Endorsed by Which?

Sussex Solar Ltd

5.0

78 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–18:00
  • Monday 09:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–18:00
  • Thursday 09:00–18:00
  • Friday 09:00–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–18:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

We are a family-owned, renewable energy company, established since 2004. We install solar PV panels, Tesla Powerwalls, heat pumps and solar thermal (hot water) systems. We also provide a comprehensive maintenance and repair service. Based in Horsham, West Sussex we are known for our technical expertise, high standards of workmanship and excellent customer service. We preserve our great reputation by never subcontracting our work to others and we keep our installations to a geographical area that we know we can support with ongoing service.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Air source heat pumps
    • Solar water heating
    • Solar panels
    • Home energy analysis
  • Electricians

    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical installations
  • Air conditioning contractors

  • Smart Homes

    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • More Services

    • tesla powerwall
    • energy storage
    • solar pv
    • energy batteries

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
78 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Solar in the field
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish, Sussex Solar have been fantastic. Accurate quote, work completed on time and to a professional standard. Any questions were answered quickly and accurately. Any problems were resolved immediately. Really pleased with our system and looking forward to making the most of it. I would highly recommend Sussex Solar.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 01/07/2023 , work completed 28/06/2023
Ground Mounted Solar Array & Powerwall Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot recommend Sussex Solar highly enough. The team advised and communicated with us from planning permission, ground work preparation through to installation and questions thereafter. All the team are hard working, polite & highly professional. Our new PV system battery has exceeded our expectations. Thank you so much Sussex Solar - keep up the great work!
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 11/06/2023 , work completed 20/05/2023
a fantastic local family firm with a wealth of experience in solar panels and batteries
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A fantastic local, family company who have been in the solar panel and battery business for decades. Very helpful, and they did a fantastic job. Andy is extremely approachable and informative, and the office did a great job in keeping me updated. His wife works in the office, and his son is the electrician that helps set it all up. It is really nice to have a family company running this, as it is easy to speak to someone very quickly. A really neat and tidy job and we are very happy. Several other friends have used them and all sing their praises - after using them, I fully agree.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 06/06/2023 , work completed 23/05/2023
Solar Panels and Tesla Powerwall Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar installed solar panels for us in March 2023 and a Tesla Powerwall in May 2023. The whole setup has worked flawlessly so far and we are very pleased with it. I would highly recommend Sussex Solar to anyone thinking of installing a solar energy system. The service has been excellent - everything carried out to plan, flexibility in dates to fit around our schedule and great communication about what was happening and when. The guys that came round to do the installation were great - polite, hard-working and explained clearly to us what they were doing and how the system would work. We look forward to many years of clean power to come.
Richard in West Sussex Posted on 04/06/2023 , work completed 26/05/2023
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar provided an excellent service for my PV and battery installation. Their staff were always extremely friendly and professional throughout the process from initial contact to completion. My thanks to all Sussex Solar office and installations staff. A pleasure to deal with.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 25/04/2023 , work completed 24/04/2023
Sussex Solar Ltd supply and installation of solar panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have just installed a 3.16 kw peak output solar PV system with a 5.2 kWh battery. I was impressed by their professional approach and the standard of workmanship. Everything went smoothly with the installation and handover. It was a pleasure to have the employees carrying out the work and they were quite inobtrusive but very pleasant. It is quite satisfying to see the amount of electricity being generated and the surplus charging up the battery for use overnight.
Charles in Surrey Posted on 10/04/2023 , work completed 28/03/2023
Heat pump installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had a heat pump installed by Andy and his team at Sussex Solar. Following the heat loss survey Andy was able to recommend a system that connected into my existing radiator system, with a few radiator upgrades. The team at Sussex Solar were all helpful and responsive whether it was the office team or the installers led by Lewis and Fraser. The installation started on the agreed date, with the team being timely, polite and respectful of our house. The system has been running for three weeks now and we are toasty warm and importantly have hit a scop of 3.5 so it is delivering the efficiency as planned. We were looking for a reliable trustworthy company upon which we could rely for ongoing service and believe that Sussex Solar will deliver this. I have no hesitation in recommending Sussex Solar.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 28/03/2023 , work completed 08/03/2023
Excellent in every aspect of design, installation and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar Ltd is a family-run company and every interaction we have had says they care about us as customers. The design of the 8kWp PV solar array and a Tesla Powerwall was fully commissioned in September 2022 and has performed exceptionally well. I have delayed writing the review until March 23 in case there were any snags, but there have been none. Installation of the solar panels was carried in June 22 out by their own staff, who were efficient, pleasant, tidy, took care not to damage any of the roof tiles and replaced a couple that were already cracked. Shipping of the Powerwall was unfortunately delayed by Tesla, but we were kept informed and when it finally arrived in September, the installation was completed in a day, as all preparatory work had already been carried out. We have had a couple of power grid outages this winter, which had no effect, and the ability to load shift has meant that we have also benefitted from the Demand Flexibility payments. Based on last summer's PV production, before the Tesla battery was installed and we were thus unable to self-consume all our output, we are looking forward to about four months of totally "free" energy this coming summer. I can highly recommend Sussex Solar for their technical design, installation, friendly staff and customer care.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 05/03/2023 , work completed 01/10/2022
True professionals and outstanding customer care
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sussex Solar have just installed solar PV panels, the inverter and a battery for us. They are true professionals and have done an excellent job at every stage, keeping us well informed and taking care with our home. On this last point, Sussex Solar really deserve their five star review, for the customer care that we have received after their scaffolders inadvertently caused some damage to the roof of our extension. Sussex Solar did not quibble at all and went to great lengths to ensure that all of the damage was rectified. Many thanks for a great job well done.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 25/01/2023 , work completed 24/01/2023
Sussex Solar 5.6kW PV system with 5.2kWh battery: Enthusiastic recommendation and endorsement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In September 2022 Sussex Solar Ltd installed a 14 panel 5.5kW (pk) solar PV system with GivEnergy 3.6kW hybrid inverter and 5.2kWh battery. It went live towards the end of September and over the first week of its operation met more than 80% of our electrical power needs. The positives: • A well-proven set of system components: solar panels, hybrid inverter, battery, cabling and smartphone app. • Very good responsiveness to emails, requests for information, and answers to questions. I approached four possible suppliers for a quote: Sussex Solar were the only one who responded. • Excellent project management of the whole installation process: scaffolding install; system install and commissioning; and scaffolding removal. • Excellent quality of workmanship, including tidiness • A great set of individuals involved throughout the process No negatives, but a couple of things to aware of: • They offer a limited number of inverter/battery configurations. This is good as it means that the whole process from design to installation is very smooth. But you may need to make some compromises in your requirements. • You will be given an estimate of the overall peak solar power that your panels will generate. However, it will be up to you to work out the economics of what this will mean for your situation. • The application to the local electricity supplier for a DNO / export MPAN is made after commissioning. Depending on the electricity supplier it could be a week/months.
Robert in Hampshire Posted on 30/09/2022 , work completed 22/09/2022