scroll down to see our reviews and portfolio for yourself.

What we do

  • Property refurbishment contractors

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Extensions
    • Garage conversions
    • Guttering repair services
  • More Services

    • home improvements
    • property maintenance
    • joinery
    • kitchens

Customer reviews

4.9
36 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Quick, reasonably priced, good standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed some minor jobs doing in order to put my house in the market - making good around a recently-installed Velux window and repairs to two ceilings. Tony got back to me quickly after my initial enquiry and, once he'd surveyed the house, provided a quote promptly. He recommended people for the jobs that he wasn't able to do and made a couple of suggestions that would save me money. The work was completed in half a day and I was pleased with the quality of what had been done. The price was also reasonable.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 07/03/2019
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Great to work with you, thank you for your review.
New kitchen, utility and downstairs lavatory, including removal of old and fitting of new units, floors, new wooden doors throughout the house etc
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his team undertook this large piece of work for us to extremely high standards in all aspects. At our very first meeting Tony gave us advice about the layout of the furniture to be fitted and the types of finish we could have and expect. His quality advice continued throughout the project. He dealt with unexpected developments including the need to replace rotten floor joists and kept in constant contact throughout. We took on board virtually all of his suggestions and they have proved to be of benefit in that the end result is better than we could have expected. My wife and I would definitely recommend Tony and his company and indeed have done so already to family and friends.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 15/02/2019
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you for your lovely review, great to work with you!
Good work, good communication, good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got several quotes for constructing a small 'pantry' room over a stairwell. Tony discussed what I wanted, made the arrangements clear and submitted a reasonable quote. He communicated well about coming in and turned up when arranged. The work was discussed with me as it went along, done to a high standard, communication continued to be good. The resulting room is exactly what I wanted. I will be very happy to use Tony again when I have more work to do, and hope he will be available.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 24/04/2019 , work completed 06/03/2019
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you, we look forward to working with you again when you have more work to do!
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team at Smarter Home 4U spent two and a half weeks finishing off our major house renovations in March 2019. They were very professional and hard working, and completed all the work to a very high standard. They absolutely saved us after our original builder had badly let us down. I can highly recommend them!
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 02/04/2019 , work completed 28/03/2019
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you! Please let us know if we can help again in the future, from small jobs to larger projects, we can help.
Garage Base Construction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his crew were excellent. From turning up bang on time for the estimate AND the work itself, through to keeping me posted, they were professional and efficient. The work itself was done quickly and well, and when heavy rain put imperfections in the concrete, Tony screeded the floor quickly and effectively. I have no problem recommending his company, and they will be our first call whenever work needs doing on the house.
Hart Posted on 01/11/2018 , work completed 01/11/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you, we look forward to working on other areas of your house, when needed.
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Tony after being let down by two other tradesman. We received a prompt reply and a professional service from the initial enquiry up until the work was completed. We are extremely happy with our new storage space and cupboard. The work was finished to a high standard, in the given timescale and at a reasonable price. Tony and his team are punctual,reliable, polite and professional . Which unfortunately in our experience we have found to be rare. All rubbish was cleared away and everything was left clean and tidy. We would definitely use Tony and his team for future work on our home and would not hesitate to recommend this company to others.
Mrs Kelsall Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Mrs Kelsall, we're pleased that you're happy.
Excellent and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My parents needed a new bathroom and I had no hesitation in asking Smarter Home 4U to quote and carry out the work. The new bathroom is amazing and work was carried out meeting all deadlines and budget. Tony was very easy to contact and talk to and kept me updated throughout the process. We will be in touch soon for more renovations.
Wendy Taylor Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Wendy!
Brilliant Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an issue with my waterfall shower head (embedded in the bathroom ceiling) which was really concerning. Chris from Smarter Home 4U came out and sorted the issue for me quickly and I could stop worrying about my attic being flooded. Brilliant service
MarkyS Posted on 12/09/2018 , work completed 12/09/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Mark for your nice review.
Barn conversion in the Lake District
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his team worked with me on this right from the start - meeting with the architects even before we submitted our planning application. Then the real work began, and it was so much more than the usual building work. He liaised with utility companies to get electricity, gas and water connected to the property, heritage dry stone wallers to ensure that the external appearance was in keeping with centuries of history, local roofers who helped create a new property that was in keeping with everywhere else - and all the time making sure that the Building Inspector was very happy! Inside he turned a derelict building into a luxury holiday retreat - a mezzanine bedroom floor was created, original beams were re-purposed, an old stone fireplace was acid-washed to create an amazing feature. This was all in addition to "the usual stuff" - managing the plastering, electrics, plumbing, tiling, creating a fabulous kitchen, making a feature window where old wooden barn doors had been, installing a shower room, fitting a staircase and a hundred other things that brought my dream together. Throughout it all, Tony achieved that perfect balance of keeping me informed of any issues and at the same time dealing with problems himself. I honestly couldn't have done this conversion without him and his amazing team who often worked very long hours to ensure that everything kept to plan. It's a sign of a good builder when even the neighbours were sorry to see them leave!
Suzanne Posted on 05/06/2018 , work completed 05/06/2018
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you Suzanne, great to work on your project.
Summerhouse Construction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and Chris, arrived on time and worked in an extremely professional manner at all times when on site. They built the summerhouse with basic instruction from the supplier and improved its construction in a number of areas ensuring that the end product was totally functional and fit for purpose. It was certainly not a job I would like to have undertaken on my own and they made the work look simple. They worked to a high standard throughout the day. I certainly hope to use Tony and Chris again in the future as finding good reliable professional tradesmen can be difficult.
John_Allen Posted on 10/05/2017 , work completed 10/05/2017
The trader replied (on 13/06/2019)
Thank you John, we hope you are enjoying your summerhouse.