We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

1st Choice Stairlifts Limited

Profile thumb 1stchoicesl finallogo red
5.0

56 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:00
  • Monday 08:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:00
  • Thursday 08:30–17:00
  • Friday 08:30–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

Jun 2020

About

If it's an experienced, qualified Stairlift company you want then look no further.

1st Choice Stairlifts is an independent family run company providing a wide choice of lifts that fit most stairs and homes.

Our Directors Coral and Colin Major have over 55 years experience in the stairlift industry, working for the manufacturers before setting up 1st Choice Stairlifts in 2004.

We install stairlifts, Homelift Elevators and Wheelchair lifts, plus we service, repair and maintain over 40 makes and models, even if we didn't originally install it.

We install lifts that are New, Reconditioned and Rental for stairs that are Straight, Curved including multiple floors or Narrow.

If you'd like to have a test drive, we also have 3 straight stairlifts, 3 curved stairlifts and a Through the Floor vertical lift in our accessible showroom in Calne, so why not give a lift a try today.

Our office is open Mon-Fri 8.30am - 5pm and our Emergency On Call Service is available 24/7, 365 days a year.

What we do

  • Disability and mobility

  • More Services

    • home lifts
    • wheelchair lifts
    • outdoor wheelchair lifts

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
56 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Fast Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were very quick and very efficient, 3 people involved were all good at what they did, cleaned up after themselves, everything was done in about 4 hours.
Silvia, Wiltshire Posted on 20/05/2020 , work completed 18/05/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Thank you for writing a review for us Silvia, we really appreciate you taking the time to comment on our service. I will pass your comments onto our staff who will be happy to hear your review. Best regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Rapid, efficient response.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed to install a chair lift for my wife at short notice. From first contact to having a working stairlift was four working days. I was well advised on the model and it works fine and meets all our needs.
Customer in Swindon Posted on 25/04/2020 , work completed 26/03/2020
The trader replied (on 18/06/2020)
Thank you very much for leaving us a review and taking the time to comment on our service. We are very pleased that you found the lift easy to use and that it meets your wife's needs. We hope that the stairlift has made a big difference for her and that she can get up and down stairs easily now. Best regards Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Stair lift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First Choice Stairlifts was amazing. Very tidy very professional. Due to covid19 the gentleman that fitted the lift was very professional with safe distancing, wearing ppe to protect himself and myself too. Also the gentleman that fitted the electric supply, and all that was involved with the telephone calls. I would fully recommend first choice stairlifts with a 5 star.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 22/04/2020 , work completed 01/04/2020
The trader replied (on 01/05/2020)
Thank you very much for leaving us a review. We really appreciate all the reviews that are left for us and we love hearing about how you found our service. We are certainly operating (as key workers) in very strange times due to the pandemic, but we have adapted and changed our way of working in order to protect our customers and staff, both of whom are our number one priority. We are pleased to hear that you found our approach reassuring and very professional. Our team were really happy to hear your views when I shared your review with them. Most of our work is from personal recommendation, so we would really appreciate it if you were able to recommend us to others that may need our help. Best wishes, Coral Affleck-Major, Director and Owner at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Fast response & efficient workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company arranged a fitting date within 1 week of my call. The fitter was efficient, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The price was very reasonable. I would have no hesitation in recommending this company
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 09/03/2020 , work completed 09/03/2020
The trader replied (on 01/05/2020)
Thank you very much for leaving a review, we really appreciate it. We are so happy that you pleased with our service and pride ourselves on being a great company to deal with. We will pass your kind comments onto our team. Most of our work is through personal recommendation so we'd be delighted if you could recommend us to others. With best wishes, Coral Affleck-Major, Director and Owner at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, efficient, tidy and thorough. All team members we had contact with were very helpful, Kieran with the home assessment and quote, Jamie & Adam with fitting and thorough handover. Mum is very happy with her stairlift which makes life much easier.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 11/02/2020 , work completed 30/01/2020
The trader replied (on 14/02/2020)
