Endorsed by Which?

Dee Cee Upholstery & Interiors

4.9

361 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

Apr 2020

About

We would like to introduce you to Dee Cee Upholstery and Interior’s World of Comfort.
Established in 1978, we are one of the South’s leading experts in Upholstery and Rise and Recline Mobility Chairs.
Partner in Dee Cee Upholstery, Derek Caplen, became the youngest master Upholsterer in the UK at the tender age of 21, and by the age of 43 he had become the youngest Fellow of the Association of Master Upholsterers for his outstanding contribution in training young people, and dedication to the A.M.U. and Soft Furnishers.
As suppliers of award winning, quality Rise and Recline Mobility Chairs, we are acknowledged experts, recommended by occupational therapists, physiotherapists and healthcare professionals, and are approved specialist suppliers to local councils and the NHS.
We have also won local and national awards for exceptional customer service.
We are experts in quality Re - upholstery, we cover the Southampton and surrounding locations. A service that will leave you sitting comfortably.

What we do

  • Upholstering

  • Furniture repair and restoration

  • Disability and mobility

    • Powerchairs
    • Rise and recline chairs
  • More Services

    • antique re-upholstery
    • re-upholstery
    • upholsterers

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
361 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Consistently excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the third time we have used Dee Cee Upholstery in the past year. All three pieces of furniture (fireside chair, sofa cushions and footstool) were completed to a very professional standard and we are very happy with the result. Derek went out of his way to make sure the re-upholstery was just what we wanted and finished the work extremely quickly. We would highly recommend this company.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 10/04/2023 , work completed 30/03/2023
The trader replied (on 11/04/2023)
Our customers from Brook Lane in Locks Heath ,are quite "rare " in as much it is unusual to use our services 3 x in a short space of time . We are also pleased that they where delighted with the finished products and that they were completed to a very professional standard . Also the fact that they would highly recommend us .
I had purchased a second hand sofa and several years later decided to have it reupholstered.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I purchased a second-hand sofa to use as extra seating for family "get-togethers". I decided to have it recovered. However, I had chosen an expensive fabric so I phoned Dee Cee’s and explained. Derek offered to pop in on his way home to check the stability of the sofa, and we agreed a date/time. Having reviewed the fabric sample and sofa Derek advised me that the sofa was sturdy enough for the job; that I would not be wasting my money and anticipated a further 25 years use. I received an estimate and paid my deposit. Karen ordered the material. (There was a delay because the fabric company were waiting for the velvet - to add their design to. Due to the ‘hangover’ of ‘Covid delays’ this company went out of business.) Dee Cees offered to return my deposit but I asked them to hold it while I chose another design. At this point, I spent a month in the hospital. My husband rang Dee Cee’s to explain ‘my’ post-Christmas delay and asked them to hold the deposit. I was finally able to settle on a fabric design and I phoned Derek. To make absolutely certain they ordered the correct fabric Derek offered to collect the sample that day. The fabric was more expensive than the original however Dee Cee’s did not increase their estimate and the invoice total remained the same. Karen and Derek have been really helpful and informative. Made advanced bookings to pick up and drop off the sofa, and have always adhered to agreed times.
Melanie in Southampton Posted on 07/04/2023 , work completed 23/03/2023
The trader replied (on 13/04/2023)
The second hand sofa needed the seat to be completely replaced with fire retardant high density foam and rewebed. Whilst it took nearly 5 months to bring the job to a satisfactory conclusion due to circumstances beyond our control ,we always will try to go the extra mile when needed
Fantastic Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used Dee Cee Upholstery, this time it was to have some dining room chairs and conservatory furniture covered. I have to admit , that I was in two minds whether to reupholster or buy new chairs, the costs were similar. However, there is no comparison, my dining room chairs and conservatory furniture now match and have been expertly upholstered, look stunning and I am so pleased with the result. The workmanship is outstanding. My furniture was collected and brought back to me in a very short space of time. Everyone at DeeCee Upholstery are friendly knowledgeable and very professional. I would not hesitate in recommending them.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 27/03/2023 , work completed 23/02/2023
The trader replied (on 13/04/2023)
We had previously re- upholstered the customer's 2 and 3 seater sofas in a soft but hard wearing velvet. Our customer was so pleased with our work that she chose the same fabric for her next project ,which was to have a cane suite in the conservatory and dining chairs to match. This is an excellent review and outlines every thing we aspire to do not only leaving our customer pleased with our outstanding workmanship also that the customer would not hesitate to recommend us
Excellent All Round Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brought my mother-in-law (88) along to the shop to look at rise and recline chairs. She's purchased one previously from a TV-advertised company's catalogue and the quality of it was appalling – just flimsy and badly made. We were greeted at the door of Dee Cee Upholstery by a smiling and friendly Derek who took the time to show my mother-in-law the chairs and ensure she tried them out. The first choice was an instant hit – a superbly made chair that instantly put her old chair in the shade. She also has a wing-back chair that's 29 years old. She asked Derek if he could reupholster it on the strength of her experience in the shop. She's very pleased with the material and how helpful Derek was. and that chair will be could for another three decades now. I just can't recommend Dee Cee Upholstery enough. Simply brilliant.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 20/03/2023 , work completed 18/03/2023
The trader replied (on 13/04/2023)
The rise and recline chair that were chosen was a single motor with a handset. This had a super soft seat and arms with a soft pillow back and headrest , it was covered in a hard wearing chenille. We applied anti stain protection, this chair and customer qualified for vat exemption. The traditional style wing back chair was completely stripped to the bare frame and re-upholstered to the latest fire retardant safety standards, anti stain protection was also applied To be described as "simply brilliant " says it all.
Reupholstery of three piece suite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our suite sustained paint damage when remedial work to our lounge was carried out by a firm of Bournemouth decorators who were appointed by our landlord. We chose Dee Cee Upholstery to undertake the reupholstery of our entire suite and were delighted with the outcome. Those we dealt with were extremely helpful and the standard of the work was excellent. We would highly recommend this company and wouldn’t hesitate to use their services again if necessary.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 19/03/2023 , work completed 16/03/2023
The trader replied (on 13/04/2023)
Our customers had 2 x riser recliners re - upholstered and a 2 seater sofa to match , we undertook the job in 2 stages for the convenience for them. To hear that we were extremely helpful ( as we always are ) was nice to hear , and that they were pleased with our workmanship. also that they would not hesitate to recommend us
A great job-very pleased with quality of workmanship and Customer Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had been looking for some time for a company to refit our sofa cushions with new foam and also the back covers needed re-stuffing. We were reluctant to use an internet company and were pleased to find Dee-Cee from a review site and went to their premises based on feedback and their locality Throughout the process they have been very helpful and friendly and have delivered exactly what we wanted at a price that pretty much matched online quotes and to a speedy timescale. Our experience with them has left us feeling confident they would do a first class job on any kind of upholstering job
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 23/02/2023 , work completed 23/02/2023
The trader replied (on 25/02/2023)
Our customer from Hedge End village came to us with seat cushion interiors that needed replacing due to becoming uncomfortable and looking shabby. We invited them to our comfort station where they could try before they buy ( something you can't do ) online " which we have nick named the goldilocks room ", ( as i am sure that you are aware comfort is a very personal thing ) to try out different density's of cushions that meet the 1988 fire retardant regulations . We have on offer a selection of different grades of firm , medium and soft also we can supply a "sandwich " cushion which is made up with a firm density in the middle , with a medium density fitted on the top and bottom of the cushion. We can also supply feather and down cushion interiors another option is a feather jacket fitted with foam in the middle. Our customer wanted their back cushions replaced after inspecting the cushions , rather than replacing them we could could add extra polyester fiber which would cost less and leave our customers "sitting comfortably "
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Derek came to my house, I chose a fabric, he gave me a quote, checked the material was in stock and took the two settees away a few days later, leaving me two arm chairs to use in the meantime. The reupholster was completed within two weeks to an exceptionally high standard. I would not hesitate in recommending Dee Cee Upholstery to anyone who needs reupholstery.
Lesley in Hampshire Posted on 10/02/2023 , work completed 09/02/2023
The trader replied (on 14/02/2023)
The 2 sofas were nearly 30 years old and very good quality they had loose covers on. They were in need of re-upholstery as opposed to recovery, our customer also wanted full arm caps which were self-piped in the same material as the sofas. The seat cushion interiors were replaced with medium-density foam cushions and were wrapped in polyester and stockinet lining. We are very pleased that Lesley appreciated that our work was to a very high standard and that she would have no hesitation to recommend us to anyone who may require our re-upholstery service
Derek and team provide a very high standard service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just had 2 1960's Parker knoll chairs refurbed plus had other sofa/chairs in the past. The PK chairs were upholstered to a very professional standard. The wooden parts of frames were re -stained and polished. The cushions were remade and everything was completed to a high quality with care and detail to attention. We would always trust and recommend this business with their advice, good communication and excellent service. Good selection of material options. The chairs will now last another lifetime! Great to deal with people who really know their trade and craftsmanship. The work was done properly with no shortcuts.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 06/02/2023 , work completed 06/02/2023
The trader replied (on 08/02/2023)
Our customers had returned to us after a couple of years , when we re-upholstered their 2 x 2 seater traditional sofas . The wing chair was a classic Parker Knoll model 720 with Queen Anne legs . The other chair was a small parker Knoll elbow showood polished chair recovered in a plain velvet which perfectly picked out one of the colours of the fabric chosen which was a modern patterned chenille for the wing chair . This review perfectly outlines everything that we strive for and is what we have built our business and fine reputation on over 44 years
A great reupholstering job on our two large sofas
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would strongly recommend Dee Cee Upholstery for their professional service throughout from sound advice at the outset to completing an excellent reupholstery job on our two 3 seater sofas. We are very pleased with our new sofas, and will definitely use them in the future, Thank you Carol and Derek for an excellent job.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 13/01/2023 , work completed 22/12/2021
The trader replied (on 02/02/2023)
The 2 sofas were over approximately 25 years old but of very high quality and were in need of complete re-upholstering to bring them into as new condition . The seat cushions were replaced with medium density fire retardant foam to comply with the 1988 fire regulations which were then wrapped in polyester and stockinet lining . The fabric our customers chose was a soft but hard wearing chenille , one was in a deep red the other was a bright yellow which complimented the carpet etc. in their lounge. From a business point of view it is great and very rewarding to receive such a positive review and have passed the details on to "our specialist team at Dee Cee Upholstery " Having been in the furniture business for 44 years it is very clear that Recommendation is the best form of adverting , as every job we do becomes an extension to our showroom !
Excellent trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an old chair for reupholstering we were given excellent advice, a prompt service, free delivery on completion and now have a beautiful piece of furniture that came reasonably priced. Derek at Dee Cee certainly knows his stuff and his workmanship is excellent. I can't praise him enough.
Customer in Southampton Posted on 30/11/2022 , work completed 29/11/2022