Thank you very much for leaving us a review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted to hear that you nd your Mum were happy with our service and rated us 5*. So glad that your Mum is finding life much easier now with the help of her stairlift. I will pass your kind comments onto our team. Thank you again, best wishes Coral Affleck-Major, Director and Owner at 1st Choice Stairlifts
First class quality company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were recommended to this company by two separate people and can see why. From start to finish they were Friendly, Professional and kept us informed of the process throughout. Our stairs are curved so we had to have the stair lift made to fit. A member staff came round and measured and showed us the type of stair lifts we could choose and quoted us a price, he was a lovely man, friendly and not pushy at all. We were left to make our decision. From start to completion we had 5 star customer service, keeping us informed all the way along by lovely friendly staff. The guys who came to fit the lift were very professional and worked hard and kept the place tidy, afterwards they showed me how to use the lift. I have had follow up calls to make sure I am happy with everything. Would thoroughly recommend 1st Choice, excellent company with outstanding customer serve, thank you.
Customer in Swindon Posted on 11/02/2020 , work completed 31/01/2020
The trader replied (on 14/02/2020)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It's wonderful to hear that you were recommended by two people and received the same great service as they did. We pride ourselves on our customer service and looking after our customers, which is why we are so happy when our customers recommend us to others. We're glad to hear that you were delighted with your stairlift and we hope it is proving such a boost to making life easier for you. Best wishes Coral Affleck-Major, Director and Owner at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Brilliant company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Every member of staff I spoke with was so friendly and helpful. So impressed with my stairlift it has changed my life, I’m no longer dreading climbing the stairs and getting back down was awful too but now there is no worry. Fitting the stairlift was very professional, friendly and very quick. I would highly recommend 1st Choice Stairlifts
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 05/02/2020 , work completed 28/01/2020
The trader replied (on 07/02/2020)
Thank you so much for your very kind review. So delighted to hear that the stairlift has been life changing. I've just passed your comments onto the team and they loved hearing your review and seeing how much the stairlift has improved your quality of life. Kind regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Director and Owner at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Prompt service and a great help
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had an issue with cancer over the new year which has rendered me unable to walk. We were put on to 1st Choice Stairlifts as they do rental packages which make their lifts more affordable. We took this up and a rep was out the same day to assess our requirements. He was very helpfull and understanding and there was no pressure to go for something more expensive he just focused on what we were asking for. He was able to sourcexa lift which could be fitted a few days later. We went ahead and sure enough the installer arrived on time and completed the job quickly and left no mess. He ran through all the features and use of the lift ensuring we had a full understanding before he left. Everyone we have encountered from 1st Choice whether face to face orxon the phone have been very friendly and helpful. I couldnt recommend them enough.
Customer in Swindon Posted on 04/02/2020 , work completed 20/01/2017
The trader replied (on 12/02/2020)
Thank you so much for leaving a review we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. We are delighted to hear that you are happy with your rental lift and hope that it has helped you to make life a lot easier. I will pass your lovely comments onto our team who will be really pleased to hear your kind comments. Best regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Director and Owner at 1st Choice Stairlifts.
Stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Prompt response and fitting. Good customer communication. Friendly and understanding staff
Customer in Swindon Posted on 04/01/2020 , work completed 19/12/2018
The trader replied (on 15/01/2020)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. Your feedback will be passed on to our team who will be delighted to hear your great comments. Thank you for making us your 1st choice for your stairlift installation. Best regards, Coral Affleck-Major, Director and Owner at 1st Choice Stairlifts
Upgraded stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this firm for over 10 years and have found them thoroughly reliable and good value for money. The phone is always answered promptly too.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 07/12/2019 , work completed 31/05/1219
The trader replied (on 17/12/2019)
Thank you very much for leaving us a review. So delighted to hear that you have been enjoying our service for over 10 years. We work really hard to achieve great customer service so our team will be delighted to hear your great comments. We really appreciate you being a customer and thank you once again for leaving such a wonderful review. Best regards Coral Affleck-Major, Owner and Director at 1st Choice Stairlifts